Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Hootanany wrote: »
    To throw them on the ground and cuff them really some duty of care.

Well how else are they supposed to cuff them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 lillen

And you can back that up?

Only from personal experience.

I'm originally from a different European country and the Garda here compared to any other European police force is a joke.
    The level of tolerance the Garda have towards real crime is scary.

lillen wrote: »
    Only from personal experience.

I'm originally from a different European country and the Garda here compared to any other European police force is a joke.
    The level of tolerance the Garda have towards real crime is scary.
    Other police forces are armed, easy to face down a couple of lads when your pointing a gun at them.

Did you re-register just to post that?
    Please debate. I have a lot of issues with the garda but not for that clip.
    That is the kind of bad manners teachers get from a section of youngsters in school every day. The garda handled this well. I hope those youngsters were taken home to their parents and a good rollicking given. Their language was disgusting and didn't lick it off the stones obviously.

No, I registered a few days ago.

I have no issue with the garda acting the way they did, as long as they are ready to do the same thing when its a group of football hooligans mouthing them, or any other group of adults for that matter.
    The sad truth is that they would not have the balls to do what they did in this clip - they have a tendency to only pick the battles they are already the superior in.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

5uspect wrote: »

. I actually do blame the parents.

What happen when they don't have parents?

So, anyway, this has turned into a bit of a rant.
    tl;dr some kids people are just a lost cause and no matter what you do for them they don't care.

That's exactly how I feel.
    No matter what you do they cant see that you are actually trying to give them a future.And that frustrates me more than anything.

But you know what--I just cant give up on these kids.
    The user who I recently put on my ignore list made a comment that "the kids are probably laughing at me" and that Im probably an idiot to keep on trying.

Water off a ducks back to be honest.

Ill never give up on any of them that I look after. If I even change a few of them from having a ****ty life then Ill consider it a job well done.

And the ones who I cant make a difference to Ill just have to put it down to the fact that they don't want to change.
    You cant make someone change if they don't want to. But Ill always give them a second chance if they do come back to me even if its in a year or two when they do sort themselves out.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Other police forces are armed, easy to face down a couple of lads when your pointing a gun at them.

You obviously never resided in a European country other than Ireland.
    The police very much refrain from even pulling their guns as this causes a media uproar and internal investigations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

The Garda is a ****ing joke.
    They have no problems proving a point in situations like these, but as soon as there is any risk of danger towards them - they observe or walk the other way.

An unarmed, off-duty garda arrested an armed robber in Drogheda barely more than a week ago. It was all over the news, how did you not hear about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,100 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Smidge wrote: »
    These threads always make me :D.
    The baying for blood from kids because they have a Dublin accent, which automatically make them scumbags.
    I would LOVE to see AGS handle real criminals in the same manner. You know, ones that weren't half their size.
    But rest assured the streets are a whole lot safer now these "hardened criminals" have been hauled off and more paperwork can be done, which means less guarda presence on the streets in the event of something serious happening. :rolleyes:
    By all means arrest them if the are committing a REAL crime, but no.
    Easy pickings here and a lot of throwing around of weight. Would these same guards deal with a real scumbag in the same manner. The answer is a resounding no. I've seen it with my own eyes. Too much risk and hassle for the guard, better to kick the cat.

"Real Criminals" are dealt with in the same way, it's just usually not recorded. Just because you don't see it doesn't mean it doesn't happen. And it is completely different when dealing with youths. You'd be surprised the amount of calls received regarding youths causing hassle. And it's always the same groups, and there's very little can be done. Are you saying that we should ignore the youths to concentrate on the "harder" criminals? Thus leaving them run riot, causing damage and annoyance, intimidating younger and older folks? Because that's the message i'm getting from your (I obviously have a problem with the Gardaí) posts.

And in the same manner? What manner is that? Courtesy? Restraint?
    steddyeddy wrote: »
    Gardai have a tough job but arresting kids isn't part of it.

Yes, it is. It's a very common part of it.
    Hellrazer wrote: »
    So please stop judging people when you know nothing about them.I can only speak for this lad who I know well and he really doesn't deserve half the criticism aimed at him.Hes had a really bad upbringing living in homes for most of his life. Its really unfair to judge him without knowing anything about him.

