Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭RoryMac

BohsCeltic wrote: »
    I had to google him.
    On another note a pub in Dublin 15 is looking to get Lennon out for a q&a evening

Which pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

Clonsilla inn, its on their Facebook page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,356 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I'd say that Ronny Deila is well used to running a club on a shoestring budget. Looking at the squad he manages now, I'd say he has no money to spend at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Stefan Johansen probably suggested that Celtic do their due diligence on Ronny Deila since he worked under him for 2 years and the media blow it out of proportion in a similar fashion to what they did with the "informal chat" with Roy Keane. Cheap tricks by the media to boost falling sales.

Cant help thinking that the Roy Keane thing was a red herring for the media whilst Lawwell made contacts with the candidates he really wanted without tipping off other clubs.

Dempsey wrote: »
    Stefan Johansen probably suggested that Celtic do their due diligence on Ronny Deila since he worked under him for 2 years and the media blow it out of proportion in a similar fashion to what they did with the "informal chat" with Roy Keane. Cheap tricks by the media to boost falling sales.

Cant help thinking that the Roy Keane thing was a red herring for the media whilst Lawwell made contacts with the candidates he really wanted without tipping off other clubs.

You might be right, I felt something was off on the Keane story right from the start, MON going public on the story was always going to affect his chances of getting the job if he was ever being considered.

I don't know much about Delia but if there is any truth in it at least it's good to see we have broadened our search beyond EPL one year wonders although it may just have been leaked by our board to give that impression before we hire whoever is the cheapest option

Griffith's case delayed indefinitely by the SFA until the police investigation finishes.

I won't be surprised when they finish it right in time to mess with European qualification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

That would be typical alright, we are in dire need of a new striker this window so the sooner get a manager the better!
    I hope the scout are still doing some magic behind the curtains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Aye we all have our grand theories don't we. My grand theory is Keane went for a chat with Celtic and when he heard what the transfer budget was going to be, he ruled himself out of the running. Possibly he thinks it's better to bide his time with Ireland and wait for an offer from the EPL or Championship to come along. Technically he didn't turn it down, 'cos he wasn't offered it, but he withdrew his interest when he learned about the transfer budget, I reckon.

Lennonist wrote: »
    Aye we all have our grand theories don't we. My grand theory is Keane went for a chat with Celtic and when he heard what the transfer budget was going to be, he ruled himself out of the running. Possibly he thinks it's better to bide his time with Ireland and wait for an offer from the EPL or Championship to come along. Technically he didn't turn it down, 'cos he wasn't offered it, but he withdrew his interest when he learned about the transfer budget, I reckon.

You sound bitter!

I'm sure that discussion happened during the informal chat. Do you think he waited a week to ask what budget he was getting compared to Lennon?

You sound bitter!

I'm sure that discussion happened during the informal chat. Do you think he waited a week to ask what budget he was getting compared to Lennon?

Why would I be bitter, it's not like Celtic lost out on getting Ancelotti, this Norwegian guy could turn out to be a better manager for all I know. I'm a bit pissed off about the tenner i had at 33to1 though, but that's only 'cos it looked to be a sure thing at one stage.

You've an awful habit of giving your opinion but trying to pass it off as fact There was only one informal chat as far as I know and I'd safely say as far as you know as well. When the speculation regarding Keane broke, it was stated by MON that he was asked by Dermot Desmond if he could speak to Keane and then Keane went for the"informal" chat. I think he didn't pursue the job any further for the same reason that Neil Lennon left - the transfer budget. That doesn't mean he was offered it, it just means he stopped being interested in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

Press conference for tomorrow. Looks like we have a manager.

Why would I be bitter, it's not like Celtic lost out on getting Ancelotti, this Norwegian guy could turn out to be a better manager for all I know. I'm a bit pissed off about the tenner i had at 33to1 though, but that's only 'cos it looked to be a sure thing at one stage.

You've an awful habit of giving your opinion but trying to pass it off as fact There was only one informal chat as far as I know and I'd safely say as far as you know as well. When the speculation regarding Keane broke, it was stated by MON that he was asked by Dermot Desmond if he could speak to Keane and then Keane went for the"informal" chat. I think he didn't pursue the job any further for the same reason that Neil Lennon left - the transfer budget. That doesn't mean he was offered it, it just means he stopped being interested in it.

The tone of your last post was bitter towards me! :D

I give my opinion based on facts and I point out the facts that lead to my opinion, your opinion seems to ignore some important facts. No better example that the idea that Desmond somehow bankrolled Robbie Keane despite the fact that he didnt and the idea of bankrolling transfers goes against everything he has said and done regarding Celtic since the last share issue.

I've little doubt he wasnt offered the job but he had his informal chat, a week of it being in the full glare of the media, which is an uncharacteristic way for Lawwell to do his business (so I doubt the leak came from the Celtic camp), and let public sentiment grow against him, Irish & Celtic, taking the Celtic job. If the budget was such a deal breaker, why wait a week to declare himself out of the running? Two 5 minute phone calls to Strachan & Lennon after the chat with Desmond would have removed all doubt over the idea of getting this magic budget you thought was going to happen.

