Should be Beyonce's sister be impriosoned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭diveout

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    My knowledge is far from trivial. You are saying he could potentially have renal failure and need surgery, I said there is no such evidence, so your point is irrelevant and a judge would not consider it in court.

I was speaking generally about such an assault, which you seem to think is not such a big deal.

And a judge might absolutely consider it in court, more importantly a jury would, especially if it comprises mothers of sons. If I were the DA, that's who I'd select for my jury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Should we care?

Fecking on the news this morning - a story about nothing, about someone who has no relevance to our lives and which will affect our daily goings on today by approx 0%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

diveout wrote: »
    No one said she did have sexual intent.

If you kick someone in their sexual organs, it will be considered a sexual assault in US jursdictions.

Sexual assault is any involuntary sexual act in which a person is threatened, coerced, or forced to engage against their will, or any sexual touching of a person who has not consented. This includes rape (such as forced vaginal, anal or oral penetration), groping, forced kissing, child sexual abuse, or the torture of the victim in a sexual manner.
    In legal terms, sexual assault is a statutory offense in various jurisdictions, including United States, Canada, England and Wales, Ireland, and Scotland. The legal definition of the crime of sexual assault is determined by each jurisdiction. Specific legal jurisdictions and research often use highly technical or detailed definitions of the term. In some places, such as New South Wales, the crime of sexual assault has replaced the traditional crime of rape, and is being defined as non-consensual penetrative sex.

From Wikapedia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

'Steada treated,
    We get tricked!

'steada kisses
    We get kicked!

it's a hard knock life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

At least we're really getting to the kernel of these world issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I was speaking generally about such an assault, which you seem to think is not such a big deal.

And a judge might absolutely consider it in court, more importantly a jury would, especially if it comprises mothers of sons. If I were the DA, that's who I'd select for my jury.

Please point out where I said it was no big deal? I disputed your choice of the word "violent", which I'm sure many would given the footage.

If he chooses to press charges for assault, more power to him, and rightfully so, because she did assault him.

However, she did NOT sexually assault him.

Also, I'm sure mothers of sons have far bigger fears for the children than them getting a kick in the balls. Jesus wept. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Imprisoned?

How about we do it the old fashioned way. Charge her with assault, give her a fair trial and if convicted hand out a sentence based on the laws of that jurisdiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Anyone else figure this was a set-up to get the Jay-Z lookalike some publicity?

The ol' "bad girl" image a la Rihanna? Beyoncé acting like butter wouldn't melt in the background so she doesn't tarnish her own carefully crafted image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

Quote:
    Originally Posted by WhiteRoses View Post
    You clearly have no legal knowledge because a judge would laugh that claim out of court. It is NOT reasonably forseeable that should a man be kicked in the balls, he will have renal failure and need re-constructive surgery. An absolute minute chance of it happening. A judge will not rule on something that MAY happen, or have potential to happen, it has to have actually occurred and I'm sure we'd all have heard by now if Jay-Z had backed up kidneys.

It isn't sexual assault because there was no sexual motive, the motive was to cause pain, (trespass to the person tort, and an assault) therefore you are clutching at straws claiming it to be sexual.

Also if you think those weak slaps and kicks were "violent" I suggest you read up some case files from the criminal court because I've seen a better fight from two pigeons fighting over a crust of bread. You are blowing this way out of proportion.
    I have plenty of legal knowledge on US jurisdictions my dear and you are very very wrong.

really i find that hard to believe. could you reference some case law where this was shown to be the judges position?

sorry i messed up posting that i ment to post the original post by whiteroses and your reply, i was not implying you do not have plenty of knoledge on the US legal system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Watching that attack no I don't think so.

Doesn't matter what Jay-Z did at all, attacking someone like hat is not on.

She's want some anger management classes. If she done it again I'd say yes. People who are that violent are a danger to others.

She is a danger to Jay-Z.

Please point out where I said it was no big deal? I disputed your choice of the word "violent", which I'm sure many would given the footage.

If he chooses to press charges for assault, more power to him, and rightfully so, because she did assault him.

However, she did NOT sexually assault him.

Also, I'm sure mothers of sons have far bigger fears for the children than them getting a kick in the balls. Jesus wept. :rolleyes:

Oh gosh. In the US, due to the 'war on domestic violence' it is no longer a personal preference of the victim to decide whether or not to prosecute. It is up the state once the assault is reported.