I appreciate the work you do. It's a hard job, and i wouldn't do it for the life of me. But, you also have to realise that this youth was given more chances than a lot of others, and he still consciously makes the decision to be the hard man and act up. If he's refusing help, there is nothing more you can do but offer the help where you can, then sit back and let him ruin his own life. You can't concentrate on everyone all of the time. Give it to those who appreciate it and deserve it. If he genuinely wants to change, he'll come back. But judging by that video and your comments, he's only heading in one direction.
    Ah shure the boyos were only learning their trade give em a chance, TBH I think the guards did a 99% professional job, where they erred was that they did not stick the boyo with the phone in the cop car take the phone off him and scrub the video especially after he loud mouthing about his camera expertise

Everyone is free to record what they want in public. The action alone does not constitute enough to haul the young lad off. But, i'm glad he recorded it. It is an excellent example of patience and restraint on behalf of the Gardaí involved.
    Won't happen. I watched a group of "hardy bucks" - the real hard chaws - kick seven shades of crap out of each other on a main street, weapons were used and people were properly hurt - the Gardai took a role of observers, not a hope was anyone manhandled or arrested or swung around into the back of cars. Mainly as they'd very likely get a clatter back...

How many "chaws" and how many Gardaí were present? If the Gardaí are outnumbered, it makes more sense to observe and react than charging in and potentially putting yourself and your colleagues in danger. Two groups of criminals fighting each other will unconsciously join against the Gardaí if they get involved.
    The Garda is a ****ing joke.
    They have no problems proving a point in situations like these, but as soon as there is any risk of danger towards them - they observe or walk the other way.

I refer you to the above. Sometimes it makes more sense to observe and react, split second decisions have to be made and that decision has to consider threat to life, threat to property, back-up, support, legalities, repercussions, the liklihood of the Garda action causing a bigger problem. Just to name a few. If you wish to give sweeping statements like that, backing it up with actual proof would be useful. And saying you saw it isn't enough. Shur i saw a single Garda take down a warehouse full of heavily armed Mafia. Just because you said it doesn't make it true.
    To throw them on the ground and cuff them really some duty of care.

The initial youth, to whom the duty of care was being utilised, was placed into the back of the patrol car without being cuffed or thrown to the ground. The other two were causing hassle and subsequently got arrested, the first of which was arrested up against the car, the second of which had to be brought to the ground because of his behaviour. I see no issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

No matter what you do they cant see that you are actually trying to give them a future.And that frustrates me more than anything.

They see more than you; they can see that you are trying to take their future away, not give them one. They want to be a controlling actor in their environment, you are trying to prevent that by putting them on the normal social path and when they refuse to follow your path you put it down to their not being able to see. Can you not see the irony here?

You obviously never resided in a European country other than Ireland.
    The police very much refrain from even pulling their guns as this causes a media uproar and internal investigations.

I'm well aware, but the fact is it acts as a deterrent. You really think a group of 6 soccer hooligans are scared of a gardai with an asp and pepper spray? But if that cop had a gun on their holster it would at least create an extra few seconds to diffuse the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Again, does anyone know what happened to get the Gardai involved in this situation to begin with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I'm not really sure how else they could have done a better job of it, honestly.
    They gave the lads more than ample chance to stop and they didn't.

I remember once or twice that I came across a garda who was a complete f**ker to me; after thinking about it and talking to a pair of gardaí that happened to stop me and my friends at the same area. One of them pointed out that even though I was talking to them without a problem, two out of the 6 of my groupe were being abusive f**ks.

Point is that his friends could have handled it a lot better instead of screaming abuse like a pack of kids; they could have just waited, asked to talk to the garda before he left to get the story. But instead they need to try to intefere and verbally abuse the gardaí

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

What happen when they don't have parents?

That's exactly how I feel.

But you know what--I just cant give up on these kids.
    The user who I recently put on my ignore list made a comment that "the kids are probably laughing at me" and that Im probably an idiot to keep on trying.

