Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

coolemon wrote: »
    Is it a question of "how well the gardai" handled it?

The question is what does it achieve? Is this the best practice and approach to furthering social ends?

A Nazi soldier putting a jew in a gas chamber might handle it very well. But that would be to avoid the point.

OK I'll bite. Whats your solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

edit: double post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Surely it's more counter productive to ignore their behaviour. They will either br brought straight home are to the station for their parents to collect them. They will likely be assigned a juvenile liason officer to engage with. They have now discovered that their actions have consequences but have not been punished for it. Seems pretty fair to me.

If only it were that simple. We live in a society where actions do not have consequences. They only have consequences for the lowest strata.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

Is it a question of "how well the gardai" handled it?

The question is what does it achieve? Is this the best practice and approach to furthering social ends?

A Nazi soldier putting a jew in a gas chamber might handle it very well. But that would be to avoid the point.

Not bad... we nearly managed 4 whole pages....

edit: nope, missed the one on page 2... :rolleyes:

D1stant wrote: »
    OK I'll bite. Whats your solution

For a start, perhaps not being so quick to arrest. Explaining and talking to the kids about their wrongdoing. Having a chat with their parents.

Arresting them will solve nothing. It produces problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

If only it were that simple. We live in a society where actions do not have consequences. They only have consequences for the lowest strata.

Again you're using terms like "lowest strata" what are you basing this on?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Again you're using terms like "lowest strata" what are you basing this on?

Upon those statistically most likely to end up in this situation. by their accent. By their clothing. By their location.

I infer these are youth of the lower class(es).

Maybe im wrong. Maybe this incident occurred in Blackrock or Sandyford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

h2005 wrote: »
    Their parents must be proud.
    The sad thing (and a large part of the problem) is that they probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Good , they sound like they need a few slaps.

Along with their parents :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭amacca

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Fully disposable?

Are we suddenly living in a nazi state?

No we are living in a state where little **** think they can do whatever they want….

They probably behave this way in the home (because their parents aren't allowed or aren't willing to discipline them properly)

They probably behave this way in school (because teachers no longer have the kind of authority they should have or its an unbelievable rigmarole of paperwork etc to deal with it and in the end the rights of the "student" rather than responsibilities trumps all so trying to deal with it results not actually dealing with it but simply being forced to tolerate it)

They also then behave this way in society because no one there wants to take them on - who knows who big brother, what gang they might be a member of/or what sort of syringe they might be carrying or how one would come out of being kicked while down on the ground by a gang of the little scumbags

I for one think the gards in the video did very little if anything wrong and in fact gave them the chance to not get arrested
    the junior scumbags (pretenders really - they probably come from blackrock) at the very least showed a lack of intelligence that definitely shouldn't be rewarded with a nice cup of tea and some kind words

If those kids had learned a little respect, restraint earlier in life it might have served society never mind themselves well….they were clearly hysterical and abusive in the video in the first post at least and a part of me thinks a little pepper spray etc might not be a bad idea.

As previous posters have mentioned there is no way they would get away with that type of sh1t in lots of other countries (in europe + US at least) and the amazing thing is that most of the little scrote-lites know it if and when they go to these places and have no problem behaving themselves so why can't they behave themselves here if given the proper stimulus- i.e.: No ****ing tolerance.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

For a start, perhaps not being so quick to arrest. Explaining and talking to the kids about their wrongdoing. Having a chat with their parents.

Arresting them will solve nothing. It produces problems.

You'll have to put them in the car to get them to their parents for a chat, how's that going to work out for you?

amacca wrote: »
    No we are living in a state where little **** think they can do whatever they want….

They probably behave this way in the home (because their parents aren't allowed or aren't willing to discipline them properly)

They probably behave this way in school (because teachers no longer have the kind of authority they should have or its an unbelievable rigmarole of paperwork etc to deal with it and in the end the rights of the "student" rather than responsibilities trumps all so trying to deal with it results not actually dealing with it but simply being forced to tolerate it)

They also then behave this way in society because no one there wants to take them on - who knows who big brother, what gang they might be a member of/or what sort of syringe they might be carrying or how one would come out of being kicked while down on the ground by a gang of the little scumbags

I for one think the gards in the video did very little if anything wrong and in fact gave them the chance to not get arrested
    the junior scumbags (pretenders really - they probably come from blackjack) at the very least showed a lack of intelligence that definitely shouldn't be rewarded with a nice cup of tea and some kind words

If those kids had learned a little respect, restraint earlier in life it might have served society never mind themselves well….they were clearly hysterical and abusive in the video in the first post at least and a part of me thinks a little pepper spray etc might not be a bad idea.

As previous posters have mentioned there is no way they would get away with that type of sh1t in lots of other countries (in europe + US at least) and the amazing thing is that most of the little scrote-lites know it if and when they go to these places and have no problem behaving themselves so why can't they behave themselves here if given the proper stimulus- i.e.: No ****ing tolerance.

