Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

TheDoc wrote: »
    As a matter of example...myself and the gang brought down the market on last year's late late toy show. Won't get into specifics...but the colour of jumper had one very clear favourite...we came in betting on something longer odds...but in amounts and quantities that the bookies say " they know something ". By close of betting the colour we had taken at long odds was joint favourite.

you evil bastards:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Solid business for Chelsea if they can get a replacement. He's good but not 40m good....

Always amazes me how highly he's rated by some. He's a good footballer but as a central defender he's a liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

NTMK wrote: »
    you evil bastards:pac:

The lads who bet with paddy power were refused full payout. Why I hate the company and boycott them. Disgraceful penny pinchers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Manchester United boss Louis van Gaal has turned down the chance to sign Feyenoord defender Stefan De Vrij for £6.5million.

Link Here

Is "LVG has turned down the chance to sign..." going to be used all summer as code for "We made up a story and now have decided to end it with an unprovable counter-story"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

Any news of players on the way out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Manchester United boss Louis van Gaal has turned down the chance to sign Feyenoord defender Stefan De Vrij for £6.5million.

Link Here

Is "LVG has turned down the chance to sign..." going to be used all summer as code for "We made up a story and now have decided to end it with an unprovable counter-story"...

Yes. I would also like to point out that turning down the chance to sign would imply that said player has/is signing for another club and was actually offered up to United like the cheap hoor they are before being told no.

If "journalists" start using the term and that player doesn't sign to a new contract or another club then we can all just weapon for journalism in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

case885 wrote: »

Most of them with any luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

case885 wrote: »

Do you want this place too go into total meltdown??! Let's get 1or2 paraded in the Red Shirt or at least confirmed on ManUtd.com before we start selling lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Do you want this place too go into total meltdown??! Let's get 1or2 paraded in the Red Shirt or at least confirmed on ManUtd.com before we start selling lads!

I said any news, both are inevitable anyway just a matter of when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

So Gervinho is looking for an improved contract too? I'm thinking of telling my boss that man utd are interested in me then I might get a pay rise too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

TheDoc wrote: »
    Wow some serious wrong understanding how bookies in thebfoitball market operate.

Their odds are reactionary to bets. They provide an initial price to which they calculate of rumour. Bookies have all to no sources in football clubs. At all.

Their odds inflate and deflate based on bets...betting patterns and volumes.

Larson was favourite yesterday for Celtic job. Based on only people betting lots of money. He has said he has no interest. He's not the favourite at all.

Bookies analysts will look at betting patterns and if they see a trend on something that's what adjusts pricing.

If we all took 20 quid and bet on someone 100/1 to sign for United....as we bet the odds would call. That's no indication the player is anywhere near signing...but a pattern being analysed that the bookies say "something going on here ".

As a matter of example...myself and the gang brought down the market on last year's late late toy show. Won't get into specifics...but the colour of jumper had one very clear favourite...we came in betting on something longer odds...but in amounts and quantities that the bookies say " they know something ". By close of betting the colour we had taken at long odds was joint favourite.

wouldn't say that now....didn't paddy power just sign up paul scholes!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

James Mccarthy? James Mc F*cking carthy??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

nullzero wrote: »
    So Gervinho is looking for an improved contract too? I'm thinking of telling my boss that man utd are interested in me then I might get a pay rise too.

United are in such need of improvement that I think being linked with anyone could possibly hold some truth making it a nice situation for any player looking for a better contract. Its gonna be a barmy window !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Swap for Cleverley any day of the week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭fitzer1982

Sky have pulled the story now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

I'm not letting it happen.
    I'm not going to believe any bull**** rumours this year.

Swap for Cleverley any day of the week,

thats not here nor there. we need world class signings, not f*cking nobodies like the ones we signed in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

I don't understand the outrage from some about being linked with McCarthy. It's pretty obvious that Utd need a couple of midfielders, maybe even another if there are midfielders leaving(which Cleverly would be in this case), and they're not all going to be world-class level. McCarthy would certainly be an upgrade on Cleverly, and I'd be happy with him signing as long as there was at least one genuinely top class CM coming in, and another which would probably be a level below. People need to have realistic expectations, if there are 4/5 signings they're not all going to be world-class, as much as we would like that.

Of course if McCarthy is the main target in midfield, I'd also be annoyed and opposed to it, but I very much doubt that. It's gonna be a long summer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Neither here nor there but made me chuckle, read at lunch time that Jordy Clasie has a tattoo dedicated to his father which reads "You mean everyting to me" and he didnt realise it was misspelt until it was pointed out to him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Neither here nor there but made me chuckle, read at lunch time that Jordy Clasie has a tattoo dedicated to his father which reads "You mean everyting to me" and he didnt realise it was misspelt until it was pointed out to him!!

Jordy-Clasie.jpg

thats not here nor there. we need world class signings, not f*cking nobodies like the ones we signed in recent years.

And you think he is the only CM we will be linked with? replacing Cleverley with McCarthy is good idea, he's a very under rated player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Mccarthy and coleman would be two good irish signings for our squad.

Homer calm down lol we need squad players aswell not every player we sign will be world class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I can't wait until the World Cup starts so the press move onto other stories. It should stop them making up stuff for awhile at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Homer calm down lol we need squad players aswell not every player we sign will be world class.

The last thing we need is squad players.

McCarthy is an decent average player.

The last thing we need is squad players.

McCarthy is an decent average player.

Giggs retired so we are down a CM already, Anderson will be shifted, Carrick is older, Cleverley is just LOL, Fletcher is fecked and Fellaini has been a whole load oh ****e. McCarthy is a step above all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Giggs retired so we are down a CM already, Anderson will be shifted, Carrick is older, Cleverley is just LOL, Fletcher is fecked and Fellaini has been a whole load oh ****e. McCarthy is a step above all of them.

But a step below top four/titles which is what we're aiming for, and Champions League beyond that.

McCarthy wasn't even the best midfielder in his team last year and the guy who was can't get in a top four side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭xtal191

Get in two starting midfielders and then Carrick, Cleverley, Fellaini and Fletcher will be squad players. So yeah we def dont need to be wasting money on squad players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That would only be one Irish signing. :pac:

do we? we have more squad players than anyother club in the world. what we lack, is world class players.

that part, is not even up for debate. the signings we need this summer need to go straight into the first 11, not on the bench to play against the likes of Stoke and Sunderland.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

In midfield, we need both. We need world class players, but to upgrade on our squad options as well.