Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ming: Garda in to heroin dealing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

kieran boylan

<< -sorry wrong thread >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Flash Gordon won't like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I'm just not sure Mick or Ming have the credibility with this sort of thing.

I wouldn't be so sure. Plenty of wrong'uns in the Gardaí, which is unfortunate for the good ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-linked-to-heroin-dealing-claims-flanagan-629960.html

The gardaí are getting young ones to buy drugs so they can catch them and boost the crime detection figures according to Ming "cannabis" Flanagan who's new partner in crime is another whistleblower dishing more dirt on our glorious police force.

He's reporting what a whistleblower has told him, so I don't see why the knock at "credibility".

"High-ranking Garda officers were involved in a ploy to coerce citizens into buying hard drugs to boost crime detection figures, the Dáil has heard.
    Independent TD Luke “Ming” Flanagan said a new whistleblower from within the Garda has come forward with a fresh dossier of alleged corruption linking the force to heroin dealing.
    “We have a situation here where heroin dealing and the Garda Siochana are being connected,” he said.
    In the Dáil, Mr Flanagan said Garda Nicky Keogh – based at Athlone Garda station – has handed the evidence over to retired judge Patrick McMahon, an interim watchdog charged with overseeing whistleblower allegations."
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-linked-to-heroin-dealing-claims-flanagan-629960.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Well it's not as if Flanagan is the one coming up with this stuff. It's based on what serving members of AGS have told him.. so it would be unwise to dismiss it as not being credible. We've seen that what whistleblowers have claimed so far is fairly damn credible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Wouldn't be surprised tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Indeed, it should be ignored until someone else brings it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,839 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

ScumLord wrote: »

Yeah but..., oh I dunno, does this look like a guy you would trust?

http://www.breakingnews.ie/media/images/l/lukeMingFlanagan2013_large.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Wouldn't be surprised tbh

Nor would I.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

If Ming never knocked out a few ten-spots of sh1t soap bar wrapped in the foil off a Johnny Blue pack back in the day I'll eat my hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Athlone has its very own Hamsterdam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Well the government, media and general public have bought into and turned a blind eye to the gardai inflating their figures for years; speed traps in ridiculous places, outrageous "street values" being placed on drug busts, reclassification of crimes to massage stats....next logical step was to manufacturer fake crimes.

I'd trust him before I'd trust most of the suits in any of the parties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

What has trusting Ming got to do with anything, he has merely commented on information a serving member of An Garda Siochana has provided, are you sugggesting that Ming somehow put him up to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Only eight posts and OP already throws the actual issue out the window to slag off Ming's appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

ScumLord wrote: »

Yeah, say someone like Michael Martin.

Always stood up against corruption.

Him and all his honourable mates in FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ming Flanagan won a seat in the 31st Dáil in the Roscommon–South Leitrim constituency in the 2011 general election, one of twenty members of the New Vision alliance of independent candidates.[9][20]

He received 8,925 (18.8%) first preference votes, and was elected to the first seat with 12,149 votes on the fourth count, while the two incumbent Fine Gael TDs were elected on the sixth count. Neither of the two Fianna Fáil candidates managed to retain the seat of their retiring party colleague, Michael Finneran.

Upon election Flanagan took a 50% salary cut and urged his fellow TDs to follow suit.[21][22]

Following his election to the Dáil, Flanagan nominated independent John Murphy to replace him on Roscommon County Council.[23]

I can't vote for him but he seems a bit better than most of them and I love his direct no nonsense questions and answers.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luke_'Ming'_Flanagan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

The gardaí are getting young ones to buy drugs so they can catch them and boost the crime detection figures according to Ming "cannabis" Flanagan who's new partner in crime is another whistleblower dishing more dirt on our glorious police force.

