Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eamonn Coughlan's Meltdown on TV3

• 15-05-2014 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭

Fine Gael's Dublin west by election candidate Eamonn Coughlan acting crazy on Vincent Brown. Car crash telly at its funniest.

"Get your hand off me Eamonn"
    Definitely one for reeling in the years in 20 years time.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Why were you watching tv3 ? It's worse than the sun.

youtube clip ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Blah, blah, blah. This kind of lip flapping is par for the course in Irish politics.

Blame and point the finger at the opposition to get in to power, then do exactly what you were flapping your lips against.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

They're all talking bollocks but he's not even able talk bollocks, way outta his depth. This is the guy that thinks michelle smith was our greatest olympian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

So he not gonna be a runner so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

EoghanIRL wrote: »

Cancer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

His running days are over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Jack1985

Absolutely laughing my ass of at this, they are the biggest insult that crowd to the common citizen - The lad from Fís Nua takes the title of biggest idiot, was he smoking joints before he came on surely? Saying he'd vote for the socialist candidate agreeing with there policies and basically doesn't know why he's in Fís Nua?? PMSL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Damm i missed it usually tune into vb but theres a good tv shoe on network 2.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

so the shoe is on the other foot channel. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

Political parties treat us with contempt , just because he was a well known athlete we are supposed to vote for him, its so fckuing.......outrageous. ... fckuc off Enda... just fck off you twat. Since the troika left we are a rudderless ship.
    No leadership... devoid of ideas.... hasn't the balls to sack ...o'reilly.. hogan... and the way he stood by shatter was an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

If we didn't have the sun, we'd all be dead, back in the day people used to worship it because they realized its importance in their lives, now people make blase statements like this, no respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Maybe Enda thought we would all vote for Eamonn as he is 'Chairman of the boards'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭fullaljackeen

Jack1985 wrote: »
    Absolutely laughing my ass of at this, they are the biggest insult that crowd to the common citizen - The lad from Fís Nua takes the title of biggest idiot, was he smoking joints before he came on surely? Saying he'd vote for the socialist candidate agreeing with there policies and basically doesn't know why he's in Fís Nua?? PMSL

Hearing impediment. Would you like to join us 'n fist nuala?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Jack1985

Hearing impediment.

What a joke of a statement, how is that even relevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

His running days are over.

His not of the right Kaliber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Must be a Doc Martin! Best shoe ever made ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yuAlksupTgg

Very disappointing in every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

McDermotX wrote: »

Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

McDermotX wrote: »

Just seen it now, fair play to him dont see anything wrong with what he said, he was talking about life on the canvass and how he dealt with the question, the rest of the could not wait to get in with the soundbites, he would have my NO1 vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,136 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Just seen it now, fair play to him dont see anything wrong with what he said, he was talking about life on the canvass and how he dealt with the question, the rest of the could not wait to get in with the soundbites, he would have my NO1 vote.

he wants to be a TD in the dail in a couple of weeks time he better have been doing more then introducing himself to people, you think he's a national legislator or just some gladhander

I think he is honest in what he says, goes beyond the soundbites, he maybe had a little bit to drink, but hoesty comes out when you drink, he called a spade a spade.

fergus1001 wrote: »

So Eamonn Coughlan basically went on air and mocked a citizen who has legitimate concerns and grievances about the way their country is being run. Also he showed that he has completely no idea what the word 'rhetoric' means and very possibly only heard of that word before going on air, and thought it would be great to use. Total, complete spoofer.

Delighted he got pulled up on the absolute bullshít that he was spouting. I truly hope he never gets a sniff at office or a government salary/pension as a TD.

stankratz wrote: »
    So Eamonn Coughlan basically went on air and mocked a citizen who has legitimate concerns and grievances about the way their country is being run. Also he showed that he has completely no idea what the word 'rhetoric' means and very possibly only heard of that word before going on air, and thought it would be great to use. Total, complete spoofer.

Delighted he got pulled up on the absolute bullshít that he was spouting. I truly hope he never gets a sniff at office or a government salary/pension.

What are you talking about?
    Have you seen the clip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

This will go down as the shortest political career in history!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Wow, that was actually a little sad.

stankratz wrote: »
    Delighted he got pulled up on the absolute bullshít that he was spouting. I truly hope he never gets a sniff at office or a government salary/pension.

um you know he's a senator

What are you talking about?
    Have you seen the clip?

I have seen it Jonjo, have you?

um you know he's a senator

Yes, meant as a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The rest of them talk so much sh!t - he is the only one actually being honest and he is getting berated?

