Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,734 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

You get the usual knee jerk halfwits on all these threads. Calling for draconian laws whilst revelling in their retribution fantasies

Unbelievable. If you look back through their history you'll see that most of them are just kids doing what kids do, looking for attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Overheal wrote: »
    With all do respect to yourself, there is far too much forgiveness in society for the sake of forgiveness. Blame the video games blame the drugs blame the friends just don't ever blame the perpetrator.

I have my own friends in life, who have been raped, carried to term, and are the nicest most innocent seeming people you'll ever meet. Real sweet. But, they also then choose to hang out around drugs and alcohol, get DUI's, tweet about their coke habit, post videos and pictures of them beating up "their best friend" for sleeping with your ex boyfriend and - I could enumerate this for a while. I can point and say her company are a pack of fcuking idiots but at the same time thats the newsletter she wishes to subscribe to. So whose fault is that?

It's not a matter of faults. We all have control over our own actions but do you think bringing your friend to the cell and physically assaulting her (as some posters are suggesting) would rehabilitate her? Would you also say that taking her traumatic experience into account in rehabilitation would be benificial and not a "do-gooder" as some posters are suggesting.

Also overheal drug seeking behaviour is quite common after experiences after this. It's not fair to say they simply choose it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Unbelievable. If you look back through their history you'll see that most of them are just kids doing what kids do, looking for attention.

Not sure if you mean my comment is unbelievable or "their" comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hootanany wrote: »
    That kind of answers the question

Perhaps instead of having a silly response you might refer me to the post that counteracts my belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,734 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Not sure if you mean my comment is unbelievable or "their" comments.

Sorry... I meant them, the internet hard men and their attention seeking comments. Sorry about the spelling too, long day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

steddyeddy wrote: »
    It's not a matter of faults. We all have control over our own actions but do you think bringing your friend to the cell and physically assaulting her (as some posters are suggesting) would rehabilitate her?
    As you say, other posters are suggesting that, so I won't even justify that question with a response.
    Would you also say that taking her traumatic experience into account in rehabilitation would be benificial and not a "do-gooder" as some posters are suggesting.
    If you're going to rehabilitate them. Thats not what happens. They are released back into society with little to no consideration for rehabilitation. And then incidents keep reoccuring.
    Also overheal drug seeking behaviour is quite common after experiences after this. It's not fair to say they simply choose it.
    Nor do they simply become puppets. However understandable their motivation is, that does not condone it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Perhaps instead of having a silly response you might refer me to the post that counteracts my belief.

Wibble Wibble:p

Overheal wrote: »
    As you say, other posters are suggesting that, so I won't even justify that question with a response.

Well that's what's going on in this thread.
    If you're going to rehabilitate them. Thats not what happens. They are released back into society with little to no consideration for rehabilitation. And then incidents keep reoccuring.

Well I hope your friend is getting the help she needs.
    Nor do they simply become puppets. However understandable their motivation is, that does not condone it.

No they're not puppets but wanting to eradicate the memory of rape is completely understandable to me. They're not puppets but they certainly didn't choose an existence where being on drugs is the only way to be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

You get the usual knee jerk halfwits on all these threads. Calling for draconian laws whilst revelling in their retribution fantasies.
    They should head over to the thread about the dead car jacker there's a party going on.

Im dying to hear how this situation should have been dealt with?

People are pissed off, rightly so. We need to take back our streets from the anti social element of society, and it can be done, the problem is the lack of will to do it. When Guillani wanted to clean up Time Square in New York and reclaim it from the pimps, dealers and junkies people said it couldn't be done. He showed them that all that was required was the will to do it and the square went from a no go area to a tourist attraction becaue the will existed on his part.
    I get really frustrated with those that refuse to acknowlege a problem or address it, people are tired if the shoulder shrugging, that's just kids, what can we do? brigade. The answer is surely not that we do nothing, but rather that we do what it takes. That starts with confronting the problem on the street. I applaud those guards for the exemplerary job they did, far too many would have just walked on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

conorhal wrote: »

Of course it should have been dealt with by the Guards releasing the young man as his friends so cordially demanded; through the acquiescence of authority figures to the taunts of the delinquents the young citizens will naturally see the error of their ways, and will not be tempted anymore to push the boundaries of civic regulations.
    The answer is surely not that we do nothing, but rather that we do what it takes.

Nicely said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hootanany wrote: »
    Wibble Wibble:p

Just as I expected.
    I have found you out.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's the lack of respect for the Gardai that amazes me. No fear, no worry of any kind from those kids. How can they be so fearless and disrespectful of law and order at such a young age?

If I was stopped by the Gardai I'd be sh!tting myself, and I should have NOTHING to fear from them, ever.

