Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCD students hospitalised after taking "Scuzz"

• 15-05-2014 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,115 ✭✭✭✭

Earlier Indo story and latest Irish Times article on this:
    Gardaí have seized LSD drugs from an address in south Dublin which are believed to be those consumed by a number of UCD students hospitalised earlier this week.

The Donnybrook district drug unit carried out a search of a house at Obelisk Walk, Blackrock where the drug, which is a paper-based combination of LSD and methamphetamine and bearing an illustration of the superhero Captain America, was located.

The substance is understood to be that consumed by students who were taken ill on Tuesday with symptoms including extreme and erratic behaviour.
    I have to admit that my first reaction upon reading the first story was to burst out laughing. The stuff is called Scuzz, FFS. That should be your first clue right there, assuming that you are so bloody stupid to ingest some random stuff being given out at a party.

The Darwin Awards are always on the lookuot for new candidates, but if someone dies from this stuff, they probably won't be nominated because it would be just sad, nothing new or interesting for the website. You'd think kids would have copped on by now. :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Thought was something to do with the music channel..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

My first thought that the name Skuzz is all the warning that's needed that it's knocked up in the house of some bloke who is probably also called Skuzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

I highly doubt it was sold as Scuzz. Students were probably told it's acid/LSD, I still find it strange that they haven't released pictures of the stuff though. There's no point in telling people to keep away from ALL drugs indefinitely right after exams finish.

edit: I see the Times do have pictures of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

scuzz has gone awful alternative these these so it has, used to be pure metal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

LSD and methamphetamine .......... symptoms including extreme and erratic behaviour.

well that surprises me, Isd mixed with methamphetamine doesn't usually cause extreme and erratic behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

bnt wrote: »
    assuming that you are so bloody stupid to ingest some random stuff being given out at a party.
    If people weren't stupid enough to ingest random stuff handed out at parties then no one would be doing drugs at parties.

Even the symptoms here sound like a few students that got freaked out by the buzz rather than anything all that bad happening.

orangesoda wrote: »
    scuzz has gone awful alternative these these so it has, used to be pure metal

what like aluminium?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

extreme and erratic behaviour in Blackrock ??

Loike what does that consist of goys ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,115 ✭✭✭✭bnt

ScumLord wrote: »
    If people weren't stupid enough to ingest random stuff handed out at parties then no one would be doing drugs at parties.

Even the symptoms here sound like a few students that got freaked out by the buzz rather than anything all that bad happening.
    "freaked out" sounds about right. One kid went mental on Grafton St., emergency personnel couldn't restrain him, and the police had to cart him off to a cell to come down. Not exactly harmless student antics.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nice to see acid making its long awaited comeback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

Should just let drugs be produced and consumed legally and be done with it. People's choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Nidge is surely the man here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

scutts the lot of them..:D

"freaked out" sounds about right. One kid went mental on Grafton St., emergency personnel couldn't restrain him, and the police had to cart him off to a cell to come down. Not exactly harmless student antics.
    The problem with some people is they assume all drugs are party drugs. LSD isn't really a going out on the town drug.

Back when shrooms were legal I took a handful and went to the pub. I didn't freak out or anything but I felt terrible and didn't like the crowd. I went into the jacks and had a nice trippy time and said to myself "screw this I'm going home so I can enjoy this".

You're just not going to have a nice time being around a load of drunk strangers when you're on an LSD buzz.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Earlier Indo story and latest Irish Times article on this:

I have to admit that my first reaction upon reading the first story was to burst out laughing. The stuff is called Scuzz, FFS. That should be your first clue right there, assuming that you are so bloody stupid to ingest some random stuff being given out at a party.

The Darwin Awards are always on the lookuot for new candidates, but if someone dies from this stuff, they probably won't be nominated because it would be just sad, nothing new or interesting for the website. You'd think kids would have copped on by now. :rolleyes:

Our "brightest and best" GOB****ES. A few years ago they were probably whining about the Leaving Cert being too hard and not getting the points for their Arts course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Should just let drugs be produced and consumed legally and be done with it. People's choice.

You ever seen a PCP high?

The problem with some people is they assume all drugs are party drugs. LSD isn't really a going out on the town drug.

Back when shrooms were legal I took a handful and went to the pub. I didn't freak out or anything but I felt terrible and didn't like the crowd. I went into the jacks and had a nice trippy time and said to myself "screw this I'm going home so I can enjoy this".

You're just not going to have a nice time being around a load of drunk strangers when you're on an LSD buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Whats the story here, UCD or Scuzz?

From what i can tell its a bunch of young adults took a powerful bump, weren't able for it, gone into recovery and will likely be back for more, cause that's how it works. If it was 2 trainee mechanics, one apprentice plumber, 2 wasters and a miscellaneous, would they even bother with this story? Dont they remember Uni themselves?

The conservative outrage on the indo comments section is particularly funny and detached from reality.

minotour wrote: »
    Dont they remember Uni themselves?
    Probably not, any journalist student I met seemed to think heavy drug use was a prerequisite of the career path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭AdolfHipster

Who in their loike, roish mind would do such a pov sounding drug?

