Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Des Bishop

• 16-05-2014 11:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭

Why the f**k do irish people love this twit so much? everywhere i turn this clown is either on t.v or radio trying to be funny or doing commercials.

I can't stand him that f**king yank accent does my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

So stop watching him on fcukin everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I like him. I think he's observant and very witty and I think he's settled in very nicely here.

Fair play to him for learning Irish too..most of the population couldn't say more than "An bhfuil cead agam dul go dti an leithreas?" yet he's managed to actually construct a show entirely in Gaelic.

I think he's unique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

fussyonion wrote: »
    I like him. I think he's observant and very witty and I think he's settled in very nicely here.

Fair play to him for learning Irish too..most of the population couldn't say more than "An bhfuil cead agam dul go dti an leithreas?" yet he's managed to actually construct a show entirely in Gaelic.

I think he's unique.
    He was paid by RTÉ to learn Irish and make that show.

If someone wants to pay me to learn Irish I will do it no problem. Otherwise it's a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

He's a hack plain and simple.

Probably a sound enough guy though from the way he comes across, annoying but good natured seems to be his thing.

Nib wrote: »
    He was paid by RTÉ to learn Irish and make that show.

If someone wants to pay me to learn Irish I will do it no problem. Otherwise it's a waste of time.

I don't care if he was paid. He still did it.
    This country is full of begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Really enjoyed the series where he worked all the minimum wage jobs, have not enjoyed anything he has done since. The learning Irish programme was just an exercise for giving himself a pat on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I think he seems like a nice guy and I liked his TV shows. Dafuq is the matter with people that they can just decide someone they never met is a cnut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Is there any gigs coming up in the near future, i wouldnt mind going seeing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

gustafo wrote: »
    Why the f**k do irish people love this twit so much? everywhere i turn this clown is either on t.v or radio trying to be funny or doing commercials.

bet youre the kind that doesnt put their fast food rubbish in the bin and leaves a big mess on the table..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Tokarev

He's some Tw*t alright,

Learnes to speake Irish, Mmm, Better than most of the Irish population can.

Then goes to China. And learns to speak Chinese.

Mmm, some (whatever) is Des Bishop.

Tokarev wrote: »
    He's some Tw*t alright,

Learnes to speake Irish, Mmm, Better than most of the Irish population can.

Then goes to China. And learns to speak Chinese.

Mmm, some (whatever) is Des Bishop.

He can speak all those languages better than you can speak English, it seems :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

bet youre the kind that doesnt put their fast food rubbish in the bin and leaves a big mess on the table..

Pick it up boy, if your able, pick your tray up off of the table!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxW2oWKwi9E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

As Fussy Onion says, he's observent and witty. He's not my cup of tea, but considering the majority of "talent" that RTE choose to broadcast, he's watchable enough. As said above, the series on minimum wage jobs was really good. Quite an eye opener on how people are abused in Ireland while the rest of us turn a blind eye (probably makes it easier for the rest of us to enter politics).

But if you see him everywhere on tv and radio (?) then something's wrong, because he's not been on air in ages, until recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I like him. He did a very good documentary about his father's terminal illness a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Very intelligent (I presume) and funny guy.
    I'd buy him a pint.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

He's a hack plain and simple.

I saw a bit of his stand up routine when flicking through the channels and he was talking about how Irish houses have immersions whereas American houses have instant hot water. It went along the lines of
    "I mean what the holy ****? Ya gotta press a switch then wait for the water to heat up? What's the deal with that? In America, you wanna take a shower, you get in then, boom! Hot water!!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I really like him and respect him for this reason and this reason only -

HE HATES TOMMY TIERNAN .......they don't get along.

I too detest that pr!ck Tiernan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

biko wrote: »
    I'd buy him a pint.
    That's legally binding. Just be aware!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

everyone has annoying traits, you either notice them or dont/ they either bother your or dont.

I could list a few Irish comedians that are in my opinion hacks/mediocre and overrated but Des isnt one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

If he can learn Chinese, then he's alright with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

he is very funny and a likeable person. thats all there is to it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Des is a nice guy I had many dealings with him he is sound as a pound as they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Tokarev

He can speak all those languages better than you can speak English, it seems :rolleyes:

sarcasm, my dear chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

All of funny comedians move aboard to some decent pay. Most of the Live at the Apollo shows are Irish comedians. As a comedian you can make a ton of money in the UK compared to Ireland.

Also RTE hates new talent. There isnt a decent presenter in RTE under the age of 50. They love to have some crusty old presenter with no personality, for no good reason other than he has been presenting since the 1960s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

gustafo wrote: »

hes a comedian, is that not what they're supposed to be doing? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

sabat wrote: »
    I saw a bit of his stand up routine when flicking through the channels and he was talking about how Irish houses have immersions whereas American houses have instant hot water. It went along the lines of
    "I mean what the holy ****? Ya gotta press a switch then wait for the water to heat up? What's the deal with that? In America, you wanna take a shower, you get in then, boom! Hot water!!"

that could catch on here...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Whoosh. The sarcasm went right over your head! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Don't really see why it's an issue if he's sound or not. I'm sure he probably is but I find his stuff brutal and irritating and that's what's being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

He made more money out of immersions than all the plumbers in Ireland.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

Sky King wrote: »
    I think he seems like a nice guy and I liked his TV shows. Dafuq is the matter with people that they can just decide someone they never met is a cnut?

