Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

catallus wrote: »
    showing these human stains anything but physical punishment and draconian justice is folly.

You have just been put on my ignore list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Delighted the little pr1cks got collared. The hope. Would be that it would be enough of a wake up call for them. Kids that age these days can be dangerous little b@stards a lot of the time. The Gardai did well, showed a lot if restraint tbf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

If the garda was helping the first lad, why did he take it upon himself to drag the little fella around like a rag doll? That looks like assault to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Hootanany wrote: »
    Just Brutality

Funny guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I think the point being made is a lot of people on these sort of threads want the gaurds to assault the kids to "teach them a lesson". In their eyes this is a well thought out plan that will reduce crime and definitely result in the kids respecting the gaurds a lot more.

No that does not work.
    We had 30+ years of that in Northern Ireland before sense set in.
    The Garda seem to have done a good job in that clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I think the point being made is a lot of people on these sort of threads want the gaurds to assault the kids to "teach them a lesson". In their eyes this is a well thought out plan that will reduce crime and definitely result in the kids respecting the gaurds a lot more.

I agree with everything you're saying, but I'd add that my own personal beef with it is this willingness to throw out the concept of living in a society of citizens with equal rights. If people believe that it's ok for authority figures to act in a certain way in response to disrespect, but not vice versa, they are IMO part of the problem. It is this attitude which led to the Church being allowed to run amok without anyone questioning it or doing anything about it, same goes for FF in the 70s and 80s, same goes for the banks, same goes for the recent AGS scandals - you get the idea.

Unless we as a nation create one rulebook which everybody has to follow in the same manner, then exactly what kind of hierarchal society do people want to live in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Gardai doing there jobs and what will come of it.

Those young lads will stand in front of a Judge who will give them a slap on the wrist for being naughty boys who come from troubled homes.

Then those young lads will laugh in the face of the gardai as they walk out of court!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I agree with everything you're saying, but I'd add that my own personal beef with it is this willingness to throw out the concept of living in a society of citizens with equal rights. If people believe that it's ok for authority figures to act in a certain way in response to disrespect, but not vice versa, they are IMO part of the problem. It is this attitude which led to the Church being allowed to run amok without anyone questioning it or doing anything about it, same goes for FF in the 70s and 80s, same goes for the banks, same goes for the recent AGS scandals - you get the idea.

Unless we as a nation create one rulebook which everybody has to follow in the same manner, then exactly what kind of hierarchal society do people want to live in?

Bigtime. There is a huge differences in what different people consdier a scumbag to be.

Gardai doing there jobs and what will come of it.

Those young lads will stand in front of a Judge who will give them a slap on the wrist for being naughty boys who come from troubled homes.

Then those young lads will laugh in the face of the gardai as they walk out of court!

Quick question but do you know what a trouble home entails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

To pose one other question, does anyone have the context to why exactly these kids were interacting with the Gardai in the first place? What had they done to draw the attention of the Gardai to begin with? (No conjecture please, if nobody knows then nobody answer) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Shady Tady wrote: »
    Funny guy!

Just a realist they were only Kids not hardened Crims big difference.

Quick question but do you know what a trouble home entails?

Yes I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭thebannerboy

coolemon wrote: »
    Completely counterproductive arresting these young kids for what appears to be little to nothing.

It is early encounters with gardai like this, and particularly of an arrest, that begins childrens cycle of anger and hate of gardai and authority. It enters them into a cycle of incarceration and crime.

What does it achieve? Are they a threat to society? Will their parents be able to afford the fine when they get it?

Disgusting really. Thera are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.

Oh dear lord its that softness and wool gloves from the law that has them the way they are

Yes I do!

Go on?

Go on?

Go on where? I am here already no need to go on anywhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Kerryfootball

If the garda was helping the first lad, why did he take it upon himself to drag the little fella around like a rag doll? That looks like assault to me.

Assault? Get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Clap! Clap! Clap! :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::D

Ha ha ha ha ha! I really must write that one down. I mean expand upon your answer.

No!

No!

Great so you haven't a clue as I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Assault? Get a grip.

On what?

Great so you haven't a clue as I thought.

That is the great thing about the internet you are free to believe anything you want when someone doesn't want to engage in an online discussion with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 lillen

The Garda is a ****ing joke.
    They have no problems proving a point in situations like these, but as soon as there is any risk of danger towards them - they observe or walk the other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Mark Oxford

lillen wrote: »
    They have no problems proving a point in situations like these, but as soon as there is any form of danger for them involved - they observe or walk the other way.

And you can back that up?

So can I easy targets are well easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

They have no problems proving a point in situations like these, but as soon as there is any form of danger for them involved - they observe or walk the other way.

Did you re-register just to post that?
    Please debate. I have a lot of issues with the garda but not for that clip.
    That is the kind of bad manners teachers get from a section of youngsters in school every day. The garda handled this well. I hope those youngsters were taken home to their parents and a good rollicking given. Their language was disgusting and didn't lick it off the stones obviously.

By the way you can be sure that most gaurds don't think that using force against kids is a good idea. Most gaurds I know are aware of problems in inner city areas. That doesn't mean they should arrest people for breaking the law (which would be ridiculous) but they know the reasons why people lash out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

They have no problems proving a point in situations like these, but as soon as there is any risk of danger towards them - they observe or walk the other way.

It's called duty of care to yourself.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

catallus wrote: »
    I can't get my head around your viewpoint.

Your compassion is woefully misplaced; you yourself said earlier that he deliberately and consciously acts in an aggressive hardman manner (you say he pretends) depending on who he is in physical proximity to.

This kid must be laughing his head off at you.

There's a lot to be said for kindness and compassion for people, but it comes to a point where it becomes reckless foolishness; showing these human stains anything but physical punishment and draconian justice is folly.

There is a fair point in this before the ****ty ending. It's difficult to have sympathy for some of these 'troubled' kids when so much is done for them, and probably have more opportunities than I ever had.

Growing up my parents was pretty strict, we weren't let out with friends much or given much freedom. (Looking back my parents were probably a bit too restrictive) I didn't get all the cool clothes etc that my peers all seem to get, it almost felt that my parents didn't get how hard this made being a teenager subject to peer pressure. What I did get was full support for education. There was no question that we wouldn't go to university to do whatever we wanted. Of course we had to work every summer to contribute to the cost. So I may have suffered socially initially but I guess that was the sacrifice.

These kids seem to have all they want now without a care for their futures. I actually do blame the parents. There is a lack of forethought and they just want things now. It seems like everything they want is handed to them rather than earned. This probably all goes back to the structure of our social welfare system where things are expected rather than earned.

So nice people like Hellrazer work hard to give them a chance, but they don't care because they think they're entitled to whatever they want. They go off and act the bollix and when called out on it envoke the troubled childhood card. I've no doubt their parents are difficult but lots of us had a hard time growing up, be it abusive parents, bullying or social anxiety. So I would say they're manipulating him. They expect an endless string of these once in a lift time chances.

We take on several undergrad interns where I work each year. We put time and money (we pay them quite well) into them. We let them work on cool projects (3D printers, lasers, Arduinos, wind tunnels, coding you name it) and they spend their time learning rather than doing something useful for the company. Most of them are pretty good but you always get one or two who just don't give a **** no matter how much you try to help them.

So, anyway, this has turned into a bit of a rant.
    tl;dr some kids people are just a lost cause and no matter what you do for them they don't care.

To throw them on the ground and cuff them really some duty of care.