Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

treating yourself with Alcohol

• 03-06-2014 11:09PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26

Hello,

When you really treat yourself to the max, what Alcohol do you buy?.
    Please also say what beer you always drink also.

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Smithwicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

I treat myself to a bottle of Powers every forthnight. Whiskey is the way to go. Jaysus, I love me hot ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,302 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Buckfast or Blue Moon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Remy Martin.

Neat.

Anything cheaper is too ****e.

Anything dearer is too pretentious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Usually drink Bulmers. Treat myself with cooled Bulmers.

Snooty I ain't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Depends what you mean. I was unemployed for a while so I promised myself once I got a job again I'd buy a really good bottle of whiskey with my first pay packet to celebrate. 2 months ago I treated myself to a lovely bottle of Redbreast 21yr old Single Pot Still Whiskey :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 LemonPlant

I treat myself to a bottle of Powers every forthnight. Whiskey is the way to go, jaysus I love me hot ones.

Nice,

I'm very very very new to drinking, but I do treat Alcohol with the up most respect, and only get happy when I drink (never anger :)

Question:
    Do different types of Whiskey give different types of effects?.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Naggin Smirnoff

Cause Im classy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,141 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Thought this thread was going to be about sterilising wounds at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Second with the bucky.

Or a lovely bottle of Aldi Red Wine. Not just the generic bottom shelf one that says 'Red Wine' on it- I go for one with the name of a grape actually stated on the label.

I'm a class act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I love Scotch.
    Scotchy scotch scotch. Here it goes down, down into my belly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭dockleaf

Cremant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

Huzzar Vodka. A few shots. And cans of heineken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I rarely treat myself, but if I do Jack Daniels. Cheap liqueur or Whiskey would be what I usually drink. Bulmers if I'm going to be socialising over a long period.

What about the default/most common whiskey?

paddy whiskey??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Weihenstephaner Vitus in the pub, and a bottle of gin for at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Lots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Thank you for completing the survey. Your answers are appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Grey goose vodka

Thank you for completing the survey. Your answers are appreciated.

heheheh,

well I can assure you i'm no market guy or anything like that.

I just wanted to see what people drank. (as I am VERY new to drinking. and when I say new, I really do mean new to drinking

beano345 wrote: »
    Grey goose vodka

I always saw it in the shops, but never tried it.

What's it like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

LemonPlant wrote: »
    What about the default/most common whiskey?

paddy whiskey??

In pubs, Jameson probably has the edge. Although I came by some Tullamore Dew recently that was excellent (because it was free).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

I always saw it in the shops, but never tried it.

What's it like?

Smooth...expensively smooth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Tardful Slakerly

I thought this was about self-medicating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

A few Belgium Beers. Chimay or Leffe , nothing that fancy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Gripe water. Keeps me young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭IrishSkyBoxer

Lucozade or a glass of fanta is all I touch these days. Suffered at the hands of the disease for many a year. Clean over 13 months now and never felt better.

Anyone try those bottles of Samuel Adams in Tesco. I think its 6 bottles for 11 Euro. Its grand though.

Lucozade or a glass of fanta is all I touch these days. Suffered at the hands of the disease for many a year. Clean over 13 months now and never felt better.

Well done. I think a lot of it is boredom too though if that makes sense. Just getting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

If I want to treat myself, I do it by buying things that won't give me a headache and/or be pissed out of me a few hours later.

So that would be Cream Donuts or a nice meal or like something useful you know.

I'm a rare breed it seems. When I drank, I never drank just one or two for the taste or pleasure. Could never understand the point of that. However, neither did I drink to get sh1tfaced like so many seem to do. It was never a badge of honour for me how many I could down or how legless I could get. I drank to get merry on a night out. Drinking at home seems pointless to me. Popping into a pub in the afternoon or after work for one or two seems pointless to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Can Of FOSTERS, but if it was something really brilliant or great that happened! well then I would have two cans of FOSTERS.
    For example if I spotted the 18.25 Belfast to Dublin express before my other Train Spotting friends, well that would be 'that special occasion' when I would have two cans of FOSTERS, but if my friend spotted the 07.25 service train from Drogheda to Dublin before I did! well that would be 'that special occasion' when I would only treat myself to one can of FOSTERS, There was this one time when I ZZZZZ

314yo2x.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

a few pints of guinness, then i mix it with mc ardles to make a black and tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

A four pack of Zywiec Polish beer is my poison.

On more special occasions a bottle of dark Chimay (Blue label) or Duvel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Calibos wrote: »
    If I want to treat myself, I do it by buying things that won't give me a headache and/or be pissed out of me a few hours later.