It's the lack of respect for the Gardai that amazes me. No fear, no worry of any kind from those kids. How can they be so fearless and disrespectful of law and order at such a young age?

If I was stopped by the Gardai I'd be sh!tting myself, and I should have NOTHING to fear from them, ever.

Why would you be sh1tting yourself?

[/B]
    Why would you be sh1tting yourself?

Ah I'd just be afraid of anyone seeing me with the cops!

But seriously, it's just that I have respect for what they do, and who they are. Most people do I reckon, despite all the bad news recently.

Ah I'd just be afraid of anyone seeing me with the cops!

But seriously, it's just that I have respect for what they do, and who they are. Most people do I reckon, despite all the bad news recently.

For most of them I do but I don't think they do enough to get rid of the bad ones.

People are pissed off, rightly so. We need to take back our streets from the anti social element of society, and it can be done, the problem is the lack of will to do it. When Guillani wanted to clean up Time Square in New York and reclaim it from the pimps, dealers and junkies people said it couldn't be done. He showed them that all that was required was the will to do it and the square went from a no go area to a tourist attraction becaue the will existed on his part.
    I get really frustrated with those that refuse to acknowlege a problem or address it, people are tired if the shoulder shrugging, that's just kids, what can we do? brigade. The answer is surely not that we do nothing, but rather that we do what it takes. That starts with confronting the problem on the street. I applaud those guards for the exemplerary job they did, far too many would have just walked on.

No problem with the Guards response they have to make judgement calls on the spot.
    My problem is with the lunatic response some posters have to any crime. Anybody who uses the word "scumbag" or "subhuman" is not worth listening to. If you have concerns about the level of crime you don't need to get irrational about it.
    Some people love a bit of self righteous indignation.

For most of them I do but I don't think they do enough to get rid of the bad ones.

Funny enough, I think they do. They have good intel and know who the real scumbags are.

Then it's down to lack of evidence, no one will appear as a witness, terrified I suppose.

And if they do eventually get them into court a judge who lives in the leafy suburbs and has no conception of how these scumbags destroy their communities every day, will give a derisory sentence or suspended, community service or some such tripe.

Sometimes I wonder how the police have the motivation to keep the revolving door going down the criminal courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

No problem with the Guards response they have to make judgement calls on the spot.
    My problem is with the lunatic response some posters have to any crime. Anybody who uses the word "scumbag" or "subhuman" is not worth listening to. If you have concerns about the level of crime you don't need to get irrational about it.
    Some people love a bit of self righteous indignation.

After reading that, I see what you mean ...

Funny enough, I think they do. They have good intel and know who the real scumbags are.

Then it's down to lack of evidence, no one will appear as a witness, terrified I suppose.

And if they do eventually get them into court a judge who lives in the leafy suburbs and has no conception of how these scumbags destroy their communities every day, will give a derisory sentence or suspended, community service or some such tripe.

Sometimes I wonder how the police have the motivation to keep the revolving door going down the criminal courts.

I'm saying they don't do enough to get rid of the minority of bad cops. I think they do a good job with crime in general.

Ah, ok. Apologies for the misinterpretation there.

Piliger wrote: »
    After reading that, I see what you mean ...

I had a feeling that last bit would come back to haunt me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

and what's the issue with how they dealt with the public order problems depicted on the video?

None from me. My presence in this thread involved disagreeing with the people saying the kids should get an actual hiding.

Never works. Violence begets violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Doubt it.

And breeds mistrust of the gaurds. Some kids from bad backgrounds gets a hiding from his father or mother one day goes out and out of desperation runs away and steals food to survive. Gaurd gets him beats him up and that would apparently improve things. Hypothetical situation but that's how it could play out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I'm Confused what good has ever come from letting kids hang around intercity street's unsupervised ? I think Police should have some sort of camera about their person automatically recording. Would put a lot of the oh their poor kids types silent as you will see what the police rolled up to. I guarantee they were not at this area taking tree rubbings for their science homework.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Nonsense. Violence begets submission and obedience. Sometimes it is the only way.

And breeds mistrust of the gaurds. Some kids from bad backgrounds gets s hiding from his father or mother one day goes out and out of desperation runs away and steals food to survive. Gaurd gets him beats him up and that would apparently improve things. Hypothetical situation but that's how it could play out.

This is funny on many levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

Should have tied those little knackers to a lampost on James Street.

catallus wrote: »
    Nonsense. Violence begets submission and obedience. Sometimes it is the only way.

This is funny on many levels.

Society needs protecting from nutjobs more than it does from kids. I hope you don't indulge your violent fantasies.