The Road to the Ryder Cup 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

with the eurasia cup on this weekend it made think. is it time to expand the ryder cup? welcome other continents to it.
    I know i will get hammered here for trying to break tradition and maybe im greedy but i dont want europe just beating USA i want to beat the world!

I know there's already a world cup of golf but it doesnt grab the public attention like the football or rugby world cups.

With 12 players from each contintent we already know Europe USA (north america) will be strong but i think Asia Africa would have competitive teams. i could easily name 12 from both. The Aussies have 12 i could name also. Oh dont forget S America!

The format could be tricky but i thought of 1 group were each continent plays each other once and the top 2 qualify for final. Same Ryder format as in fourballs one day, foursomes another and singles last day.

Another problem would be the calendar. could take at least 3 weeks to finish as oppose to the one weekend of ryder cup. I certainly would be happy watching golf everyday for a few weeks. When the rugby football world cups are on there is matches everyday.

I think its harsh that Scott Schwartz will never play in golf's biggest team event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Like the idea in principle but I think the main thing is the calendar issue that you hightlighted.
    If they were to play each other once, you're looking at 5 weeks. The final a 6th week.... It's a non runner straight away for me with that.

I also think it'd be a bit like the Champs league... When they extended that it lost a certain appeal to me. Too many teams. It only really gets going at the last 16, 8 stage for me.

Also, while you would have no problem getting a decent team for each continent(region). Asia, Australia, Africa and South American would have by far the weaker teams when you get down past the main players.

I suspect that it'd end up like the Champs League were the group stages are fairly boring (with the odd great game) and you only get down to business after 5 weeks. I would guess that you'd end up with Eur vs USA more often than not.

Part of the appeal for the RC for me is that it's rare and pure quality. Wouldn't like it being diluted.

PARlance wrote: »

Part of the appeal for the RC for me is that it's rare and pure quality. Wouldn't like it being diluted.

this is the clincher for me.

if Australia wanted to play Asia and Africa versus South America in separate events not on the same week as the Ryder cup, I'd watch them too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭Russman

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    I think its harsh that Scott Schwartz will never play in golf's biggest team event

Its not harsh, its just the way it is by virtue of their nationality. A West Indian cricketer can't play in The Ashes (I was going to say an Irish one but.......:)) Would they even want to play in the Ryder Cup or some equivalent ? Its hard enough to get the guys to play for one week for no money, can't imagine a 4 week tournament having a leg to stand on.

The Ryder Cup is IMO a unique rivalry and, even if there was some sort of world team event thingy, the only match people would watch is Europe vs USA. Its like suggesting that THE North London derby isn't Spurs V Arsenal, of course there are other London derbies but that's the big one.

The other team events are barely even worthy of the name, even the Presidents Cup isn't much of an event, its only big because the Americans usually win.

http://www.rydercup.com/europe/2014/team/european-ryder-cup-points-list

stenson
    garcia
    mcilroy
    rose
    donald
    kaymer
    dubuisson
    donaldson
    bjorn

with poulter, Westwood and molinari on the outskirts of the team it looks really solid

After the weekend, the team itself hasn't changed but some people have moved into contention

10356138_707243212671480_4370397309247459428_n.jpg

Which wildcards would you pick ?

For me ::

Poulter
    Jiminez
    Gallagher ( for the scottish connection )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

after last sunday wouldn't trust Bjorn. his head goes on the big occasion. blixt for me as a wildcard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Felexicon

after last sunday wouldn't trust Bjorn. his head goes on the big occasion. blixt for me as a wildcard

Can't really judge it like that though. All things being equal you'd say Poulter might not be worth the risk but as it's Ryder Cup he's a certainty to go. The European lads are a different animal in the team event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Carpo86

Would be surprised to see either Gallagher or Blixt awarded a wildcard over Westwood...

Rikand wrote: »
    For me ::

Poulter
    Jiminez
    Gallagher ( for the scottish connection )

I think I'd have GMac ahead of the latter two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Great golfer Bjorn - but would agree - he seems to have days he just falls apart.

