Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has someone ever attempted to mug you?

• 10-06-2014 1:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭

Basically I was walking home late at night from a friends house and I was walking through an apartment block near Clondalkin village called Thornfield Square when I got threatened with a knife because I wouldn't give some little scumbag the time..
    Eventually I did give him the time and then he tried to rob my phone while still threatening me with the knife in his hands.
    What made it worse was that he was only about 15.

I'm wondering has anything like this ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

Why wouldn't you give him the time?

Also yes i have been mugged plenty of times, all happened whilst i was living in London. I got mugged as i came out of the chipper, the mugger asked for all my money which amounted to about 3 pounds but i asked him for 50p back so i could get a can of coke at the local garage to go with my chips and he was pleasant enough to allow this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

It's just a ploy to get the phone out so he can rob it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

masti123 wrote: »
    Basically I was walking home late at night from a friends house and I was walking through an apartment block near Clondalkin village called Thornfield Square when I got threatened with a knife because I wouldn't give some little scumbag the time..
    Eventually I did give him the time and then he tried to rob my phone while still threatening me with the knife in his hands.
    What made it worse was that he was only about 15.

I'm wondering has anything like this ever happened to you?
    I wouldnt care what age or sex they were, if a little scrote produced a knife at me I would follow it up with a swift kick to the balls/mary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

How big was the knife?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

The government rob me all the time Joe it's a scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Immy

When I was about 16 I was going to the ATM. I noticed 2 girls sitting across from ATM that got up and approach ATM as I started my transaction. One of the girls came and stood very close to me. I just checked my balance and when I went to walk away the other girl was right behind me.

I had intended to withdraw my wages, which was about £60.

On an opposite note my mother lost her purse last week with €400 in it. The guy who found it dropped it into her house the next day, not a penny gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

What time was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

No. I don't live in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Was walking in between two clothes lines at a block of flats one time. Five lads came out from behind the clothes, one after another. I elbowed the first while roundhouse kicking the second, jumping split-kicked the other two and straight punched the last one as I landed. I then wall walked 360 degrees to get turned around to look at the other five of them but they scarpered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

I see you've played knifey spoony before!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Nib wrote: »
    No. I don't live in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭pojfexcsc

Mugged by a junkie when I was 12 on new years day, he gave me 2 quid back no lies.

Got my head kicked in by 2 fellas in Galway and they nicked my passport of all things.

Yup, and succeeded. This is one of the reasons I hate Paris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

How big was the knife?

That's not a knife. THIS is a knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭generic2012

Yes. Clonskeagh of all places. 3 of us, two scumbags. Threatened three Cavan students, got a tenner and return ticket to Cavan. They were wired of their nut, was actually funny enough, we probably could have took them or run but our house was so close they would have seen use go in, so for €3.34 each it wasn't gonna be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

You should of told him time is relative

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Over the last 30 years I've lost count. Usually with knives. You learn to keep calm and hand it over. Apart from one time, this smartly dressed dude greeted me like I was a long lost pal, slipped his arm around me ( I was slightly the worse for wear) and that took money and my zippo lighter from my pocket. I bellowed out and chased him down the road. Not sure what I would have done if I'd actually caught him, mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Why wouldn't you give him the time?

I never give muggers the time of day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Once, between St Patricks Cathedral and Christchuch, down one of those side street. Lad in an army jacket came at me with a cement brick. I was lucky though, I turned around when I heard him running towards me and I ducked. Kinda did a spear tackle on him as he did this.

Give him one swift kick in the ribs when I got up faster than him and ran like f"ck outta there. Was in an awful mess when I got home, shaking and sweating. Full on shock I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

On Talbot Street, about 4 years ago.

It was about 6am (I was walking from the bus stop to my job), held up with a needle. Handed my purse to him and told him to take everything from it. There was only about 20 euro in it. I was lucky, because I was going to take about 400 euro out of an atm before work, because I was going away for the weekend after work, but had decided to wait til my lunch break to take it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

It was about 2am and it looked like a 10inch blade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

masti123 wrote: »
    It was about 2am and it looked like a 10inch blade

In the interest of accuracy for your story, are you male or female?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was walking down fifth avenue one night and this old lady was shuffling the other way. As she came closer, those fearful words that fill a longer traveler with dread she uttered. "Sir? Excuse me sir? Would you happen to have the time? " Weighing up my options, I knew there was only one way I was getting out of this alive.

I began with a short burst of crab like dance moves over and back the sidewalk, then reached my left hand into her face and said. 'Stop! Hammer time!' and walked by her before she had a chance to react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

I was asleep in a hostel in Buenos Aires in a dorm with 3 men (didn't know any of them). We'd left the door open on to the corridor as it was so hot.

I slept with my wallet beside me on the bed and woke in the early morning to find a scumbag grabbing it out of my hand. He'd also taken my watch, and cameras, mp3s from the other guys' bags in the room.

By the time I shouted and woke everyone up he was half way down the stairs and out the front door. Security in the place was lax to say the least!