I would well believe it. A guard friend of mine told me last year that he knows other newish guards who would happily take a bribe if offered at the side of the road. He said if you were stopped at the side of the road for mobile phone usage or speeding and you were discrete about it (e.g. "is that your €50 on the ground there guard?"), you would have a decent chance of "getting off" (no points, no €80 fine).
    He told me not to try it with older guards or very green guards (straight out of Templemore) or traffic corp guards who may come in from outside the county. He said a lot of 30-40 year old guards are struggling with negative equity, reduced overtime etc and see it as a nixer.
    I haven't tried it...yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Dective Gerry Lynch wouldn't be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

It's not like the gardaí have to look far to find actual criminals buying and selling drugs, so why would they do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

sabat wrote: »
    If Ming never knocked out a few ten-spots of sh1t soap bar wrapped in the foil off a Johnny Blue pack back in the day I'll eat my hat.

This is the nub of it, may he who has not sinned throw the first stone, a bit of history ming would be wise not to ignore.
    He gets busted for pot and he's out of a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

This is the nub of it, may he who has not sinned throw the first stone, a bit of history ming would be wise not to ignore.
    He gets busted for pot and he's out of a job.

He wouldn't be stupid enough to have it in the house
    Anyway he only smokes it where it is legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

He wouldn't be stupid enough to have it in the house
    Anyway he only smokes it where it is legal

Do you honesty believe he is flying to holland every time he wants a stone? Not a hope, probably explains why he wants to get to Europe though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Can we infer from this outburst that Mick 'Scarecrow' Wallace has been caught red handed and his friend is creating an alibi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Do you honesty believe he is flying to holland every time he wants a stone? Not a hope, probably explains why he wants to get to Europe though.

His whole election campaign is an elaborate ruse to smoke a few joints eh? Nice work.

It's not like the gardaí have to look far to find actual criminals buying and selling drugs, so why would they do this?

The criminals are too clever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I would well believe it. A guard friend of mine told me last year that he knows other newish guards who would happily take a bribe if offered at the side of the road. He said if you were stopped at the side of the road for mobile phone usage or speeding and you were discrete about it (e.g. "is that your €50 on the ground there guard?"), you would have a decent chance of "getting off" (no points, no €80 fine).

What is discrete about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

What station is he claiming the allegations happened at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Boaty wrote: »
    What station is he claiming the allegations happened at?
    Well the guard is question is based in At loan.

At loan of a 50?

I think i'm getting the hang of this discreet bribe lingo, yo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Well the government, media and general public have bought into and turned a blind eye to the gardai inflating their figures for years; speed traps in ridiculous places, outrageous "street values" being placed on drug busts, reclassification of crimes to massage stats....next logical step was to manufacturer fake crimes.

I'm inclined to agree here. The Garda PR machine hypes the stories. Why not say the weight of the drugs found? Not as eye-catching as a seven figure number. Lets face it, if they are so successful at catching dealers, how come you can buy anything you want within a hundred yards of O'Connell St? The investigations regarding drugs and money going missing from police stations gets pushed to the back boiler pretty quickly.
    I hope that Noirín O’Sullivan does not tread the path of some of those earlier Mandarins. The last one fell on his sword but another one retired with a lot of unanswered questions hanging in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Can you post up a picture of a face that you think is trustworthy?

I am not talking of a famous person, I am just wondering why you seem to think that photo depicts an untrustworthy person, and also what features you would think trustworthy?
    may he who has not sinned throw the first stone
    Why not? if we did that nothing would ever come out or be reported, I would guess every single person I know of has broken the law. Should I not ring the gardai to report being mugged & stabbed because I illegally jaywalked across the road to try and avoid the mugger, I wouldn't want to look like a hypocrite, now would I :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Although I completely disagree with Ming on a number of issues (bog cutting) , I think he has proven himself to be an excellent td and represents his constituents better than most. He seems to me to be in politics for the right reasons, I wish there were more like him in the Dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Unfounded, unsubstantiated, scurrilous and malicious Whispers have it that Dublin city center Heroin trade might not be entirely AGS free either. I find this incredible and unbelievable.