You can sort of see him fade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,076 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I'm hoping Bjorn doesn't make it - if he does it means I'll have to cheer for him

Requin wrote: »
    I'm hoping Bjorn doesn't make it - if he does it means I'll have to cheer for him

well its getting closer to you getting your wish! :D

Bjorn is now outside the top 4earners on the european points list and is gradually edging down the list on the world points list. I predict he'll be dropped out the back before too long!

2urnn08.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,076 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Sky Sports 4 will become Sky Sports Ryder Cup for 2 weeks apparently:
    http://www1.skysports.com/golf/news/26732/9387614/sky-sports-ryder-cup-the-only-place-to-see-exclusive-live-coverage-of-golfs-biggest-event
    Rikand wrote: »
    well its getting closer to you getting your wish! :D

Bjorn is now outside the top 4earners on the european points list and is gradually edging down the list on the world points list. I predict he'll be dropped out the back before too long!

Excellent news, hopefully McDowell or Gallacher make it ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,866 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Requin wrote: »
    Sky Sports 4 will become Sky Sports Ryder Cup for 2 weeks apparently:
    http://www1.skysports.com/golf/news/26732/9387614/sky-sports-ryder-cup-the-only-place-to-see-exclusive-live-coverage-of-golfs-biggest-event

Excellent news, hopefully McDowell or Gallacher make it ahead of him.

I came to post that about sky sports 4. Itll be perfect, wont miss a shot now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭GenuineFan

We are fortunate enough to be going to the Ryder Cup and have tickets for the Thursday and Friday. Having difficulty in finding out what colours the European Team will be wearing on the Friday. I wanted to buy polo shirts, etc. to wear on the day. Anybody know???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,927 ✭✭✭blackwhite

318010.PNG

Things getting tight in the race for the European places

Donaldson, Bjorn, Rose and Kaymer are the 5-8 on the Race to Dubai list, so even if one of them was dislodge a player above them it wouldn't change anything, and Poulter is too far off to climb above these four, plus one of the other. That means its the OWGR points list that is where any changes are likely to happen.

To me it seems to be between Donald and McDowell for the final automatic place, with Poulter and Gallacher just a bit too far back to overtake both of them.

Neither are down to play in the Windham this coming weekend, so it looks like it'll all come down to the Barclays, unless either decides to skip the Deutsche Bank in order to play in the Italian Open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,940 ✭✭✭abff

I'm surprised to see that Donaldson is not playing in Denmark this week. He's just over €28k behind Garcia in the European Points list and I presume Garcia won't be playing again in Europe this month. Donaldson's position on the World Points list is quite precarious and there's a good chance he will be passed by both McDowell and Donald.

I think Bjorn probably has enough of a margin in the World Points list to be safe at this stage, although a good performance in Denmark this week would probably eliminate any remaining doubt. It could also make it more difficult for Donaldson to qualify via the European points list, which brings me back to my original point.

I can't see Donaldson getting a pick ahead of Lee Westwood if he falls out of the automatic qualification places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭Russman

abff wrote: »
    I can't see Donaldson getting a pick ahead of Lee Westwood if he falls out of the automatic qualification places.

Probably not, but it'll be interesting to see how some media outlets react IF Westwood doesn't get a pick. Personally I wouldn't pick him this time as he's done nothing much to deserve it this season IMO. Nor for that matter has Poulter, but he seems to be regarded as a certainty for one of the slots.

I think Donaldson is fairly safe from Donald passing him, Luke just isn't playing well enough. He's a ready made partner for Sergio though, wonder if he's in McGinley's thoughts for a pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Can't see him going any where bar Donald, Westwood and Poulter for the 3 picks. If Donald gets in he will bring Gallagher.
    Not as many obvious pairings but my guess if it is 4ball to start.
    Rory & Serigo.
    Gmac & Victor.
    Poulter & Rose( if he can get the putter going)
    Stenson & Bjorn

I'm surprised to see that Donaldson is not playing in Denmark this week. He's just over €28k behind Garcia in the European Points list and I presume Garcia won't be playing again in Europe this month. Donaldson's position on the World Points list is quite precarious and there's a good chance he will be passed by both McDowell and Donald.

