Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

mf240 wrote: »
    Theres a lad near here with four kids and he never worked a day in his life.

And neither will the kids when they grow up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,791 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Maybe he has the right idea??
    maybe, but would you be happy sitting on your arse all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    maybe, but would you be happy sitting on your arse all day

I fall asleep now when I'm doing nothing. Even sitting in the Jeep going to out farm I dooze off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

And neither will the kids when they grow up!!

As the saying goes "monkey does as monkey see's" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

There's a dip on global milk prices 6-7% :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Sam Kade wrote: »
    There's a dip on global milk prices 6-7% :(

If that's all happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

If that's all happy days!

Yeah only a drop in the ocean at current milk prices but I hope the trend doesn't continue.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Yeah only a drop in the ocean at current milk prices but I hope the trend doesn't continue.

Here's hoping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Skim, butter and Casein all down by 800 a tonne. Only pre sold products keeping prices at 39c. Milk price will be down to 33c by July.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Given that the coops could have returned a base price of 40/41 c/l but didn't you'd hope the drop would be more gradual as they should have the buffer for a month at least. Naive thinking that I spose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Its not compulsory to expand

It is because the lad next door is doing it, cant have him looking like he is doing better than you.

td5man wrote: »
    It is because the lad next door is doing it, cant have him looking like he is doing better than you.

Ai man was also saying the guys that are expanding are under stress already . He said what will they be like next spring. Fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan2 wrote: »
    Ai man was also saying the guys that are expanding are under stress already . He said what will they be like next spring. Fair play to them

Afew days ago someone said the hard work ethic of farmers is bred into us, and we don't know any different. Equally so some of us thrive under pressure, This is bred into us also. I dont have a notion where I'll be in 5/10yrs time, other than I will definitely not be standing still with the same 80cows we have now.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Afew days ago someone said the hard work ethic of farmers is bred into us, and we don't know any different. Equally so some of us thrive under pressure, This is bred into us also. I dont have a notion where I'll be in 5/10yrs time, other than I will definitely not be standing still with the same 80cows we have now.
    i will expand slowly, adapt a wait and see approach,also have a few other things to fall back on , dont see the rush

Very true. A lot of farmers can't stand hanging nothing to do. Me any way for one

I hope to be at 80 cows in 2 years time! That's me maxed out then. Where to go from there ?

i had 150 cows a few years ago, am now at 135 and will go back to 150. Alot of crap with bought in cows and calf disease. Hopefully have turned the corner now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I'm maxed out on the SR with both cows and replacements right at the minute on the farm. I'm just waiting for an opportunity to showup with either rented land or replacement contract rearing. I'm hoping the whole rental market will return to some sort of normality once the whole SFP settles down, and people realize farming isn't the gravytrain they think it is. If land stayed at 300quid/acre for renting long term I'd rent the farm out and move on to the next challenge in life ha.

Plenty room to improve without more cows also, growing more grass and more MS per cow will give obviously give better bang for buck, I've made good inroads on both of theses this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Im gona go from 93 to 110+ next year, i have investments in sheds as the next priority, i obtained 25 acres for replacements so i have a good milking block now. At least i wont be restricted by S/L fines from next year on

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Im gona go from 93 to 110+ next year, i have investments in sheds as the next priority, i obtained 25 acres for replacements so i have a good milking block now. At least i wont be restricted by S/L fines from next year on

How did u get on after with s/l did you have to pay a fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I got away so ill pull back early again this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I'm maxed out on the SR with both cows and replacements right at the minute on the farm. I'm just waiting for an opportunity to showup with either rented land or replacement contract rearing. I'm hoping the whole rental market will return to some sort of normality once the whole SFP settles down, and people realize farming isn't the gravytrain they think it is. If land stayed at 300quid/acre for renting long term I'd rent the farm out and move on to the next challenge in life ha.

Plenty room to improve without more cows also, growing more grass and more MS per cow will give obviously give better bang for buck, I've made good inroads on both of theses this year.

