Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People that change their accent

• 20-05-2014 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭

God i hate that, especially people putting on a fake American type accent saying stuff like "hey guys". Go stick your head in the jacks and never come back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Roise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

OMG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

A girl I went to college with developed a strong Donegal accent overnight, having moved into a house with 3 Donegal girls the day before registration. Terrifying stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Aye, it's whild hai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Im always totes morto loike when someone does that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Im always totes morto loike when someone does that!!

Omg. I'm Loike totes the same. It's Loike omg get a life you frickin jerk #whogivesafcukloikeomg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Oim Moikeel Mockmullen. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I've noticed that women from the Whest of Ireland who move to Dublin have a tendency to lose the native brogue once they've spent a few months up in the Big Smoke. A far more common occurrence if the daughter of the soil in question is working in: morketing, proporty or finance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

All right all ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

There's a fascinating website that an irish linguist has... I'll see if I can find it and post the link.

Basically he spent years recording how people in Ireland speak by getting them to read a standardised sentence into a recorder.

He then comments on the accents according to various technical criteria (which I don't understand) but he discussed the old school D4 accent [Oim gewing to pork the core near the dort station] which believe it or not has all but dissapeared and been replaced by the nu-school american valley girl accent... with the stupid questioning intonation (like when every sentence sounds like a question? even when it's not?) and the fronting of the o sounds (the cainty caincil are on the saith baind raindabish)

Needless to say, his opinions on the subject, while restrained and ostensibly neutral, do imply to me that he regards the purveyors of this accent as complete fuktards. Which they are.

Edit: his name is raymond hickey and here's his site

https://www.uni-due.de/~lan300/HICKEY.htm

you could spend hours on that if you were interested in it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I was standing in a line at a gig, two girls in front sounded like they were from America, so to be friendly and all' I asked what part they were from...they both looked at me and said they were from Galway...I couldn't help but laugh into their faces:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

You change it to fit into the people around you. I did a 4 week exchange in Germany and I came home sounding like Arnold Schwarznegger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Hearing the word ''awesome'' more and more in Dublin....Gob****es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Sky King wrote: »
    There's a fascinating website that an irish linguist has... I'll see if I can find it and post the link.

Basically he spent years recording how people in Ireland speak by getting them to read a standardised sentence into a recorder.

He then comments on the accents according to various technical criteria (which I don't understand) but he discussed the old school D4 accent [Oim gewing to pork the core near the dort station] which believe it or not has all but dissapeared and been replaced by the nu-school american valley girl accent... with the stupid questioning intonation (like when every sentence sounds like a question? even when it's not?) and the fronting of the o sounds (the cainty caincil are on the saith baind raindabish)

Needless to say, his opinions on the subject, while restrained and ostensibly neutral, do imply to me that he regards the purveyors of this accent as complete fuktards. Which they are.

Edit: his name is raymond hickey and here's his site

https://www.uni-due.de/~lan300/HICKEY.htm

you could spend hours on that if you were interested in it

I work with a couple of lads from South Dublin. In their late 50's/early 60's. From places like Clonskeagh,Dundrum and Milltown. They have an accent that is becoming increasingly rare. It's the middle-class South Dublin accent. It's rather pleasant on the ear to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

hfallada wrote: »
    You change it to fit into the people around you. I did a 4 week exchange in Germany and I came home sounding like Arnold Schwarznegger

Austrian?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

major bill wrote: »
    Hearing the word ''awesome'' more and more in Dublin....Gob****es

Nothing wrong with Awesome! Its a perfectly acceptable pronoun to use if something is indeed awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Its a perfectly acceptable pronoun to use if something is indeed awesome!

Only if something inspires awe. Any other use is castration of the term. A sandwich or a pair of trainers has never inspired me with awe.
    I work with a couple of lads from South Dublin. In their late 50's/early 60's. From places like Clonskeagh,Dundrum and Milltown. They have an accent that is becoming increasingly rare. It's the middle-class South Dublin accent. It's rather pleasant on the ear to be honest.

Yes, there are some lovely dublin accents. I quite like the 'conservative dublin' (not my expression) accent which older middle class dublin people tend to have. Unmistakably dublin but very soft and easy to listen to. I also like the Old Mister Brennan accent which i think is the older working class accent of dublin. That seems to be dying out as well.

These days it's all either howeyas or fukin val-speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Conor McGregor springs to mind, but he seems a bit of a gob****e, so it doesn't really surprise me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

Strolling around TCD and UCD is a laugh a minute, even culchies have adopted the faux American accent to fit in. Dimwits.

antodeco wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with Awesome! Its a perfectly acceptable pronoun to use if something is indeed awesome!

If something is considered ''Awesome'' then the right word to use that fits in with our lingo is ''Epic''

alleystar wrote: »
    Strolling around TCD and UCD is a laugh a minute, even culchies have adopted the faux American accent to fit in. Dimwits.

Should be all sent to the Gas chambers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

It's mostly not a conscious choice to change accent - it's just what people do when they are surrounded by a different accent for a long time, especially if they have a musical ear. It's just a simple code-switching exercise to fit in to a new environment and make yourself understood. I guarantee you they'll switch back as soon as they're home for Christmas and on the lash with their old gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Littlefinger? :p

Hotale.com wrote: »
    Littlefinger? :p

Good point! Mr Gillen is doing a really good impersonation of an Irish actor doing an impression of an American actor playing an IRA character in an 80's film. I notice that 'Arya' has become 'Aiya' too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Its not really very rare the majority of Dubliners have that accent, I live in south dublin and very few people actually talk in the d4 type of accent. Just a few teenage girls who put it on, its not even their natural accent. Most south dublin people just have a sort of neutral sounding accent, youd know theyre from dublin but they dont have skanger accent or d4 accent. Its inbetween.

