Des Bishop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,682 ✭✭✭Ciarrai76

biko wrote: »
    Very intelligent (I presume) and funny guy.
    I'd buy him a pint.

make it a pint of orange juice, he doesn't drink alcohol anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

He's grand but his brother on the other hand......... Holy crap what a pile of pants!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Seems like a nice bloke. Glad he stopped those rap pieces though!

Enjoying the Chinese trip particularly as I have familial connections to China. It's interesting to see his take on the place. I think he's showing a side of China I'm very familiar with - they're actually really good fun and have a great sense of humour and don't take themselves that seriously at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

bet youre the kind that doesnt put their fast food rubbish in the bin and leaves a big mess on the table..

Back in the day I had a summer job in a fast food shíthole somewhere in France.

It bored me to distraction.

I used to love it when people left a big fúck off mess after them.

It gave me something to go and do for a few minutes, and boy did I drag it out for a few minutes.

I used to hate it when people cleaned up after themselves.

Regarded them as inconsiderate tossers, or tosseurs in my mind as I was there to learn the lingo. Learnt feckall in that kip though, so I jacked in the job after three weeks and went to Paris to become a world famous artist, but the Summer was up just as I was on the verge of global success and I had to come home. I'll have to finish that plan someday.

Anyway, back on topic.
    Des Bishop. I can take him or leave him but he's not the worst. Decent bloke. What you see is what you get with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

He has become very predictive tbh.

His first few shows were good as it was something new and fresh, and he can tell a story very well, but the American not understanding the way Irish people act does get old. He needs some new material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I doubt any of the critics in this thread would manage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Didn't age well at all, looks like a fella of 50+ making retirement from the Public Service. Not funny obviously but I say he's a nice guy, I liked the 'work experience' programme he did for RTE about 10 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Hopefully he'll stay in China and give us a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Des Bishop seems sound, not my cup of tea but i think it's more his half yank half paddy accent that annoys me most. Would rather watch 10 hours of him though than 5 minutes of Tommy Teirnan or that other gob****e P.J Gallagher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The accent does my head in a bit but much better at entertainment than any of the Naaaaaavaan crowd of tossers including tommy tiernan and hector whatever his name is. Oh jaysus we got into all kinds of trouble every day growing up in naaaaaaaavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Not a major fan of his comedy but he seems like a nice bloke and his latest show from China is great viewing. I am admire his fearlessness, very few people would throw themselves into learning a language as different as Chinese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Tommy tiernan went off the boil a bit a few years ago but he is in top form again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

Just watched, Des Bishop goes to China which was basically Des bishop brings comedy to the Chinese the same way he brought comedy to Ireland, it even included the same jokes he uses in Ireland such as, im a crazy American doin jokes about your country in a fish out of water kinda way.
    Next up he is goin to bring comedy to easter island where he will learn the language and do jokes which are essentially the same as all the jokes he made in Ireland and China.

Is Des popular in America? Does he do standup in America?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Just watched, Des Bishop goes to China which was basically Des bishop brings comedy to the Chinese the same way he brought comedy to Ireland, it even included the same jokes he uses in Ireland such as, im a crazy American doin jokes about your country in a fish out of water kinda way.
    Next up he is goin to bring comedy to easter island where he will learn the language and do jokes which are essentially the same as all the jokes he made in Ireland and China.

Is Des popular in America? Does he do standup in America?
    Is there some rule that you have to make up new jokes for each country? You've little to be worrying about!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

Tilly wrote: »
    Is there some rule that you have to make up new jokes for each country? You've little to be worrying about!!!

If u like the same premise as all his other shows filled with the same jokes well that's ok.
    I kinda like to see new things that will stimulate me rather than the same old same old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

foggy_lad wrote: »
    hector

Having never met him or know anything about him .. I have a serious irrational hatred for that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Tommy tiernan went off the boil a bit a few years ago but he is in top form again.

He is shouting 18% louder now? That's all he seems to do is shout shout shout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

If u like the same premise as all his other shows filled with the same jokes well that's ok.
    I kinda like to see new things that will stimulate me rather than the same old same old.

But the Chinese haven't seen his old jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Not a big fan of Bishops comedy, has developed much since I first saw 8 years ago or so and he can come across as preachy. But Hector!! He'd drive ya to destroying all radios and TVs in your house just not to listen to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

fussyonion wrote: »
    He can speak all those languages better than you can speak English, it seems :rolleyes:

I find it funny that people on AH giving out about a comedian completely miss a sarcastic comment but 12 of them thank the above...

Humour is lost on some people it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

fussyonion wrote: »
    Fair play to him for learning Irish too..most of the population couldn't say more than "An bhfuil cead agam dul go dti an leithreas?" yet he's managed to actually construct a show entirely in Gaelic.

I think he's unique.

In school we learned "An bhfuil cead agam dul amach?" I don't think our teachers knew the word leithreas so he's already one up on them.

as an FYI. Eddie Izzard has his acts translated into loads of languages including Icelandic. He practices them all in those languages so he can get timing right. Some comedians really go the extra mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

i find Des Bishops comedy unfunny and irritating but hats off to the guy for doing what he did in china...that is some achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

RayCon wrote: »
    Having never met him or know anything about him .. I have a serious irrational hatred for that man.

When he started on TnaG back in the day he wasn't bad.Dunno what happened,RTE got hold of him or something,started shouting and talking about goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

I respect his ability to pick up new languages, but he is an absolutely terrible comedian.

He has never made me laugh. Not even once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I just detest the late late show "guest" circuit, populated almost entirely by former RTE employees eg des. The same "celeb" faces year in year out. How anyone watches it is a mystery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭woahwoahwoah

A lot of Irish people don't like Des Bishop because he learned how to speak Irish. An American comes over here and knows more Irish than them. They wont admit it but it embarrasses them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

He's lived in Ireland since 1990. That's nearly as long as me, and I'm Irish.

He plays the "fish out of water" shtick too much, despite the fact that he'd be well used to it by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Didn't age well at all, looks like a fella of 50+ making retirement from the Public Service.

Miaow.

Dies he fūck look 50 anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

I'm sure hes a nice guy and well done for learning irish and chinese but hes less funny than a heart attack. See you on the Ray Darcy show Des when they have rotated Jason Byrne and PJ Gallagher. About 2 weeks time then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭BearBanjer

Seems like a nice guy to be fair. Just find what he does pretty boring an repetitive at this stage.
    Heckler wrote: »
    I'm sure hes a nice guy and well done for learning irish and chinese but hes less funny than a heart attack. See you on the Ray Darcy show Des when they have rotated Jason Byrne and PJ Gallagher. About 2 weeks time then.

I'd rather listen to a baby spout nonsense for two hours than Jason Byrne. He is just dreadful. The most unfunny muppet there is. Makes Des look like Bill Hicks.