Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭macslash

the face on VG there is priceless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,453 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Welbeck looks like he got a whiff of a bad smell off Rooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

RVP looks smug as ****, probably cos he beat Rooney to the captaincy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That's the happiest I have seen Valencia in long time.

Concentrate Evra!!!

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Have no idea how you can want Carrick to leave and keep Fletcher and Cleverly who have both shown less than the former in the past 2 seasons.

Carrick had one excellent season and a few quite good seasons. He'd be a very good squad player. In a season where everyone was ****, Carrick was also ****. Who's to say he wont have another good season next year?

i don't get people wanting to Carrick to leave, but not that surprising as there were several seasons stretching back to mid/late 2000s where people were trying to rush giggs and scholes out the door.
    giggs in particular must have won about 5 leagues and a european cup after people were already saying his best days were behind him. Carrick isn't on the same level but he's still the best midfielder in the squad and one of the last I'd like to see leaving. We'd need three excellent signings in midfield before he's any way dispensable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

RGDATA! wrote: »
    i don't get people wanting to Carrick to leave, We'd need three excellent signings in midfield before he's any way dispensable.

EwPkP.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,248 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Looks like Fabregas is going to City, interesting to see what happens Yaya now, cert to leave IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

dahat wrote: »
    Looks like Fabregas is going to City, interesting to see what happens Yaya now, cert to leave IMO.

Where are you seeing this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

KH25 wrote: »

Today's Indo...City want Cesc to replace Yaya.

Meanwhile we're looking at a cruciate victim with zero Premiership experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Today's Indo...City want Cesc to replace Yaya.

Meanwhile we're looking at a cruciate victim with zero Premiership experience.

Ok, thats where you see it, where is the other lad seeing it though?

It is the very definition of 2+2 you know, Yaya wants out of City, to Barca ideally. Fab is apparently up for sale, could be used as a bargaining tool with City.

That story writes itself.

He is nothing like Yaya anyway as a player so he wouldn't be a very good replacement for him...........

Not saying it won't happen by the way, just that it is a very easy story to put out there regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Ian Ladyman ‏@Ian_Ladyman_DM 3m
    #mcfc aren't in the bidding for fabregas

Ah **** it lads I'm going to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,248 ✭✭✭✭dahat

KH25 wrote: »

Internet paper ( twitter), a few going with it and he was on London this week.
    Ian Ladyman has tweeted City aren't in for him as well so it looks to be a proper silly saga.
    Do think City is the best fit for him myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

Internet paper ( twitter), a few going with it and he was on London this week.
    Ian Ladyman has tweeted City aren't in for him as well so it looks to be a proper silly saga.
    Do think City is the best fit for him myself.

Actually think United would be better for him. Can't see it happening though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Daniel Taylor also saying City are not in for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

My window prediction, putting it out there:

Shaw, Konoplyanka, Strootman, Hummels. In that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

This sort of post is what makes the transfer window close to unbearable.

No source for an implausible story, with its cause lying in minor stories blown vastly out of proportion by crappy media sources, coupled with misplaced certainty just because some semblance of an internal cohesion exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

irishfeen wrote: »
    I was only fecking 8 for d CL final in 99 :( for me it was 08 CL final - me and the brother (Chelsea fan) sitting down watching it together and me going fcuking mad :)

Just didn't do it for me at all I'm afraid, winning on penalties isn't really winning. Might as well go old school and toss a coin.

99 was priceless though, still have no idea how or when I got home from the pub :pac:

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

ninja900 wrote: »
    Just didn't do it for me at all I'm afraid, winning on penalties isn't really winning. Might as well go old school and toss a coin.

That's simply untrue.

