Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Dartz wrote: »
    I did.

Why? Know something about it that I don't?

Cat's well ****ed. It seems the first element fractured. Removed the wreckage and the engine seems to be running fine.

There's new spark plugs and a full service done on it.

Will probably end up getting it gutted, maybe next week. I may have to go somewhere over the weekend.

No, I was just asking because you mentioned before that you were getting one and you told another user that you'd be onto him in another thread :D

Well wear! Gutting the cat is a good idea and won't matter a feck because the rotary engine is exempt from the emissions part of the NCT due to each one producing different emissions. The only problem is that you won't get your NCT disc on the day, you'll have to get on to their head office and have it posted to you.

The cat going like that would be down to crap ignition coils which are to blame for the fuel/air mixture not being ignited properly. Therefore the unburnt fuel enters the car and makes **** of it over time. An obvious sign of cat failure is when the car won't rev out or the revs become hesitant, i.e. on a 6 speed model, it will only rev to say 8k or thereabouts and/or get stuttery after that.

Has the car got the full ignition system upgrade? Starter, ignition coils, leads, 70Ah battery & RE7C-L and RE9B-T plugs? The trailing plugs are nearly always RE9B-T but the leading ones were often RE8C-L which despite being a higher number, are actually colder and not as efficient as the RE7C-L ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

This mazda is gonna cost me a fortune!
    It needs:
    2 engine mounts
    2 calipers
    brakes all round
    driveshaft bearing
    cv boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

How much?
    Partsworld uk have them.
    http://www.partsworld-uk.com/product/Luxury_Carpet_mats-Alfa_159_46003007

I've a similar set of mats in my 156. They're ****ing unreal and well worth the money. The wait of them alone is ridiculous. Also ridiculously deep pile.

I didn't pay anywhere near that for mine. I found them sitting in a rotting 156 v6 I ennis. :p

Is certainly recommend them though. They enhance the interior so much and the knock offs/cheapies (eg micks garage) aren't worth a ****.

Aye there the real ones but I was a bit shocked at prices of €150 for matts,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

This mazda is gonna cost me a fortune!
    It needs:
    2 engine mounts
    2 calipers
    brakes all round
    driveshaft bearing
    cv boot

Ouch. Are you going to fix it up or just sell it as it is?

I don't know about the drive shaft bearings because I've never done them before but everything else should be cheap enough parts wise. It wouldn't be expensive if you could do it yourself :)

You'll probably be able to get caliper seal kits online for a couple of euro. A significant saving over new callipers!

Does it need pads and discs or just pads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Aye there the real ones but I was a bit shocked at prices of €150 for matts,

You could probably pick up a set of second hand ones? They wear extremely well.
    Alternatively go to tracta or agnelli. They have alfa dealer mats, no where near the real deal, but still nice enough for less than 30.
    As expensive as the mats are, they're definitely worth it

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Ouch. Are you going to fix it up or just sell it as it is?

I don't know about the drive shaft bearings because I've never done them before but everything else should be cheap enough parts wise. It wouldn't be expensive if you could do it yourself :)

You'll probably be able to get caliper seal kits online for a couple of euro. A significant saving over new callipers!

Does it need pads and discs or just pads?

Well no one would buy it at the moment as the car judders like hell if you take off with any speed at all and the front drivers pad is worn down to metal due to the caliper. The pistons in the calipers are completely locked on the mechanic said so Im gonna try and get second hand ones.
    It needs 4 tyres as well which I knew.
    I dont think the gearbox mounts are too hard, but might let them fit them if I get the mounts myself.
    It needs pads and discs all round but Im gonna do the fronts as the rears arent too bad yet.
    Once I get all the rattles gone Im selling it!
    How much is a 2003 TS Mazda 6 worth? Nct March 2015, 114k miles, body is in good condition

Jaysus lad it would have been cheaper for you to get an RX8 and get an engine rebuild :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Well no one would buy it at the moment as the car judders like hell if you take off with any speed at all and the front drivers pad is worn down to metal due to the caliper. The pistons in the calipers are completely locked on the mechanic said so Im gonna try and get second hand ones.
    It needs 4 tyres as well which I knew.
    I dont think the gearbox mounts are too hard, but might let them fit them if I get the mounts myself.
    It needs pads and discs all round but Im gonna do the fronts as the rears arent too bad yet.
    Once I get all the rattles gone Im selling it!
    How much is a 2003 TS Mazda 6 worth? Nct March 2015, 114k miles, body is in good condition

Fook that chap. She's not worth much as is, seems mental to throw that much money into it before selling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

No, I was just asking because you mentioned before that you were getting one and you told another user that you'd be onto him in another thread :D

Well wear! Gutting the cat is a good idea and won't matter a feck because the rotary engine is exempt from the emissions part of the NCT due to each one producing different emissions. The only problem is that you won't get your NCT disc on the day, you'll have to get on to their head office and have it posted to you.

