Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Fescue wrote: »
    Arguably, hes a better all round keeper?

That said if he is sold, what sort of fee is he likely to attract?

Disagree.

Mignolet saved us a lot this season with top class saves. Hes shaky under high balls but he's better than Reina.

I'd argue we wouldn't be where we are if Reina was in goal this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

on Pepe, keep him as a decent replacement and one that well push Mignolet to his limits or break him and take his place. Forget about wages, we shouldn't be too worried about that with the increased TV revenue and all that other jazz.
    Let Brad Jones and whoever else - that isn't in the potential category - go and that should help cover Reina's wages.
    Reina is still a very good keeper and a genuine competition for Simon should do him wonders.
    He still needs to improve in a few areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

hefferboi wrote: »
    Disagree.

Mignolet saved us a lot this season with top class saves. Hes shaky under high balls but he's better than Reina.

I'd argue we wouldn't be where we are if Reina was in goal this season.

I agree Mignolet is capable of pulling off some excellent saves that perhaps Reina isn't.

In terms of dealing with crosses I feel Reina is a little stronger.

However, in terms of ability with the ball at his feet, Reina is far ahead. His ability to start counter attacks is exceptional. Arguably we might have scored more goals with him in the side. I think he gives defenders a lot more confidence than Mignolet does at this point in time.

Perhaps that is something Mignolet will improve on, he certainly got better as the season progressed.

I'd rather see us sign a young keeper like Chelsea did with Coutois. Finding a good one is the problem, though.

I agree Mignolet is capable of pulling off some excellent saves that perhaps Reina isn't.

However, in terms of ability with the ball at his feet, Reina is far ahead. His ability to start counter attacks is exceptional. Arguably we might have scored more goals with him in the side. I think he gives defenders a lot more confidence than Mignolet does at this point in time.

Perhaps that is something Mignolet will improve on, he certainly got better as the season progressed.

He never filled me with confidence in this area.
    He is very quick off his line and helps deal with potential problems in that regard, something which Mignolet is poor at for he appears to be clued to his 6 yard box at times.

Urban myth about Reina being better with the ball at feet. He's done exactly the same as what Mignolet does, pass the ball short to the full backs or cbs. You don't have to be Messi to do that and both are capable. Reina had excellent throws, though which he used to start counter attacks, but to say we could have scored more is ridiculous when we have broken record with our goal scoring this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Rodgers on the defence away from home.
    “It’s fairly clear where we need to improve,” Rodgers told the ECHO.

“Our home record in terms of conceding goals is good, we’re ranked in the top five – we’ve only let in 17 at home.

“But that figure of 32 away is too high. It’s about concentration and unfortunately that’s something I’ve seen here for a bit of time.

“The defence is the one area where there hasn’t been a lot of change in terms of players coming in or out. It’s an area we will be better in. I will ensure that.

“You can’t go away to Old Trafford, Southampton and White Hart Lane and not concede yet let in three at Stoke, Hull, Cardiff and Palace. That’s down to concentration, it’s not structural. It certainly won’t happen next season that’s for sure.

hefferboi wrote: »
    Urban myth about Reina being better with the ball at feet. He's done exactly the same as what Mignolet does, pass the ball short to the full backs or cbs. You don't have to be Messi to do that and both are capable. Reina had excellent throws, though which he used to start counter attacks, but to say we could have scored more is ridiculous when we have broken record with our goal scoring this season.

I always thought Reina was brilliant with his distribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    on Pepe, keep him as a decent replacement and one that well push Mignolet to his limits or break him and take his place. Forget about wages, we shouldn't be too worried about that with the increased TV revenue and all that other jazz.
    Let Brad Jones and whoever else - that isn't in the potential category - go and that should help cover Reina's wages.
    Reina is still a very good keeper and a genuine competition for Simon should do him wonders.
    He still needs to improve in a few areas.
    Two very good keepers could also cause disharmony in the squad, something that is very strong this year. Reina was at a level above Mignolet, but that was a number of years ago. Best to look forward, not back. A young keeper or someone like Jaaskelainen that would be happy to play back-up would be a better option imo.

Migs distribution is average tbh.
    Under crosses he's average.
    His shot stopping is superb.

The latter is the most important as the other two can be worked on. A lot harder to improve a poor shot stopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

This is pretty pretty cool.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Migs distribution is average tbh.
    Under crosses he's average.
    His shot stopping is superb.

The latter is the most important as the other two can be worked on. A lot harder to improve a poor shot stopper.

Shot stopping isn't the most important attribute for a top level keeper imo. Great shot stoppers are a dime a dozen, it's why you see the likes of Marshall and others being bigged up every season even though they let in more goals than most keepers, people think shot stopping is the most important thing and a few flashy saves will cover up a bad overall performance from a keeper. The most important attribute at the top for a keeper is concentration I think. He may only be called upon once in 20 minutes but he has to be on his game and not daydreaming when that time comes. Distribution is huge at the top too as having someone you know isn't going to fúck it up everytime you pass back is a huge mental boost for the defense.

