Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRA t-shirts

• 23-05-2014 11:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭

I'm surprised. I'm genuinely surprised. But hey, maybe I'm just naive.

You go to Sinn Fein's website, go to their 'news' page, you click on the banner for the Sinn Fein Online Book Store and you find these sorta t-shirts for sale.

http://www.sinnfeinbookshop.com/ira-undefeated-army/

http://www.sinnfeinbookshop.com/unrepentant-fenian-bastard/

Hey look - I mean people can wear whatever the hell they like as far as I'm concerned. I just thought that a party that was gaining ground all over the country and establishing itself as a genuinely large and legitimate political force on both sides of the border wouldn't be selling merchandise with wording such as 'Unrepentant Fenian Bastard' and 'IRA Undefeated Army' and the like.

I thought with all the talk of inclusiveness and fairness and reconciliation etc. they'd moved on a bit from that. ('Unrepentant Fenian Bastard' as a branding message doesn't really work alongside inclusiveness in my view.)

And don't get me wrong. I'm not anti-Sinn Fein by any stretch. They make good arguments as a party and they appear to offer an interesting left-wing alternative to what's currently in place. But if this is the sorta thing they sell to fund the party, and if this is the sort of message they're happy to convey on their merchandise, then I think it's all a bit...grubby or lowlife something along those lines.

I'm also sure there must be plenty 'new' Sinn Fein supporters out there who must feel a bit uncomfortable with this stuff.

Are other people as surprised as I am that they're selling this through their website? Or is it just me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Ah they love a bit of scumbaggery draped in nationalism though OP.

These, celtic shirts and tracksuits are what 98% of sinn fein supporters wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Just stumbled upon that when you were shopping for blue shirts eh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

alfa beta wrote: »
    They make good arguments as a party
    Would you mind sharing one please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,420 ✭✭✭✭josip

Too many people in Ireland choose to ignore who the IRA-Sinn Fein are and what they've done.
    Unless you've grown up with it, it's very hard to comprehend what they were capable of all the way up until the end of the 90s.
    I may someday vote Fianna Fail, but I will never, ever vote for Sinn Fein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What's an "Indefeated Army"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Undefeated Army my arse. My biggest problem with these t-shirts is that they constitute false advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You go to Sinn Fein's website, you click on their online book store and you find these sorta t-shirts for sale.

Hey look - I mean people can wear whatever the hell they like as far as I'm concerned. I just thought that a party that was gaining ground all over the country and establishing itself as a genuinely large and legitimate political force on both sides of the border wouldn't be selling merchandise with wording such as 'Unrepentant Fenian Bastard' and 'IRA Undefeated Army' and the like.

I thought with all the talk of inclusiveness and fairness and reconciliation etc. they'd moved on a bit from that. ('Unrepentant Fenian Bastard' as a branding message doesn't really work alongside inclusiveness in my view.)

And don't get me wrong. I'm not anti-Sinn Fein by any stretch. They make good arguments as a party and they appear to offer an interesting left-wing alternative to what's currently in place. But if this is the sorta thing they sell to fund the party, and if this is the sort of message they're happy to convey on their merchandise, then I think it's all a bit...grubby or lowlife something along those lines.

I'm also sure there must be plenty 'new' Sinn Fein supporters out there who must feel a bit uncomfortable with this stuff.

Are other people as surprised as I am that they're selling this through their website? Or is it just me?

This scares the living ****e out of me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Valetta wrote: »
    What's an "Indefeated Army"?

Me fail English? That's unpossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

josip wrote: »
    it's very hard to comprehend what they were capable of all the way up until the end of the 90s.
    Don't forget what they're still capable of. All the murderers didn't take up crochet back in 1998.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Because I need something to wear when my Che Guevara T-shirt is in the wash?

If I was Gerry I'da walked out of the arrest wearing the IRA shirt for a laugh.

After her disappearance, Jean McConville's seven youngest children, including six-year-old twins, survived on their own in the flat, cared for by their 15-year-old sister Helen. After three weeks, the hungry family was visited by a stranger, who gave them Jean's purse—with 52p still inside it—and her three rings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I've got the Calvin Harris sunglasses already but do they have a hipster low cut V neck ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

RE: Unrepentant fenian bastard
    Shut up and take my money!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Too many people in Ireland choose to ignore who the IRA-Sinn Fein are and what they've done.
    Unless you've grown up with it, it's very hard to comprehend what they were capable of all the way up until the end of the 90s.
    I may someday vote Fianna Fail, but I will never, ever vote for Sinn Fein.

