Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Polybush time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CianRyan wrote: »
    Polybush time!

I was thinking along those lines:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Its pig ignorant arseholes .. really annoys me too

But when I was driving my volvo there were garda complimenting me on it and was a great choice for someone my age...

People are moany arses ! And gardai aren't people as we know ! :pac:

Yeah the guards have said that to me too :pac: was in a pertol station a while back and they came up and started asking was it a b235e engine under it and all this to which i was in shock but yeah they can be alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Zcott

New clutch in the Civic today, not cheap at £513 from a Honda specialist indy. Even worse is that it needs a new shock and a front lower arm rear bush :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Just set up my Mobius Cam - the quality is fantastic! Will be cool for doing time-lapses on detailing the car and trips etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Right, so on my way home from work (half day - summer - yay :D) I go into a motor factors, looking for that Gtechniq C4 Trim Restorer, and the bellend goes on and says that Simoniz Back to Black is just as good, so I, the gullible fool bought it. Get home there and spray some onto the faded trim, nada, once it's wiped in it just evaporates away. I hate being mislead :mad: Quite the trivial matter, but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Right, so on my way home from work (half day - summer - yay :D) I go into a motor factors, looking for that Gtechniq C4 Trim Restorer, and the bellend goes on and says that Simoniz Back to Black is just as good, so I, the gullible fool bought it. Get home there and spray some onto the faded trim, nada, once it's wiped in it just evaporates away. I hate being mislead :mad: Quite the trivial matter, but still.

Its decent for tyre shine, that's about it I'd like to use that c4 stuff but it looks a bit too complicated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I'd be shocked if any motor factors stocked it tbh. It's usually the preserve of a dedicated detailing site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Just sitting in the burger bar in belfast at the moment.

In the journey up a guy in a merc let me into his lane at balbrigging.

We fecking sat together all the way up unintentially from balbrigging until I took a city exit into belfast city ! Where he then waved goodbye to me !

Absolute legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I'd be shocked if any motor factors stocked it tbh. It's usually the preserve of a dedicated detailing site.

Ya, I probably aimed too high!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Interslice wrote: »
    Lovely weather to be driving about the west. I was out past clifden yesterday. Driving galway to achill and back down to west clare on saturday!

You in achill? If you see a red gtv around it's me! The weather is beautiful at the moment, I've never seen the Atlantic so calm for so long, although that may change with the wind.

You've got the GTV on the road?
    Well I definitely need a go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

CianRyan wrote: »
    You've got the GTV on the road?
    Well I definitely need a go!!

Yep I've done 1000 miles in the last 9 days. Getting worried that it isn't drinking any oil!

Alfa logic. Haha
    Great to see one of us can get a car going. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just sitting in the burger bar in belfast at the moment.

In the journey up a guy in a merc let me into his lane at balbrigging.

We fecking sat together all the way up unintentially from balbrigging until I took a city exit into belfast city ! Where he then waved goodbye to me !

Absolute legend :D

I read that first thinking, what? he let you into his car :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

What do people think of the pre facelift 520i's? I know they're only 2.0 with 150hp but it's still a straight six and plenty for me, it's an SE but not sure of the exact spec. There's one in my park owned by a neighbour that can't afford to run it and I'm tempted to offer like 500-600 for it and do it up over the course of the Summer and have it ready to drive in October/November. It's a 1999 520i.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Post facelift 520 sport if not more. The pre facelift is way underpowered and the SE is sloppy in comparison to the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

What do people think of the pre facelift 520i's? I know they're only 2.0 with 150hp but it's still a straight six and plenty for me, it's an SE but not sure of the exact spec. There's one in my park owned by a neighbour that can't afford to run it and I'm tempted to offer like 500-600 for it and do it up over the course of the Summer and have it ready to drive in October/November. It's a 1999 520i.

When ever 520i's are mentioned here it always reminds me of a guy into course he has an early e60 520i. It's burning a serious amount of oil all the time. Probably leaking a bit too. I told him almost a year ago to get it looked at straight away. A year later still hasn't got it looked at throws in some oil whenever he remembers :eek: which is normally when it's way below min mark. The oil level light is on all the time as I assume the sensors fcuked.

The low oil pressure light has come on on more than one occasion due to the oil level going so low the engine I assume couldn't keep operating pressure :eek: still goes though has never actually broken done. I think it's unbelievable the car managed to stay going and he does a fair bit of driving everyday. That BMW isn't known for reliability but his one takes some anise and stays going

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Post facelift 520 sport if not more. The pre facelift is way underpowered and the SE is sloppy in comparison to the sport.

Era, doesn't matter now anyway, just had a look inside, no MFSW and no Cruise. No point looking at it if it doesn't even have the minimum spec I want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

So, I wrapped the grill badge in carbon fibre and I think it looks good. Might spray lacquer over it later, but I'm not sure yet. Anyway, I'm trying to figure out if I should leave the rest of the grille blue, or spray it black?

2J3ZwAAl.jpg

GvidoR wrote: »
    So, I wrapped the grill badge in carbon fibre and I think it looks good. Might spray lacquer over it later, but I'm not sure yet. Anyway, I'm trying to figure out if I should leave the rest of the grille blue, or spray it black?

I'd keep the blue, looks better imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

If it feels good, buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

seen an aventador in galway city today. He looked lost so didn't open it up :(.

Also seen an avensis with a homemade spoiler, gold sprayed handle and stellies :pac:. Spoiler was held on with little angle brackets.

67412_P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

GvidoR wrote: »

2J3ZwAAl.jpg

The badge is a bit crooked there.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The badge is a bit crooked there.

It's like that on purpose. It was just lightly placed on top. Also, it has 3 plastic clips, so I couldn't even push it in like that. It's in the right way now and I'll put the grille on the car tomorrow and see how it looks. :)

Interslice wrote: »
    seen an aventador in galway city today. He looked lost so didn't open it up :(.

Supergurrier saw him as well today, apparently he was angry :pac: . Probably got lost on the way to FundRacer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yea white with a black roof/vent back window things, headed out headford road, sounded mean as feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

This is for you FoxNorm http://www.bmwhaus.ie/forum/showthread.php?tid=3382
    Have a look at the project thread

This is for you FoxNorm http://www.bmwhaus.ie/forum/showthread.php?tid=3382
    Have a look at the project thread

That is nice and he's done some serious work but if I was paying 2.8 tax I'd probably just go for the 3.0 to be honest.

Yellow headlights.

Yay or nay? :P