Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

bumper234 wrote: »
    Like the garty fans who are taking money from their childrens mouths so the can buy tickets, travel to Dublin and drink all night :rolleyes:

So saving is not an option then apparently... And not everyone has Children..... Not everyone drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

So saving is not an option then apparently... And not everyone has Children..... Not everyone drinks.

And not everyone living in the croke park vicinity is unemployed/low wage. There are 2 barristers that i know of that live within spitting distance of CP.

Is it nearly decision day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭JRant

i'd doubt it, the celtic tiger is over even for this lot

as long as the tax payer isn't giving them legal aid and they aren't taking money from their childrens mouths to pay for it

What is it with your posts and "celtic tiger" and "tax payers"?

Every citizen in this country pays tax, ergo we are all tax payers.

The Aviva wouldn't dream of holding more than 3 because they know the RA would not be having it. It would be before the courts before you could say "subject to license approval".

You should tell your boys and girls in the unions that the celtic tiger years are over and get with the program. That is of course if you believe in holding everyone to the same standards, which to be honest your posts clearly indicate that you don't.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

JRant wrote: »
    The Aviva wouldn't dream of holding more than 3 because they know the RA would not be having it. It would be before the courts before you could say "subject to license approval".

only if the RA have the money, or some connections, otherwise not

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I can't understand why you continue to come back to this train of thought. Do you believe the people of the area are all broke? You understand that there are lawyers and barristers living in that area right? You understand that if this goes to court that costs could be awarded against CP right?

Mr.S wrote: »
    Nothing is going to happen. The shows will go ahead.

But that doesn't answer my question :confused: when is the decision (whatever way it goes) expected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I can't understand why you continue to come back to this train of thought. Do you believe the people of the area are all broke? You understand that there are lawyers and barristers living in that area right? You understand that if this goes to court that costs could be awarded against CP right?

You may as well be talking to the wall in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Give it a go and find out. Sure you could organise a benefit concert for your boys and girls in the Taxi and Airport unions. Hold it over 4 nights in the Aviva and see what the RA does.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Just checking if there have been any developments?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Like the garty fans who are taking money from their childrens mouths so the can buy tickets, travel to Dublin and drink all night :rolleyes:

Won't do the little fat bastards any harm to cut down on the eating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Some serious Bing bong(s) making out that the area is full of poor broke people ?? I grew up 10 mins from croker . Most of the houses on clonliffe were bought for over 500k , in Drumcondra the same.

Ffs who ever has the dimwit ideas of poverty around there must be a bit simple .

As for ballbough flats sure just look at the fancy cars in the yard lol

One Direction on for 3 days next week

The faith of the Garthy concerts could lay in the hands of a bunch of teenage girls. Any bad publicity and that would be a MAJOR black mark against another 5 concerts getting licenced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,524 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I'd imagine the One Direction crowd would be better behaved than the Garth crowd.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I'd imagine the One Direction crowd would be better behaved than the Garth crowd.

I concur but you never know. It's the traffic, noise, disruptions etc i would be thinking about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

italodisco wrote: »
    Some serious Bing bong(s) making out that the area is full of poor broke people ?? I grew up 10 mins from croker . Most of the houses on clonliffe were bought for over 500k , in Drumcondra the same.

Ffs who ever has the dimwit ideas of poverty around there must be a bit simple .

As for ballbough flats sure just look at the fancy cars in the yard lol

And they are just the taxi drivers

Well from talking to the gardai they and local pub security seem more concerned about the one direction gig. As the garda said himself ''twill be awful full of rough teenage girls with drink taken ah jayses"

As a resident, not in the close vicinity, I really don't give a crap about Garth Brooks gig. I'll tolerate it, get over it and live my bloody life.

And I don't think it's going to be the start of endless 5 night gigs.

Relax people , it will all be over soon !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

italodisco wrote: »
    Well from talking to the gardai they and local pub security seem more concerned about the one direction gig. As the garda said himself ''twill be awful full of rough teenage girls with drink taken ah jayses"

As a resident, not in the close vicinity, I really don't give a crap about Garth Brooks gig. I'll tolerate it, get over it and live my bloody life.

And I don't think it's going to be the start of endless 5 night gigs.

Relax people , it will all be over soon !

Not from the area at all myself

But it sounds like you would be able to hear the gigs but not get affected by traffic / gardai restrictions etc. As well as having a toddler trying to sleep etc.

so good for you but atleast give the guys that live there a chance rather than say "I live enough away, I dont care, get over yourself etc."

