Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

New addition to the fleet.
    Any takers?

Minded like a baby.
    One lady owner owner from new.

And two loonatic sons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Spotted this on the road this morning. Showing my age as I remember using one, hadn't seen one in years

Anyone know what it is and have ye used one?

Is it a steerage hoe?. You need more pixels or a cleaner windscreen.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Spotted this on the road this morning. Showing my age as I remember using one, hadn't seen one in years

Anyone know what it is and have ye used one?

Not a steerage hoe. Ordinary scuffler for beet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Would you be in Thurles area? And 40+

Not a million miles from Thurles. Not 40+, was just worked too hard too young! Being told at the age of 9 to get into a 14 ton trailer, in the dark to find stones as an Almer Salmon escalator fcuked in beet, doesn't bring back fond memories.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Any takers?

Is it an international? I'd say moy would take it for parts! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Muckit wrote: »

An old BMC mini. Grandmother owned it. Say its around 50 yr old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Moy wouldnt be a hoarder for machinery but his father on the other hand is a devil for it . :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

moy83 wrote: »
    Moy wouldnt be a hoarder for machinery but his father on the other hand is a devil for it . :D

She's a real head turner. :D PTO still moves and the back wheels move too and gear box is intact but engine is in ribbons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

She's a real head turner. :D PTO still moves and the back wheels move too and gear box is intact but engine is in ribbons

Ah she would drive that krone baler no bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

Any takers?

Not interested in taking her but would love to see more pictures of it please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Is it a steerage hoe?. You need more pixels or a cleaner windscreen.:D

Steerage hoe for sugar beet. Sorry bad pic but seat, steerage handle and steel all in good order. My brother and I made a lot of money with one of these. We eventually got an auto steer hoe but spray took over shortly after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Steerage hoe for sugar beet. Sorry bad pic but seat, steerage handle and steel all in good order. My brother and I made a lot of money with one of these. We eventually got an auto steer hoe but spray took over shortly after.

There used to be one around way back. I never had the pleasure and only have a child's memory of it working. The seat rang a bell. My memory of it was of a much more substantial machine.

Funny I thought the same at first but remembered it was usually on a 135 or a 65 here. I was often sent flying with brother turning too short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

We did the weeding with a hand held hoe. My two brothers and I tinned and weeded. 5 to 6 acres was enough to keep us busy for the summer long from the age of about 8 and then pulled by hand. When the machinery and sprays came Father gave it up, said there was no money in it. If there wasn't hardship it couldn't be profitable.:confused:To be fair I think free dried pulp was available back then, so much per acre of beet grown.

After steerage hoe July would be spent weeding by hand. Some lads went to the bog we went at beet but no one slept in of a morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Topped this place yesterday. Hadn't been cut or sprayed with 10 years I'd say and was gone out of control with rushes and thistles. I'll lick it in a months time and spread gran lime and fert on it. Pure neglect to have it the way it was, the ground isint that wet there at all so should get a good result. 136A9CA7-120E-4B4D-ACEB-0C519648DD2C_zpszjfps2rw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

will you bale the rushes off it or just let them rot down? They might stop the grass from coming on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

will you bale the rushes off it or just let them rot down? They might stop the grass from coming on

They are fairly mulched up after the topper so they will rot away. Didn't cut them very short anyway because all I wanted was green regrowth that will take in the spray. I'll let the cows in before the end of the week to eat whatever grass is there before I lick it.

Wife not going to be too happy when she gets home

There's still time to fix it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Reggie. wrote: »

Yea like thats going to happen:D

ellewood wrote: »

Give the man some credit :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Or he could make her a nice roast chicken dinner.:P

.Kovu. wrote: »

Ah the poor chicky......... She's only trying to clean herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

She's in the pot already! Trying to tell you something!

Are you right in the head

You know your men, don't you. ;)
    The biggest job I had today, was to look surprised when I came home and saw what they had done.

Well we are having chicken Kiev tonight for dinner... I'm afraid to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

You know your men, don't you. ;)
    The biggest job I had today, was to look surprised when I came home and saw what they had done.

So how long you pair been married then

Long enough it seems