Eamonn Coughlan's Meltdown on TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Is that it?

He was just telling a story in a rather animated fashion is all.

What's more shocking about the clip is the rest of the hens in the room talking over him every 5 seconds.

not sure if its what people are talking about i missed the first half of the show, just saw that on facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He's a headcase. Remember when he wanted everyone who used the internet to sign up for it with their passport or to pay for every twitter and facebook post they made?
    SafeSurfer wrote: »

What a spacer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That was some great television in all fairness. Himself and that shouty Labour yoke were hilarious. What a crazy bitch that one is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

The standard of people going into Irish politics is almost rock bottom at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

ryan101 wrote: »
    The standard of people going into Irish politics is almost rock bottom at this stage.

you wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

I just checked out one of the Fis Nua candidate's pages: Donal O'Riordan.
    One of his goals is: "ending cancer and its causes"
    Phew, good to see he's being realistic. I was afraid he was going to start off with raising the dead and giving cute puppies to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

There is a way to go still, I will bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭CrookedJack

Heroditas wrote: »
    I just checked out one of the Fis Nua candidate's pages: Donal O'Riordan.
    One of his goals is: "ending cancer and its causes"
    Phew, good to see he's being realistic. I was afraid he was going to start off with raising the dead and giving cute puppies to all.

Well to be fair he's the only one to tackle our huge desertification problem, presumably by stopping them repairing our leaky water pipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

SafeSurfer wrote: »

I just tried that. Looks like my motory skills need work. Thanks Eamo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Eamon coughlan comes across to me as being honest enough. Type who'd wear his heart on his sleeve. I'd personally take that any day, as opposed to a smart arse that could talk his way out of anything, while at the same time never actually answering a question directly. We've seen enough of those politicians in the past, have we not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭pueblo

D1stant wrote: »
    I just tried that. Looks like my motory skills need work. Thanks Eamo

'Motory skills' indeed....is he having a laugh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,494 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I agree that happens with most people entering Irish politics.

Just earlier this week a canvass from FF come around to my house showing off a new local candidate of theirs that I never even heard of before.

I unexpectedly answered the door to them. This guy in a trendy arty suit said hello to me. I said hello back. He asked me whether I would ask this new one any questions that I may be considering. I said no to them but I said will let my mum talk to you. They said that is no problem. She comes over to see them with the usual hello rubbish and all that from canvassers.

They were talking about some local issues for about a further ten minutes. I was in the sitting room watching the TV while all this went on thinking what the heck is going on out there.

The next thing I heard them asking was "Do you want to get photographed"? And I was nearly going to say "what, you're getting pictures taken and all". I was nearly going to say no to them because they weren't to going photograph me if my life depended on it, but I didn't. But I just to my mam "No, don't let me out there".

Yer one "Ah it's alright.....". And that was it for me but for my mother it wasn't. She got photographed with me having the sheer humiliation inside me of letting her going through it at all.

I am not a photogenic person btw. Is just that being with sort of ilk makes me uncomfortable for me to even be rational with them.

Back on topic now. I thought Eamon Coughlan's performance on that debate last night including his story was very condescending for me tbf. I didn't feel that he had any sort of positivity in his contribution to the debate. I thought he had a sense of an arrogance and cockiness look about him which I thought was very uninspiring. If he mentioned his story about his constituent in a calmer manner, than it would have gotten somewhere in the end. But No, it went the other way for Eamon and probably his likability would get worse in the end.

His status as a former athlete should be respected tbf. But as a politician he has not got a hope in this contest.

That batty one from Labour didn't inspire me with too much confidence either. The rudeness from the other candidates would tell a lot too.

I am also glad I am not voting for any of them in their by election. So it's a win win for me in any case. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Eamon coughlan comes across to me as being honest enough. Type who'd wear his heart on his sleeve. I'd personally take that any day, as opposed to a smart arse that could talk his way out of anything, while at the same time never actually answering a question directly. We've seen enough of those politicians in the past, have we not ?