Twice, most recently in London at about 7 pm but during winter so it was dark. Two absolutely huge guys demanded my purse and my phone, one of them showed me his knife. I handed both over and shook with relief when I realised they were going away and weren't going to hurt me. Shook for days actually.

They refused the phone, it was an ancient cheap nokia.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭spongebob89

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Back in 1997 I was coming out of a pub on Capel Street when this wiry-looking article of about 35 decided to have a go - wallet, phone, whatever I had. I put him on his arse bawling for mama with his right arm broken in two places. Called the Sweeney Todd and waited there until they arrived and started seeing to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Got my wallet snatched in a shop in Dublin before and chased the lad. Caught the little cnut and knocked him over but he took out a syringe so I just left him to it. Hardly any money in the wallet anyway and it was found and handed into my college a few days later with the cards in it.

Also held up with a gun (turned out it was a replica as he got caught later that night but i didn't know at the time) in a petrol station I worked in during college.

Candie wrote: »
    They refused the phone, it was an ancient cheap nokia.:)

Actually a decent idea to carry around a spare sh_t phone as a mugger decoy :)

anncoates wrote: »
    Got my wallet snatched in a shop in Dublin before and chased the lad. Caught the little cnut and knocked him over but he took out a syringe so I just left him to it. Hardly any money in the wallet anyway and it was found and handed into my college a few days later with the cards in it.

Also held up with a gun (turned out it was a replica as he got caught later that night but i didn't know at the time) in a petrol station I worked in during college.

I probably would have fainted. :o

Scary stuff.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Not recently. Was as a kid in New York. Well, the lady in the elevator with me was mugged. I can tell you he was black, and had a big gun. I got out at the next floor and ran like my arse was on fire.

Actually a decent idea to carry around a spare sh_t phone as a mugger decoy :)

Yeah, that's what I was doing.

<<>>

<<>>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I was approaching an ATM late one night when an innocent old lady who was at the ATM asked me if I would help check her balance.

So I pushed her over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Dublinflyer

Closest I ever came was at a ATM about 10 years ago. I was taking out money and two little knackers came up behind me and pointed a knife in my direction demanding I take them max out on my card. Sadly for them they did not notice my two brothers, both guards, sitting in my car across the road. The look on their face was classic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Yes. Clonskeagh of all places.

That may be the most middle-class thing anybody has ever written :pac:

Candie wrote: »
    I probably would have fainted. :o

Scary stuff.

You'd actually be surprised. I honestly didn't feel that scared at the time just a bit shocked. Remembered to press the panic button on the floor as well.

The hungry fcuker that owned the garage actually made me finish the night shift (and close up) by myself after the police had gone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I carry a weapon with me that I've used on a number of occasions.

A set of these. Nobody can stay angry when exposed to the soothing sounds of the Andes.

In the unlikely event of the soothing sounds not having the desired effect I just bash their faces in with it.

That may be the most middle-class thing anybody has ever written :pac:

You haven't been reading AH for long, have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Good few years ago. Idiot I was, I copped a few kn- people watching me but only after Id taken 600 out of an atm in Cashel. Made a beeline for Supervalue directly across the road and phoned a freind to come in unseen (they didn't follow me in) and take it. He did, I gave him my money, phone, keys and lotto tickets (just in case:D). I then left and sure enough I was approached. I told them straight out Id given everything away specifically so they could get f*ck all and started laughing at them while they beat me up. Took my knocks and that was that.

It was so f*cking worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

jimgoose wrote: »
    Back in 1997 I was coming out of a pub on Capel Street when this wiry-looking article of about 35 decided to have a go - wallet, phone, whatever I had. I put him on his arse bawling for mama with his right arm broken in two places. Called the Sweeney Todd and waited there until they arrived and started seeing to him.

A broken arm is one thing but riding him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Birneybau wrote: »
    A broken arm is one thing but riding him?

That's Big Tick Coolshie Gards for ya! :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    That's Big Tick Coolshie Gards for ya! :pac:

Ay hayor, now. Tis a dominance thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

You haven't been reading AH for long, have you?

Based on your joining date, 6 years longer than you :)

Karl Stein wrote: »
    I carry a weapon with me that I've used on a number of occasions.

A set of these. Nobody can stay angry when exposed to the soothing sounds of the Andes

Nothing says London Underground more than an ethnic-style poncho wearer brandishing their pan pipes like they're a Stradivarius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Pickpocketed in Paris, my own fault, forgot to take care of my wallet, knew the dangers had been working there for a year at the time.

Replaced the wallet, someone tried to rob my bag from behind, swung my arm back , caught the guy right on the jaw and he fell down some stairs in Gare du Nord.
    Locals told me to keep on walking.

copped a few kn- people.

Understandable diplomacy, it being Cashel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Frack

Two scumbags tried to mug for my phone outside The Grand Social but when they saw I had a Nokia Lumia they laughed and walked off. Pricks.

Based on your joining date, 6 years longer than you :)

Been reading it for 9 years. :pac:

Understandable diplomacy, it being Cashel.

I think I won a scratch card on that ticket too:D

That wasnt Clonmel was it?