Whats the story here, UCD or Scuzz?

From what i can tell its a bunch of young adults took a powerful bump, weren't able for it, gone into recovery and will likely be back for more, cause that's how it works. If it was 2 trainee mechanics, one apprentice plumber, 2 wasters and a miscellaneous, would they even bother with this story? Dont they remember Uni themselves?

The conservative outrage on the indo comments section is particularly funny and detached from reality.

The 2 trainee mechanics, one apprentice plumber, 2 wasters and a miscellaneous would need to die to get this sort of coverage

I've never taken LSD and it's not something I really have any desire to ever take either, I have alwasy been under the impression that it's the type of thing you take in your living room with your mates, or on your own. It's not something that you take at a concert, a festival, in a nightclub - basically anywhere that you don't know like the back of your hand or where there are people who are unfamiliar.

I thought this was a well known thing about LSD, I guess not.

Hope everyone recovers fully anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Why would you leave your house on LSD is the more pertinent question. Sounds like a bunch of first years took it for the first time and panicked. They were all released so no harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Will the students be charged with consumption of illegal narcotics ?

Any idea where they were from generally? Can't be muckers, we built up LSD immunity through some fiercely questionable mushrooms long before University was on the radar....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Uh, did you just make that charge up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Fine as long they are not allowed admittance to any hospital if things go wrong.

I've never taken LSD and it's not something I really have any desire to ever take either, I have alwasy been under the impression that it's the type of thing you take in your living room with your mates, or on your own.
    It would be but LSD isn't nearly as potent as it's made out to be. You have to take a fair amount of it to completely lose the run of yourself, for the most part one dose is only enough to give you mild visuals and a happy feeling.

You can take it at a concert and have good results, I've seen it done but you'd want a bit of experience under your belt. It would be a nicer setting than the streets of Dublin.

Fine as long they are not allowed admittance to any hospital if things go wrong.

Don't troll this forum.

Doubt it, the guards have to have evidence which means they have to find the drugs on you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

It's not something that you take at a concert, a festival, in a nightclub - basically anywhere that you don't know like the back of your hand or where there are people who are unfamiliar.

It's perfect for a good festival like Electric Picnic whereas I'd imagine Oxegen would be the 7th circle of hell. Before yokes took off in this country around 93/94, acid actually would have been the commonest drug people took in nightclubs-I even remember one dude who was around during the cosmic disco era of the early 80s telling me that everyone in the club would be on a mix of heroin and lsd :eek:

Doubt it, the guards have to have evidence which means they have to find the drugs on you.

Im not sure about that spurious charge but assuming its real, wouldn't a toxicology report suffice?? Of which there is a very public one in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Had a fantastic summers day, many moons ago, on double-dipped 'Strawberries', while enjoying the delightful botanic gardens in Glasnevin :D :cool:

Im not sure about that spurious charge but assuming its real, wouldn't a toxicology report suffice?? Of which there is a very public one in this instance.
    Who's to say they weren't spiked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

sabat wrote: »
    I even remember one dude who was around during the cosmic disco era of the early 80s telling me that everyone in the club would be on a mix of heroin and lsd :eek:
    Usually speed & acid ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Its not illegal to have taken drugs in the past, its illegal to possess drugs

Who's to say they weren't spiked?

or maybe the big bad dealer didn't force them to take it at gunpoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Why would you leave your house on LSD is the more pertinent question.

To follow the purple dragons into the sunset of course, tsssk. :rolleyes:

drumswan wrote: »
    Its not illegal to have taken drugs in the past, its illegal to possess drugs

thank fook for that or we'd all be looking at some serious porridge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

im glad i'm outta the loop now from all this sh!te.

load of eejits.

in my day, ye would've been happy to sit on a chair in that state - defo wouldnt be going out in public!! hahaah no way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Consumption of drugs is legal possession of drugs is not. This is how people can openly say they smoke weed but if caught with any thats a crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Couldn't agree more. LSD or mushies should be taken with a few friends in a familiar enviroment, no crowds and preferably small chance of mixing with random strangers, a place with no mirrors, preferably with one friend not taking any, on an empty stomach and not mixed with any other drug including alcohol. It's a great experience if you follow the simple rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Drugs are bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

mikeym wrote: »
    Drugs are bad.

m'kay....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Do you really think that's how the law works? Surely just a bit of thought makes the concept sound ridiculous to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

agree- nobody with tobacco related illness's should be treated :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

donegal. wrote: »
    agree- nobody with tobacco related illness's should be treated :rolleyes:

Or anybody who hurts themselves out of their own stupidity. Or anybody who doesn't eat 7 pieces of fruit and vegetables per day. Or anybody drinks alcohol and eats chocolate.

Why should our taxes pay for these careless people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭UCDCritic

For some reason I'm smiling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

micro-dots
    the black ones
    that was an experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭Heroditas

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    micro-dots
    the black ones
    that was an experience

Particularly when taking a few Es with them!