Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIXERUPPER of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

That's still not sold!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

was it posted here before? i never seen this mayo reg one before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭jharr100

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-3-series-318-auto/6777056

No NCT Or Tax - Airbag Light On - Needs Passanger Rear Wheel Bearing

Is this worth bothering with for under €599 asking price?

The airbag light is the one that would worry me..

28668686.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

jharr100 wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-3-series-318-auto/6777056

No NCT Or Tax - Airbag Light On - Needs Passanger Rear Wheel Bearing

Is this worth bothering with for under €599 asking price?

The airbag light is the one that would worry me..

28668686.jpeg

I think the mat in the seat is the most likely cause in them, can't remember what sort of cost is involved. High enough mileage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Madman2

^^^ cheap price for a clean enough car, few dents and scrapes in the arches (from what i can see) and the airbag light may just be a quick plug in fix, but at the end of the day it's an auto with no tax or nct and that's it's biggest downfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭mullingar

bear1 wrote: »

I'd say engine is fecked, only way to know is to pull the head off and check for piston/crackshaft/bearing damage in the block plus check the head too..

Honda Accord Noise IN Engine

HONDA ACCORD CTDI 2007 ENGINE HAS NOISE IN IT TIMING CHAIN SLIPED ?

THIS CAR IS SOLD WITH EINGINE DAMAGE

THIS CAR JUST HAD 570EURO SPENT ON IT

THIS CAR IS MINT 6 SPEED GEAR BOX

NCT TILL 3/2015

WE ARE SELLING THIS CAR ON BEHALF OF CUSTOMER

07 (2007)

mullingar wrote: »
    I'd say engine is fecked, only way to know is to pull the head off and check for piston/crackshaft/bearing damage in the block plus check the head too..

Think you could be right there.
    Factor in probably another 2/3k and it would be back on the road.
    Ah well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Kaiser D wrote: »

I'd totally buy that, could be a small cheap fix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

In keeping with the Bill Griffin theme:

30141336.jpeg

Looks decent enough, other than the usual loose airbag cover. As I discovered, red "fir tree" trim clips off any Fiat are a perfect fix. No moo cows, but if that mileage is genuine...

€650

I'd totally buy that, could be a small cheap fix.

I think the simplest fix could be the thermostat.
    I somehow doubt that though...
    Easy enough to tell if the head is gone - remove the oil cap and if any mayo coloured oil then the head is gone.

In keeping with the Bill Griffin theme:

30141336.jpeg

Looks decent enough, other than the usual loose airbag cover. As I discovered, red "fir tree" trim clips off any Fiat are a perfect fix. No moo cows, but if that mileage is genuine...

€650

If that mileage is genuine then I'd want proof that the belts/pump and variator were done as it would be seriously due now.

I'd say they've had a look at it already and decided its not worth the hassle.

You mean the 147?

Nah, the 520

Ah ok, I'd agree with you as well. I wouldn't go near it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭jharr100

Ah ok, I'd agree with you as well. I wouldn't go near it.

Yeah, Overhauling the entire cooling system would be a costly exercise if you weren't doing it yourself?

I guess it depends how far gone it is and how much you are willing to spend.
    You could probably get it back on the road with another 6/700e in repairs.
    So you'd still be in bangernomics territory with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yoshiktk

For any one looking for Mazda 6:
    This is not worth the hassle. Dent in the back, cracked window, rust in few places,no logbok.

To be fair, the dent and the rust is quite visible at the rear of the car.
    Any reason why he didn't have the logbook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Well lads/lassies quick question put in here as ye might know. If I buy a few fixer upper cars to sell is there a limit as to how many I can sell a year? Besides changing diffrent names on the book ect how elce do ya get around it? Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yoshiktk

To be fair, the dent and the rust is quite visible at the rear of the car.
    Any reason why he didn't have the logbook?

I was checking the pics on the phone, it looked more like shadow not a dent so my bad. There is rust inside as well. He didnt wanted to say exactly whats the story with the logbook. Plus the John was more like Anatoli from Romania.
    When I said that im leaving started pretending that he got a call from another buyer. In my 10 minutes visit there he "had" five calls. Tried to put pressure on me. Wouldnt be surprised that it was a "landmine"
    Just checked the info on motor tax, it just changed ownership in last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,810 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Well lads/lassies quick question put in here as ye might know. If I buy a few fixer upper cars to sell is there a limit as to how many I can sell a year? Besides changing diffrent names on the book ect how elce do ya get around it? Cheers.

I there is a general rule that if more than 4 cars are moving through your name per year revenue might have a look at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

mickdw wrote: »
    I there is a general rule that if more than 4 cars are moving through your name per year revenue might have a look at you.

That's sort of what I was getting at. Iv herd that they cought up with a few lads around here, if it's true or not I don't know. Is there any way around it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭Bigus

That's sort of what I was getting at. Iv herd that they cought up with a few lads around here, if it's true or not I don't know. Is there any way around it?

Sure why not give them a bit , it's not illegal to make money and you'd have expenses too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

mickdw wrote: »

I've done more than that this year and last year (not as a business mind, I just like to buy cars and I get bored quickly :P ), but nothing has been said to me yet.