Is that it? Is that all you need?

EC comes across to me as an egotist, and not a very bright one, whose command of the English language is almost as bad as his understanding of current affairs. All I've heard from him is bluster and rehearsed FG soundbites.

He should be off running a Gym somewhere

No thanks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Can people on that show not just stfu for 2 minutes.

Seriously if VOB asked one panel member would they like sugar or milk you'd get

... well Vin (rabble rabble) well Vin (rabbler rabbler) Vincent I' (Rabble Rabble Fine Fail) I'd like one (rabble rabble Fine Gael .. hang on let him speak ... rabble) I'd like one sugar (rabble) please.

RAAAAAAAABLERAAAAABLERAAAAAABLE

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Just earlier this week a canvass from FF come around to my house showing off a new local candidate of theirs that I never even heard of before.

I unexpectedly answered the door to them. This guy in a trendy arty suit said hello to me. I said hello back. He asked me whether I would ask this new one any questions that I may be considering. I said no to them but I said will let my mum talk to you. They said that is no problem. She comes over to see them with the usual hello rubbish and all that from canvassers.

They were talking about some local issues for about a further ten minutes. I was in the sitting room watching the TV while all this went on thinking what the heck is going on out there.

The next thing I heard them asking was "Do you want to get photographed"? And I was nearly going to say "what, you're getting pictures taken and all". I was nearly going to say no to them because they weren't to going photograph me if my life depended on it, but I didn't. But I just to my mam "No, don't let me out there".

Yer one "Ah it's alright.....". And that was it for me but for my mother it wasn't. She got photographed with me having the sheer humiliation inside me of letting her going through it at all.

I am not a photogenic person btw. Is just that being with sort of ilk makes me uncomfortable for me to even be rational with them.

That makes even less sense than the Eamonn Coughlan anecdote :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Meltdown? He closed his eyes a few times. Big deal.

And when did he change the spelling of his name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

He's a superb advert as to why the Senate should be shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

vicwatson wrote: »

Au contraire, Grasshopper. Being a bit of a blithering idiot, he's a perfect example of the sort of cross-sectional representation of society that is required in the Senate. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

jimgoose wrote: »
    Au contraire, Grasshopper. Being a bit of a blithering idiot, he's a perfect example of the sort of cross-sectional representation of society that is required in the Senate. :cool:

Oh yehhh ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

vicwatson wrote: »

John Crown is a good reason to keep it.

If we shut down every workplace that had a few eejits in it what would we have left?

Taxi service, pubs and little else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

If you believe what is left of this economy is not completely and wholly dependent of tax you are completely deluded.

What companies say are just nice things. They are here for tax. That is the be all and end all. And Ireland does very well out of it. So why kill our golden goose when we have nothing else just to satisfy other European countries? Countries that will GLADLY see us shoot ourselves in the head over tax.Those countries WANT what we have. Make no mistake. They are frustrated for a reason and fairness has NOTHING to do with it. They are not interested in that. They are only interested in our lunch.

its not an either or situation not live goose/dead goose situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

FG second choice was Kiernan Dennison who busy using race to attack his opponents

Pherekydes wrote: »
    John Crown is a good reason to keep it.

If we shut down every workplace that had a few eejits in it what would we have left?

Taxi service, pubs and little else...

In what Universe would the taxicab and publican industries escape an Eejit Cull?? :confused:

c'mon, everybody knows taxi drivers and barmen know everything about everything and therefore are no eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭surpy

bizarre stuff

What's wrong with taxi drivers and publicans exactly, are you better than them ?

Hell yeah. Next question?

Why do you think you are better than them ?

Because boobs. The point, as you know, is the implication in Pherekydes' post that there are no feckin' eejits in the publican or taxi-driving trade. I assert that the same proportion of feckin' eejits are to be found doing these jobs as any other job, my own included. But feel quite free to rampage around the yard picking fights with anyone who looks like they mightn't hit you. :pac:

Calm down, take a deep breath.
    Have you ever thought about being a taxi driver ?