Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Lads never try cross barbed wire with a full knap sack on your back. I did it today and fell over and ripped my hand to shreds where I was holding on.
    Won't make that mistake again

Not good green...seen something like that before with an engineer overseas but it was razor wire not barbed wire..... now that was nasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Lads never try cross barbed wire with a full knap sack on your back. I did it today and fell over and ripped my hand to shreds where I was holding on.

Could have been worse if u hadnt been holding down the wire with ur hand the crown could b the ones in shreds now...

Ud want to upgrade to the real thing, :D

Country full of small impostors

You hardly want to move on a few ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭Charliebull

sea12 wrote: »
    What did u buy Charlie. Need one aswell. Still have the push mower. Buts it's getting banjaxed and do sm I from doing it every week.

Castlegarden 17.5 BHP
    Reggie. wrote: »
    Bet charlies one has a Honda engine

Nope see above, stay clear honda
    ellewood wrote: »
    Ha was just at the same down in the sunny south east no rain last few days near drought really - cud do with a drop on fact
    What u buy?
    I taught ud need a 4x4 mower up ir country
    Castlegarden
    Tis bone dry up here, rain havin fcuk all affect after dry spell,

Castlegarden 17.5 BHP

Nope see above, stay clear honda

Castlegarden
    Tis bone dry up here, rain havin fcuk all affect after dry spell,

Castle garden wouldn't be any good around here. Can't take the heavy grass believe it or not. Tried one here before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Lads never try cross barbed wire with a full knap sack on your back. I did it today and fell over and ripped my xxxx to shreds

Indeed. I bet you won't do it again! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Castle garden wouldn't be any good around here. Can't take the heavy grass believe it or not. Tried one here before

you needed a bigger HP engine. those 18.5hp B&s engines would blow grass further that a jaguar 890

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

It's sore alright. I once was putting a post in an existing fence drove the bar down about a foot and didn't look where my hand had finished. I went to widen the hole and made ribbons of the back of my hand.

you needed a bigger HP engine. those 18.5hp B&s engines would blow grass further that a jaguar 890

Not the engine it was the blades and table underneath. It kept clogging no good for heavy thick grass

Yea 19.5 hp and id bag left off it will blow it 50 feet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Not the engine it was the blades and table underneath. It kept clogging no good for heavy thick grass

Stop rubbing it in. Yeah yeah yeah, you have grass. Good for you!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Yep have a castle garden. Only dung. Timing belt slips whole time. She has a Honda engine and all.
    Those stiga mowers look the job. No collecting grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Yep have a castle garden. Only dung. Timing belt slips whole time. She has a Honda engine and all.
    Those stiga mowers look the job. No collecting grass

just put in the mulcher kit so

I know 5 lads with castlegarden varying in age from 1 month to 12 years old and no problems. The odd battery and a belt in 12 years is all my dads got. he services it himself yearly and drains petrol every winter

Yea 19.5 hp and id bag left off it will blow it 50 feet

Too much blowing going on

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Stop rubbing it in. Yeah yeah yeah, you have grass. Good for you!:p

And the worst part is I ain't allowed put the calves on the lawn.... the kitchen commander says no :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Be thankful twas just your hand and not your purse you caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

just put in the mulcher kit so

I know 5 lads with castlegarden varying in age from 1 month to 12 years old and no problems. The odd battery and a belt in 12 years is all my dads got. he services it himself yearly and drains petrol every winter

I suppose they work with certain lawns but even with mulcher on I still had no joy. Was told I'd have to mow the lawn a min of every 3 days before it got too strong for it. It's a beast on fuel too

Muckit wrote: »

All the young ones in Kilkenny would be devastated then :p

Too much blowing going on

Ah u have just relised u have bought too small...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Muckit wrote: »

I think a few lads need to invest in trousers or have savage barbed wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

And the worst part is I ain't allowed put the calves on the lawn.... the kitchen commander says no :mad:

What about a ewe and lamb for the lawn?

simx wrote: »
    What about a ewe and lamb for the lawn?

Its off limits I'm told. Calves would look the part out there too. Nice bit of timber fencing....oh I can see it now :(

Going to put a ewe and lamb on mine, sick of cutting it thing ha

simx wrote: »
    Going to put a ewe and lamb on mine, sick of cutting it thing ha

Its your funeral :D

Ah u have just relised u have bought too small...

:D no need to compensate ;)

reverse psycology

I agree :D

Its your funeral :D

No one going to give me a hiding over it be grand

reverse psycology

Don't use reverse, forward gear only,