Not from the area at all myself

But it sounds like you would be able to hear the gigs but not get affected by traffic / gardai restrictions etc. As well as having a toddler trying to sleep etc.

so good for you but atleast give the guys that live there a chance rather than say "I live enough away, I dont care, get over yourself etc."

Lol I live up by Drumcondra train station so I'd say I'm fairly effected by it chap.

The place will be shut down traffic wise , Pissed all over and in a heap ...oh and the toddlers will be strung out on night-ol .

I wasn't being selfish I was being honest.

I do think it's a pain in the pipe but like i said, I'll deal with it.

That's all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Can't help but think this would be well signed off on and railroaded through already if it wasn't for the local elections.

Any locals care to let us know how the local politicians and canvassers are discussing when going door to door.

what do you think they are discussing lol

Garth Brooks

One Direction

Parking

Water charges

But im smart enough to not answer my door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭That_Girl_ Is_ A_Cowboy

One Direction on for 3 days next week

The faith of the Garthy concerts could lay in the hands of a bunch of teenage girls. Any bad publicity and that would be a MAJOR black mark against another 5 concerts getting licenced.

One Direction fans are youngsters - children and teenagers and perhaps young adults. Some of those teenagers would be of legal drinking age at 18 plus. At that age, they are young and have much to learn in relation to alcohol and drinking. Also being young self esteem may be low and some younger adults may feel that they need alcohol to socialise and have fun.

Garth Brooks would appeal to a wider audience. Those who are older. There could be several generations attending a gig like Garth Brooks. With age comes responsibility and maturity and gone are the days where going out to get drunk is great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

With age comes responsibility and maturity and gone are the days where going out to get drunk is great craic.

Have you ever actually been to a gig in Ireland? The middle aged mammies and daddies are usually the worst offenders.

One Direction fans are youngsters - children and teenagers and perhaps young adults. Some of those teenagers would be of legal drinking age at 18 plus. At that age, they are young and have much to learn in relation to alcohol and drinking. Also being young self esteem may be low and some younger adults may feel that they need alcohol to socialise and have fun.

Garth Brooks would appeal to a wider audience. Those who are older. There could be several generations attending a gig like Garth Brooks. With age comes responsibility and maturity and gone are the days where going out to get drunk is great craic.

Lol are you ****ting me? I worked as a doorman for almost 20 years and the people.i got the most **** from, the people who caused the most trouble, the demographic who were the most troublesome were aged between 25 and 50! So don't give me that **** that the Garthy fans will be well behaved and just out for a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

im not from nor do i live in the area but all these fecking restrictions have effected me over the last 3 days trying to get to places in drumcondra or even pass through the place.

complete utter mess and boggers not knowing where their going and nearly causing accidents and clogging up every bit of space possible.

no way. hope these garth brooks gigs are cancelled or not approved.

• Administrators Posts: 55,101 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

im not from nor do i live in the area but all these fecking restrictions have effected me over the last 3 days trying to get to places in drumcondra or even pass through the place.

complete utter mess and boggers not knowing where their going and nearly causing accidents and clogging up every bit of space possible.

no way. hope these garth brooks gigs are cancelled or not approved.

Why would you try and pass through Drumcondra when you knew there was a big event on?

Smarter to avoid the area unless it's your destination so as to avoid being part of the problem, no?

I have sympathy for residents or people who absolutely must be in the area during this time. I have no sympathy for people moaning about their drive through the area to get somewhere else taking longer.

awec wrote: »
    Why would you try and pass through Drumcondra when you knew there was a big event on?

Smarter to avoid the area unless it's your destination so as to avoid being part of the problem, no?

I have sympathy for residents or people who absolutely must be in the area during this time. I have no sympathy for people moaning about their drive through the area to get somewhere else taking longer.

i had somewhere to go in drumcondra as i had to do something unrelated to the event itself.

but thanks to the event it was made impossible as i couldnt access drumcondra lower at all and i have to go again another day which is quite an inconvenience !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

awec wrote: »

For anyone living NorthEast of the city commuting by DART, bus or car all gets unavoidably disrupted. I'm not going to drive out through Finglas to get to Fairview, Clontarf, Kilbarrack etc.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I was in town on Saturday, nightmare!

Got the red line Luas in around lunchtime, pretty bad. But the experience of trying to get home on the Luas after a play at about 11 will stay with me forever... Saw droves of people heading for the green line also. It's not just north side driving that's effected!

So I now know theres five nights coming up where I may have to avoid town altogether.