The victim can try to talk to the prosecutor but that is where the power ends.

As a mother of a boy who had surgery twice followed by two consecutive kicks in the region by a small girl, I can tell you I take this very seriously. So save your sarcastic smilies and your trivialisation of assault for someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

So what made the sister flip the lid like that.

She was probably defending Beyonce's honour. Jumping in for her sista and all.

So, what did Jay Z do to make the sister so upset? Did he try and have a lash at her himself. Or was he trying it on with some other chic and the sister got word of it and decided to give him a kick in the nads to teach him a lesson.

jay Z did was a bold boy. The way Beyonce stood off and let the sister attack tells a story. Most partners (male or female) will come to the rescue when the OH is threatened. Beyonce did nothing. She supported the attack. Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

who cares why or what beyone did?

If Jay Z had lashes out at beyonce or teh sister in the same manner - there would be outrage and no silly jokes about 100 problems etc...

we have sexual equality for a reason.
    Lets see it in action.

oddly I read now the hotel are looking to sue the person who realised the video for invasion of privacy.
    yes because that's more important than highlightly an attack on somebody.

If Jay Z had lashes out at beyonce or teh sister in the same manner - there woudl be outrage and no silly jokes about 100 problems etc...

Lets see it in action.

oddly I read now the hotel are looking to sue the person who realised the video for invasion of privacy.

Who's "we" exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

If Jay Z had lashes out at beyonce or teh sister in the same manner - there woudl be outrage and no silly jokes about 100 problems etc...

Lets see it in action.

This has nothing to do with equality unless you can prove that it would be different if a man was attacking.

As for the hotel wanting to sue someone, it makes perfect sense. They are not involved in what happened in the lift, so have no obligations there. But they do have an obligation to their customers. And if their customers know they have no privacy in the hotel, they won't go there, which will lose them a f*ck load of money.

As for sexual assault, wouldn't that also mean proven she intended to kick him in the nuts? Because from the footage she was flailing wildly and not trying to target any specific area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So, let me get this straight....

A woman pnches her bf/husband/whatever, and AH instantly assumes that the abuse is sexual and it's attempted murder...?

Well done AH. Well done. Now sto preading the tabloids.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Oh gosh. In the US, due to the 'war on domestic violence' it is no longer a personal preference of the victim to decide whether or not to prosecute. It is up the state once the assault is reported.

The victim can try to talk to the prosecutor but that is where the power ends.

Well if the victim won't co-operate and give statements or evidence in court, the case will be a difficult one - one I'd suggest that police would drop, whatever their grand policy statements.
    As a mother of a boy who had surgery twice followed by two consecutive kicks in the region by a small girl, I can tell you I take this very seriously. So save your sarcastic smilies and your trivialisation of assault for someone else
    I think the sarcastic smiles and the trivilisation was connected to your insistance that this was a sexual assault. You are not suggesting that these two assaults on your son were sexual assaults?

humanji wrote: »
    This has nothing to do with equality unless you can prove that it would be different if a man was attacking.

As for the hotel wanting to sue someone, it makes perfect sense. They are not involved in what happened in the lift, so have no obligations there. But they do have an obligation to their customers. And if their customers know they have no privacy in the hotel, they won't go there, which will lose them a f*ck load of money.

As for sexual assault, wouldn't that also mean proven she intended to kick him in the nuts? Because from the footage she was flailing wildly and not trying to target any specific area.

I thought when I saw you were the last poster that this would be locked and moved to the celebrity forum! :D

So, let me get this straight....

A woman pnches her bf/husband/whatever, and AH instantly assumes that the abuse is sexual and it's attempted murder...?

Well done AH. Well done. Now sto preading the tabloids.

AH? No, it's Jay Z.

Swear we all think with the one mind around here!

Maphisto wrote: »
    Well if the victim won't co-operate and give statements or evidence in court, the case will be a difficult one - one I'd suggest that police would drop, whatever their grand policy statements.

This case is a little more complicated because no one reported the incident - it was a leak. I don't know what the cops do in a case like this. Usually when it is reported, the victim obviously gives a statement. They have all sorts of laws for obstruction of justice etc, which can bend the arm to make someone talk if they want. But this is NYC, so probably would get nothing but disturbing the peace or something like that even if she took a machete to him.
    Maphisto wrote: »
    I think the sarcastic smiles and the trivilisation was connected to your insistance that this was a sexual assault.

