IRA t-shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Undefeated Army t-shirts are a bit stupid and tacky to be honest. I've nothing against political t-shirts but most of the people wearing "IRA" motifs with images of armed men are probably eejits to begin with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Not bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭NordieSteve

Just ordered the unrepentant Fenian bastard one, well happy with that thanks op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

FTA69 wrote: »
    The Undefeated Army t-shirts are a bit stupid and tacky to be honest. I've nothing against political t-shirts but most of the people wearing "IRA" motifs with images of armed men are probably eejits to begin with.

I think we both know that that type of thing is aimed at the yanks. I've only seen a republican activist wearing a shirt like that once and that was to wind up a blueshirt (it was very funny)

If people were to wear shirts like that they would be told to cop on, even if just for the fact that its ridiculous for some young person who wasn't even alive when the troubles were going on, never mind in the IRA, to wear it.

As you mention, there are far better political t-shirts out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

As bad as it is but up North loyalists proudly wear t-shirts, fly flags and paint murals glorifying the UVF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Come back when you know what you are posting.

Did wee bit research there - both IRB and IRA were involved in Irish War Independence but IRB disbanded after treaty- that is where I was getting mixed up..

Would have been nice had you explained it for me my good lad instead of the smart arse reply but Im glad to have gotten it cleared up regardless :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Because you always need some appropriate attire when attending your next Wolfe Tones concert?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'd think being mealy-mouthed would apply more to Sinn Fein and republicans given their love for deception and double-speak.

Deception and double speak?

Unlike the British Army* (you're a member of) Republicans have expressed regret for the hurt they caused during the conflict and have apologised for the civilian deaths they were responsible for.

Has the BA apologised for the 150 civilians, including many children, they killed? Have they apologised for setting up their own version of Loyalist death gangs in the form of the FRU? Have they apologised for colluding with loyalist death gangs who killed many hundreds of innocent unarmed Catholics?

Has any Unionist or British politician ever came out and apologised for, you know, causing the troubles?

You'll note the above are rhetorical questions.

*it took a multi-million pound enquiry that was only 'granted' (spit) as part of a peace settlement to find the victims of the British Army on Bloody Sunday innocent.

I think we both know that that type of thing is aimed at the yanks. I've only seen a republican activist wearing a shirt like that once and that was to wind up a blueshirt (it was very funny)

If people were to wear shirts like that they would be told to cop on, even if just for the fact that its ridiculous for some young person who wasn't even alive when the troubles were going on, never mind in the IRA, to wear it.

I grew up through the later stage of it and find it perfectly OK in the right setting. The same people that condemn these types of support clothing gush about the royal family and the right to hang "bunting" out of their D4 apartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Just ordered the unrepentant Fenian bastard one, well happy with that thanks op.

Quite like it myself I must say.

I remember when I was in Ógra Shinn Féin we were in a certain part of the south for a youth weekend. There was one fella who was wearing it in all his dealings with the hotel, hostels and the pub afterward. People were looking at him like he had two heads. Normally I wouldn't give a sh*te about someone who p*sses themselves with indignation over Irish Republicanism.

But there's a difference between that and flaunting images of armalite-wielding men on your chest. Pure stupid carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

iDave wrote: »
    As bad as it is but up North loyalists proudly wear t-shirts, fly flags and paint murals glorifying the UVF

The ones that do are idiots as well to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Wordless

Surely they were defeated in the Civil War? I know the call to dump arms was a face saving exercise...but the Free State Army had them well defeated.

Wordless wrote: »
    Surely they were defeated in the Civil War? I know the call to dump arms was a face saving exercise...but the Free State Army had them well defeated.

Every campaign they had they were hammered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sure it wasn't too long ago that they still sold Sniper At Work t-shirts on their site.

Karl Stein wrote: »

Unlike the British Army* (you're a member of) Republicans have expressed regret for the hurt they caused during the conflict and have apologised for the civilian deaths they were responsible for.

Has the BA apologised for the 150 civilians, including many children, they killed? Have they apologised for setting up their own version of Loyalist death gangs in the form of the FRU? Have they apologised for colluding with loyalist death gangs who killed many hundreds of innocent unarmed Catholics?

Has any Unionist or British politician ever came out and apologised for, you know, causing the troubles?