I've seen the needle and the damage done, there's a little part of it in everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Who honestly cares about crime figures. There is dozens of phones and bike stolen everyday in Dublin. But not a single person in the Gardai or Government could care less. Not one TD or local Councillors every talks about reducing crime in Dublin. They are generally more concerned over something useless but nice like a dodgy footpath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    how come you can buy anything you want within a hundred yards of O'Connell St?

O'Connell street? Lol, try every village and town in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If anyone else other than that twat Flanagan (or his arsehole comrade Wallarse for that matter) had brought this to the attention of the dail, it would have given the issue more credence but it's just hard to listen to a pot head with a high pitched girls voice with anything other than complete an utter contempt.

Flanagan the sleazy little junky weasel is like a little child taking great pleasure out of the whole thing and for that reason I hope the story is found to be untrue and the little fcukwit turd is left with egg on his face.

CJC999 wrote: »
    If anyone else other than that twat Flanagan (or his arsehole comrade Wallarse for that matter) had brought this to the attention of the dail, it would have given the issue more credence but it's just hard to listen to a pot head with a high pitched girls voice with anything other than complete an utter contempt.

Flanagan the sleazy little junky weasel is like a little child taking great pleasure out of the whole thing and for that reason I hope the story is found to be untrue and the little fcukwit turd is left with egg on his face.

You sound like the sort of delightful fellow that might tie a dead rat to a whistleblowers door :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You sound like the sort of delightful fellow that might tie a dead rat to a whistleblowers door :rolleyes:

No quite the contrary. I commend the whistleblower for his bravery in coming forward considering the ****e the other two had to endure. It's just such a pity that it was a slimeball like Flanagan that got to announce it to the nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

So, just to get it straight, you're not Mings biggest fan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Yeah but he was in a different station before that.

No quite the contrary. I commend the whistleblower for his bravery in coming forward considering the ****e the other two had to endure. It's just such a pity that it was a slimeball like Flanagan that got to announce it to the nation.

I'm not sure why the man draws such ire from you. Calling him names and mocking the tone of his voice comes across as very childish.

Why does it matter who announces it to the country? It speaks volumes that whistle-blowers feel comfortable in confiding in him rather than in government ministers. There's a very apparent reason for it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Flanagan the sleazy little junky weasel
    Jaysus, Ming is on the junk now? never knew that. Maybe the gardai should have a rethink about not using that "gateway drug" stuff they thought was nonsense.

I wonder if it was Ming's own heroin dealer who tipped him off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

So some of the pointlessly small amount street posession charges that the Guards bring to court aren't even the product of at least some basic level of police work?very embarrassing if true.

They allowed some shower of clowns to join AGS during the boom times in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

So some of the pointlessly small amount street posession charges that the Guards bring to court aren't even the product of at least some basic level of police work?very embarrassing if true.

They allowed some shower of clowns to join AGS during the boom times in fairness.

fixed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The man doesn't wear a tie and never worked as an auctioneer - how can we trust him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

realies wrote: »

I can't vote for him but he seems a bit better than most of them and I love his direct no nonsense questions and answers.

Except when hes caught with his pants round his ankles in a penalty points scandal.

As for the story itself, why do the Gards need to coerce anyone? If the commissioner handed me a badge in the morning I could get him 20 or 30 arrests and fines for all manner of offences while still going about my business every day. They must be putting more effort in to manufacturing the stats than if they just took a wander around and arrested people.

Except when hes caught with his pants round his ankles in a penalty points scandal.

As for the story itself, why do the Gards need to coerce anyone? If the commissioner handed me a badge in the morning I could get him 20 or 39 arrests and fines for all manner of offences while still going about my business every day. They must be putting more effort in to manufacturing the stats than if they just took a wander around and arrested people.

their too busy shooting up in the cells it seems than to be on the beat

you may get 20-39 arrests, but these criminals are too crafty for our current lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yeah, say someone like Michael Martin.

Always stood up against corruption.

Him and all his honourable mates in FF.

They used to have their ard fheis in Jim Mansfield's hotel didn't they.