Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists mega-thread (WARNING: Before posting you must read post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

I'm not going to pretend I'm a fan of the YouTuber's methods, but he has done one thing -- highlighting just how dangerous the quays are for cycling on. Alek points out above that 21 bus routes use this stretch, and I have it on good authority that during peak hours there are around 115 busses per direction per hour -- one every 30 seconds. This is a heavily cycled route too, increasing the chances of conflict. Driver behaviour and cyclist behaviour aside (that debate is boring and just goes round in circles by the looks of things), the North Quays in particular carry such a volume of different traffic types that separation between cyclists and motorists is a must. This is particularly the case when it comes to bus stops, the most dangerous places as the respective routes of busses and cyclists effectively cross over.

Fortunately, I understand that there is a redesign underway of how the quays operate to allow the different modes to coexist more harmoniously. Until then I'm not sure what can be done other than everbody following the unofficial #1 rule of the road -- don't cause an accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

I missed the passenger exiting. Because hes let him out in the middle lane. I still think he was trying to merge into the cycle lane and go into the left lane. But he forgot to signal, then gave up and just stopped in the middle lane.

The problem on the quays is that it goes 2 lanes, 3 lanes, 2 lanes and the lanes. Which causes conflict. Even between cars and other cars.

Aard wrote: »
    ...I'm not sure what can be done other than everbody following the unofficial #1 rule of the road -- don't cause an accident.

Things would go a lot easier of all road users, left a gap in front, to let people merge in ahead of them.

Interesting analysis, Detective Monument :pac:

To a certain extent I can understand the driver's idea in not pulling all the way up to the kerb to collect passengers. Not great if there's a passenger with a disability, and not great in general given that a car might undertake the bus and put people standing in line at risk.

However, I do believe that formalising this practice might mitigate a lot of the problems with that particular bus stop and junction. If the roadspace were to be reclaimed as footpath (basically continuing the pavement straight until the junction, despite the building setback) then the busstop could be located pretty much where the driver in the video stops. Additionally, a cycle lane could be placed *behind* the bus stop so that there is no conflict between cyclists and busses at the stop, and only minimal conflict between cyclists and pedestrians. Essentially a Dutch bus stop, something like this:

XJsQ5qRl.jpg
    (Usefully, this image also shows a building setback much like the one in question.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭steveblack

I can say for certain , drivers and the unions have constantly brought the danger of this stop to managements attention and nothing has been done.
    A lot of posters here seem to be involved in cycling groups, could you not get together and do something about the stop?
    As a group get a petition going to close the stop? I guarantee dublin bus drivers would sign it.
    Bus drivers and the unions have tried but have only been ignored, it will only end in the worst possible way someday for a unfortunate cyclist, and then the stop will be removed.
    Instead of just banging away on your keyboard here make this the "cause célèbre" of the commuting & transport forum.
    Improve the roads of dublin one stretch at a time

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

The bus doors closing is even clearer again:

309997.JPG

And then the driver pulls off from being stopped when another cyclist is already well on his way to passing him and turning in:

309998.JPG

Then there's somebody on a DublinBikes across the junction...

309999.JPG

REWIND again: But while crossing the junction instead of slowing down and getting behind the DublinBiker, he moves out in-front of the YouTuber:

310000.JPG

steveblack wrote: »
    I can say for certain , drivers and the unions have constantly brought the danger of this stop to managements attention and nothing has been done.
    A lot of posters here seem to be involved in cycling groups, could you not get together and do something about the stop?
    As a group get a petition going to close the stop? I guarantee dublin bus drivers would sign it.
    Bus drivers and the unions have tried but have only been ignored, it will only end in the worst possible way someday for a unfortunate cyclist, and then the stop will be removed.
    Instead of just banging away on your keyboard here make this the "cause célèbre" of the commuting & transport forum.
    Improve the roads of dublin one stretch at a time

The quays need a full redesign quickly. The process is already under way and this should not delayed any more (it has been a few times and the process seems very slow).

In the meanwhile, this stop could be closed right away.

Cycling groups have been highlighting issues with a number of junctions for years and nothing is done. The city council is well aware of loads of issues out there, but progress is painfully slow.

When redesigning roads for cyclists the first thing the Dutch did was fix some of the worst points (including installing bus stop bypasses for cyclists, and things like segregation on junctions and roundabouts first). Ireland's approach is deal with the easy bits or wait till you can redesign a long bit.

Every week in dublin bus drivers are called up to see management on a Thursday to explain their side of a complaint.
    In years past it could be quit a heated meeting, management believing the complaint to be 100% true and the driver fighting his/her corner.
    Then something magical happened, CCTV was put on all the fleet, 360 degree coverage inside and out of the bus.
    Now on Thursdays drivers are still called up to the office about complaints, but are now told "we had a complaint about you, we reviewed the CCTV and your in the clear". End of meeting , driver on his/her way in under 5 minutes.
    In fact a few serial complainers who where making up lies have been sent solicitors letters to cease.
    If you dont read in the paper in the coming weeks that the driver was sacked, well come to your own conclusions.

