Scaremongering about cannabis on Crimecall right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

kneemos wrote: »
    And yet I've been insulted and called all sorts?

Well when you put across an opinion that fits that type it only makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

richy wrote: »
    wtf does that consultant know about the ability to test drugs in a nightclub.

A lot. He's a trained medical doctor with a professional interest (over 20 years he said) in the impact of "nightlife" (for want of a better word) on people's health. He explained in some detail the laboratory process of testing pills and the shifting nature of their components. He was convinced that this could never be replicated in a club setting.

They do it in many countries especially at festivals and very successfully too. People are gonna do drugs no matter what. Last year at electric they made a big announcement to not to take the green Rolex. People still did because it's all they had and they thought it would never happen to them.
    They sound like retards to me.

"Don't eat the poison."
    "But it's all I have."
    "Really, don't eat the poison, its poisonous!"
    "I'm gonna have to eat it anyway."
    Two people died if I remember correctly. May not have happened if there was a prosecution free area where you could get your pills tested.

So a warning wasn't good enough to prevent people from eating poison, but you expect people to use test kits and take those results seriously and then not eat them.

I doubt they have the required intelligence...

pundy wrote: »
    if you don't smoke it, then just stay out of the argument really, cos you wont have a clue what you're on about at all, cos you'd be basing your flawed opinions of cannabis on the ideas of a crank who is paid to spout lies on a corrupted governments tv station.

Translation: The Man is trying to control us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

I'm not an expert but is cannabis anymore harmful than alcohol, rarely see two stoners beating the crap out of each other (great Bill Hicks joke). Yes it has side effects like alcohol and cigarettes, you have to exercise personal responsibility. Proper researched debated will go a long way not some dragnet like rhetoric about how the mary jane is screwin' the kids up man.

exactly. feckin sausages will do you damage if you eat enough of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 what it takes

exactly. feckin sausages will do you damage if you eat enough of them.

Cholesterol is the true scourge of society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭blackwhite

what exactly is that?

Victim blaming.

You implied that "he asked for it". Doesn't justify the ****ty behavior of those who prefer to name-call and abuse instead of debating the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

blackwhite wrote: »
    Victim blaming.

You implied that "he asked for it". Doesn't justify the ****ty behavior of those who prefer to name-call and abuse instead of debating the point.

why are you getting involved? to troll about someone getting slagged?

are you implying that i have the same mindset as a rapist?

how is he a victim anyway?

you absolute freakshow

Nice ninja edit.

Reported it before you did though.

Nice ninja edit.

Reported it before you did though.

same way i reported you for implying i was some sort of rapist.

you're fvcking disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

you absolute freakshow

This must be the infamous irritability too much cannabis causes..

or it could be someone who is being called a rapist on the internet.

fvck off the lot of ye. and blackwhite, i'm reporting you to the guards.

same way i reported you for implying i was some sort of rapist.

you're fvcking disgusting.

Where did I imply you were a rapist?
    I said you trying to claim it's ok to abuse someone because they disagreed with you was the equivalent of a rapist blaming their victim's choice of clothes - i.e. equally as ridiculous.

If you're unable to debate without resorting to name-calling and personal abuse then it really says a lot about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Do you lot have nothing better to be at than winding people up since the Thunderdome was shut down?

Where did I imply you were a rapist?
    I said you trying to claim it's ok to abuse someone because they disagreed with you was the equivalent of a rapist blaming their victim's choice of clothes - i.e. equally as ridiculous.

If you're unable to debate without resorting to name-calling and personal abuse then it really says a lot about you.

you fvcking started it you thick idiot, YOU personally abused me by calling me a rapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭richy

A lot. He's a trained medical doctor with a professional interest (over 20 years he said) in the impact of "nightlife" (for want of a better word) on people's health. He explained in some detail the laboratory process of testing pills and the shifting nature of their components. He was convinced that this could never be replicated in a club setting.

They sound like retards to me.

"Don't eat the poison."
    "But it's all I have."
    "Really, don't eat the poison, its poisonous!"
    "I'm gonna have to eat it anyway."

So a warning wasn't good enough to prevent people from eating poison, but you expect people to use test kits and take those results seriously and then not eat them.

I doubt they have the required intelligence...

Impact of nightlife I imagine has to do with excess alcohol/drugs and dangerous tainted drugs. I have no doubt he is am expert in saving life's but I can tell you he knows nothin about the ability to do on site tests of pills etc for contaniments because it can and does happen and it saves lives. From am article I can't link because I don't hack enough comments "THE RECENT death of a teenager after taking Ecstasy at a "house" party in Blackpool was greeted with resigned dismay by Safe House, the Dutch drug-testing scheme which has virtually eliminated the dangers of taking the designer drug." If you wanna read the article yourself and get informed google Dutch ravers can mellow out as official tests make Ecstasy 'safe' the article is buy the uk independent paper.

The authorities in these countries are so far ahead of us in terms of making drug use safer it is embarrassing. People lose their lives because of the general publics ignorance.

It may be a stupid decision to take a drug which may possibly be tainted but a very small percentage of the pills were tainted and they just got unlucky. I don't think they deserve to die because they "sound like regress". Their is no reason for ignorance with the whole internet at your finger tips.

The only irritability too much cannabis use causes is impatience at waiting for the takeaway to arrive.

you fvcking started it you thick idiot, YOU personally abused me by calling me a rapist.

I didn't call you a rapist.

Quote me the post where I said that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Calm down dude...you're getting wound up over nothing. Could well be intentional for all we know. Stop responding to him and vice versa and you'll be better off.

