Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you like to see in the new and improved Gardaí?

• 11-05-2014 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭

I'd like them to see them give lifts home from the pub if there's not much happening, any ideas yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pet rescue services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

A police force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Go faster stripes on their hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

shorter skirts and bigger diddys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Fast food delivery service, would get the pizzas at least an extra 5 degree hotter as they can break red lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Vaulting over car bonnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Vaulting over car bonnets.

**** yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd like them to see them give lifts home from the pub if there's not much happening, any ideas yourself?
    I used to always get lifts home in the squad car.

Oh the banter we used to have.

'Should you cnuts not be out fighting crime?' I drunkenly jibe them

'Shut yer fcuking mouth or we'll start with you ya drunken wastard' they used to retort.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

I'd like them (and the law) to come down hard on the amount of scum roaming around Dublin. Packs of feral children, junkies, groups of inbred-looking knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Casual acceptance of bribes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I'd like a special task force set up to clamp down on posts completely exaggerating the crime situation in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I'd buy that for a dollar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Put them on motorcycles and act as police, judge, jury and executioners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Hogan24

The word "vehicle" pronounced properly!

kneemos wrote: »
    Casual acceptance of bribes.

Would this be defined as new?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

More gardai dancing to Pharrel's Happy while on the beat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

No point in reforming the guards without reform of the justice system. Catch more criminals and then a judge give someone with 50 previous convictions a slap on the a wrist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

A bit of energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,198 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I'd like to see them given adequate resources and manpower to do their jobs, I'd like to see them given the support of their superiors and government. I'd like to see them open and cooperative to scrutiny and audit by GSOC and given all that I'd just like them to work hard and do the ****in job we pay them to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

An education for rural garda moving to Dublin. In experience rural Gardas assume everyone in Dublin carries knives( I dont give the slightest impression of a "scumbag", I apparently have a posh Dublin accent and never have owned a tracksuit). But yet I have been randomly stopped on nights out to ask me do I have a knife on my.

Also rurals garda refusing to sign forms as they dont personally know you. It isnt West Cork, where you know everyone. There is over 1.5 million in Dublin. You cant know everyone on a first name bases Plus most rural garda see Dublin something similar to south central LA(a crime riddled **** hole)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

All Guards should be banned from Coppers they seem to go in there as good honest culchies wanting to make a difference in the world but come out the other side with an STI and some brain damage.

hfallada wrote: »
    Plus most rural garda see Dublin something similar to south central LA(a crime riddled **** hole)

It might as well be compared to the rest of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

An education for rural garda moving to Dublin. In experience rural Gardas assume everyone in Dublin carries knives( I dont give the slightest impression of a "scumbag", I apparently have a posh Dublin accent and never have owned a tracksuit). But yet I have been randomly stopped on nights out to ask me do I have a knife on my.

Also rurals garda refusing to sign forms as they dont personally know you. It isnt West Cork, where you know everyone. There is over 1.5 million in Dublin. You cant know everyone on a first name bases Plus most rural garda see Dublin something similar to south central LA(a crime riddled **** hole)

So rural guards only??
    The "rural" guards are dealing with the Dublin scum all day long, I don't think they need an education on how lovely the city is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

No corruption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Reform of the courts service so that they send people who need to be excluded from society to prison with sentences that are appropriately long and proper community service.

Reform of the prison service so that the above can be accomplished.

Lapel cameras for all Gardaí dealing with the public as part of a modernisation of evidence gathering (i.e. no more transcribing interviews from tapes). Tasers following cameras for members who are routinely isolated with help typically 20+ mins as away result of the fall in numbers.

Reiver wrote: »
    Guns.

I heard they have taken stock of these

The forms thing... While not high on the agenda is a bit of an odd one... A few years ago went into Pearce St to get a form signed... The big ginger culchie on the desk who was barely able to string a sentence together once I disturbed his almost slumber was almost comedic.. "Can't sign it don't know ye, your not from around here"

ME: well I dont know you either.. I'm in doing some shopping in town I just need the form signed..

HIM: ave to go ta yer local station.

ME:I don't know anyone there either

HIM: well they might know you

ME: They don't, if they would do I get a discount

HIM: no

ME: grand so sorry to disturb you.