I'm a rare breed it seems. When I drank, I never drank just one or two for the taste or pleasure. Could never understand the point of that. However, neither did I drink to get sh1tfaced like so many seem to do. It was never a badge of honour for me how many I could down or how legless I could get. I drank to get merry on a night out. Drinking at home seems pointless to me. Popping into a pub in the afternoon or after work for one or two seems pointless to me.

So you used to smoke almost 7 grand worth of fags a year (Im going by your cig) and you think 1-2 drinks at lunchtime is pointless ???

Cmon now, even a good meal gets pooped out ;)

Calibos wrote: »

Good for you.

But please. well in my opinion just because you don't drink, that means nothing. I know a two men, who drink, and let me tell you they're real ****ing men with pure goodness inside them. unlike some of the folks that are anti-drink, feck em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

No offence meant Lemonplant, but I feel like I'm in a Peter Sellers movie reading your posts and threads :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

So you used to smoke almost 7 grand worth of fags a year (Im going by your cig) and you think 1-2 drinks at lunchtime is pointless ???

Cmon now, even a good meal gets pooped out ;)

Oh, you'll get no argument from me about the fags. Most useless pointless expensive addiction ever. :D

A good meal may be pooped out but I didn't risk a headache after it finished its journey. :D

I don't think the social aspect of an afternoon/lunchtime drink is pointless but if my goal was not to get merry I personally would prefer to drink something that I actually liked the taste of or that refreshed me.

I'm not an anti drink ex drinker btw. I never developed a habit nor did I binge drink in my day. The only reason I effectively stopped drinking about 10 years ago was that I couldn't be arsed any more and found there was better more important things I could be spending the money on. I've no problem with drinkers unless they keep me awake at night with their loudmouth antics on the return leg from the pubs. I may personally find nearly all aspects of drinking pointless at this stage but have no problem with others enjoying a few.

Unfortunately for my finances it took another 8 years to start breaking my actual substance addiction which is nicotine. Financial aspect dealt with now that €30 a month of E-Juice gives me a healthy pointless nicotine fix instead of €560 a month of Tobacco Cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

midleton rare, neat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,783 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Usual whiskey = Teacher's Highland Cream (7 euros a bottle here).

Reward whiskey = Green Spot/Glenlivet/Midleton Rare/Taketsuru 17. I reward myself rarely though, given their prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Depends. If its a night out then a shoulder of vodka mixed with west coast cooler, if I don't want to get too drunk. If its a wild one, vodka and white wine. If its a night in with a movie, 1-2 bottles of wine, if I'm drowning sorrows it's 2-3+ bottles of wine, or maybe vodka.

Don't like beer I'm allergic and it makes me full so I have to stop drinking early on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,096 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I like a hot whiskey so would drink Jameson, started drinking Henessey recently again as well after getting the mother of all hangovers from it about 14 years ago and even looking at it made me sick.

The old man used to get good Poitin and it was grand as well, very hard to get the good stuff now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Whiskey sour or two if I'm out somewhere that does decent ones,3 or 4 bottles of Punk IPA or Innis and Gunn from the off license if I'm drinking at home.

Smidge wrote: »
    No offence meant Lemonplant, but I feel like I'm in a Peter Sellers movie reading your posts and threads :o:D

This post made me lol :pac::D:pac::D:pac::D

Guys,

What happens if you drink all these together over a couple of hours:
    2 types of beer, x4 bottles. 9%
    half a bottle if wine , then the other half
    whiskey,vodka,gin and another spirit mixed together and drink

whats the outcome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

You die.

biko wrote: »
    You die.

well it is consumed in such a way over a long peroid of time by a person with tolerance THAT IS EATING loads of food and drinking water.

Guys,

whats the outcome?
    well it is consumed in such a way over a long peroid of time by a person with tolerance THAT IS EATING loads of food and drinking water.

Ha Ha, you can make all the excuses you want LemonPlant, but you wont have hands to wipe your arse tomorrow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Buckfast. I wish I was joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

A bottle of wine every night. Gran Marnier, Gran Gala or Coconut Rum if I need to hit the spot quicker.
    Not snobbish but I like to have a good night's sleep - undisturbed by visits to the bathroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Guys,

whats the outcome?

Oh Lemonplant, you are fast becoming my new favourite poster :D

The outcome??
    I would put a tenner on digestives pyrotechnics followed closely by weeping and wailing to a higher deity. Then, if you're lucky, A&E. If not, the morgue. ;)