*it took a multi-million pound that was only 'granted' (spit) as part of a peace settlement to find the victims of the British Army on Bloody Sunday innocent.
    He's in the British army? lol I guess we can all write off everything he says so. None of the people he gives out to on here about the IRA are members of it, but he himself is part of a murder machine

The IRA were not defeated militarily by the British during the troubles. Now you might say that the republican leadership led them into a surrender but the army was not beaten. Its not compatible with the dump arms orders after the civil war and the border campaign because the IRA could have fought on for decades.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Sure it wasn't too long ago that they still sold Sniper At Work t-shirts on their site.

That sign was pretty iconic at one point. They had posters of it too, dunno if they are still around

*it took a multi-million pound that was only 'granted' (spit) as part of a peace settlement to find the victims of the British Army on Bloody Sunday innocent.

The BA won't release a statement like that because it's an army not a political orginization. The apologies from the British government (like the one for Bloody Sunday) are the ones that count.

Also i don't condone events like Bloody Sunday and never had. Also the British didn't solely cause the Troubles. The loyalists and republicans had their big part in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Well done Fred, you've just won 40 straw-bales for producing strawman of the year.

Lol, you post some random quote by Ruth Dudley-Edwards in a thread about dubious tee shirts sold in a Sinn Fein shop and accuse me of creating a strawman?

Incidentally, which "big houses" are you going to burn first? Avondale, Derrynane, Frascati and Ballytrent?

The IRA were not defeated militarily by the British during the troubles. Now you might say that the republican leadership led them into a surrender but the army was not beaten. Its not compatible with the dump arms orders after the civil war and the border campaign because the IRA could have fought on for decades.

Fair enough, they weren't annihilated á la the LTTE or anything but they were definitely contained and forced into a position where they had to quit pretty much.

He's in the British army? lol I guess we can all write off everything he says so. None of the people he gives out to on here about the IRA are members of it, but he himself is part of a murder machine

My opinion doesn't count then because i'm in the BA. How fascist of you.:rolleyes:

I'm not a member of an organization which kills people and illegally invades other countries... not to mention all the dirty tricks you lot got up to in Ireland. But I'm the fascist? Your opinion is worth far less because you are speaking from an unbelievably biased and hypocritical position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That sign was pretty iconic at one point. They had posters of it too, dunno if they are still around

It was iconic alright. But they were still selling t-shirts of it post-peace process.

Bit dodgy. I remember Mary Lou getting called out on it on the Panel on RTE one night. She had no comeback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I'm not a member of an organization which kills people and illegally invades other countries... not to mention all the dirty tricks you lot got up to in Ireland. But I'm the fascist? Your opinion is worth far less because you are speaking from an unbelievably biased and hypocritical position

Would you like an oxygen mask? The air can he pretty thin when perched on top of a moral high horse.

Your just as guilty of bias.

I disliked Republicanism long before i joined the BA so it has no bearing on that front.

I haven't killed anyone nor have iever got involved in dirty tricks as you put it. Your just using a cheap and lazy way to invalidate my opinion.

The provisionals could've went on for decades but the Gfa solidified an agreement that prevented further violence and gave nationalist communities the equal rights that were fought for in the years preceding and thank **** it did. If the British did sit down with political leaders and listened to the PEACEFUL civil rights marches in the days leading up to bloody Sunday instead of shooting and beating up nationalist protesters the Provos wouldn't have had the recruiting power or the international as well as national support they had. The only way they would listen was through violence as wrong as that is, but you can only poke and prod people for so long before they bite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I have a number of hunger striker ones which I wear on appropriate occasions.

Why not wear them out and about during the day I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Ah they love a bit of scumbaggery draped in nationalism though OP.

These, celtic shirts and tracksuits are what 98% of sinn fein supporters wear.

This is the dumbest thing ive read in ages

The provisionals could've went on for decades

They would have existed but they were definitely stagnant by the time they hit the mid-1990s. Their ability to kill soldiers was severely curtailed over the years due to technological advances on the part of the British Army and the areas where they were once invincible were getting penetrated. Places like West Belfast and Derry were in tatters organisationally. The bombs on England's financial districts were serious operations but were probably unsustainable over a long period.

Ideally the armed struggle should have been wound up by about 1990.
    If the British did sit down with political leaders and listened to the PEACEFUL civil rights marches in the days leading up to bloody Sunday instead of shooting and beating up nationalist protesters the Provos wouldn't have had the recruiting power or the international as well as national support they had.

You're correct in what you say but it's important to realise that the purpose of the IRA was to effect British withdrawal and create a socialist state in Ireland. They weren't the armed wing of the civil rights movement, something which many people now seem to be trying to portray them as.