Has someone ever attempted to mug you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Azwaldo55 wrote: »
    Anyway as I was crossing the bridge one of the guys tried to pin my arms but I broke his hold and pushed him back. The second guy punched me in the face so I gave him a left and right and kicked him in the balls and brought my knee into his nose. The other guy swung at me and I parried the blow caught him by the wrist twisted his arm behind his back and clocked his head against the railing and gave him a few kicks into the ribs.

Walter Mitty?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 briancarrol692

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

And then what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Azwaldo55

Walter Mitty?

No it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

A hobo/junkie walked up beside me and my bud, put his hand in his pocket and said he would cut me if I didn't hand over my phone, I was steaming drunk so had no sense of danger or fear, don't know whether that's a good or bad thing but I just told him to fuck off, he pulled my friend back by the shoulder then and for a moment I thought stuff was gonna get messed up. Thankfully it didn't and basically nothing happened.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

This wino made what you could describe as a half hearted mugging attempt on me about 20 years ago. I went into a public jacks and went I came out of the cubicle this guy was standing there blocking my way.Now I knew this guy to see from around town and as well as being a traveller he has a really bad stutter so he could have been saying anything but I presume he was asking me to hand over my money.I pushed him out of the way easily,hes a small ****er.I'm pretty sure a few years later he was involved with his equally waster brothers in a mugging where they beat the **** out of a guy.I was lucky he was on his own that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

A friend mugged himself once. He was running with a mug of tea in his hands and tripped, left a big scar on his chin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

lol i would genuinely love to see a female mugger get a kick in the " mary "

Surely there's enough violence against women in the world, even if the person happens to be a mugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

I got mugged once outside the WFTA in Finglas when I was 17. There were two of them, early 30's. I was walking from where the Annunciation is over to the WFTA past this grassy area there and on the other side of it were those two. The mad thing I saw them and knew they were to be avoided. Got to the WFTA bus stop anyway and they were coming up, talking to each other. I knew what was coming but thought "You know what, I should run, but if I'm wrong I'd look mighty foolish". They got closer and one nodded to the other who walked slightly ahead of the other, so they were on either side of me. I thought "right, I'll swing for this cúnt... but maybe that's a bad idea". Now, if I wasn't on my own I would have done something, wouldn't let it happen to someone else.

So anyway, they got me in the corner of the bus stop, kicking me in the head and torso before taking whatever was in my pockets. "I have a knife" one of them said, didn't really believe him though. I think they were just looking to kick someone in and the mugging was an after thought. So, they finish up and set off, I get up and say "Hang on, can I get my keys off you?" and one of them turns around and says "Of course, yeah, here you are". For some reason I said thanks. Very Irish mugging.

It wasn't a traumatising experience at all, I was back in my friend's gaff (they took my bus ticket, so I had to get a lift) and we were joking and laughing about it 40 minutes later. The good thing about it is, it wasn't too rough an experience so I think it'll give me the balls to actually swing for them before they get to me or loaf them or something next time. A few people kept an eye out on what was being sold, but the phone they took wasn't worth selling - probably just got smashed anyway - nothing turned up either way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

old hippy wrote: »
    Surely there's enough violence against women in the world, even if the person happens to be a mugger.

not you again ???:rolleyes::rolleyes:

dont you ever get tired of being a sanctimonious self righteous self important petty little creature.

im sure you ll have some ridiculous dim witted retort but really rather than read it im just gona unfollow this thread , and leave you to tell some silly litle tale where you hug it out with the next needle waving junkie thief you retend to come across in your " vast human experience that you gained in the university of life and school of hard knocks life MAaaaan "

Mod: Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Nope.I'm 6'3,15 stone and dress like a bum.So I either look like too much hassle,or too poor to be worth mugging.Also keep my wits about me wherever I am, and don't go walking about with my phone or wallet on display.

Thought I was going to be robbed by three Mexican looking lads when I mistakenly ended up walking about in some massive housing project when I was looking for the Seinfeld diner when I was in the states in March,but they thought I was a cop (only white guy in the area I suppose) and were looking for directions themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

*shakeshead*

You just can't teach an Old Hippy new tricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 fionnacake

A friend once had their purse taken out of their pocket, she apparently just turned around and said "Purse!" and the person gave it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Yeah, I work as a property agent and around christmas 2 lads jumped into the car with me when I'd finished a rent collection just after I put my seatbelt on, slapped me around the place, put a screwdriver to my neck and took the money. Got away with a pretty penny too - scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Years ago in Sydney I went back to a house party and ran out of smokes so decided to take the wheelchair I found inside the house to the shop, and short cut through the park. as I'm drunkenly wheel chairing back I see a fella walking towards me and makes a bee line straight into my path,as he reached me he put his two hands on the arm rests of the wheelchair and stopped me telling me to give him my money and phone.I stand up at this stage and I'm hovering a good foot about him some look of shock on his face,a bit of a tussle between us before he runs off with me in pursuit,he got away but not before I grazed his hole with a kick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Yes. Interestingly he returned my wallet after I broke his jaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭lightspeed

anncoates wrote: »
    Actually a decent idea to carry around a spare sh_t phone as a mugger decoy :)

Why should you have to? We pay high enough taxes here so why cant we take the same tough stance on crime as in the middle east and other parts of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

No. I do live in dublin.
    Nib wrote: »
    No. I don't live in Dublin.

