People that change their accent

• 20-05-2014 10:25PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭

God i hate that, especially people putting on a fake American type accent saying stuff like "hey guys". Go stick your head in the jacks and never come back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Roise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

OMG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭dee_mc

A girl I went to college with developed a strong Donegal accent overnight, having moved into a house with 3 Donegal girls the day before registration. Terrifying stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Aye, it's whild hai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Im always totes morto loike when someone does that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Im always totes morto loike when someone does that!!

Omg. I'm Loike totes the same. It's Loike omg get a life you frickin jerk #whogivesafcukloikeomg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Oim Moikeel Mockmullen. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I've noticed that women from the Whest of Ireland who move to Dublin have a tendency to lose the native brogue once they've spent a few months up in the Big Smoke. A far more common occurrence if the daughter of the soil in question is working in: morketing, proporty or finance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭O.A.P

All right all ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

There's a fascinating website that an irish linguist has... I'll see if I can find it and post the link.

Basically he spent years recording how people in Ireland speak by getting them to read a standardised sentence into a recorder.

He then comments on the accents according to various technical criteria (which I don't understand) but he discussed the old school D4 accent [Oim gewing to pork the core near the dort station] which believe it or not has all but dissapeared and been replaced by the nu-school american valley girl accent... with the stupid questioning intonation (like when every sentence sounds like a question? even when it's not?) and the fronting of the o sounds (the cainty caincil are on the saith baind raindabish)

Needless to say, his opinions on the subject, while restrained and ostensibly neutral, do imply to me that he regards the purveyors of this accent as complete fuktards. Which they are.

Edit: his name is raymond hickey and here's his site

https://www.uni-due.de/~lan300/HICKEY.htm

you could spend hours on that if you were interested in it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I was standing in a line at a gig, two girls in front sounded like they were from America, so to be friendly and all' I asked what part they were from...they both looked at me and said they were from Galway...I couldn't help but laugh into their faces:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

You change it to fit into the people around you. I did a 4 week exchange in Germany and I came home sounding like Arnold Schwarznegger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Hearing the word ''awesome'' more and more in Dublin....Gob****es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Sky King wrote: »
    There's a fascinating website that an irish linguist has... I'll see if I can find it and post the link.

Basically he spent years recording how people in Ireland speak by getting them to read a standardised sentence into a recorder.

He then comments on the accents according to various technical criteria (which I don't understand) but he discussed the old school D4 accent [Oim gewing to pork the core near the dort station] which believe it or not has all but dissapeared and been replaced by the nu-school american valley girl accent... with the stupid questioning intonation (like when every sentence sounds like a question? even when it's not?) and the fronting of the o sounds (the cainty caincil are on the saith baind raindabish)

Needless to say, his opinions on the subject, while restrained and ostensibly neutral, do imply to me that he regards the purveyors of this accent as complete fuktards. Which they are.

Edit: his name is raymond hickey and here's his site

https://www.uni-due.de/~lan300/HICKEY.htm

you could spend hours on that if you were interested in it

I work with a couple of lads from South Dublin. In their late 50's/early 60's. From places like Clonskeagh,Dundrum and Milltown. They have an accent that is becoming increasingly rare. It's the middle-class South Dublin accent. It's rather pleasant on the ear to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

hfallada wrote: »
    You change it to fit into the people around you. I did a 4 week exchange in Germany and I came home sounding like Arnold Schwarznegger

Austrian?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

major bill wrote: »
    Hearing the word ''awesome'' more and more in Dublin....Gob****es

Nothing wrong with Awesome! Its a perfectly acceptable pronoun to use if something is indeed awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Its a perfectly acceptable pronoun to use if something is indeed awesome!

Only if something inspires awe. Any other use is castration of the term. A sandwich or a pair of trainers has never inspired me with awe.
    I work with a couple of lads from South Dublin. In their late 50's/early 60's. From places like Clonskeagh,Dundrum and Milltown. They have an accent that is becoming increasingly rare. It's the middle-class South Dublin accent. It's rather pleasant on the ear to be honest.

Yes, there are some lovely dublin accents. I quite like the 'conservative dublin' (not my expression) accent which older middle class dublin people tend to have. Unmistakably dublin but very soft and easy to listen to. I also like the Old Mister Brennan accent which i think is the older working class accent of dublin. That seems to be dying out as well.

These days it's all either howeyas or fukin val-speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Conor McGregor springs to mind, but he seems a bit of a gob****e, so it doesn't really surprise me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

Strolling around TCD and UCD is a laugh a minute, even culchies have adopted the faux American accent to fit in. Dimwits.

antodeco wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with Awesome! Its a perfectly acceptable pronoun to use if something is indeed awesome!

If something is considered ''Awesome'' then the right word to use that fits in with our lingo is ''Epic''

alleystar wrote: »
    Strolling around TCD and UCD is a laugh a minute, even culchies have adopted the faux American accent to fit in. Dimwits.

Should be all sent to the Gas chambers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

It's mostly not a conscious choice to change accent - it's just what people do when they are surrounded by a different accent for a long time, especially if they have a musical ear. It's just a simple code-switching exercise to fit in to a new environment and make yourself understood. I guarantee you they'll switch back as soon as they're home for Christmas and on the lash with their old gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Littlefinger? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Hotale.com wrote: »
    Littlefinger? :p

Good point! Mr Gillen is doing a really good impersonation of an Irish actor doing an impression of an American actor playing an IRA character in an 80's film. I notice that 'Arya' has become 'Aiya' too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Its not really very rare the majority of Dubliners have that accent, I live in south dublin and very few people actually talk in the d4 type of accent. Just a few teenage girls who put it on, its not even their natural accent. Most south dublin people just have a sort of neutral sounding accent, youd know theyre from dublin but they dont have skanger accent or d4 accent. Its inbetween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Muise... wrote: »
    Good point! Mr Gillen is doing a really good impersonation of an Irish actor doing an impression of an American actor playing an IRA character in an 80's film. I notice that 'Arya' has become 'Aiya' too.

It's ar-eee-ah sometimes, ar-yah other times and aiya other times, bit annoying :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Warper wrote: »
    God i hate that, especially people putting on a fake American type accent saying stuff like "hey guys". Go stick your head in the jacks and never come back up

That's so ratchet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

My mother in law is always at that. We were having lunch a few weeks ago in loftus hall in Wexford and got chatting to a Dub who asked where we were from. She replied in her best Hyacinth bucket accent 'Terenure'. I butted in 'but you are from Finglas, you married a man from terenure'. She had a face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

Some accent changes are involuntary..I once worked with a guy in Ennis who had a very strong dublin accent, my folks couldn't understand why I came back from Clare that summer sounding like I had walked off the set of Fair City...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Its not really very rare the majority of Dubliners have that accent, I live in south dublin and very few people actually talk in the d4 type of accent. Just a few teenage girls who put it on, its not even their natural accent. Most south dublin people just have a sort of neutral sounding accent, youd know theyre from dublin but they dont have skanger accent or d4 accent. Its inbetween.
    Same in north Dublin