The cat going like that would be down to crap ignition coils which are to blame for the fuel/air mixture not being ignited properly. Therefore the unburnt fuel enters the car and makes **** of it over time. An obvious sign of cat failure is when the car won't rev out or the revs become hesitant, i.e. on a 6 speed model, it will only rev to say 8k or thereabouts and/or get stuttery after that.

Has the car got the full ignition system upgrade? Starter, ignition coils, leads, 70Ah battery & RE7C-L and RE9B-T plugs? The trailing plugs are nearly always RE9B-T but the leading ones were often RE8C-L which despite being a higher number, are actually colder and not as efficient as the RE7C-L ones.

Has a new battery and plugs. Coils are 'on the list' after getting the remains of the cat out 'somehow', and needs to happen over the summer anyway. Will also need new brake pads at the back soon enough.

Still feels grand.

I know what's causing the problem, it's just the daisy-chain of buying the car, insurance and now tax up at the end of the month has left me with less than the necessary amount of money to fix them

Fook that chap. She's not worth much as is, seems mental to throw that much money into it before selling!

I know and I dont want to but no one is going to buy it as it is realistically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

You'd be very surprised, dd it at a good price and list the with it needs. It'll sell

Has a new battery and plugs. Coils are 'on the list' after getting the remains of the cat out 'somehow', and needs to happen over the summer anyway. Will also need new brake pads at the back soon enough.

Still feels grand.

I know what's causing the problem, it's just the daisy-chain of buying the car, insurance and now tax up at the end of the month has left me with less than the necessary amount of money to fix them

Get a concrete reinforcing bar and literally poke and beat the honeycomb out of the pipe. It's that simple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

You're talking what, 500 quid worth of parts/work to go into it? Not too sure how big the wheels are, but I guess you'll get part worns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Sounds like the main issue is the driveshaft(s). If you're going to sort anything and feel better about selling it, just do this!

Otherwise put it up slightly cheaper and state what needs doing. :)

Get a concrete reinforcing bar and literally poke and beat the honeycomb out of the pipe. It's that simple!

But that's the simple part.

Getting it off the car first.... which means getting the car up enough for me to get under it.

What do I put it up for though price wise? Id be happy if i got 1200 for it. The mechanic didnt seem too worried about the driveshaft bearing yet.
    I can get the mounts for about 110e
    2 part worns 60e
    calipers x2 100e
    front brakes 100e

The rest can feck off.
    The only thing thats making it difficult in my mind is that in less than a year Ill be getting sent off to the US and Europe for weeks on end, maybe 6 months with the new job so do I blow a couple hundred now to fix it all so itll keep me going til then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Did you not buy it as it is?

6 months ago when it wasnt making any noises yes and all seemed ok

You've had it 6 months??? :eek:

In 10 days I will yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

EURO JDM meet on in airside retail park tonight at 10, forecast is warm and dry if anyone is interested.
    https://www.facebook.com/events/730933693637931/

When cars start to go, they go all at once. Seems almost like they're designed that way.

Anyway. I'll be driving down to offally in an hour or so. Anyone finds billowing clouds of oilsmoke or a dead Rx-8 on the M4, say hi to me. ;P

Maybe someone down there will have enough of a jack to lift the Rx enough to get at the cat.

Anyone know somewhere on the northside that has decent partworns in 235/40/R18? Tyreland dont have my size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

When cars start to go, they go all at once. Seems almost like they're designed that way.

Anyway. I'll be driving down to offally in an hour or so. Anyone finds billowing clouds of oilsmoke or a dead Rx-8 on the M4, say hi to me. ;P

Maybe someone down there will have enough of a jack to lift the Rx enough to get at the cat.

Unfortunately it just sounds like you bought a pup :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Anyone know somewhere on the northside that has decent partworns in 235/40/R18? Tyreland dont have my size.

I used to get mine off a Polish guy in Kinsealy next to the driving range, Alex was his name.

Reasonable prices on new and partworn tires.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I used to get mine off a Polish guy in Kinsealy next to the driving range, Alex was his name.

Reasonable prices on new and partworn tires.

Where they good name brands? did he fit them?

He gave me the option of cheap tyres for 20 quid when I was there but he also had good brands. I had him put tyres on the Legend when I first bought it. He has a nice set up, really knows his stuff.

And he does fitting.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    He gave me the option of cheap tyres for 20 quid when I was there but he also had good brands. I had him put tyres on the Legend when I first bought it. He has a nice set up, really knows his stuff.

And he does fitting.

Is this him can yoou remeber: Auto All Services, Unit 3 Kettles lane, Kinsealy, Co. Dublin

Crap, sorry for the late reply - thats not him, but they're there too. He's next door to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Yay, just ordered German Plates for my BMW with BMW AUTOHAUS MÜNCHEN plate surrounds.