Ming: Garda in to heroin dealing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Well the government, media and general public have bought into and turned a blind eye to the gardai inflating their figures for years; speed traps in ridiculous places, outrageous "street values" being placed on drug busts, reclassification of crimes to massage stats....next logical step was to manufacturer fake crimes.

I'm inclined to agree here. The Garda PR machine hypes the stories. Why not say the weight of the drugs found? Not as eye-catching as a seven figure number. Lets face it, if they are so successful at catching dealers, how come you can buy anything you want within a hundred yards of O'Connell St? The investigations regarding drugs and money going missing from police stations gets pushed to the back boiler pretty quickly.
    I hope that Noirín O’Sullivan does not tread the path of some of those earlier Mandarins. The last one fell on his sword but another one retired with a lot of unanswered questions hanging in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Yeah but..., oh I dunno, does this look like a guy you would trust?

http://www.breakingnews.ie/media/images/l/lukeMingFlanagan2013_large.jpg
    Can you post up a picture of a face that you think is trustworthy?

I am not talking of a famous person, I am just wondering why you seem to think that photo depicts an untrustworthy person, and also what features you would think trustworthy?
    may he who has not sinned throw the first stone
    Why not? if we did that nothing would ever come out or be reported, I would guess every single person I know of has broken the law. Should I not ring the gardai to report being mugged & stabbed because I illegally jaywalked across the road to try and avoid the mugger, I wouldn't want to look like a hypocrite, now would I :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Although I completely disagree with Ming on a number of issues (bog cutting) , I think he has proven himself to be an excellent td and represents his constituents better than most. He seems to me to be in politics for the right reasons, I wish there were more like him in the Dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Unfounded, unsubstantiated, scurrilous and malicious Whispers have it that Dublin city center Heroin trade might not be entirely AGS free either. I find this incredible and unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Unfounded, unsubstantiated, scurrilous and malicious Whispers have it that Dublin city center Heroin trade might not be entirely AGS free either. I find this incredible and unbelievable.

I've seen the needle and the damage done, there's a little part of it in everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

Who honestly cares about crime figures. There is dozens of phones and bike stolen everyday in Dublin. But not a single person in the Gardai or Government could care less. Not one TD or local Councillors every talks about reducing crime in Dublin. They are generally more concerned over something useless but nice like a dodgy footpath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    how come you can buy anything you want within a hundred yards of O'Connell St?

O'Connell street? Lol, try every village and town in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If anyone else other than that twat Flanagan (or his arsehole comrade Wallarse for that matter) had brought this to the attention of the dail, it would have given the issue more credence but it's just hard to listen to a pot head with a high pitched girls voice with anything other than complete an utter contempt.

Flanagan the sleazy little junky weasel is like a little child taking great pleasure out of the whole thing and for that reason I hope the story is found to be untrue and the little fcukwit turd is left with egg on his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

CJC999 wrote: »
    If anyone else other than that twat Flanagan (or his arsehole comrade Wallarse for that matter) had brought this to the attention of the dail, it would have given the issue more credence but it's just hard to listen to a pot head with a high pitched girls voice with anything other than complete an utter contempt.

Flanagan the sleazy little junky weasel is like a little child taking great pleasure out of the whole thing and for that reason I hope the story is found to be untrue and the little fcukwit turd is left with egg on his face.

You sound like the sort of delightful fellow that might tie a dead rat to a whistleblowers door :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You sound like the sort of delightful fellow that might tie a dead rat to a whistleblowers door :rolleyes:

No quite the contrary. I commend the whistleblower for his bravery in coming forward considering the ****e the other two had to endure. It's just such a pity that it was a slimeball like Flanagan that got to announce it to the nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

So, just to get it straight, you're not Mings biggest fan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Well the guard is question is based in At loan.

Yeah but he was in a different station before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No quite the contrary. I commend the whistleblower for his bravery in coming forward considering the ****e the other two had to endure. It's just such a pity that it was a slimeball like Flanagan that got to announce it to the nation.

