A decent pair of runners, and best place to get them?

• 29-05-2014 10:23PM

Hey folks,

About a year or two ago (jaysus, maybe even more?) there was a thread either in the Health and Fitness section, or the Bargain Alerts section, and whatever it was about, I jumped into the thread and read loads of reviews about a great pair of runners.

I bought them, and never really regretted it (it helped that they were only about €30 at the time too, if memory serves me right).

They were highly recommended on the thread.

They were called (I think, this is from looking at the runners themselves, as I can't find the actual thread) Saucony Pro Grid Ride 2.

This is them:

f_2259d_1.1.jpg

I think I bought them on StartFitness.co.uk.

So I was wondering, seen as ye guys would generally be more clued in than I, is it worth just looking for the same exact runners again, or are runners seasonal (ie; is there Ride 3, and Ride 4, etc?) or is there a new favourite brand or model of runners that everyone on boards loves (you can usually trust boards :P ).

From a quick mooch on StartFitness, i see there's a Ride 5, but there's also a ton of other varieties, varying in price. Should I stick to what I know, or is there any thing in particular you should look for in a decent pair of runners? (I'd have no idea).

I can only run about 2k before dying a death, but they'll see at about an hour of daily walking each day (With running thrown in randomly) and I'm a heavy chap, so..

Anyone any advice? Or am i complicating a simple procedure? :confused:

Cheers :)

Ended up caving and just buying the Ride 6.

http://www.startfitness.co.uk/product.asp?strParents=&CAT_ID=0&P_ID=53045&strPageHistory=search&numSearchStartRecord=1

Was tempted to go with a cheaper set of Asics, but I have found the Saucony runners to be exceptionally good, so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

/thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 ShadowLFC

Personally I would have gone for Asics but that could just be me being brainwashed from working at a sports shop! Hope it works out for you!

endacl wrote: »
    /thread?

Was kinda hoping a few more clued in posters would've appeared a bit sooner, but i do realise it's a thursday night and people have better things to be doing (the cheek of them!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭IK09

fitnessfootwear.com

Just bought the Salomon Speedcross 3 for trail running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,912 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

OP, if you've found a pair that are comfortable and don't give you sore feet, then go with that.

I do the same with runners and football boots and it's never let me down :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭IK09

In some elvery's stores they will do a "foot balancing", where they show you on a machine your "footprint". I was having trouble with the outside of my foot and my hip. It turns out i have really, really high arches. On my left foot, only the ball and heel touch the ground, i have nothing in the middle.