THis is what s/he said:
    "Also, I'm sure mothers of sons have far bigger fears for the children than them getting a kick in the balls. Jesus wept. [sarcastic smiley]"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I don't know how he restrained himself enough not to hit her, he would have been well within his rights to bust her jaw after that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Cazzoenorme

farmchoice wrote: »
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by WhiteRoses View Post
    You clearly have no legal knowledge because a judge would laugh that claim out of court. It is NOT reasonably forseeable that should a man be kicked in the balls, he will have renal failure and need re-constructive surgery. An absolute minute chance of it happening. A judge will not rule on something that MAY happen, or have potential to happen, it has to have actually occurred and I'm sure we'd all have heard by now if Jay-Z had backed up kidneys.

It isn't sexual assault because there was no sexual motive, the motive was to cause pain, (trespass to the person tort, and an assault) therefore you are clutching at straws claiming it to be sexual.

Also if you think those weak slaps and kicks were "violent" I suggest you read up some case files from the criminal court because I've seen a better fight from two pigeons fighting over a crust of bread. You are blowing this way out of proportion.

really i find that hard to believe. could you reference some case law where this was shown to be the judges position?

sorry i messed up posting that i ment to post the original post by whiteroses and your reply, i was not implying you do not have plenty of knoledge on the US legal system.

There was a motive to assault sexual organs, therefore it's sexual assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Beyoncé, for all her talk of keeping it real etc, is as fake as a Taiwanese tooth fairy. The way she stood there just fixing her dress and not even engaging in it all says a lot. She's either media savvy as hell and knew there could possibly be CCTV in the lift and her image comes above all else or she's just got ice running through her veins. I wonder what it was about....

This case is a little more complicated because no one reported the incident - it was a leak. I don't know what the cops do in a case like this. Usually when it is reported, the victim obviously gives a statement. They have all sorts of laws for obstruction of justice etc, which can bend the arm to make someone talk if they want. But this is NYC, so probably would get nothing but disturbing the peace or something like that even if she took a machete to him.

THis is what s/he said:
    "Also, I'm sure mothers of sons have far bigger fears for the children than them getting a kick in the balls. Jesus wept. [sarcastic smiley]"

And I stand by what I said. I am also a mother and this is not a high concern on my list. I understand you feel differently, and rightly so, because of the suffering your son endured. I am sorry for what you both went through but I don't take it back. My child getting a whack in the genitals has never been high on my list of concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

One rule for one gender and one rule for another...

If Jay-Z smacked, kicked and spat at a female he would not be free to walk the streets this morning and there would be all sorts of serious ramifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

My child getting a whack in the genitals has never been high on my list of concerns.

But it would be if it happened!

There was a motive to assault sexual organs, therefore it's sexual assault

That is not the definition of sexual assault. The motive was clearly to inflict pain, not to sexually abuse him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Cazzoenorme

And I stand by what I said. I am also a mother and this is not a high concern on my list. I understand you feel differently, and rightly so, because of the suffering your son endured. I am sorry for what you both went through but I don't take it back. My child getting a whack in the genitals has never been high on my list of concerns.

Great, fantastic, it's still sexual assault.

Well it will be one day. One day when he is lounging around naked with swollen purple testicles and you have to take him in for a urology scan.

And even if it isn't your worry, don't assume it isn't a worthwhile one or scoff at people who talk this assault seriously.

Im sure if someone kicked you in the vagina you wouldn't be so flippant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Merkin wrote: »
    Beyoncé, for all her talk of keeping it real etc, is as fake as a Taiwanese tooth fairy. The way she stood there just fixing her dress and not even engaging in it all says a lot. She's either media savvy as hell and knew there could possibly be CCTV in the lift and her image comes above all else or she's just got ice running through her veins. I wonder what it was about....

Yeah, it was so weird how she just stood there without even attempting to break up the fight and then emerged from the lift all serene with a Miss America smile plastered on her face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

DarkJager wrote: »
    I don't know how he restrained himself enough not to hit her, he would have been well within his rights to bust her jaw after that.
    Good lord.