Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Vicxas wrote: »
    Too young to remember but I've resigned myself to the fact that we're not gonna win it.

Still, it's nice that we've something to play for at the end of the season.

Damn right. Iv a feeling one world class center back liverpool would of won the league by 5-6 points or more. U cant explain how important a vidic terry kompany is to a title winning team. Without them a 100 goal team wins nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

How does last day nerves feel lads. Any of ye remember the 80s .

Don't have any. Not expecting anything from West Ham unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

Don't have any. Not expecting anything from West Ham unfortunately.

Same here. Just looking forward to watching Liverpool top off a magnificent season with a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

The last time Austria won the Eurovision Liverpool won the league. :pac:

And Atleti won La Liga, and Real Madrid won the European Cup, and...

England won the World Cup. We're fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Dunno if posted already.
    An animation masterpiece has been made by the stunningly good @RikkiLeaks, compiling the highlights of LIverpool’s season.

The short video pieces together images from Liverpool’s amazing Premier League campaign, including visual remakes of goals from Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge and Steven Gerrard.

Noticeably the video fails to include Gerrard’s famous slip against Chelsea which helped seal the Reds fate in the title race.

Watch @RikkiLeaks’; outstanding highlights reel of Liverpool’s season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

That video is the new Katie Cohen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

That video is the new Katie Cohen.

It is but I've watched it each time it's been posted. It's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Worst case scenario.. liverpool winning comfortably and West Ham in front then concede two late (soft) goals. My poor heart might just not be able for it.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

How does last day nerves feel lads. Any of ye remember the 80s .

I do (I was just shy of 14 the last time we won it), but back then it was nearly expected to win the league at least every second year, so totally different, plus I had never know differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭McSasquatch

Not nervous here either. I've accepted that we aren't going to win the league this year, but there's no anger, disappointment, sadness etc - just pride. So I'm actually looking forward to the match - put on a show for the fans and we can all go out on a high, and be rightly proud of a magnificent campaign. And whatever happens in the other game, happens.

I remember the heart brake of 89 when Arsenal pinched it and I also remember when Aldo missed that penalty against the crazy gang... This season might fall into that list but it has been worth every last minute.

Just to add.. There will be a wee bit of (What if) because lets face it, We don't know when we might have a better chance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Champions League

245835.gif

Opposition fans trying to take the mick who don't even have Champions League

94126.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Worst case scenario.. liverpool winning comfortably and West Ham in front then concede two late (soft) goals. My poor heart might just not be able for it.

Worst case scenario for me;

West Ham win 3-2, Liverpool winning comfortably and end up losing/drawing.

hefferboi wrote: »
    Worst case scenario for me;

West Ham win 3-2, Liverpool winning comfortably and end up losing/drawing.

That would be very possible considering the palace result but I'll remain with the hope that we will finish off on with a win.

Feck all the bitter haters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

tumblr_lznkkyKIH21qa3nkxo1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I think Liverpool could win this tomorrow. Gerrard will be lifting that trophy with tears in his eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Neeson wrote: »
    I think Liverpool could win this tomorrow. Gerrard will be lifting that trophy with tears in his eyes.

I hope you are right. What ever happens tomo it was a far better season than i expected. Played great football all year. We have a chance with one game to go and I would have snap accepted that in August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Neeson wrote: »

then he'll SLIP and drop it. more tears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭tomaussie

Listening to Brendan's most recent press conference it's fairly obvious that he has his eyes on improving the defense.

That was as scathing as I've heard him and he stopped short of mentioning the player/s he felt were guilty of not concentrating. It's fairly obvious he was angry and I think we'll see heads roll.

So maybe after Lallana we'll see some defensive signings.

He's one confident and focused Mo Fo. I'm already looking forward to next season.

Come on the Hamners !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Mister Gooey

I had a dream last night that the Hammers beat city with an Andy Carroll hat trick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭jasonb

I'm old enough to remember the heartbreak against Arsenal in '89 and Wimbledon '88, the joy and amazing atmosphere against Everton in the '89 FA Cup final (I still hate Stuart McCall!), and the confusion (and, as I was young, disappointment at losing) at Heysel.

Back then it wasn't unusual to have a chance of winning the league, and it definitely wasn't completely unexpected, like this year. So while this is a first time in 25 years we've had a chance of winning the league on the last day, it's completely different.

Part of me is glad the season is over, it's been such an emotional rollercoaster and I need a break. But part of me will miss it too, as it's been a rollercoaster at the top! Highlights for me would be the football we've played and the goals we've scored, at our best this season we've been amazing. Certain games stand out for me as well, games were beforehand I thought to myself 'I love for us to make a statement today'. Those games include Everton, Arsenal, Man U and Spurs, and that's exactly what we did. I love that we went from fighting it out with Man U, Spurs and Everton to fighting it out with City and Chelsea.

Lowlights would be some performances / points dropped earlier in the season, and, of course, Chelsea and Palace. Chelsea 'cos that's when I thought we'd lost the league (just as I was finally beginning to let myself believe) and 'cos I'm not a fan of Jose. Palace 'cos that collapse reminded me of Liverpool of old (well, maybe not old, but of the last few years) when you weren't certain of 3 points until after the final whistle.

Today, while somehow winning the league would be amazing, I just want us to win our game and finish 2nd. And not on GD please, that's one 25th Anniversary I don't want to remember. The players and staff deserve a great send off for making us happy and believing again. And please, please, please let us push on next year and not drop off again...

Finally, this season I went from occasionally reading but never posting on this thread to officially following it. Nothing better than sharing the highs and lows with other Pandasaps (am I doing it right?). Looking forward to the off season madness!

TLDR? Everything is almost awesome!!

J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭doc_17

An amazing season. Maybe there will be one more twist or sting in Big Andy's ponytail yet. All the best to the men in red today. YNWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Last day of an amazing season.

Whatever happens I'm so proud of the team and the way they've gone about playing football this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Game day lads !

What a season we've had !

Pandas,
    Saps,
    That mental photo supposedly outside the hotel from the night before the Chelsea game.

I haven't enjoyed a season so much in years.

Thanks LFC/offtopic/Panda/WWE thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,304 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Even though we got CL which is fantastic in itself, i just cant help but feel we let this premiership behind , whatever way you want to dress it up we **** ourselves when we needed to keep the heads most, when the final whistle blows today i wont say yes we got Cl, i will be full of regret:(

Be very nice to sign off with a win today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Liverpool / Westham double FTW!! Can I double a wincast with Suarez and Carroll scoring??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

West Ham to win and us to draw, at best. Tis inevitable :(

billy2012 wrote: »
    Liverpool / Westham double FTW!! Can I double a wincast with Suarez and Carroll scoring??

You can indeed.

57/1 double on Boyles.

(Suarez to score/Pool win 8/11
    Carroll to score/ West Ham win 33/1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

rarnes1 wrote: »
    You can indeed.

57/1 double on Boyles.

(Suarez to score/Pool win 8/11
    Carroll to score/ West Ham win 33/1)

Would be rude not to throw a tenner on.