Yea, like our country wasn't born out of terror & insurrection anyway.. Don't pretend you know our history then come up with that crap :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bear1 wrote: »
    This scares the living ****e out of me

I'm sure the t-shirts are decommissioned and entirely safe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

After her disappearance, Jean McConville's seven youngest children, including six-year-old twins, survived on their own in the flat, cared for by their 15-year-old sister Helen. After three weeks, the hungry family was visited by a stranger, who gave them Jean's purse—with 52p still inside it—and her three rings.

A joke's a joke, I shouldn't have.

Deleted and acknowledged ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Just stumbled upon that when you were shopping for blue shirts eh.

Someones criticising Sinn Fein so lets accuse them of being a blueshirt.

Ya because thats not a tired overused insult on boards. Especially ridiculous when the OP actually said they admire Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

OP you are a few days late with this.
    Many people have already voted.

Someones criticising Sinn Fein so lets accuse them of being a blueshirt.

Ya because thats not a tired overused insult on boards. Especially ridiculous when the OP actually said they admire Sinn Fein.

It was a joke, lighten up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Two "Sinn Fein" threads in the busiest part of boards on the day of the elections across the country. I don't think I go into conspiracy theory territory to say it appears as a concerted effort.

I'm not saying the issues in this or the other thread are not valid topics of conversation. However the timing is extraordinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

When are the "we surrendered" t-shirts going on sale? It's been 15 years and we are still waiting.

Two "Sinn Fein" threads in the busiest part of boards on the day of the elections across the country. I don't think I go into conspiracy theory territory to say it appears as a concerted effort.

I'm not saying the issues in this or the other thread are not valid topics of conversation. However the timing is extraordinary.

Its the damn Lizard people in the Fine Gael/DUP New World Order out to get Sinn Fein again.

It was a joke, lighten up.

A tired boring overused joke at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's fcuking stupid that they continue to associate themselves with that shop while it sells such goods. Can't be defended in any logical way whatsoever. And I say that as someone that voted for Matt Carthy earlier :pac:

Seriously though.. it does them no favours at all.
    It's some online book store you idiot it's not owned by sinn fein

They still shouldn't link to it from their official party website though. I mean, c'mon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ChicagoJoe

FTA69 wrote: »
    Undefeated Army my arse. My biggest problem with these t-shirts is that they constitute false advertising.
    When are the "we surrendered" t-shirts going on sale? It's been 15 years and we are still waiting.
    Would you rather one with the British govt and unionists saying "Over our dead bodies will we ever talk to Sinn Fein/IRA never mind share power with them" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Its the damn Lizard people in the Fine Gael/DUP New World Order out to get Sinn Fein again.

I was thinking more opposition supporters with an agenda.

However after that Godzilla documentary, I would reccommend monitoring the lizard people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

PSNI/Mi5 definitely.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Nodin wrote: »
    I'm sure the t-shirts are decommissioned and entirely safe.
    Like the RUC and union jack at Belfast city hall !!!! Gerry Kelly who bombed Scotland Yard is now the chair of the NI police boar. Tell me, just who are the ones trying to claim they had an outright victory !

I was thinking more opposition supporters with an agenda.

However after that Godzilla documentary, I would reccommend monitoring the lizard people.

Lets be honest though Sinn Fein supporters aren't exactly innocent of muck-raking other parties or candidate either.

The infamous tweet before the last presidential election being a good example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭iForgetMyPW

oh yeah - I see that now

I clicked on the banner on their news page (on the sinnfein.ie site) - it is separate - but it's still branded sinn fein though

no need to call me an idiot

Who cares if it's branded as sinn fein? For example I could make a catholic t-shirt store right now with "We are pedos" shirts lol

Lets be honest though Sinn Fein supporters aren't exactly innocent of muck-raking other parties or candidate either.

The infamous tweet before the last presidential election being a good example.
    Yep and FG/FF/Labour never try to use Jean McConville or Jerry McCabe when their caught out in a debate with the SFers in the Dail :rolleyes:

Who cares if it's branded as sinn fein? For example I could make a catholic t-shirt store right now with "We are pedos" shirts lol

Or one that reflects your views on gay people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭alfa beta

Who cares if it's branded as sinn fein?

but that's the thing - wouldn't you think SF would care?

if I was involved in their pr side of things I'd be very uncomfortable with those messages.

I find it surprising that opposition parties aren't jumping all over this sorta stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's long since time that the British army and MOD stop pussy footing and openly acknowledged their victory over the IRA when the IRA signed the surrender document - i.e Good Friday Agreement.

