Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

brevity wrote: »
    Is that all he is now?

While he does have one year left on his contract, he'd be going for more if he were playing for one of the big two - Shaktar Donetsk or Dynamo Kiev. Probably closer to double his current buyout. I need to start preparing myself for him ending up at United or Schalke :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I put up a link a few weeks ago which had Kono saying he spoke to Bren a number of times after the failed move and it sounded like they had a friendly relationship. If he goes to another club I'd say its because we won't stump up the extra cash that other clubs can offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,360 ✭✭✭ebbsy

In other news, United fail to sign another target.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Is this the 3rd kit?

10255491_10203086520656737_8843058696180749372_n.jpg

A purple warrior?

EDIT: Just seen it's the GK shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Do you think it might also be possible that Rodgers now sees the diamond with 2 out an out strikers as his main formation now?

The targets might suggest so.

A possible cooling on Kono who is more of a winger (he could fit into this formation but would be more at home in a 433).

A seeming hard-on for Lallana who could cover any of the 3 positions ahead of Gerrard in the diamond.

Links to Remy (with 2 CFs starting a 3rd quality striker would be essential - with a 433 a versatile decent forward like Borini would probably be sufficient).

Anyway it's all speculation and it's hard to say, but I do think that the diamond which Rodgers stumbled upon a bit, is now probably going to be our most used formation, and it may well be that we go after targets who will work best in this system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,456 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I'm not too keen on transfer speculation, but my sources tell me Lovren's move to Liverpool is likely to happen. Make of that what you will.

The above from a Croatian journalist on twitter. Apparently writes for FourFourTwo, the Guardian, The Blizzard etc, so you'd imagine he's somewhat reliable.

Haven't seen much of him, but happy that Rodgers is looking at a centre-back tbh.

https://twitter.com/AlexHoliga/status/469810965719310336

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

The above from a Croatian journalist on twitter. Apparently writes for FourFourTwo, the Guardian, The Blizzard etc, so you'd imagine he's somewhat reliable.

Haven't seen much of him, but happy that Rodgers is looking at a centre-back tbh.

He can sign all the centre backs he wants but if there's nobody in midfield to protect the back four we'll still concede too many goals.

I'll vouch for Holiga. He knows his stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Super-Rush wrote: »
    He can sign all the centre backs he wants but if there's nobody in midfield to protect the back four we'll still concede too many goals.

Nobody or Stevie G?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Nobody or Stevie G?

Is there a difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,370 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

jaysus 40m for luiz...makes you wonder how much a decent defender would actually cost!

how much is lovren being quoted at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nobody or Stevie G?
    Is there a difference?

Controversial, though correct enough. However I'm starting to think that no pure tackler/destroyer will be signed. I think Rodgers will just change the balance within the current overall set up which is why Lallana is being so sought - someone who can hold onto the ball and will track back which allied to Hendo (or even Milner!) could see a midfield diamond that is more meaty than sparkly.

(Lucas)Gerrard
    -(Milner)Hendo---Lallana(Allen)
    Sterling(Coutinho)

Oh I forgot Morgan Schneiderlin being linked this morning throw him in the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

mike65 wrote: »
    Controversial, though correct enough. However I'm starting to think that no pure tackler/destroyer will be signed. I think Rodgers will just change the balance within the current overall set up which is why Lallana is being so sought - someone who can hold onto the ball and will track back which allied to Hendo (or even Milner!) could see a midfield diamond that is more meaty than sparkly.

(Lucas)Gerrard
    -(Milner)Hendo---Lallana(Allen)
    Sterling(Coutinho)

Oh I forgot Morgan Schneiderlin being linked this morning throw him in the pot.