Liam O wrote: »
    Shot stopping isn't the most important attribute for a top level keeper imo. Great shot stoppers are a dime a dozen, it's why you see the likes of Marshall and others being bigged up every season even though they let in more goals than most keepers, people think shot stopping is the most important thing and a few flashy saves will cover up a bad overall performance from a keeper. The most important attribute at the top for a keeper is concentration I think. He may only be called upon once in 20 minutes but he has to be on his game and not daydreaming when that time comes. Distribution is huge at the top too as having someone you know isn't going to fúck it up everytime you pass back is a huge mental boost for the defense.

Thats my big concern with Mignolet. Very shakey.

I dunno, the keepers first job is to stop shots going in the goal. This has to be a top atribute of a keeper. If he isn't good at this he probably won't make it at the top.

Concentration is indeed very important, vital really for goalkeepers.

Concentration is all well and good for keepers with nothing to do for long periods, not much use for a Liverpool goalie. Have you seen any of the games? Poor Mig is always Mignoleting. :pac:

Wasn't there a stat that said Mignolet had the most clean sheets when compared with shots on goal or some such?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Wasn't there a stat that said Mignolet had the most clean sheets when compared with shots on goal or some such?

Ah here.....that's as bad as claiming 'most days top of the league' as an achievement.

Concentration is all well and good for keepers with nothing to do for long periods, not much use for a Liverpool goalie. Have you seen any of the games? Poor Mig is always Mignoleting. :pac:

I'd agree with that but I also think it's going to get a lot better for yis on that front, Rodgers will buy someone this summer surely and I can't see him going so gung ho next season. The scoring form can't last forever (I hope :p ) and especially with the WC there'll be some tired legs around next season so can see some deviation to this seasons style for Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Ah here.....that's as bad as claiming 'most days top of the league' as an achievement.

Something I've never seen anyone claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Mignolets first season has been ok. I'd like to see him behind a better structured defence before i write him off. He has to improve no doubt but the defence have to help him out. In terms of mistakes he has made 5 that resulted in a goal. Too high when going for the title. Overall i'm happy enough with him but I'll give him another season before I'd contemplate replacing him. I would like to see a better backup brought in.

Reina is gone. Looks like there has been a bit of a fallout with Rodgers but even if that wasn't the case i think its time for him to move on. Was great for us, and I've a lot of fond memories of him in red but his future lies elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

Not quite sure how to embed youtube vids but this is well worth a look, animated highlights of what has been a phenomenal season. Let's hope there is one more scene to added!

http://youtu.be/JQURjfal05c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Not quite sure how to embed youtube vids but this is well worth a look, animated highlights of what has been a phenomenal season. Let's hope there is one more scene to added!

Fixed it for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

I always thought Reina was brilliant with his distribution.

Yeah, Reina had a fantastic delivery kicking from his hands or off the ground. Dunno why people say its an "urban myth" and he was only good with his throw outs or short passes to the full backs. Reina was constantly hitting targets sixty yards away. He was actually one of the best passers of a football we had at the club. I was surprised when Rodgers shipped him out to be honest because I thought he would have fitted perfectly in with our passing mentality.

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Yeah, Reina had a fantastic delivery kicking from his hands or off the ground. Dunno why people say its an "urban myth" and he was only good with his throw outs or short passes to the full backs. Reina was constantly hitting targets sixty yards away. He was actually one of the best passers of a football we had at the club. I was surprised when Rodgers shipped him out to be honest because I thought he would have fitted perfectly in with our passing mentality.

Agree completely regarding his delivery etc but I think Reina pushed himself out of the club to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

Cafu. ‏@officialcafu 2h
    On the way to Liverpool!!! // a caminho de Liverpool!!!

306434.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Reina was showing the leg to Barcelona for a couple of years...fuck him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

An update about Seb Coates - he's playing again with five appearances, completed the last four games, three clean sheets.

Granada v Almería sees Ilori take on Suso tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Just reading that Song is set to leave Barca for about 8M. Yes please!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Reina was showing the leg to Barcelona for a couple of years...fuck him.

I wouldnt knock anyone for wanting to play for Barca, especially for someone who grew up in their youth system and played for the club previously. He obviously feels a connection with the place. He gave us some great years service over the years so I wouldnt be saying "F-uck him" either. But that's just me.
    Our double player of the year was whoring himself out only nine months ago dont forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

billy2012 wrote: »
    Just reading that Song is set to leave Barca for about 8M. Yes please!!

Weren't we linked with him last summer as well?

I wonder if this is just a re-hash of that?

Williams too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Nerdlingr wrote: »

All well and good but he couldn't save a ball for his life. Clanger after clanger and his reflexes had gotten so poor.

That open letter he wrote was pathetic to say the least, I hope he doesn't come back.