Apprenticeships

• 22-05-2014 05:58PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭

Is 4 years really necessary to qualify as a tradesperson.

Granted its a skill, it has to be learned. Surely 2 years would be enough, 1 in the school, maybe even 2, then on to a year (or 6 months if 2 years training in school option taken) as a trainee in a company, under the watchful eye of an experienced worker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Carpenter

I think it should be 5 and not a day less

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Carpenter wrote: »
    I think it should be 5 and not a day less

Carpenters always want an unreasonable number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

Bondage gimp takes a year ..

6months on the crash course..

p.s not a lot of sitting down afterwards though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Anybody I've ever seen on an apprenticeship was doing everything except apprenticeship work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,567 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

If anyone had 'learned' their trade in only 2 years, I certainly wouldn't let them near anything I was involved with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Apprenticeships seemed to be looked down upon in certain quarters in this country unlike Germany where they are valued greatly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I think 4 years is about right.

I don't want some dude messing around with the plumbing in my gaff unless he's been trained properly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Apprenticeships seemed to be looked down upon in certain quarters in this country unlike Germany where they are valued greatly

Australia as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

4 years is just about enough but it takes another 6 before you are really proficient. Even then you never stop learning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Get a nice permanent pensionable job on €25,000 a year. Then pay a €50 call out charge for the local plumber when the jacks is blocked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

4 should be the min. for any trade, but it should be quality training not just time served lip service to some cowboy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Bad enough there's lads out there with 10 years ruins who still can't do a fcukin thing right.
    Cowboys ted. Flipping cowboys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Over the years the amount of time spent on apprentichships has been reduced,way back when,it used to be 7 years-then up to about 2-3 generations ago it Went to 5 years and now it ranges between 3.5-4.5 years.

First you learn how to do things,then you learn how to do things fast enough(at the accecptable standard) to be profitable. In between there is problem solving solutions that need to be memorised and adapted for later Life.

I Think that I once read that there are only about 30 recognized trades in Ireland whereas in Germany there are over 200.

I would recommend to any newly-qualified tradesmen to take a journeyman period for about 2 years if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Get a nice permanent pensionable job on €25,000 a year. Then pay a €50 call out charge for the local plumber when the jacks is blocked

What exactly is the call out charge for or how did it come about?

You really don't know anything about plumbing do you ?

kneemos wrote: »
    What exactly is the call out charge for or how did it come about?

I don't know how it started but its a minimum payment to cover the tradesman from timewasters. It's charged on top of any labour costs

ryan101 wrote: »
    You really don't know anything about plumbing do you ?

More than you obviously

Explain.

Years ago I knew an Apprentice Bricklayer who use to give our yard at being made learn fancy brick arches and so on which he reckoned he would never use in real life, yet he was never more proud when he build a fabulous fire place for a family member. Most apprentices are highly skilled it take years to be expert.

There are tones of Bricklaying apprentice's in London look at the Indeed website, they would be so sought after here yet in London there not very rated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Call out covers traveling to the job,plus usually a fixed amount of time say first half hour up to 2 hours, then if it turns out that its a non job as some times happens. A tradesman needs to get payed for his time as well as his knowledge and skills, also companies need to cover costs of specialist equipment and vans diesel insurance etc.

Explain.

Why should I. You're the one that questioned my knowledge of plumbers? On what grounds.

Thought as much

Very old fashioned idea.

That's not true if you advertised for an apprentice on fas or what ever you would be over whelmed by the response especially if it was something that had potential good earning and you could emigrate with it.

The only problem with the trades is that they are like the 7 years of feast followed by 7 years of famine.

Thought as much

Just proves my point thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Plumb-off! Only way to settle it lads

Ball cocks at 50 (metric or imperial, challenger's choice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

It took me over 5 years to get through my plumbing apprenticeship due to the backlog waiting for spots for phase 2, 4 and 6 with fas and colleges.

It was only towards the 5 year mark that i would call anyone competent and there is still plenty more to learn after that. Its a job where if you are not continuously learning then you are doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

Is 4 years really necessary to qualify as a tradesperson.

Granted its a skill, it has to be learned. Surely 2 years would be enough, 1 in the school, maybe even 2, then on to a year (or 6 months if 2 years training in school option taken) as a trainee in a company, under the watchful eye of an experienced worker.

I'm currently in an aircraft maintenance apprenticeship and I can assure you that after 4 years I will absolutely not have learned everything there is to know about aircraft maintenance. There's a huge amount of learning involved, from aerodynamics, physics, materials and hardware to legislation, engines and electronics. That's probably half of the course work topics. And we need to know it to the highest European standards. 75% pass mark in our exams and rightly so.
    Then factor in learning the actual physical skills of the trade.
    4 years is barely enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

I'm currently in an aircraft maintenance apprenticeship and I can assure you that after 4 years I will absolutely not have learned everything there is to know about aircraft maintenance. There's a huge amount of learning involved, from aerodynamics, physics, materials and hardware to legislation, engines and electronics. That's probably half of the course work topics. And we need to know it to the highest European standards. 75% pass mark in our exams and rightly so.

Aircraft maintenance might be a bit more involved/advanced.
    Than say pluming or bricklaying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

I think apprenticeships are being less looked down on now that they are less easy to get. I'm serving my time with a large contractor and most of the apprentices have spent time at 3rd level before starting out and a few of us actually have degrees. Schools will tell everyone to fill out the CAO and go to college no matter what, keep their own stats high but they should try help some young people to be getting apprenticeships rather than wasting their time with college courses which offer little realistic chance of decent employment.

75% (or is it 70?) pass mark in all trades.