Do you stand to make a good inheritance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Kiltennel wrote: »
    . When my parents go I stand to inherit half an estate worth several million. I don't want it, I want to be entirely responsible for my own success in the future.
    SO who do you want to get it instead? Do you want it to go to charity? The government? Your sibling?

It has to go somewhere so what do you want to happen to it? I don't want your families assets. I personally worked hard to keep my family's assets working so do feel somewhat entailed to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Nout here.

Mammy Rents, ****e Job, No Money

Daddy gave his gaff to his ex-wife., so the bros and sis will get that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I honestly don't want anything. Like already said here, I'd rather all the money goes into them enjoying the rest of their lives. You work all your life to build a house and raise a family, it shouldn't be expected that the rest of what you've earned goes towards your kids.

In the grand scheme of things, what quality of life is that if you've sacrificed all your life for someone else?

My mother always says that education is the best gift she can give me, and I agree. With that I'll be able to make my own way and I'll make my own fortune. I'll let them enjoy the rest of what they've earned and worked hard for, they deserve it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭acon2119

Don't really care about inheritance, don't get me wrong it would be great to get something, but alot of the time it is Irish parents who cause the friction between their children by not treating them all as equal, i.e giving all to a son, the youngest or just a favourite child. If the parents treated all their children equal then there wouldn't be half as much trouble in Irish families as there is. I have two children myself and the way I look at it is I brought them both into the world and have and will always treat them equal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

lertsnim wrote: »
    Shallow

They're right though. The OP doesn't ask "do you love your parents" or "would you be sad if they died". For most the answer would obviously be yes.

I don't understand what people are trying to prove with their overdrawn comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    I honestly don't want anything. Like already said here, I'd rather all the money goes into them enjoying the rest of their lives. You work all your life to build a house and raise a family, it shouldn't be expected that the rest of what you've earned goes towards your kids.

In the grand scheme of things, what quality of life is that if you've sacrificed all your life for someone else?

My mother always says that education is the best gift she can give me, and I agree. With that I'll be able to make my own way and I'll make my own fortune. I'll let them enjoy the rest of what they've earned and worked hard for, they deserve it themselves.

:D:D:D:pac::pac::pac::):):)...you are the perfect human being!

I myself am going to inherit a fortune. I have most of it already spent in my own head. Only 1% of it will involved hookers and coke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭acon2119

acon2119 wrote: »
    Don't really care about inheritance, don't get me wrong it would be great to get something, but alot of the time it is Irish parents who cause the friction between their children by not treating them all as equal, i.e giving all to a son, the youngest or just a favourite child. If the parents treated all their children equal then there wouldn't be half as much trouble in Irish families as there is. I have two children myself and the way I look at it is I brought them both into the world and have and will always treat them equal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I don't understand what people are trying to prove with their overdrawn comments.

Maybe they're just pointing out that the whole concept of 'knowing what you stand to inherit' is a bit ghoulish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

o1s1n wrote: »
    Maybe they're just pointing out that the whole concept of 'knowing what you stand to inherit' is a bit ghoulish.

This. We don't know plus we're not entitled to any of it. It's not our money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Lyaiera wrote: »
    My mother promised she'd give me something if I look after her in her old age and come to visit. I'd be happy with a cup of coffee and some snazzy cookies.

Make sure she makes a will or else most will just go to our very corrupt government in Ireland.I know what you mean though as i did not expect anything ,but i would not like those kunts in Government to get it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

i can't see my family being rocked too badly by the fallout, if there is one. There are three of us and there won't be much going. My parents invested heavily in us as we were growing up, putting us all through college and providing financial assistance whenever we needed to retrain / have a place to live or whatever. I don't think there was any question ever that money was going to be 'left' for us as they've allowed us to build careers so that was in lieu of inheritance. Both my parents are planning on selling their properties (they don't live together) and downsizing when the market is right so there won't be any family home to argue over, thank f**k.

It definitely affects a lot of families though, I remember reading 1 in 2 of rural irish families affected by a family feud but I don't know how that statistic was measured (ie. people being mildly irked V not speaking to a sibling for 20 odd years).

My ex (who in hindsight really was a parasite) and his siblings already seemed to be warming up for a feud despite the fact his parents were in good health at the time. The family in general were obsessed with money; complete penny-pinchers in every aspect of their lives but with a seriously impressive portfolio of property in the boom (so up to their neck in mortgages now no doubt, but we didn't know that then). As my ex was seemingly incapable of looking after himself the parents had assigned him the lion's share and used to love sayign to me "aren't you doing very well for yourself, this will be yours". This obviously pi$$ed the siblings off no end, who complained constantly to me about it and how unfair it was... couldn't really disagree either.

Another guy i lived with in a house my dad owned (as i said they supported us through college) asked me would I not be left the house and i said "well i'm sure he would sell it to me when i'm in a position to buy" and he was outraged by the notion of parents selling to their child. Actually now that i think of it, he went to his parents house and demanded 'his' land be marked down for him now as he was getting it anyway.

