Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Aston Villa up for sale, Jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

whats the latest on lallana ? smashing player and provides great competition for coutinihos position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Grayditch wrote: »

Wow, scary time for the Villains right now. Could be the next Leeds, sincerely hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Could honestly see a midfield trio for England of Gerrard, Henderson, and Lallana in the World Cup.

Might be a nice insight into perhaps what is to come, albeit a Roy Hodgson blighted insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

naughtb4 wrote: »
    People realise another 19 teams didn't win the league as well yeah?

yeah but they didn't celebrate like they won it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Was very impressed with Will Hughes yesterday, by the way. Looks a very smart player

Good news, get the business done early. Give Rodgers time to work with players after the WC. No time spent messing around with transfers. I have a feeling a lot of the spadework for this summers window was done in January.

Leftist wrote: »

Because they were nowhere near to doing so?

Arsenal celebrated coming forth last year far more than any Liverpool fan celebrated coming 2nd this season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Was very impressed with Will Hughes yesterday, by the way. Looks a very smart player

A beautiful goal too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,630 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Liverpool celebrating like we won it:confused:. We are celebrating a great year after last year

Knex. wrote: »

Arsenal celebrated coming forth last year far more than any Liverpool fan celebrated coming 2nd this season.

But there's a trophy for finishing fourth ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

mike65 wrote: »
    Whither Borini?

Good spot. Definate keep, would be a great bench option, and lead the line in cup games or as injury cover. He's proven both his ability and character...

Yep, I watched the game and he was very good, didn't get badly outmuscled as I thought he could. I would suggest if they come up, we agree a deal and loan him back for their first season. Let him learn how the Prem works in a comfortable environment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Dickerty wrote: »
    Yep, I watched the game and he was very good, didn't get badly outmuscled as I thought he could. I would suggest if they come up, we agree a deal and loan him back for their first season. Let him learn how the Prem works in a comfortable environment.

We need players now, I'd rather that 10/12m went on a player who would feature next season.

Assuming the price is right, I have no issue with him. Be interesting to see exactly where he plays, and at who's expense. A front 4 of him and the SSS, with Hendo and Stevie behind?

Does this mean no Kono, or other big attacking name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Liverpool fans didn't seriously think they had the league won back in early April. The "celebrating" was clearly tongue in cheek/taking the p**s form of banter. A fact sadly lost on most other fan bases. Are we the only ones with a sense of humour?

We need players now, I'd rather that 10/12m went on a player who would feature next season.

I didn't say he'd be our only signing, just saying that he looks like a real player, and would be best served by cutting his teeth as a regular for them, while already secured to come to us the following year...

Assuming the price is right, I have no issue with him. Be interesting to see exactly where he plays, and at who's expense. A front 4 of him and the SSS, with Hendo and Stevie behind?

At who's expense? well means Coutinho,Sterling and Lallana can rotate (if Lallana is signed)

Also means we can rest Henderson for some games.

I don't think it means an end to Konopylanka interest, if he is still available and wants to come to us then why not.

Still think we need to invest in a commanding CB (a la Terry Kompany - don't think Sahko is that type of player yet). Skrtel's concentration is an issue, as much as I love him. And Johnson drifts in games. his positioning is poor (it always has been to be honest) and his passing this year has been atrocious.

We need a good CM too who will be eventual replacement for Gerrard. I think Lucas must accept his role as squad player/backup now, wouldn't have said that 9 months ago ...shows how Gerrard has grown into his new role. Unsure who we should go for there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

difference being that arsenal actually got it before they celebrated.
    gimli2112 wrote: »
    Liverpool fans didn't seriously think they had the league won back in early April. The "celebrating" was clearly tongue in cheek/taking the p**s form of banter. A fact sadly lost on most other fan bases. Are we the only ones with a sense of humour?

so it was a joke? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

Reckon Will Hughes could be a possible signing for Liverpool in the summer as the rumours go. Also talks that Flanagan has made the England squad for the world cup.

