treating yourself with Alcohol

• 04-06-2014 12:09AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26

Hello,

When you really treat yourself to the max, what Alcohol do you buy?.
    Please also say what beer you always drink also.

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Smithwicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

I treat myself to a bottle of Powers every forthnight. Whiskey is the way to go. Jaysus, I love me hot ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Buckfast or Blue Moon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Remy Martin.

Neat.

Anything cheaper is too ****e.

Anything dearer is too pretentious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Usually drink Bulmers. Treat myself with cooled Bulmers.

Snooty I ain't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Depends what you mean. I was unemployed for a while so I promised myself once I got a job again I'd buy a really good bottle of whiskey with my first pay packet to celebrate. 2 months ago I treated myself to a lovely bottle of Redbreast 21yr old Single Pot Still Whiskey :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 LemonPlant

I treat myself to a bottle of Powers every forthnight. Whiskey is the way to go, jaysus I love me hot ones.

Nice,

I'm very very very new to drinking, but I do treat Alcohol with the up most respect, and only get happy when I drink (never anger :)

Question:
    Do different types of Whiskey give different types of effects?.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,160 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Naggin Smirnoff

Cause Im classy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Thought this thread was going to be about sterilising wounds at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Second with the bucky.

Or a lovely bottle of Aldi Red Wine. Not just the generic bottom shelf one that says 'Red Wine' on it- I go for one with the name of a grape actually stated on the label.

I'm a class act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I love Scotch.
    Scotchy scotch scotch. Here it goes down, down into my belly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭dockleaf

Cremant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

Huzzar Vodka. A few shots. And cans of heineken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I rarely treat myself, but if I do Jack Daniels. Cheap liqueur or Whiskey would be what I usually drink. Bulmers if I'm going to be socialising over a long period.

What about the default/most common whiskey?

paddy whiskey??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Weihenstephaner Vitus in the pub, and a bottle of gin for at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Lots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Thank you for completing the survey. Your answers are appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Grey goose vodka

Thank you for completing the survey. Your answers are appreciated.

heheheh,

well I can assure you i'm no market guy or anything like that.

I just wanted to see what people drank. (as I am VERY new to drinking. and when I say new, I really do mean new to drinking

beano345 wrote: »
    Grey goose vodka

I always saw it in the shops, but never tried it.

What's it like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

LemonPlant wrote: »
    What about the default/most common whiskey?

paddy whiskey??

In pubs, Jameson probably has the edge. Although I came by some Tullamore Dew recently that was excellent (because it was free).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

LemonPlant wrote: »
    I always saw it in the shops, but never tried it.

What's it like?

Smooth...expensively smooth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Tardful Slakerly

I thought this was about self-medicating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

A few Belgium Beers. Chimay or Leffe , nothing that fancy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Gripe water. Keeps me young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭IrishSkyBoxer

Lucozade or a glass of fanta is all I touch these days. Suffered at the hands of the disease for many a year. Clean over 13 months now and never felt better.

Anyone try those bottles of Samuel Adams in Tesco. I think its 6 bottles for 11 Euro. Its grand though.

Lucozade or a glass of fanta is all I touch these days. Suffered at the hands of the disease for many a year. Clean over 13 months now and never felt better.

Well done. I think a lot of it is boredom too though if that makes sense. Just getting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,931 ✭✭✭Calibos

If I want to treat myself, I do it by buying things that won't give me a headache and/or be pissed out of me a few hours later.

So that would be Cream Donuts or a nice meal or like something useful you know.

I'm a rare breed it seems. When I drank, I never drank just one or two for the taste or pleasure. Could never understand the point of that. However, neither did I drink to get sh1tfaced like so many seem to do. It was never a badge of honour for me how many I could down or how legless I could get. I drank to get merry on a night out. Drinking at home seems pointless to me. Popping into a pub in the afternoon or after work for one or two seems pointless to me.