I met him last year before he went to China & he was so chatty and friendly, very down to earth. Very impressed with him learning Irish and now Chinese. So what if he was paid, he still did it! He can now speak Irish better than me and I went to all-Irish speaking schools!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

biko wrote: »
    I'd buy him a pint.

make it a pint of orange juice, he doesn't drink alcohol anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

He's grand but his brother on the other hand......... Holy crap what a pile of pants!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Seems like a nice bloke. Glad he stopped those rap pieces though!

Enjoying the Chinese trip particularly as I have familial connections to China. It's interesting to see his take on the place. I think he's showing a side of China I'm very familiar with - they're actually really good fun and have a great sense of humour and don't take themselves that seriously at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Back in the day I had a summer job in a fast food shíthole somewhere in France.

It bored me to distraction.

I used to love it when people left a big fúck off mess after them.

It gave me something to go and do for a few minutes, and boy did I drag it out for a few minutes.

I used to hate it when people cleaned up after themselves.

Regarded them as inconsiderate tossers, or tosseurs in my mind as I was there to learn the lingo. Learnt feckall in that kip though, so I jacked in the job after three weeks and went to Paris to become a world famous artist, but the Summer was up just as I was on the verge of global success and I had to come home. I'll have to finish that plan someday.

Anyway, back on topic.
    Des Bishop. I can take him or leave him but he's not the worst. Decent bloke. What you see is what you get with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

He has become very predictive tbh.

His first few shows were good as it was something new and fresh, and he can tell a story very well, but the American not understanding the way Irish people act does get old. He needs some new material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I doubt any of the critics in this thread would manage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Didn't age well at all, looks like a fella of 50+ making retirement from the Public Service. Not funny obviously but I say he's a nice guy, I liked the 'work experience' programme he did for RTE about 10 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Hopefully he'll stay in China and give us a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Des Bishop seems sound, not my cup of tea but i think it's more his half yank half paddy accent that annoys me most. Would rather watch 10 hours of him though than 5 minutes of Tommy Teirnan or that other gob****e P.J Gallagher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The accent does my head in a bit but much better at entertainment than any of the Naaaaaavaan crowd of tossers including tommy tiernan and hector whatever his name is. Oh jaysus we got into all kinds of trouble every day growing up in naaaaaaaavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Not a major fan of his comedy but he seems like a nice bloke and his latest show from China is great viewing. I am admire his fearlessness, very few people would throw themselves into learning a language as different as Chinese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Tommy tiernan went off the boil a bit a few years ago but he is in top form again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

Just watched, Des Bishop goes to China which was basically Des bishop brings comedy to the Chinese the same way he brought comedy to Ireland, it even included the same jokes he uses in Ireland such as, im a crazy American doin jokes about your country in a fish out of water kinda way.
    Next up he is goin to bring comedy to easter island where he will learn the language and do jokes which are essentially the same as all the jokes he made in Ireland and China.

Is Des popular in America? Does he do standup in America?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Just watched, Des Bishop goes to China which was basically Des bishop brings comedy to the Chinese the same way he brought comedy to Ireland, it even included the same jokes he uses in Ireland such as, im a crazy American doin jokes about your country in a fish out of water kinda way.
    Next up he is goin to bring comedy to easter island where he will learn the language and do jokes which are essentially the same as all the jokes he made in Ireland and China.

Is Des popular in America? Does he do standup in America?
    Is there some rule that you have to make up new jokes for each country? You've little to be worrying about!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

Tilly wrote: »
    Is there some rule that you have to make up new jokes for each country? You've little to be worrying about!!!

If u like the same premise as all his other shows filled with the same jokes well that's ok.
    I kinda like to see new things that will stimulate me rather than the same old same old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

foggy_lad wrote: »
    hector

Having never met him or know anything about him .. I have a serious irrational hatred for that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Tommy tiernan went off the boil a bit a few years ago but he is in top form again.

He is shouting 18% louder now? That's all he seems to do is shout shout shout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

If u like the same premise as all his other shows filled with the same jokes well that's ok.
    I kinda like to see new things that will stimulate me rather than the same old same old.

But the Chinese haven't seen his old jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Not a big fan of Bishops comedy, has developed much since I first saw 8 years ago or so and he can come across as preachy. But Hector!! He'd drive ya to destroying all radios and TVs in your house just not to listen to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

I find it funny that people on AH giving out about a comedian completely miss a sarcastic comment but 12 of them thank the above...

Humour is lost on some people it seems.