Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

There was a crash over here this morning as well... what's going on today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

GvidoR wrote: »
    There was a crash over here this morning as well... what's going on today?

The worst was an old guy being rear ended by an impatient Audi driver who was going mental as there was traffic delaying her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

ba_barabus wrote: »
    The worst was an old guy being rear ended by an impatient Audi driver who was going mental as there was traffic delaying her.

A little holiday from the roads - aka a driving ban - would soon cure that impatience of hers :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Go for online ones !

I did for one of the Hondas I had. Exact fit and cost 24 pound sterling inc postage.

Gonna order a set for my focus in the next 2 weeks !

Was https://www.tailored-carmats.co.uk

Tempted to order mats for my e46...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Sobanek wrote: »
    Tempted to order mats for my e46...

Not sure about other manufacturers but a great thing about BMW is they offer driver's floor mats on their own so you don't have to buy a full set just to get a new driver's one which is the one that wears the fastest :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Just drive a 200 mile round trip in the car, it may be a problem child, but it didn't miss a beat today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I'm shagged, Waterford to Cork to Clonmel (last minute) to Cork to Carlow (impulse adverts buy) to Waterford today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

How much to sell a 1997 vento 1.9 tdi for?
    NCT until October
    Tax out in June
    4 new tyres
    New battery
    166,000 miles?
    Few dents and scrapes in places as well

I'm not joking here - get a set of shiny wheels, plastidip the bonnet black, cut the springs and chance it at 2k. I bet you there'd be interest and all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

How much to sell a 1997 vento 1.9 tdi for?
    NCT until October
    Tax out in June
    4 new tyres
    New battery
    166,000 miles?
    Few dents and scrapes in places as well
    Is it actually TDI though?

colm_mcm wrote: »

Cant be sure, come to think of it, don't think it is....

Edit: No wait, it's defo not, what am I saying!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

TDi's of that vintage would be rare enough alright. With a test, put it up for outrageous money (figure and double it kind of thing) and see what idiot will take it off you. Vento's are the in thing now!

Haven't been on here all week except for a quick stop in to check out what's going on in general one or two days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

That was my first thought too - but IF it was a UK import it could very well be a TDI.

I'm not joking here - get a set of shiny wheels, plastidip the bonnet black, cut the springs and chance it at 2k. I bet you there'd be interest and all!

Not mine now, just someone I know who wants rid of it asap. She recons if she puts it up on Sun or Mon, it'll be gone by the end of the week... ya. She was thinking for about 1600 as is?

I'd say it'd make over a grand. They're ironically cool now.

Back in 2001 I thought this was so cool, like it was my lottery winning dream car :o

38631032554827747666910.jpg

YbFocus wrote: »
    Back in 2001 I thought this was so cool, like it was my lottery winning dream car :o

38631032554827747666910.jpg

I'm seriously considering not being friends with you anymore :P

Yer man out of malcolm in the middle owns that jetta

I'd say it'd make over a grand. They're ironically cool now.

Many moons ago I had a fiesta 1.25 as my first car. It was that or a Vento and i went with the lesser of two evils at the time.

I'm seriously considering not being friends with you anymore :P

It was in the fast and the furious :)

Out of all the cars, that was my favourite :)
    That and I wanted to be like Jessie :rolleyes:
    Still know that film inside out and can quote any nit of it :)

Yeah I wonder does he still have it, not so cool as it was 13 years ago!

It was in the fast and the furious :)

Out of all the cars, that was my favourite :)
    That and I wanted to be like Jessie :rolleyes:
    Still know that film inside out and can quote any nit of it :)

Oh dear...... this is very concerning indeed! :P

Go away :p

Loved that film, so did everyone ye just won't admit it :pac:

Most people would call it a Vento. :P

He still had it last year anyway.

I'm was just saving someone the bother of correcting me

It was a Jetta though?

In a few places like America, they don't call MK3 Jetta "Vento" and they don't call MK4 Jetta a "Bora".

That is a MK3 Jetta or Vento... call it however you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Jetta / Vento / Bora - they're all Golf saloons to me.

Didn't Johnny Tran win that when he raced Jessie for pinks? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

In some parts of the U.S they call a Golf a Rabbit.

Best to ignore those places tbh :p

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Jetta / Vento / Bora - they're all Golf saloons to me.

Didn't Johnny Tran win that when he raced Jessie for pinks? :D

Ah a fellow fan :)

Cue me miming Jessie's "Oh god, Oh god" :)

In some parts of the U.S they call a Golf a Rabbit.

Best to ignore those places tbh :p

Only mk1 though.

And they call mk1 caddy a Rabbit pickup.