UCD students hospitalised after taking "Scuzz"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

It's not something that you take at a concert, a festival, in a nightclub - basically anywhere that you don't know like the back of your hand or where there are people who are unfamiliar.

It's perfect for a good festival like Electric Picnic whereas I'd imagine Oxegen would be the 7th circle of hell. Before yokes took off in this country around 93/94, acid actually would have been the commonest drug people took in nightclubs-I even remember one dude who was around during the cosmic disco era of the early 80s telling me that everyone in the club would be on a mix of heroin and lsd :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

ScumLord wrote: »
    Doubt it, the guards have to have evidence which means they have to find the drugs on you.

Im not sure about that spurious charge but assuming its real, wouldn't a toxicology report suffice?? Of which there is a very public one in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Had a fantastic summers day, many moons ago, on double-dipped 'Strawberries', while enjoying the delightful botanic gardens in Glasnevin :D :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

minotour wrote: »
    Im not sure about that spurious charge but assuming its real, wouldn't a toxicology report suffice?? Of which there is a very public one in this instance.
    Who's to say they weren't spiked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

sabat wrote: »
    I even remember one dude who was around during the cosmic disco era of the early 80s telling me that everyone in the club would be on a mix of heroin and lsd :eek:
    Usually speed & acid ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

minotour wrote: »

Its not illegal to have taken drugs in the past, its illegal to possess drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Who's to say they weren't spiked?

or maybe the big bad dealer didn't force them to take it at gunpoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Why would you leave your house on LSD is the more pertinent question.

To follow the purple dragons into the sunset of course, tsssk. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

drumswan wrote: »
    Its not illegal to have taken drugs in the past, its illegal to possess drugs

thank fook for that or we'd all be looking at some serious porridge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

im glad i'm outta the loop now from all this sh!te.

load of eejits.

in my day, ye would've been happy to sit on a chair in that state - defo wouldnt be going out in public!! hahaah no way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Will the students be charged with consumption of illegal narcotics ?

Consumption of drugs is legal possession of drugs is not. This is how people can openly say they smoke weed but if caught with any thats a crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The problem with some people is they assume all drugs are party drugs. LSD isn't really a going out on the town drug.

Back when shrooms were legal I took a handful and went to the pub. I didn't freak out or anything but I felt terrible and didn't like the crowd. I went into the jacks and had a nice trippy time and said to myself "screw this I'm going home so I can enjoy this".

You're just not going to have a nice time being around a load of drunk strangers when you're on an LSD buzz.
    Couldn't agree more. LSD or mushies should be taken with a few friends in a familiar enviroment, no crowds and preferably small chance of mixing with random strangers, a place with no mirrors, preferably with one friend not taking any, on an empty stomach and not mixed with any other drug including alcohol. It's a great experience if you follow the simple rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Drugs are bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

mikeym wrote: »
    Drugs are bad.

m'kay....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Will the students be charged with consumption of illegal narcotics ?

Do you really think that's how the law works? Surely just a bit of thought makes the concept sound ridiculous to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭donegal.

Fine as long they are not allowed admittance to any hospital if things go wrong.

agree- nobody with tobacco related illness's should be treated :rolleyes:

donegal. wrote: »
    agree- nobody with tobacco related illness's should be treated :rolleyes:

Or anybody who hurts themselves out of their own stupidity. Or anybody who doesn't eat 7 pieces of fruit and vegetables per day. Or anybody drinks alcohol and eats chocolate.

Why should our taxes pay for these careless people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭UCDCritic

For some reason I'm smiling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

micro-dots
    the black ones
    that was an experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    micro-dots
    the black ones
    that was an experience

Particularly when taking a few Es with them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 PND

Anyone stupid enough to knowingly ingest dangerous substances should be denied treatment at all A+E Departments if something goes wrong. The gene pool could do with some cleansing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Do you really think that's how the law works? Surely just a bit of thought makes the concept sound ridiculous to you?

I suppose i find it as ridiculous as purchasing the drug then consuming it yet nothing is done. Yet the person who sold the drug is pursued and charged. The consumer is the one driving demand and financing the higher ups.

I would rather everything is legal but it isn't. Id love to be able to do cocaine, amphetamines, lsd, Ecstasy etc guilt free but i don't. Morally, I can't. These students are funding the black market and, in my mind are responsible for the darker aspects of the whole drugs trade. The students should be punished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

PND wrote: »
    The gene pool could do with some cleansing.
    Thankfully that's not the general attitude those who venture in to the medical profession take with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Sound like some students freaking out. Never heard of such a combination. Wonder if the papers are just headline grabbing. CAKE anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Anyone stupid enough to knowingly ingest dangerous substances should be denied treatment at all A+E Departments if something goes wrong. The gene pool could do with some cleansing.

Agreed.

Will we tip down to the pub for a few pints to celebrate our moral victory? :rolleyes:

Including alcohol, tobacco and large amounts of sugar so? All pretty dangerous. Or do you have an arbitrary danger cut off point that you yourself have decided on?

Agreed.

Will we tip down to the pub for a few pints to celebrate our moral victory? :rolleyes:

Lol. I don't even drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

Including alcohol, tobacco and large amounts of sugar so? All pretty dangerous. Or do you have an arbitrary danger cut off point that you yourself have decided on?
    Presumably any potential sons and daughters of PND would also have to suck it up.

Put that defibrillator down, Dr. Jones. They'll live with their choices.

I repeat: Anyone stupid enough to knowingly ingest dangerous substances should be denied treatment at all A+E Departments if something goes wrong. The gene pool could do with some cleansing.

Lol. I don't even drink.

Do you engage in potentially dangerous activities like crossing the road? Why should our taxes fund you taking these mindless risks?

Lol, I don't even cross roads.