The only reason the IRA signed up was because it was defeated. They had no choice and have since just tried to dress it up as best they can.

The shinners are in denial of this fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I'm more concerned at the bastardized Irish on their "Erin Go Bragh" pin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Personally, I love this t-shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

FTA69 wrote: »

Not entirely true, thanks to the RA we don't see British occupation forces driving around Dublin like they own the show.

No more black & tans either, and this is just the tip of the iceberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

'Unrepentant Fenian Bastard' sounds a lot better than 'Mealy mouthed appeaser'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Hmm...I voted SF 1/2/3 in the locals and No. 1 in the Euros this morning and own none of these items of clothing.

Maybe I'm a member of the 2%..or maybe you're generalising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

It's long since time that the British army and MOD stop pussy footing and openly acknowledged their victory over the IRA when the IRA signed the surrender document - i.e Good Friday Agreement.

The only reason the IRA signed up was because it was defeated. They had no choice and have since just tried to dress it up as best they can.

The shinners are in denial of this fact.

Worst. Troll. Ever.

I predict a short shelf life for this account. ;)

Is that you Willie Frazer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Oooh, that's biting. Biting I say!

Just as well I voted before reading this post, or the shame of being branded a tracksuit wearing scumbag by an angry stranger on the internet may have swayed my vote entirely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭alfa beta

Karl Stein wrote: »
    'Unrepentant Fenian Bastard' sounds a lot better than 'Mealy mouthed appeaser'.

i dunno - second one's got a certain charm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

You go to Sinn Fein's website, you click on their online book store and you find these sorta t-shirts for sale.

i own several such tshirts,mostly emblazoned with one of the hunger strikers.just kinda collect them. i wouldn't be wearing them out and about. I know for a fact most of that stuff gets bought online from and shipped to the USA,the history is too recent and the wounds are still too raw for people to be wearing them in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Gazzmonkey wrote: »
    Not entirely true, thanks to the RA we don't see British occupation forces driving around Dublin like they own the show.

No more black & tans either, and this is just the tip of the iceberg.

Was it not the IRB that fought the black and tans? IRA was formed post treaty?
    Open to correction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Does Gerry Adams own one of these IRA T-Shirts?

Yea, like our country wasn't born out of terror & insurrection anyway.. Don't pretend you know our history then come up with that crap :rolleyes:

I was visiting cousins in Moneymore in 1988.
    One night they brought me out to a teenage disco, 14-17 year olds mainly.
    Halfway through, the music stops and 3 guys with balaclavas and armalites or something similar, got up on stage.
    It was quiet. They started to talk.
    "There's been a few hard men around here doing things they shouldn't have. Robbin cars and joyridin. Attracting attention from the Brits.
    We're hear tonight to see just how hard these lads are.
    "
    They called out a couple of names and after a few seconds when nobody went up, the other 2 lads on the stage came down and dragged up 2 lads from the crowd.
    They made them kneel down on the stage and they put the barrel of the gun in his mouth and told him to say his prayers.
    He wet himself and they said "You're not so hard now"
    He was 15.
    I'm not interested in history.
    I know what I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I suppose someone can only make a moral judgement on whether to vote for SF. But wearing the clothes and jewellery for sale in that online store would just make you look like a cheap knacker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I was visiting cousins in Moneymore in 1988.
    One night they brought me out to a teenage disco, 14-17 year olds mainly.
    Halfway through, the music stops and 3 guys with balaclavas and armalites or something similar, got up on stage.
    It was quiet. They started to talk.
    "There's been a few hard men around here doing things they shouldn't have. Robbin cars and joyridin. Attracting attention from the Brits.
    We're hear tonight to see just how hard these lads are.
    "
    They called out a couple of names and after a few seconds when nobody went up, the other 2 lads on the stage came down and dragged up 2 lads from the crowd.
    They made them kneel down on the stage and they put the barrel of the gun in his mouth and told him to say his prayers.
    He wet himself and they said "You're not so hard now"
    He was 15.
    I'm not interested in history.
    I know what I've seen.

slaughtneil disco you were at. The lads in question were closer to 19 at the time.

One is currently serving time for death by dangerous driving btw.

i dunno - second one's got a certain charm...

'Mealy Mouthed Appeaser' has a certain charm?

I guess it must do seeing as it describes a small but considerable number of mealy mouthed morons who'd probably subscribe to this kind of drivel:
    We've come to regret the destruction of the big houses and are gradually recognising that the despised landlord class left us a magnificent legacy.

Ruth Dudley Edwards

Na, Ruth, we should have burned the bastards out long before we did.