I think Bjorn probably has enough of a margin in the World Points list to be safe at this stage, although a good performance in Denmark this week would probably eliminate any remaining doubt. It could also make it more difficult for Donaldson to qualify via the European points list, which brings me back to my original point.

It'd be very unlikely that Donaldson would take that risk if McGinley hasn't assured him of his place?
    I think he has been told he's on the team.

PARlance wrote: »
    It'd be very unlikely that Donaldson would take that risk if McGinley hasn't assured him of his place?
    I think he has been told he's on the team.

I can't see McGinley making any promises to anyone at this stage. If Donaldson misses out on automatic qualification, it will probably mean that both McDowell and Donald will have made the team (unless either Poulter or Gallacher does something exceptional over the next couple of weeks).

If that is the case, I think the 3 wild cards will come from the following four players - Donaldson, Gallacher, Poulter and Westwood. In that situation, I think both Poulter and Westwood would be picked and the third wild card may depend on which of the other two is in better form over the next couple of weeks.

If Gallacher makes the top 9, then I would expect McGinley to pick either McDowell or Donald ahead of Donaldson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Watson still considering Tiger, even in his current state it is hard to ignore him.

Does anyone know who is the lowest placed player to get a wild card pick?

YayaBanana wrote: »
    Watson still considering Tiger, even in his current state it is hard to ignore him.

Does anyone know who is the lowest placed player to get a wild card pick?

If I had to guess, I'd say Montgomerie, but I'm sure someone will Google it and prove me wrong.

Here's half the work for someone ::

All the picks made by ryder cup captains since picking began :D

http://golf.about.com/od/rydercup/a/ryder-cup-captains-picks.htm

Some good stats on that page and more importantly why Poulter HAS to be picked.....

http://golf.about.com/od/rydercup/a/ryder-cup-captains-picks_2.htm

Win-Loss Records of All Golfers Who've Been Multiple Captain's Picks

Players are listed in order from best winning percentage (in parentheses) to worst.

Ian Poulter, 8-1-0 (.889)
    Scott Verplank, 4-1-0 (.800)
    Luke Donald, 5-2-1 (.688)
    Raymond Floyd, 5-3-0 (.625)
    Jose Maria Olazabal, 8-6-1 (.567)
    Fred Couples, 4-3-1 (.563)
    Lanny Wadkins, 4-3-1 (.563)
    Jesper Parnevik, 4-3-4 (.545)
    Stewart Cink, 3-3-7 (.500)
    Mark James, 4-6-0 (.400)
    Nick Faldo, 5-10-0 (.333)
    Peter Oosterhuis, 2-5-0 (.285)
    Ken Brown, 1-4-0 (.200)
    Steve Stricker, 0-6-1 (.071)

Most Matches Won By a Captain's Pick, Overall

8 - Jose Maria Olazabal (1987, 1991, 1993)
    8 - Ian Poulter (2008, 2012)

Most Matches Won By a Captain's Pick In a Single Ryder Cup

4 - Ian Poulter (4-1-0), 2008
    4 - Ian Poulter (4-0-0), 2012

Records of All Players With Minimum 15 Matches Played

Just highlighted some people who are tight for qualification and possible to be picked on either side AND have played more than 15 matches....

Westwood shouldnt really be getting a sniff with poulter and donald ahead of him. poulter+donald+a rookie. There's enough experience in the team as it is. get gallagher in there

Donald + Gallagher + Poulter = Boom!

Tiger shouldn't be getting a sniff either!

