Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Any website where I can find out when a car was last NCT'd or when it expired?
    I know you can check a current NCT on Cars Ireland or NCT site but not expired ones.

NCT.ie - Just enter in the reg number. ;)

https://ncts.ie/booking_app/Bookings/ncTReminder.aspx?language=english

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Stheno wrote: »
    Slave cylinder on my clutch is going, any ideas on cost to fix?

I reckon it's going as twice in the past month, the clutch has been stuck to the floor, and needs to be nudged up, and the clutch/engine is a bit roary

I would hazard a guess at around 300/400 all in

Lads while everyone is busy with other matters, do any of ye know where I might get my hands on a Mitsubishi TD04-15T, 5cm^2 exhaust housing? Obviously a mitsubishi but if ye know of anywhere that has them going cheapish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Between yesterday and today I have spent some time focusing on the Jeep. There is a nasty scrape on the front which will need some fillers, so bought some isopan stuff today. Both the green and gold touch up paints were ordered, which will address the few chips. Anyway, for as long as I can remember, every time I cleaned it - I got rid of the cobwebs, only for them to be back the next day - namely around the exterior mirrors, front grille and around the sun visors inside. They make it look crap, so today I declared war on them. Now, usually I don't have a problem with spiders, but I was getting pised off with them. Went a bit mad with the insect killer. In total I got rid of 32 spiders, along with their nests and webs, interesting afternoon......

You heartless individual :pac:

I know, I never usually kill anything intentionally, but if things annoy me :mad: then there's no stopping me :pac:

Ah yes...the blind rage massacre :pac: nothing like it, while i have you, you have a misubishi jeep, where can i get a turbo from one?

Sure you can have ours :pac:
    Where can you get a turbo, hmm.... breakers?
    I wouldn't really know exactly. Is there going to be a serious mod to the saab :D

It just so happened that the odometer read this when I was getting out tonight. It's starting to creep up :(

besrbk.jpg

Sure you can have ours :pac:
    Where can you get a turbo, hmm.... breakers?
    I wouldn't really know exactly. Is there going to be a serious mod to the saab :D

Depending on friday week if things happen, then yes, a small overhaul is taking place, if not then no and i'll remain poor and broke for the next few months :pac:

I might try adverts or fleabay orrrrr a breakers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭LifeSaabItch

Dord wrote: »

I just tried a car I know that's not been tested since 2007 and it says NCT due Nov '13 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I just tried a car I know that's not been tested since 2007 and it says NCT due Nov '13 ?

Yup, NCT goes from anniversary of registration. So that car will have it's NCT every year in Nov.

NCT isn't backdated per se, rather only runs until the next following anniversary of registration. Hence it's latest date it was due for one was Nov '13, which would last til Nov '14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭LifeSaabItch

Yup, NCT goes from anniversary of registration. So that car will have it's NCT every year in Nov.

NCT isn't backdated per se, rather only runs until the next following anniversary of registration. Hence it's latest date it was due for one was Nov '13, which would last til Nov '14.

Ah cheers, I knew that. :)

I bought a cheap car last week and there was no NCT disc and owner didn't know either so was wondering how I can find out when it was tested last or when it expired.

Ah cheers, I knew that. :)

I bought a cheap car last week and there was no NCT disc and owner didn't know either so was wondering how I can find out when it was tested last or when it expired.

Nct centre and the reg number I'd guess, could be wrong though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Not ideal (as it'll cost ya), but you could run a motor check on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I got the cat taking out yesterday and now the exaust has a really nice rasp and 3,000 rpm and gets louder the higher revs you do but it always done that even with cat. I'd say the rasp is just the exhaust gases being free flowing.

Also I think I got caught speeding by one of those god damn speed vans. I wasn't much over the limit and I was going downhill so car would obviously be going faster with out me taking much notice. I thought it was just a van pulled into the side of the road. Yesterday there was one on the N17 just outside Tuam and somebody flashed my father, but he wasn't over the limit anyway and then that one today on the Claremorris to Ballyhaunis road.

I was heading to Ballyhaunis, as this morning on facebook I seen there was a car show on there at 12-6. I was there for 12 and there was only a few there and I wasn't waiting around for the rest to show up, as I was only planning to be there for a short while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Re the NCT date, CarsIreland works in some cases. Throw the reg in and press lookup.

http://carsireland.ie/add.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Nnnnnnnn seventeen and the walls and grass is green travelling just my thoughts and dreeeeams.

+ the speedvan past parsons on the right eeep :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

fi3u.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

colm_mcm wrote: »
    fi3u.jpg

What car is that off?

A bit of a wipe wouldn't go astray there colm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Problem with that (anti-glare stuff) is it scratches like mad when you wipe it. Looks perfect in real life.
    What car is that off?

Civic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Just watching a segment on RTE News about lads doing donuts on public roads at night.They state that anyone caught can have their car taken from them,I've yet to hear of anybody being caught.
    It was rampant on a stretch of road near a mate's house,so one night while 30 - 40 cars congregated on the road,he drove up & down it at 50kph for nearly an hour until they got bored & fecked off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Damn cats laugh I've never spent so much time sitting in trafic the last few days it's unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Zcott

I actually buffed all mine out and it looks grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Clutch gave up yesterday on the M1. At least it picked a fantastic scenic place to break down and beautiful weather to match :cool:

So the 406 is now on the retirement list. I can get a clutch but meh, not arsed. Want to stray away from diesel as if it isn't mechanical injection, I don't want to know :pac:

I have my next car sitting to one side anyway. Just needs some assembly :P I suppose I could use one of the complete yokes I have at the ready but wheres the fun in that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

dgt wrote: »
    Clutch gave up yesterday on the M1. At least it picked a fantastic scenic place to break down and beautiful weather to match :cool:

So the 406 is now on the retirement list. I can get a clutch but meh, not arsed. Want to stray away from diesel as if it isn't mechanical injection, I don't want to know :pac:

I have my next car sitting to one side anyway. Just needs some assembly :P I suppose I could use one of the complete yokes I have at the ready but wheres the fun in that ;)

Boo, the poor pug :(

Would a can of compressed air be something that you would expect to find in a motor factors?

Boo, the poor pug :(

Months tax on it and all! :(
    Would a can of compressed air be something that you would expect to find in a motor factors?

Craplins would have compressed air in a can. For a pc?

dgt wrote: »
    Craplins would have compressed air in a can. For a pc?

Na, was looking on youtube and they recon if you heat a dent and then spray it with compressed air, it will magically pop out, wouldn't mind trying it if it works...

Big or small dent? I've pulled out dents with a plunger before