Water off a ducks back to be honest.

Ill never give up on any of them that I look after. If I even change a few of them from having a ****ty life then Ill consider it a job well done.

And the ones who I cant make a difference to Ill just have to put it down to the fact that they don't want to change.
    You cant make someone change if they don't want to. But Ill always give them a second chance if they do come back to me even if its in a year or two when they do sort themselves out.

You're a better man than me. I think failure is important and they need to be dumped out on their arse, at least until it hurts.

As regards the lack of parents, I guess I can't really comment. I suppose I'm just talking about your average entitled little **** rather than the extreme cases where there is a real risk of lifelong harm. It seems that the former are often treated as if they're the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Job well done! Your never going to please everyone especially scangers and those with grudges and chips on their shoulders!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

as long as they are ready to do the same thing when its a group of football hooligans mouthing them, or any other group of adults for that matter.

Ask Combat18

Again, does anyone know what happened to get the Gardai involved in this situation to begin with?
    The kids were arrested cause the climbed a fence or something and then they refused to leave and they then kept badmouthing and abusing the guards. I say the video on fb earlier this week. I can't see why their faces where blocked out in the video though it was filmed by one of their friends and he then put it up on fb and tagged them all in it so it just seems a bit ironic blurring out their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

No, I registered a few days ago.

I have no issue with the garda acting the way they did, as long as they are ready to do the same thing when its a group of football hooligans mouthing them, or any other group of adults for that matter.
    The sad truth is that they would not have the balls to do what they did in this clip - they have a tendency to only pick the battles they are already the superior in.

The garda don't 'pick battles' - not that I've ever seen anyways. None of those kids were punches, kicked, pepper sprayed or battoned. They were grabbed by their tshirts :rolleyes:... the garda were very light handed.

Here's a video of a few gardaí fighting a load of football hooligans from Eastern Europe seeing as you have some kind of facination with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Great work by the Gardai - bloody amazing restraint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭chocksaway

Should have got a few slaps for the vertical video recording

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

5uspect wrote: »
    There is a fair point in this before the ****ty ending. It's difficult to have sympathy for some of these 'troubled' kids when so much is done for them, and probably have more opportunities than I ever had.

Growing up my parents was pretty strict, we weren't let out with friends much or given much freedom. (Looking back my parents were probably a bit too restrictive) I didn't get all the cool clothes etc that my peers all seem to get, it almost felt that my parents didn't get how hard this made being a teenager subject to peer pressure. What I did get was full support for education. There was no question that we wouldn't go to university to do whatever we wanted. Of course we had to work every summer to contribute to the cost. So I may have suffered socially initially but I guess that was the sacrifice.

These kids seem to have all they want now without a care for their futures. I actually do blame the parents. There is a lack of forethought and they just want things now. It seems like everything they want is handed to them rather than earned. This probably all goes back to the structure of our social welfare system where things are expected rather than earned.

So nice people like Hellrazer work hard to give them a chance, but they don't care because they think they're entitled to whatever they want. They go off and act the bollix and when called out on it envoke the troubled childhood card. I've no doubt their parents are difficult but lots of us had a hard time growing up, be it abusive parents, bullying or social anxiety. So I would say they're manipulating him. They expect an endless string of these once in a lift time chances.

We take on several undergrad interns where I work each year. We put time and money (we pay them quite well) into them. We let them work on cool projects (3D printers, lasers, Arduinos, wind tunnels, coding you name it) and they spend their time learning rather than doing something useful for the company. Most of them are pretty good but you always get one or two who just don't give a **** no matter how much you try to help them.

So, anyway, this has turned into a bit of a rant.
    tl;dr some kids people are just a lost cause and no matter what you do for them they don't care.

By the sounds of things we operate on the same programme but with the biochemical programme as opposed to the engineering one. I see the same pattern as you. Most of the time the kids are delighted to see the inside of a lab or whatever but some don't appreciate what you are doing for them and even work against you. I remember giving a talk to a few and having one kid hurling abuse and trying to ruin it for the rest of them. That wasn't on but like Hellrazer I will not let the minority who don't appreciate ruin it for the majority who want to do well in life.