Ian Poulter, Europe, 12-3-0, .800
    Arnold Palmer, USA, 22-8-2, .719
    Luke Donald, Europe, 10-4-1, .700
    Hale Irwin, USA, 13-5-2, .700
    Tom Watson, USA, 10-4-1, .700
    Julius Boros, USA, 9-3-4, .688
    Lee Trevino, USA, 17-7-6, .667
    Gene Littler, USA, 14-5-8, .667
    Jack Nicklaus, USA, 17-8-3, .661
    Jose Maria Olazabal, Europe, 18-8-5, .661
    Colin Montgomerie, Europe, 20-9-7, .653
    Sergio Garcia, Europe, 16-8-4 .643
    Billy Casper, USA, 20-10-7, .635
    Lanny Wadkins, USA, 20-11-3, .632
    Seve Ballesteros, Europe, 20-12-5, .608
    Tom Kite, USA, 15-9-4, .607
    Darren Clarke, Europe, 10-7-3, .575
    Bernhard Langer, Europe 21-15-6, .571
    Lee Westwood, Europe, 18-13-6, .567
    Hal Sutton, USA, 7-5-4, .563
    Peter Oosterhuis, Europe, 14-11-3, .554
    Nick Faldo, Europe, 23-19-4, .543
    Ian Woosnam, Europe, 14-12-5, .532
    Howard Clark, Europe, 7-7-1, .500
    Bernard Gallacher, Europe, 13-13-5, .500
    Tony Jacklin, Europe, 13-14-8, .485
    Payne Stewart, USA, 8-9-2, .474
    Brian Huggett, Europe, 8-10-6, .458
    Fred Couples, USA, 7-9-4, .450
    Phil Mickelson, USA, 14-18-6, .447
    Sandy Lyle, Europe, 7-9-2, .444
    Davis Love III, USA, 9-12-5, .442
    Maurice Bembridge, Europe, 6-8-3, .441
    Dai Rees, Europe, 7-9-1, .441
    Tiger Woods, USA, 13-17-3, .439
    Raymond Floyd, USA, 12-16-3, .435
    Paul Azinger, USA, 5-7-3, .433
    Brian Barnes, Europe, 10-14-1, .420
    Padraig Harrington, Europe, 9-13-3, .420
    Peter Alliss, Europe, 10-15-5, .417
    Stewart Cink, USA, 4-8-7, .395
    Neil Coles, Europe, 12-21-7, .388
    Jim Furyk, USA, 9-17-4, .367
    Miguel Angel Jimenez, Europe, 4-8-3, .367
    Christy O'Connor Sr., Europe, 11-21-4, .361
    Sam Torrance, Europe, 7-15-6, .357
    Mark James, Europe, 8-15-1, .354
    Curtis Strange, USA, 6-12-2, .350
    Bernard Hunt, Europe, 6-16-6, .321
    Dave Thomas, Europe, 3-10-5, .306
    Harry Weetman, Europe, 2-11-2, .200
    George Will, Europe, 2-11-2, .200

Tiger Woods withdraws his name from being a Captains Pick
    Tiger Woods has informed the PGA of America and United States Captain Tom Watson that due to his current health situation, he has taken himself out of consideration to serve as a Captain’s Pick for the 2014 U.S. Ryder Cup Team.

“While I greatly appreciate Tom thinking about me for a possible Captain’s Pick, I must take myself out of consideration,” Woods said. “I’ve been told by my doctors and trainer that my back muscles need to be rehabilitated and healed. They’ve advised me not to play or practice now. I’m extremely disappointed that I won’t be ready for the competition. The U.S. Team and the Ryder Cup mean too much to me not to be able to give it my best. I’ll be cheering for the U.S. Team. I think we have an outstanding squad going into the matches.”

http://www.rydercup.com/usa/news/tiger-woods-withdraws-consideration-2014-us-ryder-cup-team

If I had to guess, I'd say Montgomerie, but I'm sure someone will Google it and prove me wrong.

I don't have the energy to check all the rankings for previous Ryder Cups, but I think I might be right in guessing Montgomerie. He was 19th in the World Points list and 16th in the European Points list when he was given a wild card in 2004. I think he went on to sink the winning putt that year.