Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you stand to make a good inheritance ?

• 21-05-2014 1:05pm
    Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Nothing tears Irish siblings apart quicker than rows over the family inheritance.
    Deathbed wills, writing people out, years in the courts, it's almost an Irish tradition.

Were the good lord to come & take both sets of parents now myself & wife would stand to inherit:
    (1) 1/4 of a detached home in a midlands town.
    (2) 1/4 of a one bed apartment in Lanzarotte.
    (3) 1/2 of a large mobile home site in Wexford, with 2 mobiles.

Yes of course, you've lost your parents, our thoughts at this time are with . . . . em ourselves for this example but put that grim reality to one side.

What, dear forum, do you stand to inherit ?

Far too many "I love mammy too much" responses.
    Please open your own "I love my mammy & never want to lose her" thread.
    Tell me about the mullah, nothing else

I haven't a fcuking clue and I'd rather keep my family if I could :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

You really love your parents' money, don't you? Talking about grubbing. And crowing about it on a public forum? Nasty.

Personally I'd rather my parents use their money for whatever they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

No no, curse myself, Maggie - for cursing my mother to Hell to get the Field. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭AdolfHipster

A handful of lint and peanut butter smeared on a playing card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I stand to inherit nothing. My family is split into rival gangs by two wills and I asked to be written out of the only will I would have been in. I'll make my own money and have some chance of speaking to my relatives in the future thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

I would rather be homeless than fight with anyone over land or bricks. Rather sad scrapping for scraps. No good can ever come out of tearing each other apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Have a friend who'll inherit a property portfolio worth approx €60m (or 25% of it, at least) as well as cash, jewlery & a very successful business.

No idea what's coming to me & no interest in collecting anytime soon.

My own kids will be quite comfortable with insurance etc. Especially if there's joint catastrophe but likewise no rush for them to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I don't know and, to be honest, I don't care. I'd rather both my parents lived to be 100 and sold all their worldly possessions, blowing the proceeds on travelling the globe (or whatever makes them happy) before they died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I have no idea and couldnt give a flying fúck tbh. Having lost one parent already, i'd rather keep my Mam than have to burry her and think about what i've been "left". It's not going to bring her back when she goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Only a quarter of the house we live in at the moment :( Split between 3 others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

Probably 1/4 of the family house and my aunts house. Other then that I hope they spend every penny on themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I hate the Irish issue with death. Everyone is a **** when they are living, but a saint when they are death.

I dont understand when people are alive, that the will can be disgusted in a rational manner. People are certainly going to die, be rational and hammer out a will that seems fair to everyone before the person dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The idea of wills and inheritances kind of makes me sick, I told my parents to sell their house and **** off to Spain when they get old.

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Only a quarter of the house we live in at the moment :( Split between 3 others.
    Only?

Tilly wrote: »
    Only?

I think my whole family should give up their lives and hobbies and just work and buy me houses for myself
    What else are they there for?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

That's up to my parents and I don't care if they leave me nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

I'll be set for life once I get my inheritance *rubs hands* :D

A distant relative left me a diamond mine in Africa. Just have to send off some bank details first to claim it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

hfallada wrote: »
    I hate the Irish issue with death. Everyone is a **** when they are living, but a saint when they are death.

I dont understand when people are alive, that the will can be disgusted in a rational manner. People are certainly going to die, be rational and hammer out a will that seems fair to everyone before the person dies.

There's nothing more disgusting on this Earth than a load of po-faced vultures skulking around an elderly relative "taking care of terribly important serious business". :mad:

bluewolf wrote: »
    I think my whole family should give up their lives and hobbies and just work and buy me houses for myself
    What else are they there for?!
    Totally! Sure why would you bother buying your own house when you just have to wait for the rents to kick the bucket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I've seen too many nasty rows over wills and inheritance (before people are even dead). I don't care about never inheriting anything. Often it brings more pain than gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Dunno. The thought of my parents not being there any more frightens the sh1t out of me so much that money doesn't come into the equation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I got the oul lad to sign everything over to me before he started his new hobby of chasing tail on the internet.

Ain't no floozy gonna gazump me. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Were the good lord to come & take both sets of parents now myself & wife would stand to inherit:
    (1) 1/4 of a detached home in a midlands town.
    (2) 1/4 of a one bed apartment in Lanzarotte.
    (3) 1/2 of a large mobile home site in Wexford, with 2 mobiles.
    ?

Steady, tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I have told my parents to flog everything, buy a motorhome and bugger off around France for their twilight years. Even if they leave us the house the family is so big that we'd all only come away with tuppence ha'penny and an auld knife each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I'm an only child and my parents are divorced, so I'll get everything and it will be a lot. I don't want it though, it's my folks hard earned money and I hope they get to enjoy every single cent of it. I encourage them to get the most out of it. Hopefully they have many many years left to spend it all.