You dont need a pure tackler/destroyer in miidfield. All of Gerrard, Hendo, Allen etc can tackle and more. Lucas can tackle, thats about it and that is why he's being pushed out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

50 Million for Chelsea luiz, someone needs a brain transplant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

if thats the case i would think we won't get Lallana.Can't see us signing 2 Southampton players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭brevity

PSG might need to sell a few players to balance the books for FFP...anyone there we could lump a insulting 7million eurons at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Sappy404

I think he'll continue to play with one deep-lying CM, with Gerrard as first-choice. Two will play in front of him in the diamond in most games, you would imagine. If we're signing a single central midfielder it will be someone who can both deputise the Gerrard role and play ahead of him in that diamond. If we sell Lucas (he offers no threat so I think he will be gone) I can see us bringing in two CMs but I would hope that it's not both of Lallana and Schneiderlin.

Now is the time to go all-out for a versatile young central midfielder of proven quality IMO, with a view to replacing Gerrard in that role in 2 years or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

mikehunts wrote: »
    50 Million for Chelsea luiz, someone needs a brain transplant.

I'd say Chelsea can't believe their luck if that goes ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭brevity

Sappy404 wrote: »

Now is the time to go all-out for a versatile young central midfielder of proven quality IMO, with a view to replacing Gerrard in that role in 2 years or so.

Would be nice to drop the guts of €50M (a Yaya type and a Fernandino type) to sort it out for a number of years.

Witsel and Rakitic maybe?

EDIT: Of course there are probably cheaper more suitable options out there.

Wonder if Marquinhos will be available now it looks like Luiz to PSG is a formality.

MOAR INHOS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Wonder if Marquinhos will be available now it looks like Luiz to PSG is a formality.

MOAR INHOS.

Yes, to a club in North-Eastern Spain apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

MOAR INHOS.
    I think he might move to Barcelona. I think we got a much better deal getting Ilori for 7m than Marquinhos for 31m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,456 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

PSG might need to sell a few players to balance the books for FFP...anyone there we could lump a insulting 7million eurons at?

Daily Mail said a few days ago that Marco Verratti could be sold to balance the books. I'd be all over him if that was the case, would slot right into our team at the base of midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

That brazilian lad that plays cb for Psg ain't bad, not sure if he's worth 7 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,370 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

It's a hard time for me right now, Thanks for all the sweet messages. Happy I support Liverpool right now because I know I'll never walk alone.

Someone give her a hug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭mosstin

retalivity wrote: »
    Someone give her a hug

Yes. Don't ring her anyway. Touchy subject at present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Released - no surprises here

Yalany Cuino Baio
    Villyan Bijev
    Yusuf Mersin
    Michael Ngoo
    Craig Roddan
    Stephen Sama
    Jakub Sokolik - did well for Southend - Phil Brown wants to keep him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,350 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

MOAR INHOS.
    Feck that - Shola Ameobi released today, we should snap him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Yalany Cuino Baio
    Villyan Bijev
    Yusuf Mersin
    Michael Ngoo
    Craig Roddan
    Stephen Sama

Stephen Sama has been in talks with a number of German second division teams for a few weeks now. Looks if he can prove himself he will sign for his hometown club VFL Bochum. He wants back to BVB but the they are not interested at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,350 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Yalany Cuino Baio
    Villyan Bijev
    Yusuf Mersin
    Michael Ngoo
    Craig Roddan
    Stephen Sama
    No surprises at all. Out of that lot, Sokolik was a bit of a disappointment. When he first broke into the under 21 team, he was impressive. As for the rest that I have seen, never thought any had a chance at making it with us.

Jack Dunn's contract was also supposed to be expiring this year, but the fact that he made it to the friendly and isn't in this list suggests that a new contract is on the cards.

There's a few lads still with us who are too old to be playing with the kids. Adorjan wasn't wanted by Groningen, I can't see him going back to under 21 football, I assume he'll go on loan to another club with a few to moving to them permanently next Summer. Coady still has another year on his contract and while he finished decently at Sheffield United, I can't see him being good enough. Wonder will he follow the same fate as Adorjan. Robinson is another player who I assume will take the same path.

Sinclair is still very young and Yesil may never be the same against after two crippling injuries. I wonder will we be looking at bringing in another striker as we now look very short in that department.