The tone of your last post was bitter towards me! :D

No, wrong again:D. I was just throwing back a phrase at you that you threw in my direction is all.
    I give my opinion based on facts and I point out the facts that lead to my opinion, your opinion seems to ignore some important facts. No better example that the idea that Desmond somehow bankrolled Robbie Keane despite the fact that he didnt and the idea of bankrolling transfers goes against everything he has said and done regarding Celtic since the last share issue.

You just go around in circles don't ya, splitting hairs all the time. The PLC sanctioned by Desmond bankrolled the transfer wage for Robbie Keane, whatever way you want to put it, the wage for that transfer was sanctioned is the point. The PLC sanctioned by Desmond could also increase spending a bit in the transfer market this summer from recent years, that's my belief, do you agree with that? Nevermind Roy Keane, I'm talking about the transfer budget for whoever the next manager is. They probably wont do it, my point was and is they could.
    I've little doubt he wasnt offered the job but he had his informal chat, a week of it being in the full glare of the media, which is an uncharacteristic way for Lawwell to do his business (so I doubt the leak came from the Celtic camp), and let public sentiment grow against him, Irish & Celtic, taking the Celtic job. If the budget was such a deal breaker, why wait a week to declare himself out of the running? Two 5 minute phone calls to Strachan & Lennon after the chat with Desmond would have removed all doubt over the idea of getting this magic budget you thought was going to happen.

Are you trying to make out he didn't continue to look for the job because of Celtic and Irish sentiment growing against him possibly taking it? You don't believe that do you?:pac: Roy Keane couldn't give a sht about sentiment of fans. If he was offered it and he liked the terms of the budget and wages and he thought the job suited him, he'd take it on, simple as that.

Let's be clear here. I said if Keane was getting the job it meant the transfer budget would've been modified - not a magic budget as you so erroneously put it. Keane would not have taken the job if the budget wasn't modified, I stand by that. I believe that was the deal breaker, just like I believe that's the main reason why Neil Lennon left his job this summer as opposed to in a year or two. You might say otherwise but you can't prove it and you can't say it's based on fact, and that is where you fail in your arguments time and time again.

You're the guy - a so called Celtic fan - who argued vehemently against Martin O'Neill's appointment to the Ireland job. I'm confident you'll be proven wrong in that assessment and I don't trust your judgement since then. I'd safely say - even though there's no way of telling for sure - you're probably wrong again on this matter.

No, wrong again:D. I was just throwing back a phrase at you that you threw in my direction is all.

You just go around in circles don't ya, splitting hairs all the time. The PLC sanctioned by Desmond bankrolled the transfer wage for Robbie Keane, whatever way you want to put it, the wage for that transfer was sanctioned is the point. The PLC sanctioned by Desmond could also increase spending a bit in the transfer market this summer from recent years, that's my belief, do you agree with that? Nevermind Roy Keane, I'm talking about the transfer budget for whoever the next manager is. They probably wont do it, my point was and is they could.

Are you trying to make out he didn't continue to look for the job because of Celtic and Irish sentiment growing against him possibly taking it? You don't believe that do you?:pac: Roy Keane couldn't give a sht about sentiment of fans. If he was offered it and he liked the terms of the budget and wages and he thought the job suited him, he'd take it on, simple as that.

Let's be clear here. I said if Keane was getting the job it meant the transfer budget would've been modified - not a magic budget as you so erroneously put it. Keane would not have taken the job if the budget wasn't modified, I stand by that. I believe that was the deal breaker, just like I believe that's the main reason why Neil Lennon left his job this summer as opposed to in a year or two. You might say otherwise but you can't prove it and you can't say it's based on fact, and that is where you fail in your arguments time and time again.

You're the guy - a so called Celtic fan - who argued vehemently against Martin O'Neill's appointment to the Ireland job. I'm confident you'll be proven wrong in that assessment and I don't trust your judgement since then. I'd safely say - even though there's no way of telling for sure - you're probably wrong again on this matter.

Its not splitting hairs, it just a fact of the matter. The economics of a 6 month loan deal is very different to signing a player for 4-5 years. That should be obvious.

I believe that the informal chat was dropped into the public domain for the purpose of driving a wedge between Keane and an offer from Celtic.

As I said already, 2 more successful Celtic managers couldnt get budget increases off the back of several successes. I dont see how a manager out of the game for 3 years would have gotten more from the off. The is nothing to suggest he would yet you continually think it would happen for him.

And now claim that the the club has downgraded and Keane ran away because of the budget. I'd be delighted if he did run away because of the budget constraints because lets face it, its the only way he'd have a chance of European success at Celtic is blowing their cash reserves & increasing the debt to accommodate what he needs to be successful. Celtic are about player development and he doesnt have much of a record at that aspect of the game.

I'm not surprised its boiled down to that for you. I looked at MON's record objectively then & I've looked Keane's objectively now. You seem to go for the Irish/Celtic connection as a good a reason as any, good for you.

I believe that the informal chat was dropped into the public domain for the purpose of driving a wedge between Keane and an offer from Celtic.

By who, why would there be a need to drive a wedge between Keane and the Celtic job, he either gets the job or he doesn't. Doesn't make sense, not logical.

