Irish Royalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The idea of 'royal blood' itself is bull5hit.

The population of Ireland around the time of Niall of the Nine Hostages is estimated at c.340000. Each person requires two parents to produce them. And four grandparents, eight grandparents, and so on. Taking a strictly arithmetical approach, only 18 generations gives 524288 direct ancestors (2x2x2x2.......). Even 18 generations doesn't stretch back to the time of Niall. We're all, in some way, related to everybody who lived at that time and who produced children.

Relax AfterHours. You're all kings and queens.

orangesoda wrote: »
    Everyone with the O'Brien surname are direct descendants of his though as the surname was based on him

Many without the O'Brien surname are also his descendants. Daughters don't carry the family name on a patrinomic system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Some call him the true and rightful king of Ireland. Others call him Seamus O'Stig...

I'll get my hat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They're not all Kings and Queens, O'Connors, O'Neills ,O'Briens and Mcdonnells are royalty. Don't get ideas above your station, this isn't an equal society.

They're not all Kings and Queens O'Connors O'Neills O'Briens and Mcdonnells are royalty. Don't get ideas above your station, this isn't an equal society.

I'll have you know my real name is Zod O'Connor-O'Neill-O'Brien-McDonnell!

KNEEL BEFORE FECKIN' ZOD!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

endacl wrote: »
    Many without the O'Brien surname are also his descendants. Daughters don't carry the family name on a patrinomic system.

yes i was about to edit the post saying that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

They're not all Kings and Queens, O'Connors, O'Neills ,O'Briens and Mcdonnells are royalty. Don't get ideas above your station, this isn't an equal society.

Deftlefthand is right to an extent, even in the days of the clans everyone was related to everyone in other clans but there was still fierce rivalries between some of them, my point is that their closest family members took priority compared to 20th cousins or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I can trace my lineage back to an old castle out the road, to be fair my great, great, great, great, ... great whatever was only steward but the Earls fecked off so it's close enough.

Nowadays the name is more commonly associated with some ne'er do wells so I shan't be disclosing it :p

I can trace my lineage back to an old castle out the road, to be fair my great, great, great, great, ... great whatever was only steward but the Earls fecked off so it's close enough.

Nowadays the name is more commonly associated with some ne'er do wells so I shan't be disclosing it :p

You're one of 'those' Bolaeisks then...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

You're one of 'those' Bolaeisks then...?

Yeah, the Dundon-Bolaeisks to give the laird his full title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Daughters are hosts to her new family, she imparts some of her own genes of course but she is extensibility the vehicle to carry the male genes.

IE. The egg will produce WHAT the sperm says.

Blood succession is only through the male. On the longer finger of time though, that may not remain dominant over time from genetic inputs from stronger genes, one's line might still go extinct even if one only has sons.

So whilst we may share a name from 960CE or so, the actual genetic line is more likely to be a different name.

But genetics does not history make.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭4Dlolz

Mike747 wrote: »
    Plebs detected.

lol.....I'm surprised you can use a computer such is your mental handicap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Birneybau wrote: »
    BOD and Amy Huberman...

Was wondering who would post these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We only go by the father here, you've a link to your mothers crowd but you're not part of that family. That's why I've reservations over Hugh O'Neill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

yes,and going forward in time ,say ,my son has my name-he has 2 daughters who marries and have children,they would be my grand-daughters and great grand children but would not have my surname,

We only go by the father here, you've a link to your mothers crowd but you're not part of that family. That's why I've reservations over Hugh O'Neill.

some fellows in the past joined their mothers clan rather than their fathers, I can't remember who but i remember reading about some who did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

My name is somewhat unusual, but derives from Vikings attempting to pronounce "O'Neigheill" about a thousand years ago. Gobadaws. Anyway, this would have been before the time we were hunted out of Donegal over Fiduciary Misconduct Concerning Sheep-Husbandry, or something. I can still manipulate Danu the Earth-Goddess into sending the Warp-Spasm, though.

we are all related-I will recognize your claim to the throne if you acknowledge my claim first(ps-I will grant you a fancy title):p:p

jimgoose wrote: »
    My name is somewhat unusual, but derives from Vikings attempting to pronounce "O'Neigheill" about a thousand years ago. Gobadaws. Anyway, this would have been before the time we were hunted out of Donegal over Fiduciary Misconduct Concerning Sheep-Husbandry, or something. I can still manipulate Danu the Earth-Goddess into sending the Warp-Spasm, though.

