Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    I wouldnt knock anyone for wanting to play for Barca, especially for someone who grew up in their youth system and played for the club previously. He obviously feels a connection with the place. He gave us some great years service over the years so I wouldnt be saying "F-uck him" either. But that's just me.
    Our double player of the year was whoring himself out only nine months ago dont forget.

I know he gave us some great service but his last couple of years left a lot to be desired. Thought that letter he wrote was a bit of a ****ty thing to do as well.

Pointless argument anyway because he won't be coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭rob316

So does anyone actually think we might pull it off tomorrow?

I see a city draw and a win for us. We will ultimately loose the title on goal difference.

It's weird feeling I have zero expectations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

mike65 wrote: »
    An update about Seb Coates - he's playing again with five appearances, completed the last four games, three clean sheets.

Granada v Almería sees Ilori take on Suso tomorrow

Good to hear, always liked coates in his few games. Will still have a good career id say. Susos season is finito akaik got a straight red in their last game.

On reina, think its best for both parties that he just moves on to whoever it may be, would certainly be an advocate of bringing in a young good keeper in the summer, id look towards germany they seem to be everywhere over there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Alex Song?

FML

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

rob316 wrote: »

I see a city draw and a win for us. We will ultimately loose the title on goal difference.

Essentially yeah. I'll go in expecting us to win but lose the title. Can't see city losing to west ham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'd rather they lost it by a point or two than on goal difference.

I think losing it on goal difference could break a few of the players, So close but so far.

Losing by a a couple of points will hurt a lot but better than goals IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,007 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Well I had resigned to losing the league on goal difference after the Chelsea game. All I'm expecting tomorrow is great atmosphere in the ground and the fans to be very grateful for a truly remarkable and enjoyable season.

And hope tof uck former reds hammer City. (not likely)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

djPSB wrote: »
    Are people forgetting that we are back in the CL? Danny Ings is a far cry from what we need to be looking at.

Lallana would be a good addition but for no more than £15m.

If we're spending £25m, we should be looking at players of the calibre of Willian, Mikhtyrian, Griezman, Koke etc.

The latter two of the above quartet may move in the summer. Koke would be a great addition, but you'd want more in the money bag than £25m for him I'd guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

The last day of the season can be a strange one...we've seen very strange things happen in the past. Can't see it this time tho.

I've made my peace with it,as it were,and it's fine cos it's been an absolutely fantastic season overall. It really has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kildare75

The last day of the season can be a strange one...we've seen very strange things happen in the past. Can't see it this time tho.

I've made my peace with it,as it were,and it's fine cos it's been an absolutely fantastic season overall. It really has.

I kinda thought I had made my peace with it after the Chelsea;) game, and I was certain I had after the palace game, but yet there is a wee nagging little feeling of hope or maybe regret or maybe both...
    and it has been one heck of a season,
    but still........heres hoping we get a fever pitch moment tomorrow, only with us coming out on the right side tomorrow.
    In big Andy I believe
    YNWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

This time tomorrow we'll be champions lads, I feel it on my waters!!!

BenThere wrote: »

Fair play, you deserve it.

Pellegrini is a top manager and having a bigger squad definately counted when it came to the crunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

BenThere wrote: »
    Yep.I can picture it now Carroll scores a 90 min winner for West Ham as Martin Tyler screams Carrollllllllll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Not to be a ****, but is it really a weird feeling? Wouldnt you be used to it over the years I mean?

I see City winning tbh, as long as they have Yaya fit they could well maul West Ham. In the weird world of football I suppose it would be possible for West Ham to somehow get a draw there, but I just dont see a way they win the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

One for you lads, Rafa introduces himself

GhcC5of.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'd rather City win than draw, for my own sanity.

I'd rather they lose and we win over anything, of course.

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'd rather City win than draw, for my own sanity.

I'd rather they lose and we win over anything, of course.

Losing a league on goal difference is absolutely sickening alright

• Subscribers Posts: 32,891 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

kildare75 wrote: »
    I kinda thought I had made my peace with it after the Chelsea;) game, and I was certain I had after the palace game, but yet there is a wee nagging little feeling of hope or maybe regret or maybe both...
    and it has been one heck of a season,
    but still........heres hoping we get a fever pitch moment tomorrow, only with us coming out on the right side tomorrow.
    In big Andy I believe
    YNWA

Of course there is still a chance. I'll be hoping as hard as I've ever hoped for anything, but hope and expectation sadly don't match in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

kryogen wrote: »
    Losing a league on goal difference is absolutely sickening alright

I've discussed this with a few people about a hypothetocal alternative. Wembley play off, or keep it the same. Might be a bit much and kinda unfair overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

MD1990 wrote: »

Yep.I can picture it now Carroll scores a 90 min winner for West Ham as Martin Tyler screams Carrollllllllll

That's exactly it MD, if it's a drawn game going into the last 3-4 minutes and we're a couple of goals up on Newcastle I swear I'll have a bloody heart attack :eek: The very idea that Andy Carroll (or Kevin Nolan) could snatch a win and hand us the title is amazing. How good is it to even be thinking these things the evening before the final game of the season. How good has it been to be an LFC supporter this year??? It may well all end in tears but it's been a hell of a ride and we're all on the journey together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Fescue wrote: »
    Arguably, hes a better all round keeper?

That said if he is sold, what sort of fee is he likely to attract?
    It was reported that apparently he put pressure on before his loan was completed to have a £4.2m release clause added to his contract before he agreed to go on loan. So i imagine somewhere around the £4m mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭flanzer

Twins :pac:
    BnTHHU5CIAAtcYN.jpg

Grayditch wrote: »
    I've discussed this with a few people about a hypothetocal alternative. Wembley play off, or keep it the same. Might be a bit much and kinda unfair overall.

Its horrible, horrible stuff, but I do think its probably the fairest way of doing it tbh.

It happens so little (thankfully) it is probably never going to be changed anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

flanzer wrote: »
    Twins :pac:
    BnTHHU5CIAAtcYN.jpg

A nice souvenir for the Brazilian flanagan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

I'd rather they lost it by a point or two than on goal difference.

I think losing it on goal difference could break a few of the players, So close but so far.

Losing by a a couple of points will hurt a lot but better than goals IMO.

I couldn't deal with the Palace collapse being the cause of us losing the title. Please don't draw City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kildare75

I couldn't deal with the Palace collapse being the cause of us losing the title. Please don't draw City.

I can still remember my gut feeling when city got that equaliser against sunderland that it would prove vital....it crept over the line in slow motion...I know there are so many moments you can pick...both good and bad...but that one sticks in my mind more than most..
    still if they win it, fair play, and if we spent that sort of money, id expect to win it also...
    glad we are on the way back...its been too long, far too long

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Im sorry but the Cafu/Flanagan stuff on Twitter is amazing. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I think we lost a real chance for the title at games like the loss to Hull or the draw with West Brom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭mada999

SAVAGE!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Augmerson wrote: »
    I think we lost a real chance for the title at games like the loss to Hull or the draw with West Brom.

I think we did exceptionally well in the rest of the games. It's great to be even involved in the title race.