I came from a disadvantaged background and I don't mean parents on the dole or whatever. I very much understand what they are going through and why some of them might distrust adults or authority. No it's not right but it's understandable. People like Hellrazer and you are doing more to fight against future criminality than most people do. Certainly using force isn't the way to go about it.

The other thing to point out is that people have very different definitions of disadvantage. Disadvantage in my books means maybe coming from a violent, neglectful or dangerous home or maybe not having parents at all. Many of the young adults I work with come from homes like these. There are more children from homes like these than people think.

The fact of the matter is a lot of these kids don't believe they deserve a better life. When they get to college it often isn't till first year until they believe that they can do it. Their results year after year usually look like "3rd, 3rd, 3rd then finishing with a first. It's a uphill battle with these kids but every kid that we can get off the streets is a success. Just helping one is enough.

I'll add that what worked for me is luck. Someone seen that I was intelligent and encouraged that. I also was a member of the FCA (army reserves) which is fantastic for discipline and focus. They also encouraged me to keep fit and get into athletics. I also met a scientist who gave a talk at a youth club. He encouraged me to become a scientist and for that I am forever grateful. All that happened in my favor was luck and many kids don't get that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Think the guards did well, the lad doing the vid was hopeful for better 'action' to forward to whatever tabloid / talk to Joe type radio show.
    Maybe thinking they'd come out with a fat compo cheque if the guards lost it? Smacks of baiting to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

hynesie08 wrote: »

Even easier when there KIDS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

What the hell are people talking about, applauding the guards in the clip for showing "great restraint"???

The kid the guard dragged across the road because he was so worried about his "duty of care" for him :rolleyes: was about 4 foot tall and about 7 stone max weight, and thats even when the kid would be soaking wet.
    Restraint??
    what would people been happy with?
    The guard kicking the kid around the road?
    Batoning him?

Jesus wept

What the hell are people talking about, applauding the guards in the clip for showing "great restraint"???

Jesus wept

Kid was probably a thieving thug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

catallus wrote: »

Stupid comment is stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

steddyeddy wrote: »
    By the sounds of things we operate on the same programme but with the biochemical programme as opposed to the engineering one. I see the same pattern as you. Most of the time the kids are delighted to see the inside of a lab or whatever but some don't appreciate what you are doing for them and even work against you. I remember giving a talk to a few and having one kid hurling abuse and trying to ruin it for the rest of them. That wasn't on but like Hellrazer I will not let the minority who don't appreciate ruin it for the majority who want to do well in life.

I came from a disadvantaged background and I don't mean parents on the dole or whatever. I very much understand what they are going through and why some of them might distrust adults or authority. No it's not right but it's understandable. People like Hellrazer and you are doing more to fight against future criminality than most people do. Certainly using force isn't the way to go about it.

The other thing to point out is that people have very different definitions of disadvantage. Disadvantage in my books means maybe coming from a violent, neglectful or dangerous home or maybe not having parents at all. Many of the young adults I work with come from homes like these. There are more children from homes like these than people think.

The fact of the matter is a lot of these kids don't believe they deserve a better life. When they get to college it often isn't till first year until they believe that they can do it. Their results year after year usually look like "3rd, 3rd, 3rd then finishing with a first. It's a uphill battle with these kids but every kid that we can get off the streets is a success. Just helping one is enough.

I'm in tears! Try dealing with groups like this 4 or 5 times a shift on a Saturday night, I've met just as many decent people from disadvantaged areas as affluent areas and there is loads of help and opportunities for those who choose to take the right choices, the sence of entitlement is sickening with some of these groups, it's fueled by doo gooders. If you get up of your ass you can make things happen for yourself, we all get knocked back but you have to get up and go again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Here's a video of a few gardaí fighting a load of football hooligans from Eastern Europe seeing as you have some kind of facination with it...

Austria is in central Europe.

catallus wrote: »

Incredible restraint. They should get paid a lot more to suffer these little sh1ts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Im no gooder just saw Police Brutality on kids like to see them do that on scummers but they would run a mile.

What a laugh !!