BANGERNOMICS CAR OF THE WEEK/DAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,030 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

pockets3d wrote: »
    [...] Those kinds of cars wouldn't be sold for that price if you could get cheap insurance.

I'd say you can get cheap insurance - if you're old enough not to be treated as potential boy racer. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

bear1 wrote: »
    Negatively :p

Free marketing.....mol would approve! ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

joujoujou wrote: »
    I'd say you can get cheap insurance - if you're old enough not to be treated as potential boy racer. ;)

I'd have it insured and on the road for €180, it qualifies as classic insurance!

Trying to convince myself not to buy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

I'd have it insured and on the road for €180, it qualifies as classic insurance!

Trying to convince myself not to buy it!

Ill get the slippers ready granda :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

pockets3d wrote: »
    Ill get the slippers ready granda :pac:

Slippers and the late late show, sounds good when I can insure the likes of my 300zx or that levin for 180!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Slippers and the late late show, sounds good when I can insure the likes of my 300zx or that levin for 180!

There's no NCT, makes you wonder why he didn't bother putting it through... What's written on the side? Super strut? Can't see the connection.... Want me to go take a look for ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,446 ✭✭✭Old diesel

rizzodun wrote: »
    There's no NCT, makes you wonder why he didn't bother putting it through... What's written on the side? Super strut? Can't see the connection.... Want me to go take a look for ya?

afaik - the super strut is the type of suspension some of these Levins came with from the factory.

Doesn't mean the car still has it though - I thought I read that the super strut gives issues and that some cars have been converted to non super strut suspension - but I read so many things about cars that sometimes I wonder if im dreaming lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Old diesel wrote: »
    afaik - the super strut is the type of suspension some of these Levins came with from the factory.

Apologies, I was joking, apparently those super struts can be very expensive to repair or replace when they fail, from what I hear, with no NCT I suspect that's the reason why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Its a different setup than the usual one piece Lower control Arm.
    It has two arms that bolt to a plate under the hub and the shock has a leg that comes over the front and connects to another part.
    Lots of balljoints in this setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭surpy

3.0 v6 laguna
    is this a stupid car? for less than 2k seems like something nice, 44k and 210bhp
    http:// cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-luguna/6906433
    (sorry about the link)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

Have replaced many superstrut type suspension, my greatest solution was after replacing was to drill the ball joints and fit a grease nipple, before used to get 20-30 k per side out of each.
    Now with nipples and greasing every service lasting 150k+ so far anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

PADRAIC.M wrote: »
    Have replaced many superstrut type suspension, my greatest solution was after replacing was to drill the ball joints and fit a grease nipple, before used to get 20-30 k per side out of each.
    Now with nipples and greasing every service lasting 150k+ so far anyway!

And did it effect performance? If not you would wonder why they didn't do it that way in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

surpy wrote: »
    3.0 v6 laguna
    is this a stupid car? for less than 2k seems like something nice, 44k and 210bhp
    http:// cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-luguna/6906433
    (sorry about the link)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna/6906433

There is the link.
    It's a right sleeper and I'd say you could get it for a lot less than 1.8k.
    Seems like an ok car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

And did it effect performance? If not you would wonder why they didn't do it that way in the first place.
    Cost, I imagine. A grease-nipple on a couple of ball-joints isn't going to discernibly affect performance unless you happen to be running an F1 team.
    ...It's a right sleeper and I'd say you could get it for a lot less than 1.8k.
    Seems like an ok car

Lot of wagon for that kind of money. 'Twould make a rather decent budget Shooting-Brake. :cool:

jimgoose wrote: »
    Lot of wagon for that kind of money. 'Twould make a rather decent budget Shooting-Brake. :cool:

Defo. I'd even put 1.6 at the back of it.
    From reviews it seems that the gearbox can be lazy when you want to accelerate.
    Check the kick down if you go for a test drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭RichyX

jimgoose wrote: »

If it had 2 fewer doors.
    The later Laguna couple could have been a stunning shooting brake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Defo. I'd even put 1.6 at the back of it.
    From reviews it seems that the gearbox can be lazy when you want to accelerate.
    Check the kick down if you go for a test drive.

I've driven it in hatch form. Nice yoke. Gave it a good run on back roads and it was grand.

I think I'd prefer it in SW form. All the space and not many people see a French SW and think oh there must be a 3.0 liter under there :D

im personally also looking for a fast wagon, just not sure about the laguna etc
    if it was in dublin id be on my way, limerick is a bit of a stretch for something of an unknown for me

But if you get it then you have a nice 200km drive back on a motorway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

im personally also looking for a fast wagon, just not sure about the laguna etc
    if it was in dublin id be on my way, limerick is a bit of a stretch for something of an unknown for me

what do you think of subaru's?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/cheap-car-nct7-15tax11-14/6880098

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/03-subaru-legacy-4x4-nct-dont-be-stuck/6136513

B4's are very quicker and much cheaper to tax, although insurance may be more depending.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/b4-subaru-legacy/6546051

had personally ruled them out due to boy racer image (there's a few around here acting the maggot)
    that 05 legacy isnt bad tho, just not sure what will be available when i actually convince myself to buy something at this stage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

had personally ruled them out due to boy racer image (there's a few around here acting the maggot)
    that 05 legacy isnt bad tho, just not sure what will be available when i actually convince myself to buy something at this stage :)

The newer shape(>'04) ones come up for just over 2k every so often. The 2.5 NA would be quick enough and have no bonnet scoop for more respectableness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I think I'd prefer it in SW form. All the space and not many people see a French SW and think oh there must be a 3.0 liter under there :D

I'd rather the estate too. It was a mates so I could only work with what I (he) had :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Shooting brake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭wiz569

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Shooting brake?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shooting-brake

I presume :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

They're really getting cheap, those Pandas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Kaiser D wrote: »
    They're really getting cheap, those Pandas.

They're great too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

ba_barabus wrote: »
    They're great too

Amen, loved mine.