HIM: grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I'd like a special task force set up to clamp down on posts completely exaggerating the crime situation in Dublin.

Ure in da nile bud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Mandatory fitness levels and tests

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

.... most rural garda see Dublin something similar to south central LA(a crime riddled **** hole)

It is an utter ****ing kip compared to most of the rest of the country to be fair.

I hate having to go up there for any reason. So many scumbags. I don't know how tourists deal with it, it'd be like going to America and only visiting central Detroit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I would like to see them open their eyes. Especially in dubh linn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I'd like to see some police brutality administered to criminals they know the courts won't deal with properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Id like to see them as an actual deterrant. I'd have them armed and taking no **** whatsoever.

Id also like to actually see them, a regular visual presence.

Maybe create a new armed force that deals exclusively with street law enforcement and deterring crime and leave community policing to the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

and what would you like to see the women gardai wear ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I think you've been watching the eurovision song contest winner a bit too much...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Rest assured you could make them fascist as you like and people on boards.ie would not say, that still wasn't enough.

Most countries hate their police force and refer to them as road nazi's (USA), we're very lucky in comparison. A little power is too much power, and it's a slippery slope to nowhere

Dublin is not Mega City One.

It is an utter ****ing kip compared to most of the rest of the country to be fair.

I reckon Athlone, Limerick and plenty of other places in this remarkably (or relatively, whatever) safe country have a higher proportion of undesirables than the capital.
    I hate having to go up there for any reason.

So do yer christmas shopping elsewhere, get another job, fly out of Knock. Jeesh.
    So many scumbags. I don't know how tourists deal with it
    They come back in their droves every year.
    it'd be like going to America and only visiting central Detroit.

I think you'll find central Detroit to be ok actually. No. It would be like going to America and visiting Boston. Sure, Southie and Charlestown have a bad reputation, but the Somerville, Brighton and Cambridge areas as well as the suburbs are great places to be. The people are ridiculously friendly also. So that's a closer fit I reckon. I'd sooner compare Limerick to Detroit, a chara.

donvito99 wrote: »
    I'd sooner compare Limerick to Detroit, a chara.

More Limerick bashing. In my fifth year here and only had one or two minor incidents occur. Seen worse in Ennis and Dublin when I was in for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I hate having to go up there for any reason. So many scumbags. I don't know how tourists deal with it, it'd be like going to America and only visiting central Detroit.
    I disagree. Big towns are the dumps of Ireland. Dundalk, Athlone, Navan, Letterkenny, every big town in Tipperary, Athy, Kildare, Cavan Town, Longford....

Reiver wrote: »
    More Limerick bashing. In my fifth year here and only had one or two minor incidents occur. Seen worse in Ennis and Dublin when I was in for the day.

I've been either working or living in Dublin for 25 years and I never had one incident. Worked in Finglas for 5 of those

I think you'll find central Detroit to be ok actually.

Go to this page and sort the crimes in descending order in the "violent crime" column.

You.

Are.

Wrong.

Actual stats once again kill the paper-thin "the place isn't that bad" argument. Dublin is as much of a dump.

Dublin is as much of a dump.

As Detroit, as you say?

lol

Perhaps it's a good thing you won't come up to Dublin very often...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

More accountability. I can't speak for the guards in other places but the ones in my home town would make Polyanna cynical :mad:

As Detroit, as you say?

lol

Perhaps it's a good thing you won't come up to Dublin very often...

It's great to be honest. Let the scum stay in their scumcity being scum.

I thought Detroit wasn't that bad anyway according to you.

I do love when someone tries to defend the utter ****hole they live in. I've been in numerous cities in various different parts of the world and Dublin is pretty much the only one that I've found to have a constant atmosphere of dread. It's a free for all because the police are rightfully scared of the burgeoning scumbag population.

"atmosphere of dread"! LOL!
    Bless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Guards from Dublin actually being based in Dublin,so when you ring the station or 999 looking for help they have at least a rough idea of where you need them to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

LOL, that made me giggle at how ridiclious every bit of that was.

"A constant atmosphere of dread". Love it :p. What horse ****

Cheers for the heads up there.

Now I know to expect the sporadic sniper fire on my way to work tomorrow, will dodge shots accordingly.