Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    My god what in christ have you done?? :)

Nothing yet! half the loom is corroded :(
    Interslice wrote: »
    Watched this wheeler dealer episode a a while back
    Skip to 18:30

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEn82zmvsvY

Thank ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Nothing yet! half the loom is corroded :(

Why can't we just start chasing and replacing?

Because saab :pac: ah no once i get it stripped then i'll start with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Ya it's really good.....once it's done right!

It's the same colour alright, just seems a bit "dull" compared to the rest of the car.

would do, there's no laquer on it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Because saab :pac: ah no once i get it stripped then i'll start with that

Good quality wire :)

Where'd i get that? More importantly would you know where I could get a loom made up? This is all down the road stuff, but i like to be prepared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

If you have a loom to replace it, it'd be a headache but doable. If you've to make your own loom that'd be a nightmare. And then it's a saab to add extra complications to it all.

And you could always just buy a second hand loom of someone on one of the owners clubs in the uk.

If you have a loom to replace it, it'd be a headache but doable. If you've to make your own loom that'd be a nightmare. And then it's a saab to add extra complications to it all.

And you could always just buy a second hand loom of someone on one of the owners clubs in the uk.

It's not a gm saab though, so it shouldn't be too much heartache, I'll see how much it would be to get the main loom, the doors and boot seem to be readily available, i'll have a look on the saab forums in the uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

quick set of questions, as bizarre as the first is, but is it possible to rewire an entire car?

And do any of you know a decently priced sandblasting place/welders
    Did you get any reccomendations for this?
    I've got a bigger than minor rust spot on the truck that I need welding. Kurust couldn't work its magic :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭MedusaV8

Just curious. We are moving to Ireland and I'm thinking about bringing over my Mk4 Golf 1.8T Gti it's old granted 12 years old but is in excellent condition low miles for its age 68K. I'm a bit of a MK4 enthusiast and wondered if there is a Golf scene over there? I honestly can't sell it for much and there isn't much I could get with what I sell it for in the UK nothing fast and interesting anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Definitely bring it with you - they're mad for vag here. Will cost you nothing to VRT then sell it on in 12 months. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

MedusaV8 wrote: »
    Just curious. We are moving to Ireland and I'm thinking about bringing over my Mk4 Golf 1.8T Gti it's old granted 12 years old but is in excellent condition low miles for its age 68K. I'm a bit of a MK4 enthusiast and wondered if there is a Golf scene over there? I honestly can't sell it for much and there isn't much I could get with what I sell it for in the UK nothing fast and interesting anyway.

If you get a vrt exemption you can't sell it here for a year.
    There is quite a golf scene here, but most lads prefer diesel :(
    If you like the car, bring it with you.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Definitely bring it with you - they're mad for vag here. Will cost you nothing to VRT then sell it on in 12 months. ;)

Not when there's no "boooo off her laaad" they aren't :P

Not everyone wants a sh1tbox diesel. ;)

No need to be so nasty about it. :P
    A lot of the vag scene in ireland is fake GT TDIs that are remapped/chipped to the massive figure of 170 or 180 bhp (wow). There is a genuine scene I guess for the proper engined cars but the diesel fanbois get the bad reputation as they outnumber the good eggs.

I went to the vw show in limerick a while back. There were less than 3 r32/vr6 models and the vast majority were slammed diesel basic models.

I'm the last person that can insult someone for owning a crappy diesel sh1tbox, but then again I have a v6 and a v8 petrol car too - so I'm not biased :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭MedusaV8

No need to be so nasty about it. :P
    A lot of the vag scene in ireland is fake GT TDIs that are remapped/chipped to the massive figure of 170 or 180 bhp (wow). There is a genuine scene I guess for the proper engined cars but the diesel fanbois get the bad reputation as they outnumber the good eggs.

I went to the vw show in limerick a while back. There were less than 3 r32/vr6 models and the vast majority were slammed diesel basic models.

I'm the last person that can insult someone for owning a crappy diesel sh1tbox, but then again I have a v6 and a v8 petrol car too - so I'm not biased :P

:) Hey - have nothing against Diesels either. My main driver will be a Defender when we move. It's a my second Land Rover. The first one was a 3.5 carb V8. That was a hoot - had it 4 years but it had to go as it only did 12/15 to the gallon. :o.
    I'm also on my second Mk4 too having owned a GT Tdi for nearly 8 years. Awesome car that I gave to my Dad. It's done 178K miles and still drive fine.
    My new one Gti I've had three years and in Revo Stage 1 remap. Now that's a pocket rocket.

:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Let me know how that rust goes pickles.

Dont forget im driving an old uk yoke :pac:

Parked my car in drury street and had to leave my keys. .... interesting but everyone else was doing it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Let me know how that rust goes pickles.

Dont forget im driving an old uk yoke :pac:

Parked my car in drury street and had to leave my keys. .... interesting but everyone else was doing it !

I've never had that before and I park there a lot.
    Sounds very strange.

CianRyan wrote: »
    I've never had that before and I park there a lot.
    Sounds very strange.

Sounds like car jacking if im honest.

6a00d83451bd4469e20162fbcb45b9970d-pi_zpskc6ssmui.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Wallet inspector...

No chance in hell would anyone get my keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Can anyone recomend a good place to source a gearbox for a 2001 Irish wrx? 5 speed manual???
    My 2nd gear is nearly beat and im looking to get a box to replace it?

Did you get any reccomendations for this?
    I've got a bigger than minor rust spot on the truck that I need welding. Kurust couldn't work its magic :(

Nope no joy so far

There's a chap off Walkinstown roundabout called Irmantas who's very good and reasonable. I'll get his number for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Its not park rite. Its the one further down underground ... pretty normal from what i see

On lunch so just took a surpirse visit to get something from it.... all good, nothing touched and place is full of brand new BMW , audi merc etc. All with keys secure and they remember which car is belonging to you

Not bad I have to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Its not park rite. Its the one further down underground ... pretty normal from what i see

On lunch so just took a surpirse visit to get something from it.... all good, nothing touched and place is full of brand new BMW , audi merc etc. All with keys secure and they remember which car is belonging to you

Not bad I have to say

Why do you have to leave them?

I'd just laugh at someone who told me to leave my keys.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

How very odd! Anyone who wants the keys to my car will be brought through a strict training course outlining the starting and switching-off procedure for a rotary engine, and will have to prove their newly gained knowledge in an exam.

After an NCT tester flooded the engine of my car a few weeks ago, I'm not leaving anything to chance!

I'm sure your car will still be there when you get back later. :pac:

There's a chap off Walkinstown roundabout called Irmantas who's very good and reasonable. I'll get his number for you.

Thank ya!

In other news, I hate the rain and I hate having no cover for this car, bought a car cover but a shed would be very useful

I also went to a body shop to ask about getting the car done, their answer? We tend to stay away from rust and only deal with more modern things, it's not what we do
    So you're not a body shop?
    We are, but that's just not our area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

At the Mosney car show on Sunday, walking the public car park I spotted a family of 5 kids and two adults get out of an E-Class limo. I saw baby seats in the back and there was even a buggy in the boot. I silently congratulated the guy on being a bad-ass and not buying a MPV, but a limo. I nearly wanted to take a photo.

The lad in Walkinstown will suit ya grand so - totally old school and mostly works on classics.

Found his no. for ya: Irmantas 087 2185394