Some people are c*nts though, no change there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Born an orphan, unfortunately I came into this world with nada & will leave it with nada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Jesus that's a horrible post.

Every time I see my father, he tries to force a house deposit or the money for a car onto me. Even moreso now that I have a kid of my own. I tell him to feck off, every time.

He might have the money (I have no idea how or why, I don't care how or why) but he is f*cking riddled with cancer. I have sat by what could well have been his deathbed more times than I care to remember over the past decade.

Every day he is here is a bonus. Every day that my thirteen-year-old sister has a father in her life is a bonus - he was given his "death sentence" when she was only two years old!

Do I stand to inherit when he dies? Do you think I f*cking care one bit about that? Yuck! No!

I know what you mean and share your sentiments exactly but if your father wants you to take it you should have a think about it, nothing makes most parents happier than seeing their kids financially secure and happy and if you're happy because of something he can do it might be worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Born an orphan, unfortunately I came into this world with nada & will leave it with nada
    Maybe if the state collapses you'll get Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

It must be just people on t'interweb that don't want their inheritance.
    Personally I have never met anyone face to face that didn't want their share :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

emeldc wrote: »
    It must be just people on t'interweb that don't want their inheritance.
    Personally I have never met anyone face to face that didn't want their share :pac:

How often do you discuss the matter with people face to face? In my experience the people that go on about that stuff are generally obnoxious cnuts.

And it's not about whether people want it or not, it's about whether they feel that they have a god given right to it despite doing absolutely nothing to deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭neamhspleachi

ScumLord wrote: »
    Maybe if the state collapses you'll get Mayo.
    No thanks, you can keep it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I hate people who calculate their parents death into their financial future. It makes me sick. I find it's something that shows you what a person really is.

They're right though. The OP doesn't ask "do you love your parents" or "would you be sad if they died". For most the answer would obviously be yes.

It's a tasteless question either way. Thinking about how much you will get when another person dies isn't kosher.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I'm not going to get anything worth anything. Not one ewe, not one pox-ridden Frisian, not the dryest corner of the most stone-covered field that crows refuse to fly over. Then again the parents aren't farmers. So probably just money or something.

I'm going to be worth exactly what I worked for myself that's it. If something is left for me grand but I would much rather Something left to me doesn't define my worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'm trying to think if there's anything I'd like to have of my parents. Sure, I'd like to have the financial side of it, but if they sell up and sail around the world before they go I'd be more upset that I wouldn't see them often than I would about not inheriting anything. But I was thinking about personal items and there's nothing that comes to mind.

The only thing I can think of is my father has a notebook from my grandfathers time in the revolution with a lot of fairly significant things mentioned in it, signatures, personal notes from important revolutionaries and that. I think I'd want my sister to have that seeing as she studied it in university.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I was left €2000, the brother got the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

How often do you discuss the matter with people face to face? In my experience the people that go on about that stuff are generally obnoxious cnuts.

And it's not about whether people want it or not, it's about whether they feel that they have a god given right to it despite doing absolutely nothing to deserve it.

Actually I had a lengthy discussion with an 'obnoxious cnut' (or good friend to me) the other day. He has cared for his mother (86) for the last ten years. He was led to believe that the family home was to be left to him. He has no house of his own and no children. Neither of his two siblings had any objections. He has now discovered the the house is in fact being left to his sister who in turn is expected to leave it to her son to 'keep it in the family'. My friend will get nothing or maybe a few bob. He has chosen to walk away and doesn't intend to get legal. He's a descent bloke. His sister on the other hand already owns three other houses, her son is in his 30's and has no interest in the house. The aul' wan is not for turning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Red Pepper wrote: »
    :D:D:D:pac::pac::pac::):):)...you are the perfect human being!

Damn right! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I hate people who calculate their parents death into their financial future. It makes me sick. I find it's something that shows you what a person really is.

Does it not make sense to factor it in though? You make it sound like by doing so I should also be rubbing my hands with glee at the thought of my parents demise which isn't case. Totally illogical post.

My parents aren't loaded so I won't be getting much id imagine and everything will be split half and half between me and my sister. They 2 houses but no savings as far as I'm aware.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

kylith wrote: »
    I can't imagine falling out with my siblings, but there are a couple of SiLs I can see stirring it.

Aye, it's even already started in my family and both parents are still alive thankfully. I don't want to think what will happen once greed comes into it.

Don't ever let your partner/wife/husband get in the way of such a sensitive matter between siblings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Jessica-Rabbit

I got the oul lad to sign everything over to me before he started his new hobby of chasing tail on the internet.

Ain't no floozy gonna gazump me. ;)
    I fell off the chair laughing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Jessica-Rabbit

kowloon wrote: »
    My folks have always made it clear that it's all going to the cat.
    Lucky bastard :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

(1) 1/4 of a detached home in a midlands town.

Aw, tough break, tuts. :(

:P

Me, not a thing am I expecting. Family drama and all, plus I don't care, I shall make my own way in this world.

If my parents told me tomorrow that they were selling their hard-worked-for and very recently mortgage-free home to downside and go travelling around the world, I'd be delighted for them! :)