And the US is such a great model isn't it?

Prisons packed with African-americans.

Whatever you do, don't direct blame towards the cause of the problem.

5uspect wrote: »
    You'll have to put them in the car to get them to their parents for a chat, how's that going to work out for you?

That's not a problem. Arresting them and handcuffing them to put them in the car is problematic.

Treat them with some respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

That's not a problem. Arresting them and handcuffing them to put them in the car is problematic.

I think the Guards showed a lot of respect considering they were getting fooked out of it by a crowd of junior skangers.

Yeah, just ask them nicely, maybe offer them some sweets. What could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

These kids sound like scumbags.

They sound like dubs

I think the Guards showed a lot of respect considering they were getting fooked out of it by a crowd of junior skangers.

Skangers. Where are you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

The only thing I see missing is a taser or perhaps some pepper spray. Would have calmed them down much quicker. Great to see the guards dealin with these feral scrotes.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Yeah, just ask them nicely, maybe offer them some sweets. What could go wrong?

Better again. Arrest them and solve nothing.

Better again, let them go so they can tell all their mates how they pushed a guard and got away with it. Then next time instead of 2-3 mouthy lads you've 6-8 with no fear of getting in trouble? So don't arrest them? Then in 2-3 years when they start drinking. Then there brave and drunk with bottles. Yeah great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Well that a waste of garda time.

Theyll be out 2moro with a slap on the wrist filled with hate and anger at the guards and probably take it on someone. Good job Irish goverment and Judges.

Btw did anyone notice one of them use the word "paki"

Send them to a south american jail for a week they won't be getting rowdy when the local gangs see their pretty bodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭No Pants

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Fully disposable?

Are we suddenly living in a nazi state?
    Yeah. A Nazi state. We're living in a Nazi state.

I'm on my phone right now, so I can't use any emoticons, but I'm saying the above in a sarcastic tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭amacca

Completely counterproductive arresting these young kids for what appears to be little to nothing.

It is early encounters with gardai like this, and particularly of an arrest, that begins childrens cycle of anger and hate of gardai and authority. It enters them into a cycle of incarceration and crime.

What does it achieve? Are they a threat to society? Will their parents be able to afford the fine when they get it?

Disgusting really. Thera are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.

Total Bullsh1t imo and opinions like this are why they already hate them…..they were let run riot from the beginning.

The yards were trying to look after a kid with a hand injury which they stated (not that they should have to explain)

The otherkids verbally and then physically interfered with the gards - this incident won't make them hate the gards they already have that opinion because its how to blend in/be accepted in the environment they grow up in - they are conditioned basically……if the yards took that from them without any retaliation the little scrotes would have even less respect the next time around as they would think an easy way to score points in front of their mates would be to continue/escalate on what they previously got away with

But for the sake of argument…say your a gard, you see a kid in bits after injuring his hand…you have a duty of care so you have to take him to get treatment particularly as the incident is being videoed----his friend then proceed to get hysterical (fair enough ignore) then they push you physically and start to damage police property after you give them several chances to avoid arrest….which is my reading of what happened

I'd probably do exactly what they did……what if one of the little pr1cks had a screwdriver etc…….I probably wouldn't let them invade my personal space at all in case it would present them with an easy opportunity to stab me - it would be pepper spray immediately and I bet it that was the policy they wouldn't try that type of crap in the first place

but out of a certain morbid curiosity what in sweet **** would you do in this situation bearing in mind its split second and you have to think on your feet + you have a duty of care etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Keep them overnight and let their parents come collect them. If this is how they treat a garda Im sure they treat others with a lot of respect. They're old enough to know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Society and law has come a long way in trying to create a world where children are safe. Some people work hard to give people these rights, and other people then destroy that hard work by taking total advantage.

This hits the button for me, Excellently stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If the person the garda was abusing was acting the magot then I would think they deserved it.

If the Garda the person was abusing was acting the maggot, then would you think they deserved it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

They should be out arresting real criminals not the easy touches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

Thera are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.

Working class accents = disadvantaged youths.

What an ignorant post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

These threads always make me :D.
    The baying for blood from kids because they have a Dublin accent, which automatically make them scumbags.
    I would LOVE to see AGS handle real criminals in the same manner. You know, ones that weren't half their size.
    But rest assured the streets are a whole lot safer now these "hardened criminals" have been hauled off and more paperwork can be done, which means less guarda presence on the streets in the event of something serious happening. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭ondafly

This video is a breath of fresh air. Finally little muppets are getting arrested. We all know the type who hang around causing trouble for society. It's about time they are getting picked up. I hope more guards act in this fashion and we can finally get back to a more civil society where actions have consequences.

It always baffles me how in Dublin there are always gangs of these scrotes just hanging around intimidating people whereas in any other capital city that I've been I've never seen anything like it.