I'm not surprised its boiled down to that for you. I looked at MON's record objectively then & I've looked Keane's objectively now. You seem to go for the Irish/Celtic connection as a good a reason as any, good for you.

No, not true, I think MON will do a good job for Ireland and I think Keane could've done a good job for Celtic, for different reasons ,but that ship with Keane has sailed anyways. Celtic have had good foreign managers in the past, hopefully this guy will be another one if he gets the job. He has a track record with young players, but only in the Norwegian league. He'll be a gamble - a cheap gamble.

By who, why would there be a need to drive a wedge between Keane and the Celtic job, he either gets the job or he doesn't. Doesn't make sense, not logical.

No, not true, I think MON will do a good job for Ireland and I think Keane could've done a good job for Celtic, for different reasons ,but that ship with Keane has sailed anyways. Celtic have had good foreign managers in the past, hopefully this guy will be another one if he gets the job. He has a track record with young players, but only in the Norwegian league. He'll be a gamble - a cheap gamble.

Who has the most to lose by Keane going to Celtic? FAI/MON, that doesnt seem logical that a leak would come from them? It doesnt make sense that it would come from Celtic's side when Lawwell loves operating in the shadows.

I'll be surprised as anyone if Ronny Deila gets the job, I think its more sensationalism by the media tbh

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/27725827
    Celtic are holding talks with former Hearts and Sunderland goalkeeper Craig Gordon with a view to signing the Scotland international.

The 31-year-old has been training with the Scottish champions in recent weeks and will undergo a medical.

Jaysus! :eek:

If he can maintain fitness he could be solid option but I dont think he can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Jimmy Rabbitte Snr

If he can be got for nothing on a pay as you play why not. He was once an incredible keeper to be fair.

Who has the most to lose by Keane going to Celtic? FAI/MON, that doesnt seem logical that a leak would come from them? It doesnt make sense that it would come from Celtic's side when Lawwell loves operating in the shadows.

I don't think the FAI/MON would try to orchestrate a situation where Keane was less likely to get the Celtic job, wouldn't he just get pissed off with them and leave anyway - maybe not straight away - but I don't buy that. Keane will not stay with Ireland for long anyway, he'll take a job in England when one comes up that suits him.

If he can be got for nothing on a pay as you play why not. He was once an incredible keeper to be fair.

Pay as you play would be the way to go.

The rumour is that Ronny Deila will do something similar at the press conference tomorrow! :pac:

BpRy-WGCMAAK9CO.jpg:large

Ronny in Glasgow.

As for Gordon, gets hurt sending texts. Wonder if Frazer is on his way too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

He's an excellent goalkeeper, just has had rotten luck with injuries. I'd imagine any deal would be heavily, if not completely, weighted towards his fitness so you couldn't go wrong really.

I'm still gutted it didn't work out for him at Sunderland (because of injuries). Jermaine Defoe's filthy challenge was the final straw for him unfortunately, but his knee has given him massive trouble since that broken arm.

He won the greatest save in Premier League history award for this one:

Check out the save from Carlton Cole at #1:

I hope it works out for him. He's too big a talent to not be playing football at only 31 years of age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭rosskind

When I was ranting about Keane and rambling about hidden gems (like we find with players) without giving you a name, Delia is who I was dreaming of. I was underwhelmed by most names thrown about as candidates until him. Will be gutted if we don't get him now even though I'd never heard of him a week ago. :p

Like interviewing Keane, I don't think looking at Gordon means Forster's going. It's just good business to make plans for all possibilities. But I hope, for FF's sake, that he is off. Still behind Ben Foster for England makes me sad.

Last thing, Griffiths is an ejit no doubt but the man's quality. In terms of a starting XI, I don't think a new striker is a stand-out requirement.

Not 100% if it's real or not. New jersey.

Ronny Delia just announced as new manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Can't help but think it's the cheapest option,But let's get behind him now and hope he brings in some quality this summer

RoryMac wrote: »

Certainly not what anyone expected he's a job to get fans onside quickly. The acid test will come very quickly with the UCL qualifiers, 3 of our key defensive players at the WC and Stokes/Griffith with legal issues. Far from an ideal scenario for anyone taking the job

RoryMac wrote: »

Press conference at 12:30. According to Neil Lennon he was initially to be recruited as Johan Mjalby's replacement but has ended up being fastracked after Lennon left and a deal with Keane and maybe others didn't materialise. At least he didn't come out of nowhere and was somebody the club were interested in for a while. Hopefully he'll be ready for it. Wish him all the best.

The board certainly like their 12 month rolling contracts.

Lawwell's man here no doubt about that. Interesting read on cqn yesterday about it. I agree that alot hinges on CL qualifiers, but got to give him a fair crack of the whip. Reading a bit the last few days about him, seems to have done a great job in Norway. 4-3-3, high pressing style, be interesting to see how it transfers to us.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

While it will be a job for him to get onside with the fans, the fact that little/nothing is known about him is refreshing also and he starts with a clean slate. I'm certainly happier with a fresh, young manager than Owen Coyle for example.

Welcome to Paradise, Ronny!