D1ck comment.

lightspeed wrote: »
    Why should you have to? We pay high enough taxes here so why cant we take the same tough stance on crime as in the middle east and other parts of the world.

Because chopping off someones hand for stealing a bit of food is rather harsh, tbf:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I never get mugged, despite being more than happy for someone to give it a lash. A big strapping lad was acting the tool in Dublin city center once -the missus and me were waiting for a taxi -he was shoving and pushing people, generally throwing his weight around looking for a fight, egged on by his spanner mates. He decided me glaring at him was offensive and elected to have a kerfuffle.

I was holding a cup of coffee and a fag and didn't fancy putting either down, so I put a foot under his as he stepped forward, as his weight transferred onto my foot, I slid it sharply sideways, flipping him over onto his head. It looked awfully painful - his mates were mystified as to how he had managed to trip and fall so heavily.

Aikido is possibly one of the most beautiful skills in the world to have nestling in your back pocket when confronted with muppetry. Oh, you have a knife? Deadly - handy that, I forgot to bring one, here, give us that for a minute, it looks nice. When herself and me started going out together first, there were lads forever bumping themselves off hard things through their own clumsiness. I mellowed a bit with age. But for anyone wishing to become mugger-proof, I recommend Aikido, it is the perfect modern day/litigation society martial art as no-one can say you struck them or threw a punch/kick etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Good few years ago. Idiot I was, I copped a few kn- people watching me but only after Id taken 600 out of an atm in Cashel. Made a beeline for Supervalue directly across the road and phoned a freind to come in unseen (they didn't follow me in) and take it. He did, I gave him my money, phone, keys and lotto tickets (just in case:D). I then left and sure enough I was approached. I told them straight out Id given everything away specifically so they could get f*ck all and started laughing at them while they beat me up. Took my knocks and that was that.

It was so f*cking worth it.
    Um. Could you not have, ya know, called the guards? Or a few mates? Or someone with a car to come pick you up? Or asked the store owner if they had a back door you could use?

Seems like your beating could have quite easily been avoided really.

Um. Could you not have, ya know, called the guards? Or a few mates? Or someone with a car to come pick you up? Or asked the store owner if they had a back door you could use?

Seems like your beating could have quite easily been avoided really.

Id does indeed seems strange but to adress your post point by point, the Guards was a non runner as I was acting on a gut instinct. I couldn't really ring them and say I thought I was about to be mugged. Also, store manager would probably be one of those "not really my problem, get out before you bring trouble in" types I assumed as there are rather a lot of those people about. And as for friends, only one was nearby:o. The store does indeed have two entrances so I chose the other one and chose wrongly.. To be honest I just knew Id run into them and had no problem with what would transpire. Im a tad strange like that Ill admit. There were serious lumps scored on either side but with four or five people, it doesnt matter if two have hit the ground holding their balls and faces respectively. The other two or three will use their time to ensure you are right behind them:D

It easy on your own however. Had there been a loved one present or something like that, Id have probably handed it over if I had to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

A friend was walking back to his hotel in Bangkok one night alone when 3 ladyboy's surrounded him, up in his face asking him "where you go? You like ladyboy's?

He says no and tried to ignore them and keep walking but then he felt this scrawny little hand go into his pocket....

He grabbed their wrist and said he squeezed as hard as he could nearly breaking it...

The victim let out 3 yelps like a dog apparently before running off crying:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

No. I head butted him first. Come to think of it, my probably wasn't trying to mug me. Sorry Mr Pensioner, my bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 354 ✭✭pO1Neil

Yeah when I was 14 a junkie robbed ten pound on me. He corned me down an alleyway in O'connell St. & told us he had a needle in his pocket & he would stab us with it unless I handed over everything I had in my pocket. Some scary sh!t for that age was pretty badly shaken for days after.

Looking back I hope the chap sorted his life out as I'm not vindictive but unfortunately I doubt he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭That_Girl_ Is_ A_Cowboy

Years ago my sister was in a shop. She had her wallet in her pocket. Walking to the counter some guy walked past her and out the door. It was a small shop. She went to pay for whatever it was and her wallet wasn't in her pocket. She looked at the floor and nothing. She ran from the shop and caught up with the man, gave him a big punch in the face and he dropped her wallet and ran away sporting a black eye for himself. I don't know how she copped so quickly that her wallet was robbed and it was your man. I still laugh about it to this day. Not at my sister getting robbed but your man. He robbed a wallet hoping for something good inside like money and all he got was a black eye. He was such a little coward running away. I'm so proud of my sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Lord PuppyMcSnuggle of Cuddleshire

lightspeed wrote: »
    No. Violent criminals are just misunderstood. It doesn't matter how many innocent lives they ruin, they deserve another chance to ruin more. You know, because we're so compassionate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Years ago I was approached by a junkie on Richmond Street, near the canal. He was about 10 feet away when he asked if I had the time. I looked at him and could see he had a syringe hidden really badly behind his hand (knuckles facing forward was the giveaway). I started walking away and he came after me, so I started jogging and he upped his pace but was in bits and couldn't run. I couldn't help laughing as I left him behind, lurching along the path shouting "come back ya wanker". I nearly felt sorry for when I looked back and saw him standing there, all forlorn looking, in his stripy jumper and torn tracky bottoms. Then I remembered he had a syringe.