I didn't call you a rapist.

Quote me the post where I said that.

i wont be engaging with you any more Blackwhite. you're a fvcking idiot.
    go fvck yourself, (it's the only fvck you'll ever get).

I love the way I heart internet calls people who died because of taking possibly tainted drugs are retards and Black white likes the comment but black White got his feelings hurt by a bad word and alerted the mods. Someone needs to call wambulance for this pair.

Impact of nightlife I imagine has to do with excess alcohol/drugs and dangerous tainted drugs. I have no doubt he is am expert in saving life's but I can tell you he knows nothin about the ability to do on site tests of pills etc for contaniments because it can and does happen and it saves lives. From am article I can't link because I don't hack enough comments "THE RECENT death of a teenager after taking Ecstasy at a "house" party in Blackpool was greeted with resigned dismay by Safe House, the Dutch drug-testing scheme which has virtually eliminated the dangers of taking the designer drug." If you wanna read the article yourself and get informed google Dutch ravers can mellow out as official tests make Ecstasy 'safe' the article is buy the uk independent paper.

The authorities in these countries are so far ahead of us in terms of making drug use safer it is embarrassing. People lose their lives because of the general publics ignorance.

It may be a stupid decision to take a drug which may possibly be tainted but a very small percentage of the pills were tainted and they just got unlucky. I don't think they deserve to die because they "sound like regress". Their is no reason for ignorance with the whole internet at your finger tips.

I imagine pill testing of some sort would save lives. Some would use it and some would act appropriately on the results. Others won't. This consultatnt medic seemed to think it was a fanciful notion.

In the absence of pill testing being widespread, would you agree with the advice not to ingest any pill that you purchase off someone on a night out? Would you agree with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Xeyn

and you can surely understand why it is frustrating to people who DO know and have bothered to read the research, and who DO smoke the stuff to be met with the usual irish-mentality "save the children" sh!t every single time a drug is mentioned on here.

if you don't smoke it, then just stay out of the argument really, cos you wont have a clue what you're on about at all, cos you'd be basing your flawed opinions of cannabis on the ideas of a crank who is paid to spout lies on a corrupted governments tv station.

Maybe people who don't do cocaine shouldn't have a say in whether they think it's harmful or should be legalised or not.
    As is human nature, almost everyone who smokes cannabis cherry picks the 'facts' from research, dubious is nature or not, and holds those above any research before or after which may contradict that.
    One of my best friends is addicted to cannabis and it's poor position to argue from - addiction. He is an extremely intelligent person but is also very ready to admit the harmful effects of weed. For this he makes a strict timetable where e can only indulge after 8 at night as mental faculties take a huge hit free ingestion or inhalation. I've found very few militant defenders of cannabis who weren't addicted whether they admitted it or not.
    The bottom line is cannabis has been studied for many years but the research hasn't always been particularly high standard.
    If you want to research the harmful effects I suggest you read genuine scientific papers - try pubmed and not the ones suggested in 'legalise weed' websites.

Cannabis is definitely not the worst drug out there. So far evidence suggests alcohol is worse. However evidence shows intoxication with thc is just as dangerous as alcohol when driving.

I should add as a controlled medication marijuana is a very useful drug with some very advantageous benefits.

are we still not allowed call people out for being the T word??

I love the way I heart internet calls people who died because of taking possibly tainted drugs are retards and Black white likes the comment but black White got his feelings hurt by a bad word and alerted the mods. Someone needs to call wambulance for this pair.

You're the one who's gone off on a bender because you can't understand basic English. :rolleyes:

Apologies - it wasn't you who went off on the bender. You were the one who wanted any dissenting voices to sterilise themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Why are "experts" in the media and on telly always so wrong and know-it-alls on the internet always right??

Could it be that "experts" know stuff that biased drug-fans don't?

Mainly because it is professional suicide. There was doctor that was fired in the UK from a government think tank on drugs. His offense was to come out as a moderate and pointing out cannabis was not as harmful as legal drugs.

With that kind of mentality you can't have a balanced input. They effectively will only hire those who agree with current policies.

The anti cannabis crew would have more luck with their agenda if they didn't insist on spreading blatant lies and stuck to the facts.
    They also tend to be the most uninformed of the subject matter.

People who ingest unknown substances are stupid. They are slower than the rest of us (who have survived thus far), yes. I'm sad when I hear that anyone has died due to ingesting or consuming illegal drugs and I dislike people who cheerlead for drug use knowing it can lead to such disasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

are we still not allowed call people out for being the T word??
    Well you're certainly not allowed hurl abuse at people and then threaten legal action, so take a week off to calm down.

The rest of you may want to calm down too.

Victim blaming.

Isn't that exactly what your buddy I heart internet done when he said people who took pills ams died are retards and you likes his comment. Is that not worse victim blaming than pundy saying that other fella deserved being called simple for having simple ideas and not being able to change his opinion when provided the facts to prove he is wrong on a ****ing Internet forum. And we have beens debating the point the whole time. How many times have we made comments like Oh he must be irritable because he can't smoke a joint. We gave valid points and evidence ye gave empty rhetoric and pointless comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

People who ingest unknown substances are stupid. They are slower than the rest of us (who have survived thus far), yes. I'm sad when I hear that anyone has died due to ingesting or consuming illegal drugs and I dislike people who cheerlead for drug use knowing it can lead to such disasters.

Being in favour of legalisation and regulation isn't 'cheer-leading irresponsible drug use'. If anything it's doing the opposite.