What would you like to see in the new and improved Gardaí?

• 11-05-2014 11:00PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭

I'd like them to see them give lifts home from the pub if there's not much happening, any ideas yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pet rescue services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

A police force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Go faster stripes on their hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

shorter skirts and bigger diddys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Fast food delivery service, would get the pizzas at least an extra 5 degree hotter as they can break red lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Vaulting over car bonnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Vaulting over car bonnets.

**** yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd like them to see them give lifts home from the pub if there's not much happening, any ideas yourself?
    I used to always get lifts home in the squad car.

Oh the banter we used to have.

'Should you cnuts not be out fighting crime?' I drunkenly jibe them

'Shut yer fcuking mouth or we'll start with you ya drunken wastard' they used to retort.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

I'd like them (and the law) to come down hard on the amount of scum roaming around Dublin. Packs of feral children, junkies, groups of inbred-looking knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Casual acceptance of bribes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I'd like a special task force set up to clamp down on posts completely exaggerating the crime situation in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

shorter skirts and bigger diddys

I'd buy that for a dollar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Put them on motorcycles and act as police, judge, jury and executioners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Hogan24

The word "vehicle" pronounced properly!

kneemos wrote: »
    Casual acceptance of bribes.

Would this be defined as new?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

More gardai dancing to Pharrel's Happy while on the beat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

No point in reforming the guards without reform of the justice system. Catch more criminals and then a judge give someone with 50 previous convictions a slap on the a wrist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

A bit of energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I'd like to see them given adequate resources and manpower to do their jobs, I'd like to see them given the support of their superiors and government. I'd like to see them open and cooperative to scrutiny and audit by GSOC and given all that I'd just like them to work hard and do the ****in job we pay them to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

An education for rural garda moving to Dublin. In experience rural Gardas assume everyone in Dublin carries knives( I dont give the slightest impression of a "scumbag", I apparently have a posh Dublin accent and never have owned a tracksuit). But yet I have been randomly stopped on nights out to ask me do I have a knife on my.

Also rurals garda refusing to sign forms as they dont personally know you. It isnt West Cork, where you know everyone. There is over 1.5 million in Dublin. You cant know everyone on a first name bases Plus most rural garda see Dublin something similar to south central LA(a crime riddled **** hole)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

All Guards should be banned from Coppers they seem to go in there as good honest culchies wanting to make a difference in the world but come out the other side with an STI and some brain damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

hfallada wrote: »
    Plus most rural garda see Dublin something similar to south central LA(a crime riddled **** hole)

It might as well be compared to the rest of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

hfallada wrote: »
    An education for rural garda moving to Dublin. In experience rural Gardas assume everyone in Dublin carries knives( I dont give the slightest impression of a "scumbag", I apparently have a posh Dublin accent and never have owned a tracksuit). But yet I have been randomly stopped on nights out to ask me do I have a knife on my.

Also rurals garda refusing to sign forms as they dont personally know you. It isnt West Cork, where you know everyone. There is over 1.5 million in Dublin. You cant know everyone on a first name bases Plus most rural garda see Dublin something similar to south central LA(a crime riddled **** hole)

So rural guards only??
    The "rural" guards are dealing with the Dublin scum all day long, I don't think they need an education on how lovely the city is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

No corruption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Reform of the courts service so that they send people who need to be excluded from society to prison with sentences that are appropriately long and proper community service.

Reform of the prison service so that the above can be accomplished.

Lapel cameras for all Gardaí dealing with the public as part of a modernisation of evidence gathering (i.e. no more transcribing interviews from tapes). Tasers following cameras for members who are routinely isolated with help typically 20+ mins as away result of the fall in numbers.

Reiver wrote: »
    Guns.

I heard they have taken stock of these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The forms thing... While not high on the agenda is a bit of an odd one... A few years ago went into Pearce St to get a form signed... The big ginger culchie on the desk who was barely able to string a sentence together once I disturbed his almost slumber was almost comedic.. "Can't sign it don't know ye, your not from around here"

ME: well I dont know you either.. I'm in doing some shopping in town I just need the form signed..

HIM: ave to go ta yer local station.

ME:I don't know anyone there either

HIM: well they might know you

ME: They don't, if they would do I get a discount

HIM: no

ME: grand so sorry to disturb you.

HIM: grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I'd like a special task force set up to clamp down on posts completely exaggerating the crime situation in Dublin.

Ure in da nile bud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Mandatory fitness levels and tests