Would have to say I'd def bring Ashley Cole over him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

I suspect not. Even with Cl football next year I dont think we will see big name signings coming in imo. The owners will want to continue their policy of identifying players of a certain profile and I think Rodgers will too.

Hope I'm wrong but I think Lallana (if true) will probably be as exciting as it gets.

slingerz wrote: »
    Reckon Will Hughes could be a possible signing for Liverpool in the summer as the rumours go. Also talks that Flanagan has made the England squad for the world cup.

Would have to say I'd def bring Ashley Cole over him

Cole hasn't played many games since January though, 4 appearances or something like that.

Don't think Flanagan should be going either, but then he is a good utility player can do a job on either flank if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Thank Jesus the World Cup is on this summer. I could not abide 3-4 months of pure transfer speculation. Horrific, is the only way to describe it.
    Said that to a mate last night - End of July / Start of August is going to be awful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Grayditch wrote: »
    I doubt many on Boards care, Greyditch.

Sure didn't their own 'fans' cheer on the opposition at the end of last season:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

But there's a trophy for finishing fourth ;)
    Good man, Turtyturd, for sponsoring that trophy this year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I'm not 100% on this but I'm fairly sure you're wrong about needing the 14 wins I'm a row. Wouldn't a draw with Chelsea and 2 wins have done it?

To be fair at one stage Liverpool were 1/6 to win the league. That's virtually what you'd regard as a certainty. Failure to then win it given that must be a huge disappointment.

My point is just that because Liverpool improved so much this year, there's no guarantee they'll build on it and I think ultimately they'll look back at this season with huge regret. Just my opinion

But the stats had us at about a 16% or 1 in 6 chance about February. It was in our hands for 2 games after we beat City, that was about it and considering what we were up against, inexperience and lack of squad depth, we were still the underdogs. It's hardly as if we blew a 8 point lead or anything like that.

If anybody blew it, it was Chelsea. They had the points on board 6 weeks ago, all that experience of CL and PL wins, the squad, money and Jose. All that and all they could do was park the bus against us.

Most of the people who say we blew it never seriously thought we'd be in a position to seriously challenge, so pinch of salt and all that. Indeed the same people thought a few months back we'd blow 4th so, stopped clock and all that.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

gafferino wrote: »
    I suspect not. Even with Cl football next year I dont think we will see big name signings coming in imo. The owners will want to continue their policy of identifying players of a certain profile and I think Rodgers will too.

Hope I'm wrong but I think Lallana (if true) will probably be as exciting as it gets.

Rodgers has already said we'll sing some defensive players. He must recognise the different for City and Chelsea in having real leaders in defense. He doesn't have that yet, his most experienced defenders are not reliable in a crisis.

I have no doubt that we'll sign a big-time CB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

D'Agger wrote: »
    Said that to a mate last night - End of July / Start of August is going to be awful!

None of you lads into GAA? The hurling season last year was a gift from the gods- I just dipped in and out of this mad house and transfer gossip as I had the joys of Limerick hurling to raise me up and kick me in the boll*x. So with the World Cup and GAA I don't expect to check in here until mid August ;) and avoid all the silly season nonsense...

Hopefully tho, one or two targets are sorted before the WC as prices and interest can rise after a decent showing.

difference being that arsenal actually got it before they celebrated.

2 places below where we finished now? You can't justify one and not the other.

I don't care that Arsenal celebrated. They beat their rivals to 4th spot when it previously didn't look like they would.

Liverpool's turn of fortune and run since January was as good, if not better than Arsenal's and far from what was expected. Of course fans got excited and celebrated something that was unprecedented for many in their time supporting the Club.

The whole, "Ye're the worst fans/too big for your boots/haha look at ye now" thing is fucking farcical.

Smacks of jealously and pettiness. We enjoyed our season, as we are fully entitled to do. Get the fuck over it.