If you dont read in the paper in the coming weeks that the driver was sacked, well come to your own conclusions....

I'm not following you.

13,500 view of this tread as of 1:20.
    Only takes 1,500 votes in the local elections to get elected.
    There is the making of a worthwhile campaign in this dangerous stop.
    Make enough noise and no politician will ignore it.
    Boards could be very powerful if it was focused on one simple problem at a time.
    Its a cliche, but from little acorns grow might oaks.
    Lets go after this stop and get it removed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Every week in dublin bus drivers are called up to see management on a Thursday to explain their side of a complaint.
    In years past it could be quit a heated meeting, management believing the complaint to be 100% true and the driver fighting his/her corner.
    Then something magical happened, CCTV was put on all the fleet, 360 degree coverage inside and out of the bus.
    Now on Thursdays drivers are still called up to the office about complaints, but are now told "we had a complaint about you, we reviewed the CCTV and your in the clear". End of meeting , driver on his/her way in under 5 minutes.
    In fact a few serial complainers who where making up lies have been sent solicitors letters to cease.
    If you dont read in the paper in the coming weeks that the driver was sacked, well come to your own conclusions.

LOL, really, it's nice that you believe that. Having been threatened by a DB driver, putting in a complaint to DB. All I ever heard back was that they did not discuss the matter externally. When the Gardai were contacted the footage was already gone. The next time I went straight to the Gardai and was told by the Garda that 48 hours after she contacted them, the driver admitted there were words exchanged but then there were problems with the footage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

monument wrote: »
    Let's REWIND for a second...

There's the bus behind the second cyclist and inside the cycle lane and there's also cyclists on the right of the bus:

309985.JPG

So, given that the bus is only ~33m from the corner and there's cyclists close by on the outside, you'd think the bus might slow down and go in behind the cyclist on the left?

Not a chance the bus goes around the second cyclist too and pulls up outside of the bus stop markings:

309993.JPG

309994.JPG

And opens the door outside of the bus stop and that distance away from the kerb:

309995.JPG

Where a passenger exits:
    309996.JPG

And at 27 secs the cyclist overtakes the bus ( you can see him reflected in the window ) he doesn't seem at all fazed about his near death brush with a maniac killer busdriver just 15 seconds before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Is it just me or do we seem to now seem to have some video tagged onto the end of it, pretty sure the original finished before the 2nd bus stop, such a shame he doesn't seem to have 30 seconds earlier to share .... me suspicious, never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Sorry, but my experience of DB's complaints investigations procedure is that it's a farce.

I complained when a bus shoulder surfed me through Whitehall, before squeezing by, cutting me off and the braking hard because the muppet driver in his rush forgot he might have to actually stop to let passengers on and off.

Anyway, complained to DB (I didn't confront the driver at the time, but made sure I got a good look at him so I could identify him) giving them all the details and a couple of weeks later got a reply to say the video footage didn't support my complaint. I asked to see the video footage and was told 'no.'

Went to the Guards and one of the Traffic Corps lads told me I was wasting my time complaining to DB. He also said the footage will have been destroyed before I got the letter to preclude further investigation.

His advice was to contact the Guards first, then they'll contact DB and have them hold on to the footage.

I also got myself a helmet cam :)

Spook_ie wrote: »
    And at 27 secs the cyclist overtakes the bus ( you can see him reflected in the window ) he doesn't seem at all fazed about his near death brush with a maniac killer busdriver just 15 seconds before!

I in no way implied that the second cyclist who was overtaken had been knocked off or eaten by the bus or something. I'm glad that you can tell that he does not look at all fazed from a blurred reflection. If what you mean is that he does not stop and give out -- well, most cyclists won't approach drivers

The point is:

The driver appeared to be originally moving in behind this second cyclist, but when the first cyclist reacts to nearly getting crushed by speeding up and overtaking the second cyclist, the driver follows.

There's no way the driver should be overtaking the second cyclist before that corner if he was already indicating left and pulling in towards the bus stop.

Effectively the driver tried to force two cyclists to the kerb so he could get to the bus stop quicker.

The bus driver is lucky the second cyclist overtook rather than undertook -- the bus was so far out from the kerb, even Dublin Bus unions would have a problem defending the bus driver if anything happened. I don't envy drivers having to use stops like it, but maybe it's time for them to boycott it on safety grounds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

Interesting analysis, Detective Monument :pac:

To a certain extent I can understand the driver's idea in not pulling all the way up to the kerb to collect passengers. Not great if there's a passenger with a disability, and not great in general given that a car might undertake the bus and put people standing in line at risk.