How the feck did they get 'Goose' from 'O'Neigheill'?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

How the feck did they get 'Goose' from 'O'Neigheill'?!?

With typical Norse determination.

kingchess wrote: »
    yes,and going forward in time ,say ,my son has my name-he has 2 daughters who marries and have children,they would be my grand-daughters and great grand children but would not have my surname,

And be carrying predominantly the other family's genes too. They would not be carrying your name, however, they [also] now have more claim to your daughter's husband's genomes.

In essence, and in simple terms, your sons pass on your genes. Your daughters pass on their husband's genes [predominantly].

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I just want to thank my royal Gaelic ancestors for my wonderful head of hair.

Thanks lads!

I just want to thank my royal Gaelic ancestors for my wonderful head of hair.

Thanks lads!

did you not see the head of hair on the postman (who is retired now):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

according to wikipedia i can "trace my lineage" to a high king of ireland :eek:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O%27Leary

kingchess wrote: »
    did you not see the head of hair on the postman (who is retired now):D

Now, now, if we all knew! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

I think it's really interesting stuff! I never get that far back though, my surname isn't an original.
    Either two names cobbled together at some point or a translation of a young Mc Connell to English.

(McConnellogue if anyone is interested PMs with any info welcome)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Anyone here from the families of Tara? The last family who held the seat were the Ua Conchobhair, my own clan a great royal people, my mother is O'Neill so I'm bullet proof to any 'true gael' republican types with planters surnames. Hardwise peasant types getting emotional.

Anyone else of a Royal lineage?

O' Brien
    O' Connor
    O' Neill (Domnall in 956 before they get prissy about Ulster)
    Mc'Donnell.

These are examples of Irish Royal families in the latter period of the High Kings.
    There was no Irish royalty we did not have a monarch system in the way Europeans did. We had elected chiefs and their families had no royal status and they did not think in terms of lines.

This is stuff Americans make up.

There is no such thing as Irish royal lineage. Each clan had its chieftain. So if you look at it that way each family had a king which is ridiculous.
    In Gaelic Ireland each person belonged to an agnatic kin-group known as a fine (plural: finte) or clann (plural: clanna). This was a large group of related people supposedly descended from one progenitor through male forebears. It was headed by a male chieftain, known in Old Irish as a cennfine or toísech (plural: toísig). Although these groups were primarily based on blood kinship, they also included those who were fostered into the group and those who were accepted into it for other reasons. Nicholls suggests that they would be better thought of as akin to the modern-day corporation

Succession to the chieftainship or kingship was through tanistry. When a man became chieftain or king, a relative was elected to be his deputy or 'tanist' (Irish: tánaiste, plural tanaistí) When the chieftain or king died, his tanist would automatically succeed him.Tanistry evades the basic requirement of the hereditary monarchy, i.e. that the outcome of the succession is predictable, up to the identity of successor and next heirs, by genealogy.

Any male of a distant ancestor of the O' Neill clann could become chief but he had to be named as a Tanist by the present chief and then elected by other men. His son would not become an heir. A chiefs children had no right to succeed their parent.There was always large group of eligibles and it was not a rare thing to be.

This system often led to rotation among the most prominent branches of the clan or the reigning house, particularly in the Middle Ages. It was a much more balanced social system. And they were only chiefs of the own clan. There were powerful clans but they could be even more bound than honor codes than less powerful clans. And the legal system was separate from them.

anistry as the system of succession left the headship open to the ambitious. It was a frequent source of strife both in families and between the clans, but it was conversely quasi-democratic. Tanistry was abolished by a legal decision during the reign of James VI of Scotland, who later was named James I of England and Ireland. The English land law was substituted.

There was never any Irish royalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

My family was a small warrior clan in Mayo according to a medieval map. So not a royal but I will fight for my King of Connacht. My surname means "illustrious warrior" (allegedly) so trust me, you want me on your army.

Just don't pay me in cattle.:cool:

Ah. A sheep man...