I'd like some of the personal momentous, my dad's old army medals and awards would be all I would love from him. His silver dagger most of all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ye'll get whatevers left over after the solicitors and the state take their cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Kiltennel

phasers wrote: »
    The idea of wills and inheritances kind of makes me sick, I told my parents to sell their house and **** off to Spain when they get old.

It makes me sick some people feel they're entitled to their parents' estate and their parents must pass it on. When my parents go I stand to inherit half an estate worth several million. I don't want it, I want to be entirely responsible for my own success in the future. On the other hand, I have several friends who are of the belief that their parents must preserve their estate so they can pass it on to them in the inheritance. Sickeningly selfish view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

I got mine already .A house in central Dublin during the boom .Hence i now live in Thailand full time ,and have no intention of returning to Ireland .(except for Holidays ).I am now married to a Thai and have a business over here .Happy days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

My mother promised she'd give me something if I look after her in her old age and come to visit. I'd be happy with a cup of coffee and some snazzy cookies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

My dads family are not speaking to each other because 1 son was meant to inherit the parents house because he rented it from his mother (for his employees) after his father died and bought her a downsized house with the intention of him inheriting 1st house. His mother is still alive (95 years old now) but changed her mind about the inheritance, probably due to other siblings getting involved. I'm not 100% sure of the details and who is siding with who but I know my father and my uncle (also my godfather) dont speak anymore. We used to have good family get togethers but they are all in the past now. Pity really.

And I know that in the future, my sister who has no intention of ever purchasing her own house, will try to get my parents house for herself as myself and my brother both have our own houses bought. It really does destroy families. I will probably receive 1/3 of my parents assets which is fair but I just know there will be calls from my sister to let her stay there and she is never one to want to pay her own way.

My mothers family also have an issue. She has 1 brother who never left his mothers home (drink problems and laziness) but the house has been bequeathed to him as all other siblings have their own house. After he dies, his 1 bastard child (sorry, game of thrones has me loving that word) born out of a 1 night stand that isnt really involved in the family inherits it after he inevitably drinks himself to death. Some of my cousins are already kicking up about this despite the fact that there are about 30 of us and the house is only worth about 250k. Not worth fighting over.

In all cases I'm staying well away from all the dramas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Wasnt there some idiot on here a few months back who was going to ask his parents for his cut of the inheritance money,all while they were fit and healthy.

There was someone else on here taking it for granted that they would be left the house as they were the last person living at home with their elderly parents.This person had a few brothers and sisters and couldnt see that there could be conflict.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Don't care and don't want anything, I've been through what happens when families bitterly fight over things in wills resulting in years of non-existent relatives.

I'm doing fine without any of the stuff the parents have and would detest having their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

My family only recently made a will and they told me about the assets being split up. I wasn't expecting anything. My father and his brother don't speak much because of arguing over land (isn't it the Irish way? :/) My wife's family have had their affairs in order a while ago but only recently started thinking and allocating things, I told them I didn't want any part it in.

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

bmwguy wrote: »
    My dads family are not speaking to each other because 1 son was meant to inherit the parents house because he rented it from his mother (for his employees) after his father died and bought her a downsized house with the intention of him inheriting 1st house. His mother is still alive (95 years old now) but changed her mind about the inheritance, probably due to other siblings getting involved. I'm not 100% sure of the details and who is siding with who but I know my father and my uncle (also my godfather) dont speak anymore. We used to have good family get togethers but they are all in the past now. Pity really.

And I know that in the future, my sister who has no intention of ever purchasing her own house, will try to get my parents house for herself as myself and my brother both have our own houses bought. It really does destroy families. I will probably receive 1/3 of my parents assets which is fair but I just know there will be calls from my sister to let her stay there and she is never one to want to pay her own way.

My mothers family also have an issue. She has 1 brother who never left his mothers home (drink problems and laziness) but the house has been bequeathed to him as all other siblings have their own house. After he dies, his 1 bastard child (sorry, game of thrones has me loving that word) born out of a 1 night stand that isnt really involved in the family inherits it after he inevitably drinks himself to death. Some of my cousins are already kicking up about this despite the fact that there are about 30 of us and the house is only worth about 250k. Not worth fighting over.

In all cases I'm staying well away from all the dramas.

These type of deadbeats really piss me off too.
    I'd have no problem letting them have the family home if they agree to nurse the parents through their final years but to just expect it is galling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Jesus that's a horrible post.

Every time I see my father, he tries to force a house deposit or the money for a car onto me. Even moreso now that I have a kid of my own. I tell him to feck off, every time.

He might have the money (I have no idea how or why, I don't care how or why) but he is f*cking riddled with cancer. I have sat by what could well have been his deathbed more times than I care to remember over the past decade.

Every day he is here is a bonus. Every day that my thirteen-year-old sister has a father in her life is a bonus - he was given his "death sentence" when she was only two years old!

Do I stand to inherit when he dies? Do you think I f*cking care one bit about that? Yuck! No!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Nothing from my parents unless they have some secret money stash we don't know about.