However, I do believe that formalising this practice might mitigate a lot of the problems with that particular bus stop and junction. If the roadspace were to be reclaimed as footpath (basically continuing the pavement straight until the junction, despite the building setback) then the busstop could be located pretty much where the driver in the video stops. Additionally, a cycle lane could be placed *behind* the bus stop so that there is no conflict between cyclists and busses at the stop, and only minimal conflict between cyclists and pedestrians. Essentially a Dutch bus stop, something like this:

XJsQ5qRl.jpg
    (Usefully, this image also shows a building setback much like the one in question.)

That is the exactly how cycle lanes and bus stops should be placed. It enables the cyclist to carry on safely past the bus stop without any conflicts. A lot of the bus stops on the N11 have been re-engineered to emulate this. On a more mundane note, it is tastefully done and respects the character of the surrounding architecture and more specifically that of the adjacent building.
    Seaswimmer wrote: »
    Hey Patrick. Knew we would sign you up eventually. Dont forget to come on over to the cycling forum..

When I made use of the phrase "would-be", I meant that in certain circumstances, I would take up cycling as my main mode of transport. As I currently work in Citywest, I drive there as it is just under 20 miles.

However, if I was working somewhere like Sandyford which is about 4 miles, I would more than likely take up cycling as a means of getting there. It would take a bit of getting used to. But, ultimately, I would be slimmer, healthier and happier:).

In a similar vein, if I was working in town, I would take the DART. It all depends on the location of work and the most sensible, cost-effective and efficient means of getting there. Driving into town would be madness with the extortionate parking and all that. I've done it very few times and it ain't pleasant:(. Looking for a convenient parking space is nightmare. I'd choose the DART over this any day of the week as it's hassle-free.

Having said all of that, I will pop over to the cycling forums:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,050 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Why don't you tell us what you would do? Calmly back off I'm sure! :rolleyes:

Yes. It makes more sense but it wouldnt be of much interest for my youtube followers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,050 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

CramCycle wrote: »
    a fellow cyclist

as if we have secret group, or are all on in on it together (whatever "it" is). Your comments make it sound like the likes of monument and other cyclists who may post here, would defend him because of some imagined "one of us" mentality, regardless of where the fault lies. For myself, and I presume monument from his comments, that's simply not true, maybe we are simply not liked by all the other cyclists.

The secret society of no Monuments and CramCycles ;)

There is no imagine it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

XJsQ5qRl.jpg

There are more than a few locations around Dublin where this situation is recreated,however,in typically Irish style,our administrators and supposed professionals will actively conspire to place the cycle lane in the position where it maximizes conflict with EVERY other mode....for a textbook example,refer to Stop 3018 Outbound opposite the Goat Pub Goatstown.Nothing accidental,but rather a deliberate placing of the Cycle Lane where it must cause the most danger.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

One thing that comes to mind about the Quays in general is the footpath next the river on either side. As buildings only line one side, why are two footpaths needed ? Could the riverside footpath be utilised as a cycle lane, adding a little more width if necessary. The little more bit approximating to the width of the present cycle lane ?

Or is this too logical ?

Isn't there a plan to have one side (two way) for buses and taxis, cycles, and the other (two way) for cars.

beauf wrote: »
    Isn't there a plan to have one side (two way) for buses and taxis, cycles, and the other (two way) for cars.

No. There were a number of options being looked at and behind closed doors it is being limited down to cycling and walking along the quay side, with some extra boardwalks but also the likelihood of horrible shared use sections at pinch points at junctions or elsewhere. Hopefully there'll be no shared use but it's sounding more and more like it.

I'll wait until we see the plans, but it more and more seems to be a fudge of the original idea of providing a high quality walking and cycling route without affecting buses too much.

That's a pity.

I think they missed an opportunity not running a segregated cycle path along side the Luas. At least to Heuston.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

If the car parking spaces running along parts of the quays were removed then paths could be widened and a cycle lane installed.
    Why they are still there is madness, they cause delays with people reversing into spaces and also trying to indicate out. Should definitely be removed..

Shared-use is ok for low-speed residential areas. It's inappropriate for high-speed, high-volume commuter routes. Shared use bike+ped on the quays would be a disaster.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Shared-use is ok for low-speed residential areas. It's inappropriate for high-speed, high-volume commuter routes. Shared use bike+ped on the quays would be a disaster.
    It would be like the go karting event in that kids TV show fun house, you could get all the lads to throw their empty tins of druids/Stonehenge at you while you try and avoid slipping due to discarded coffee cups.

LOL Nice site :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

beauf wrote: »
    LOL Nice site :)
    Can be very funny at times. Has also made international headlines and almost caused international incidents when people haven't recognised it for a satire site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

No Pants wrote: »
    Can be very funny at times. Has also made international headlines and almost caused international incidents when people haven't recognised it for a satire site.

The North Korean skit was particularly good, fake letters from the North Koreans asking then to cease and desist. I'm a Waterford man myself (I know, I know), so probably biased.