Also. I'm Drunk :)

20 TIMES 20 TIMES MAN UNITED 20 TIMES 20 TIMES I SAY 20 TIMES 20 TIMES MAN UNITED; PLAYING FOOTBALL THE BUSBY WAY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

We didn't win any of those 20 on penalties, did we :p

Just hate shootouts. Too random. Poor way to settle a fixture never mind a very important one.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

People say penalties is a lottery, but it really isnt you know. Its another test, mental and physical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

ninja900 wrote: »

99 was priceless though, still have no idea how or when I got home from the pub :pac:
    Are u fcuking mad in d head lad? B ... One d best nights of my life. / United champions of Europe enough said my dear Ladeen ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    My window prediction, putting it out there:

Shaw, Konoplyanka, Strootman, Hummels. In that order.

Can't see us signing Strootman coming off an ACL. We probably would of signed Strootman if he didn't do his ACL as van Gaal seems to really like him but because he's had such a serious injury I can't imagine that we'll sign him at this stage.

I would like to see Schneiderlin and Clasie brought in. Has any reputable source carried the Konoplyanka deal? Don't know very much about him at all. Bruno Martins Indi is another guy who we should probably go for.

There is a few rumours flying around the usual circles but one I keep hearing is that van Gaal told the Glazers and Woodward that Carrick is going to have a massive role in Manchester United's midfield next season and the team was basically going to be build around Carrick. I also heard that a few journalists got a wrap around the knuckles over the Kroos rumours. One appears to definitely be in some trouble at the minute.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Not much new today.

De Telegraph are running with the Strootman, Hummels, Kono, Schweinsteger list that was doing the rounds yesterday.

The Daily Mail have Inter wanting to take Hernandez on loan.

Sport.es are reporting that Real Madrid want Luis Suárez and think they can sign him for €80m. However, they have a rival; Manchester United. Yeah, apparently that's now gaining some attention. Lads, I think the Twitter rumour ye started has worked :pac:

And us, City and Liverpool have all apparently said no to Fabregas. I'd imagine Stoke and Newcastle will turn him down latter too :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

kryogen wrote: »
    People say penalties is a lottery, but it really isnt you know. Its another test, mental and physical
    For the taker maybe, for the keeper it's just a guess.

You can take a **** peno and still score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Another day and no news :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

Man United Fans World Cup Sweeps

Updated paid list.

--- Player --- |--- Paid --- |--- Team ---
    1: NeVeR | Yes |
    2: Gadge | Yes |
    3: keane2097 | Yes |
    4: Donnielighto | |
    5: LightOfTruth | Yes |
    6: Vertigo100 | Yes |
    7: s.welstead | Yes |
    8: duffman13 | Yes |
    9: irishfeen | Yes |
    10: bucketybuck |Yes |
    11: astradave | Yes |
    12: RasTa | Yes |
    13: ManofStraw | Yes |
    14: LostBoy101 | Yes |
    15: glued | Yes |
    16: Thepoet85 | Yes |
    17: Timmyctc | Yes |
    18: KevIRL | Yes |
    19: scudzilla | Yes |
    20: collie0708 |Yes |
    21: Liam O | Yes |
    22: markc1184 | Yes |
    23: Blatter | Yes |
    24: bennyl10 |Yes |
    25: stankratz | |
    26: Thatsfootball | Yes |
    27: Iago | Yes |
    28: bren2001 | Yes |
    29: ninja900 | Yes |
    30: yermandan | Yes |
    31: Saucy McKetchup |Yes |
    32: Will I Amnt | Yes |

I've decided that this is the final prizes list.

World Cup winner €150
    Runner Up €70

1st Most yellow cards in group stages €20
    1st Red Card €20
    1st OG €20
    1st Peno €20
    Worst goal difference in group stages. €20

2 left to pay. Once we get them all I'll do the Draw :D

Just stankratz and Donnielighto left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

For the taker maybe, for the keeper it's just a guess.

You can take a **** peno and still score.

Far more to it than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Far more to it than that.

Heard Lallana is off to those who must not be named for a undisclosed fee worth 4.5million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Heard Lallana is off to those who must not be named for a undisclosed fee worth 4.5million

I'm guessing you mean Lambert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Hococop wrote: »
    I'm guessing you mean Lambert

yeah sorry :D