That last paragraph is what we should be chasing before all this more cows talk.grow as much quality grass as u can and get as much high solid milk volume from what cows u have before moving up in nos.plan to have a permanent sr of 3.7 here with just cows,replacements ,heifer calves and a handful of breeding bulls.spring milk with no more than 12 week calving spread,aiming for 10 though.liquid milk still been considered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

lads expanding cow numbers too far is one pub talk for the neighbours and having to get more labour required hiring a lad in and having to give him the guts of 40 cows to help you for the year is pure and utter madness imo. 120 cows is as much any man can handle on his own, why go over this... so the neighbours can talk.... concentrate on breeding good cows, maintain soil fertility and improving solids. if I for one got extra land or contract reared my replacements and fodder I could up to 130 cows but **** me am I going to take land or give someone my heifers to rear and give someone else my milk cheque, grand all this expanision talk with such a high milk price at the moment bt doubt in 2yrs time when price fallen expanision be highly sought after.... I Have housing for 75 cows this winter and 80 is what I going to and plan over 5 yr is to have a efficient, easy care cow on milk solids and yield... rant over

Plan to hit 90 cows here next year and hold at that for a year or two till I get my feet under me better. I'll have ample replacements coming on then so I can get rid of all the worst cows. Not too many here any way. They all fecked off on me :(
    I want to have the whole farm reseeded before I go past the 90. And have slurry storage in place.

Its grand saying not to expand till you have a top notch herd and all this but I've the bills for 100 cows.

Plan to hit 90 cows here next year and hold at that for a year or two till I get my feet under me better. I'll have ample replacements coming on then so I can get rid of all the worst cows. Not too many here any way. They all fecked off on me :(
    I want to have the whole farm reseeded before I go past the 90. And have slurry storage in place.

Its grand saying not to expand till you have a top notch herd and all this but I've the bills for 100 cows.

Could you not get your bills under control first greengrass as more cows means more expense , and lower milk prices are coming down the tracks fast! Extra cows will not necessarily mean extra cash

They've always been there. Mortgage and such.
    Also my two sisters are finished in college thus year (I think) so that releases some cash. We agreed with bank when buying that we'd be milking 100 cows. Hasn't happened. Were doing fairly okay with 60-80. I've made great progress with the herd since I came home and were sending a hell of a lot more milk out with the 70 this year compared to when we had 80.
    With myself and the father at it I'd expect the progress to continue.
    There's no point in having this grass also if ye can't use it.
    50% of place will be reseeded by year end I hope so I'll have plenty of grass for 80+ cows next year

They've always been there. Mortgage and such.
    Also my two sisters are finished in college thus year (I think) so that releases some cash. We agreed with bank when buying that we'd be milking 100 cows. Hasn't happened. Were doing fairly okay with 60-80. I've made great progress with the herd since I came home and were sending a hell of a lot more milk out with the 70 this year compared to when we had 80.
    With myself and the father at it I'd expect the progress to continue.
    There's no point in having this grass also if ye can't use it.
    50% of place will be reseeded by year end I hope so I'll have plenty of grass for 80+ cows next year

Im not knocking you gg sounds like you have done great work to be fair! I know what's it like with cash tight and trying to expand its not easy! Especially with loans to pay back etc, I have been spending away here the last two years all from cash flow which drains funds (some say its the wrong way to do it but there is no loans here which helps to be fair) even so somedays you wonder are you mad! But im looking down the road in two years hopefully only the taxman to pay! If prices don't collapse but nothing any of us can do about that.

Don't need a top notch herd but the basics(grass,fertility,solids and cruically profitability) need to be right .more cows means more storage,meal,silage vets bills etc and at the end you could end up worse off.in fairness to you you seem to be concentrating on whatvu need to,grass and milk solids so you should be ok.im all for expansion and milking more cows as long as it generates a profit without having to be a slave to the place and watching life pass u by and realising it too late.