I'm not sure why the man draws such ire from you. Calling him names and mocking the tone of his voice comes across as very childish.

Why does it matter who announces it to the country? It speaks volumes that whistle-blowers feel comfortable in confiding in him rather than in government ministers. There's a very apparent reason for it too.

Flanagan the sleazy little junky weasel
    Jaysus, Ming is on the junk now? never knew that. Maybe the gardai should have a rethink about not using that "gateway drug" stuff they thought was nonsense.

I wonder if it was Ming's own heroin dealer who tipped him off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

So some of the pointlessly small amount street posession charges that the Guards bring to court aren't even the product of at least some basic level of police work?very embarrassing if true.

They allowed some shower of clowns to join AGS during the boom times in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

So some of the pointlessly small amount street posession charges that the Guards bring to court aren't even the product of at least some basic level of police work?very embarrassing if true.

They allowed some shower of clowns to join AGS during the boom times in fairness.

fixed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The man doesn't wear a tie and never worked as an auctioneer - how can we trust him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

realies wrote: »

I can't vote for him but he seems a bit better than most of them and I love his direct no nonsense questions and answers.

Except when hes caught with his pants round his ankles in a penalty points scandal.

As for the story itself, why do the Gards need to coerce anyone? If the commissioner handed me a badge in the morning I could get him 20 or 30 arrests and fines for all manner of offences while still going about my business every day. They must be putting more effort in to manufacturing the stats than if they just took a wander around and arrested people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Except when hes caught with his pants round his ankles in a penalty points scandal.

As for the story itself, why do the Gards need to coerce anyone? If the commissioner handed me a badge in the morning I could get him 20 or 39 arrests and fines for all manner of offences while still going about my business every day. They must be putting more effort in to manufacturing the stats than if they just took a wander around and arrested people.

their too busy shooting up in the cells it seems than to be on the beat

you may get 20-39 arrests, but these criminals are too crafty for our current lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yeah, say someone like Michael Martin.

Always stood up against corruption.

Him and all his honourable mates in FF.

They used to have their ard fheis in Jim Mansfield's hotel didn't they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

As for the story itself, why do the Gards need to coerce anyone? If the commissioner handed me a badge in the morning I could get him 20 or 30 arrests and fines for all manner of offences while still going about my business every day. They must be putting more effort in to manufacturing the stats than if they just took a wander around and arrested people.

In Athlone it may be harder than in Dublin City - Where it seems there is an initiative to ignore drug use :P

This makes no sense to me. How do they coerce people into buying drugs and then arrest them? Do they mean an undercover sting? Because they should be happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

What is the street value of Ming's claims?

Aidric wrote: »
    Real street value or garda spokesman street value? The gardai usually multiply by 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Aidric wrote: »

3 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

rubadub wrote: »
    Real street value or garda spokesman street value? The gardai usually multiply by 10.
    exactly why I asked..10 bangers with a street value of 200euro..eh wut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

This is the nub of it, may he who has not sinned throw the first stone, a bit of history ming would be wise not to ignore.
    He gets busted for pot and he's out of a job.

The story is about the police selling heroin to people in order to catch them in possession.

Wtf are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

Athlone has its very own Hamsterdam?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1dnqKGuezo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭roboshatner

Does not surprise me in the least.

They were prob watching bad boys 1 the film one night in the station....and thought you know what would be a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭zen260

well done to ming...if there were more people like him in government these pieces of s**t garda would be held accountable,,,there worse than the mafia ever were,,callinhan was another hitler slapping his leather glove off his hand as he walked with that other slime ball shatter,,,people like mc cabe should be given a medal for exposing these pathogens,,and this is only the tip of the iceberg,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭zen260

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    Although I completely disagree with Ming on a number of issues (bog cutting) , I think he has proven himself to be an excellent td and represents his constituents better than most. He seems to me to be in politics for the right reasons, I wish there were more like him in the Dail.

couldnt agree more