Of all that panel in my opinion he would be the least dangerous. Sure yer wan coppinger wants to put 10's of thousands of jobs at risk in that constituency so that she can placate her socialist wet dream just for a few extra percent in tax from those companies?

Anyone who actually works will know who to vote for in the by election. Those that don't and have no intention of working will also know who to vote for.

Of all that panel in my opinion he would be the least dangerous. Sure yer wan coppinger wants to put 10's of thousands of jobs at risk in that constituency so that she can placate her socialist wet dream just for a few extra percent in tax from those companies?

the nonsense is not to expect companies to pay their taxes

its not an either or issue as vincent tried to make it

the nonsense is not to expect companies to pay their taxes

They do. But you think Ireland should be high and moral about this? Are you going to accept the cost of us acting unilaterally?

And are those people's livelihoods expendable so your high moral tone can be achieved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Less Ultra violet rays?

They do. But you think Ireland should be high and moral about this? Are you going to accept the cost of us acting unilaterally?

And are those people's livelihoods expendable so your high moral tone can be achieved?
    its not an either or situation

i think we should work to raise business standards not lower them

i think we should work to rasie business standards not lower them

That is not what I asked you.

I asked you are you willing to see your community and the rest of the country devastated just so that you can satisfy that itch of yours? Because in the real world things just don't work like you seem to believe.

its not an either or situation

If you believe what is left of this economy is not completely and wholly dependent of tax you are completely deluded.

What companies say are just nice things. They are here for tax. That is the be all and end all. And Ireland does very well out of it. So why kill our golden goose when we have nothing else just to satisfy other European countries? Countries that will GLADLY see us shoot ourselves in the head over tax.Those countries WANT what we have. Make no mistake. They are frustrated for a reason and fairness has NOTHING to do with it. They are not interested in that. They are only interested in our lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

If you believe what is left of this economy is not completely and wholly dependent of tax you are completely deluded.

What companies say are just nice things. They are here for tax. That is the be all and end all. And Ireland does very well out of it. So why kill our golden goose when we have nothing else just to satisfy other European countries? Countries that will GLADLY see us shoot ourselves in the head over tax.Those countries WANT what we have. Make no mistake. They are frustrated for a reason and fairness has NOTHING to do with it. They are not interested in that. They are only interested in our lunch.

They can feck right off. I have pastrami, on rye. I never get pastrami on rye. You have convinced me - I have no idea about what, but I'm convinced. Stay away from my lunch, ye foreign divils.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

People who talk over other people have to be some of the most irritating little ****es on the planet. I swear talking over other people should be a criminal offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Also, the video posted above is not a meltdown nor is he "going mad" in it. I assume there's another part of the show that this thread is about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭laoisman11

whirlpool wrote: »
    Also, the video posted above is not a meltdown nor is he "going mad" in it. I assume there's another part of the show that this thread is about?

Didn't get the chance to see the show, so can somebody please post up the link to where there is a meltdown or someone going mad. Because it definitely isn't in the clip above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

I didn't see any meltdown. Is that the only clip. He was making his case at the same time as everyone else, including VB, was talking.

So what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Wouldnt call it a meltdown really, he was talkin' shoite and and was making up stuff as he went on and ran out of stuff to make up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

He comes across as a bit green, but that's hardly a surprise. Made a small bit of an ape of himself, but to be perfectly straight I don't think he got much courtesy on that program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

whirlpool wrote: »
    People who talk over other people have to be some of the most irritating little ****es on the planet. I swear talking over other people should be a criminal offence.

It was non stop on that show last night, like listening to a room of cackling hens.

The withering look Vincent Browne shot at the blonde Labour one was priceless, after she interrupted someone for the 50th time, swear he was gonna start breathing fire at her head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Ah i missed that part, any youtube clip of it ?
    That guy from FIS ? on the left side near the front, what a feckin cabbage he was. Why should people vote for your party? ehmm change and emmm i dont know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He's a headcase. Remember when he wanted everyone who used the internet to sign up for it with their passport or to pay for every twitter and facebook post they made?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

He's a runner been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Anyone else finding Vincent Browne's shtick starting to wear very thin (rather like his hair)? His grumpy and abrasive style doesn't really disguise the fact that he's a very poor broadcaster and a bit of a champagne socialist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Browne is one of the worst interviewers out there. that he has his own show displays the terrible state of irish investigative journalism.

All of which is in my opinion