Muise... wrote: »
    Good point! Mr Gillen is doing a really good impersonation of an Irish actor doing an impression of an American actor playing an IRA character in an 80's film. I notice that 'Arya' has become 'Aiya' too.

It's ar-eee-ah sometimes, ar-yah other times and aiya other times, bit annoying :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Warper wrote: »
    God i hate that, especially people putting on a fake American type accent saying stuff like "hey guys". Go stick your head in the jacks and never come back up

That's so ratchet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

My mother in law is always at that. We were having lunch a few weeks ago in loftus hall in Wexford and got chatting to a Dub who asked where we were from. She replied in her best Hyacinth bucket accent 'Terenure'. I butted in 'but you are from Finglas, you married a man from terenure'. She had a face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

Some accent changes are involuntary..I once worked with a guy in Ennis who had a very strong dublin accent, my folks couldn't understand why I came back from Clare that summer sounding like I had walked off the set of Fair City...

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Its not really very rare the majority of Dubliners have that accent, I live in south dublin and very few people actually talk in the d4 type of accent. Just a few teenage girls who put it on, its not even their natural accent. Most south dublin people just have a sort of neutral sounding accent, youd know theyre from dublin but they dont have skanger accent or d4 accent. Its inbetween.
    Same in north Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

hfallada wrote: »

I'm in dublin 13 years and i still sound like i fell out of tyrone this morning!!

It is a nice accent...i've spent 3 months working with a man from clonskeagh who's in his mid 50's....lovely soft accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

I don't mean to disrespect anyone with this but it is something i have always wondered.

Why do gay men sometimes talk in high pitched voices or like women? I know plenty of men who talked normally but when they came out their voices became a lot different in that it became more feminine.

I don't mean to disrespect anyone with this it is something i have always wondered.

Why do gay men sometimes talk in high pitched voices or like women? I know plenty of men who talked normally but when they came out their voices became a lot different in that they are more feminine.

This could get fun.

I don't mean to disrespect anyone with this it is something i have always wondered.

Why do gay men sometimes talk in high pitched voices or like women? I know plenty of men who talked normally but when they came out their voices became a lot different in that it became more feminine.

Because they are Faaaaabulous!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

My aunt flips between an Irish accent and an English accent depending on who she is talking too and what about, talking to the family about old times, you would swear she never left, talking to her English friends about the little darlings you would swear she never set foot in Ireland. Talking about buying their new house and the Beamer to anyone and its the English accent again. She's an insufferable gowl regardless of the accent she's sporting.

My father however is hilarious, no matter where you are from be it Wales, Brazil or Vietnam, if you are foreign you get his terrible faux American accent and he shouts at you, it is one of the greatest things you will ever see.

I don't mean to disrespect anyone with this but it is something i have always wondered.

Not all gay men speak like that. Those who do probably had been putting on a fake voice until they came out, when they would start openly socialising with other gay people, thus naturally picking up the slang and accent that develop when any group get together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

I don't understand people who change their accents. I can't imagine making the effort to do such a thing. I'm American, have lived in Dublin for many years, but still talk the way I always have, pretty much.

What does drive me nuts, even though people don't mean any harm, is when people, after finding out that I've lived in Ireland for a long time, say 'Well, you haven't lost your accent!' Why would I, where would it go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

An old school working class Dublin accent is actually quite nice and not like the more modern one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

When I'm shitfaced, I start talking in Louth accent (or so I've been told).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I dunno...

That guy from Police Academy was pretty cool.

When I'm shitfaced, I start talking in Louth accent.

There's a Louth accent?

When I'm shitfaced, I start talking in Louth accent.

Or was that a pun? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Hotale.com wrote: »
    There's a Louth accent?

Staaah Baaaah.

Dubliners that say Buke rather than book are a dying breed :( Legends!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Are you sure you're not thinking of men with a Cork accent?

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    ever listen through a pillow to a pig in a slaughterhouse? Thats the cark accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I like the old-skool Dublin way of saying the zoo: "the eh-zoo" :)
    I've noticed that women from the Whest of Ireland who move to Dublin have a tendency to lose the native brogue once they've spent a few months up in the Big Smoke. A far more common occurrence if the daughter of the soil in question is working in: morketing, proporty or finance.
    Any corner of Ireland, not just the west. I've experience of this from women from Tipperary, Waterford, Cork and very far West Cork (all working in those sectors). I've found out this information after asking all of them (innocently) "What part of Dublin are you from?"

I knew a girl years ago who had quite a strong Cork accent, and she moved to Dublin (Crumlin) to live with her boyfriend. I bumped into her about six months after she moved to Dublin and it was all "Hiwya?! Yer lookin' well so y'are!" Real stage Dublin Fair City/Roddy Doyle stuff. I seriously doubt it was natural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

but, half of my material is talking in ridiculous accents..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

furiousox wrote: »

Yeah....like I know a fella and hes straight(as in hes married with two kids) and he has the highest voice Ive ever heard! I always thought he was a closet case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

IF you live in a certain place, you may change your accent after a few years, without meaning to do it.
    we irish have our slang ,i think its annoying to use america slang like lol ,
    awesome etc

Many actors go to london, and adopt a neutral middle class accent .
    IE they lose their regional accent so they can get a wide range of roles.
    I think when you are over 30 , its very hard to change your accent.