Grand parents were separated and when my grandad died his will left his half of the house to me and my brother and sister with the agreement that it would not be sold until my granny died. When my granny died she left her half to her 4 kids (my mam, aunt, and 2 uncles) but now some of them don't want to sell the house, and the one of them without his own house is quite content to live there rent free. I don't really care about the money (it will be blown on the kids) but I am determined that my Grandad's wishes don't get overlooked, and look forward to it coming to a messy conflict.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I would much, much rather my parents spend every cent they have enjoying the shit out of their twilight years. I don't want them to leave ANYTHING to their kids, because if they HAVE to die then I'd rather it was with a smile on their face than a few quid in my direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

My parents are divorced and my father has since re-married so I've no idea what the story is beyond my mother telling us years ago that the will leaves her estate equally to myself and my siblings in a 3 way split. She's got perfect health and is semi-retired so while she'd have a reasonable amount of assets, I can't see there being any life-changing amount of money left - I'd rather see her enjoy what she has indulging her interest in travel until she's no longer able for it! With my father having re-married, I've no idea what the story is tbh. There's two houses there though both would still have mortgages on them and one would be her family's ancestral home so I can't see that being willed to us.

At the end of the day, my parents are both still in their late 50's so by the time any of this is relevant I'll hopefully be around that age myself and not in any great need of it.

It's incredible how even a modest inheritance early in life can effect someones financial prospects though. A friend of mine has had a number of inheritances, including the house he lives in. Life really is a lot easier without rent/a mortgage to pay! When you think about it, even a modest house is likely to cost well over half a million over the lifetime of a mortgage! Add the fact that income tax has to be paid on every penny before you put it against the mortgage and the inheritance of a modest terraced house can easily be worth 2/3 times it's nominal value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

My folks have always made it clear that it's all going to the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Im old enough and ugly enough to look after myself. Have lived away from home for 20 years so dont expect any money from my parents when they die. Id rather they lived until they were 100 and spent any money they had on themselves having the time of their lifes. They scrimped and saved long enough when me and my brothers were kids. Now that they are retired it's their turn to enjoy their money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I would much, much rather my parents spend every cent they have enjoying the shit out of their twilight years. I don't want them to leave ANYTHING to their kids, because if they HAVE to die then I'd rather it was with a smile on their face than a few quid in my direction.

Fair play to you. That's a great attitude to have. I feel the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

There are simple practicalities in life that one should discuss. Any adult should be capable of discussing inheritance in a calm and rational way.

Most disputes are a result of ignoring reality and then feeling hard done by. My mother in law is very adamant that everything is split equally as her brother got everything because her mother felt he had the least. I can see the logic but it was the fact she hadn't told them that upset them the most. He of course wasted the inheritance by selling up and moving abroad only to return 5 years later with no money.

I have spent a lot of time maintaining my inheritance and dealing with the issues. I will still only get an equal share as the other 2 who live in other countries. A little unfair but it isn't my property to dispose of.

I will at least get two properties and probably enough cash to pay the tax man inheritance tax. If inheritance tax goes up any more everything will be liquidated and I we will leave the country.

My mother has more than enough to have a luxury lifestyle but it isn't her style. She worked as a waitress for a long time as she liked the work but she was worth more than the owner who had no idea. Quite funny when the boss went to rent out one of her properties and I turned up to show her around. She recognised me and thought I owned the place and was amazed I wasn't taking care of my mother financially.
    Her face was hysterical when I pointed I was by managing my mother's properties, that one and 5 others. I decided not to rent to her because it would be an awkward situation.

He might have the money (I have no idea how or why, I don't care how or why) but he is f*cking riddled with cancer. I have sat by what could well have been his deathbed more times than I care to remember over the past decade.

I think the correct response is 'fcuk cancer'. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Kiltennel wrote: »
    When my parents go I stand to inherit half an estate worth several million. I don't want it.

Can I have it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

As yes, I'm the "heir to the overdraft".......... can't fu&king wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

kowloon wrote: »
    My folks have always made it clear that it's all going to the cat.

Knowing the cat he still wouldn't be happy with such a cramped estate

This thread reminds me of a bigger question. When did the realisation that your parents are mortal kick in? It seems I never thought about it until the last few years and now it makes me sick to my stomach. I have friends who have lost parents and it's only getting more common.
    _Redzer_ wrote: »
    Knowing the cat he still wouldn't be happy with such a cramped estate
    Cats already think they own everything :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

At the moment I would get a house where nobody would want to live so once the tax cripples me I will have to sell it to cover some of the costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

davo2001 wrote: »
    As yes, I'm the "heir to the overdraft".......... can't fu&king wait!

"To my son, I leave a couple of acres in the arse end of Leitrim and the middlegame of a slightly botched King's Gambit against Paddy in our game of correspondence chess. Sell up, see the world, and don't let the bastard establish a hold on the a1-h8 diagonal with his bishop."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭logically

Have never thought about this at all, but can't ever imagine falling out with family over material goods.